Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Budget Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026)

The best budget electric bike on Amazon, and our pick for the best electric bike for the money, is the Funhang Fat 26 ($439.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 26-inch fat-tire bike with a stated 500 W rated motor and 20 mph Class 2 cap, UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS and TÜV...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.4/10
Funhang Fat 26

Funhang Fat 26

$439.99

Price as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Best value overall. At $439.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Budget pick:RPINT Mini 14— Cheapest e-bike worth buying. A 14-inch folder at $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT,...
  • Runner-up:Funhang EB-M1— Best full-size value under $300, and #1 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026). At $219.99...

Compare the picks

Best Budget Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Funhang Fat 26
$439.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#2RPINT Mini 14
$199as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding
#3Funhang EB-M1
$219.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not statedNot stated500 W374 Wh300 lbNot statedStandard
#4Funhang City Cruiser 26
$319.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStep-through
#5TST City Commuter
$559.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #17.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best value overall. At $439.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it passes all four ranking checks: a 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV, and a 624 Wh pack whose 30 to 35 mile throttle claim works out at about 18 to 21 Wh per mile. It adds a 60 lb rear rack, turn signals, dual 180 mm discs and a 330 lb payload on 26 x 4 inch tires. The trades: no published weight, about 6.5 hours to charge, and a 500 W motor that is modest for a heavy rider on long climbs.

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #27.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Cheapest e-bike worth buying. A 14-inch folder at $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) that documents UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, sells a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, and has 3 speeds. It publishes a 55 lb weight and a 260 lb payload, which the slightly cheaper Askmy Mini 14 does not. Its 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile. #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026). The trades: 14-inch wheels, front suspension only, and peak figures that disagree (740 W title, 700 W bullets).

Funhang EB-M1
AmazonSave $60
Pick #37.8/10

Funhang EB-M1

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best full-size value under $300, and #1 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026). At $219.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it is the cheapest bike we list at our October 2026 check that pairs a stated 500 W rated motor with both UL standards and a named lab for each: SGS for UL 2271 and TÜV for UL 2849. A 26-inch hardtail with 7 speeds, fenders, a lockable IPX5 374.4 Wh battery, a 300 lb maximum load and a 12-month warranty. No top speed is stated on Amazon or on Funhang's store, so check the display before riding a bike path. Plan on about 20 miles.

Funhang City Cruiser 26
Amazon
Pick #48.6/10

Funhang City Cruiser 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best value commuter. A 26-inch step-through at $319.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 both certified by SGS, so nothing about its legal or safety position needs a caveat. 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and seat, and an IPX5 removable battery. #3 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026). The 374 Wh pack is the trade: plan on about 20 miles against the 25 to 30 claimed. Mechanical disc brakes, and no weight or payload published.

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $40
Pick #58.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best value for longer rides and heavier riders, and #4 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (October 2026). At $559.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it pairs a stated 750 W rated motor with the biggest battery among the picks (720 Wh), front and rear suspension, 20 x 4 inch fat tires and a stated 450 lb maximum load. Plan on 30 to 40 miles, not 60. It claims no UL 2849 or UL 2271, so skip it if you charge indoors, and its title markets 28 mph: it rides as a Class 2 only at its 20 mph setting, because a throttle bike above 20 mph fits no class. 66 lb, with mechanical discs.

TL;DR: five picks, one for each budget

  1. Funhang Fat 26, $439.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best value overall. It passes all four of this page's ranking checks: a 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV, and a 624 Wh battery whose throttle range claim survives the division. It adds a rear rack, turn signals and a 330 lb payload on 26 x 4 inch tires.
  2. RPINT Mini 14, $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Cheapest e-bike worth buying. A 14-inch folder that also passes all four: UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, and a 480 Wh pack with a range claim you can plan on. It also publishes a 55 lb weight and a 260 lb payload, which the cheaper Askmy Mini 14 does not. #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026).
  3. Funhang EB-M1, $219.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best full-size value under $300. #1 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026): a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, SGS and TÜV named for its two UL standards, 7 speeds and a 12-month warranty. It states no top speed, so check the display on the first ride.
  4. Funhang City Cruiser 26, $319.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best value commuter. A 26-inch step-through with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 certified by SGS, #3 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026). Plan on about 20 miles per charge.
  5. TST City Commuter, $559.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best value for longer rides and heavier riders. #4 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (October 2026), with a 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh battery, front and rear suspension and a stated 450 lb maximum load. It claims no UL standard, and its listing markets 28 mph, so set the 20 mph cap.

Four of the five name the lab behind both UL standards, which is what a landlord or building manager asks to see before indoor charging.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only. Every pick and mention was in stock on its live Amazon US listing at our October 2026 check, and every one has a full review on this site. We have not ridden any of these bikes. Every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it, restated from each bike's review. Picks are ranked on four checks: a motor figure that places the bike under the 750 W federal definition, a stated top speed that fits a US e-bike class, a UL 2271 or UL 2849 claim with the lab named, and a range claim that holds up when battery watt-hours are divided by claimed miles. A written warranty of 12 months or more and a dated Amazon category rank break ties. Each pick is the best value at a different budget or need, so read the order as a set of roles. Amazon prices move daily, so the buy buttons always fetch the live number, and the category ranks quoted are from our October 2026 check.

How we picked: six checks for value you can verify

Value on a budget e-bike is whatever you can confirm before you pay. A listing can print 1000 W, 60 miles and "UL certified" at no cost, and at this price many do. So we put every in-stock Amazon bike we review through six questions its listing either answers or dodges, and took the bike at each budget that answers the most. The first four checks rank the bikes. The last two break ties.

  1. Does the motor fit the federal line? The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle in 15 U.S.C. 2085 is written around a 750 W motor and 20 mph on motor power alone, and the Consumer Product Safety Commission regulates such a bike as a bicycle under 16 CFR 1512. A stated rated figure at or under 750 W passes. So does a peak figure at or under 750 W, because a motor cannot be rated above its own peak. A peak figure above 750 W with no rated figure beside it settles nothing.
  2. Does it state a top speed that fits a class? Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle and still stops at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph. A throttle bike faster than 20 mph, or any bike faster than 28 mph, fits no US e-bike class, and on public roads it can be treated as a moped or motor vehicle.
  3. Does it name the lab behind its UL claim? UL 2271 tests the battery pack. UL 2849 tests the complete electrical system: battery, charger, controller and motor together. A claim that names SGS or TÜV can be checked. A claim that names nobody cannot.
  4. Does the range claim survive division? Divide the battery's watt-hours by the claimed miles. Real e-bikes use roughly 15 to 30 Wh per mile on motor power, so a claim that needs less is a best case that assumes you do much of the work. Watt-hours per dollar is the plainest measure of how much battery the money buys.
  5. Is there a written warranty of 12 months or more? At this price the brand is usually an Amazon storefront, and a written term is what you fall back on once the 30-day return window closes.
  6. Is there a sales record behind it? A dated Amazon category rank shows that many buyers have already taken the same chance. A high rank proves nothing about quality. It does mean a listing's problems surface in public reviews, where you can read them.
Pick Price Motor, as stated Top speed UL, lab named Battery, plan on
Funhang Fat 26 $439.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) 500 W rated 20 mph Both (SGS, TÜV) 624 Wh, about 30 mi
RPINT Mini 14 $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) 740 W peak 20 mph Both (SGS) 480 Wh, 20 to 28 mi
Funhang EB-M1 $219.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) 500 W rated Not stated Both (SGS, TÜV) 374 Wh, about 20 mi
Funhang City Cruiser 26 $319.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) 500 W rated 20 mph Both (SGS) 374 Wh, about 20 mi
TST City Commuter $559.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) 750 W rated 20 mph setting, 28 in the title None claimed 720 Wh, 30 to 40 mi

Three picks pass all four ranking checks: the Fat 26, the RPINT and the City Cruiser 26 (the City Cruiser only just, as its section explains). The EB-M1 misses one, the top speed, and passes the range check only at its edge, as the City Cruiser does, since it makes the same 25 to 30 mile claim from the same size of battery. The TST misses the UL check and passes the speed check only at its 20 mph setting; it is here for its battery, its suspension and the strongest sales rank of the five. Three of the five are Funhang bikes, because every Funhang listing we review states a rated motor and names its labs, the two disclosures budget listings most often skip. We have not ridden any of these bikes: every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it, restated from each bike's full review.

What is the best budget electric bike?

1. Funhang Fat 26: best value overall

The Funhang Fat 26 at $439.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best value budget e-bike on Amazon because it passes all four ranking checks and carries the biggest battery of any bike we review that passes them and sold under $500 at our October 2026 check. Its title says "1000W Peak", and the first bullet states the rated figure: a 500 W motor with 66.6 Nm and a 20 mph top speed, which makes it a Class 2 e-bike with 250 W of room under the federal line. It documents UL 2271 for the battery, recognized by SGS, and UL 2849 for the complete bike, recognized by TÜV. And the 624 Wh pack (48 V x 13 Ah) comes with a range claim split by mode that holds up: 30 to 35 throttle miles works out at about 18 to 21 Wh per mile, which is what a 26 x 4 inch fat tire uses.

The rest of the sheet is unusually complete for the price: dual 180 mm disc brakes, a 7-speed cluster, a 60 lb rear rack, a removable IPX5 battery, a 330 lb payload, and a headlight, taillight and turn signals, which almost nothing else under $500 includes. Funhang states a rider fit of 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 2 in. The trades are written in the same plain numbers. No weight is published, and a 500 W rated motor is modest for a heavy rider on long climbs. Charging takes about 6.5 hours, and the 55 to 60 mile pedal-assist figure needs about 11 Wh per mile, so treat it as the reward for real pedaling on flat ground and plan around 30 miles. Our review records no warranty term, so check the listing before you buy. It sits #35 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (October 2026). If you do not need fat tires, Funhang's EB-M1 and City Cruiser 26 below carry the same kind of paperwork on narrower tires and smaller batteries. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

2. RPINT Mini 14: cheapest e-bike worth buying

The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the cheapest electric bike we would call worth buying, because it passes all four ranking checks and publishes what most bikes at this price leave out, including the slightly cheaper Askmy Mini 14. It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike and names SGS as the lab that validated both. It states a 20 mph top speed with a throttle, a clean Class 2. Its motor is sold as 740 W peak in the title and 700 W peak in the bullets, and either figure keeps the rated output under the 750 W federal line. It also publishes a 55 lb weight, a 260 lb payload and 3 speeds. It is #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026) and carried 413 ratings at 4.1 stars when we reviewed it in July 2026.

The battery math is honest by budget standards. The 480 Wh pack (48 V x 10 Ah) comes with a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim, about 19 to 24 Wh per mile, so plan on 20 to 28 miles of mixed riding. Its 30 to 35 mile pedal-assist claim needs about 14 Wh per mile, a little optimistic, and the 60-mile end of the title's 30 to 60 mile figure belongs to a 20 Ah version; the 10 Ah build is the one our review covers. Of the five picks it carried the most battery per dollar at our October 2026 check. The trades are the format: 14-inch wheels and front-only suspension on a high-carbon steel frame ride firm over broken pavement, 55 lb is heavy for a bike sold on portability, and no folded dimensions are published.

Two bikes compete for the same money. The Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) passes the same four checks, with SGS named for both standards and tubeless tires. It publishes no weight, payload or rated figure, and its sales record is much thinner (#38 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes, October 2026). The Jasion EB5 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the full-size alternative: #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026), a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap and 7-speed Shimano gearing. It misses two checks. Its UL 2849 claim names no certifier, and its 360 Wh pack means about 16 miles against the 25 to 40 claimed. Its listing showed low stock at our October 2026 check. Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review.

3. Funhang EB-M1: best full-size value under $300

The Funhang EB-M1 at $219.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the cheapest bike we list at our October 2026 check that pairs a stated rated motor with both UL standards and a named lab for each, and it is #1 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026). It states a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak), 250 W under the federal line, and documents UL 2271 for the battery, certified by SGS, and UL 2849 for the complete bike, certified by TÜV. The removable 374.4 Wh battery locks with two keys, is rated IPX5 and, per Funhang, charges in 4 to 5 hours. Around it sits a plain 26-inch hardtail with front suspension, 7 speeds, fenders, a headlight, a 300 lb maximum load, a 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 1 in fit range and a 12-month warranty.

What it leaves out is the top speed. Neither the Amazon listing nor Funhang's own store gives one, and with a throttle fitted that number decides whether this is a Class 2 e-bike or fits no class at all. Its sibling, the Funhang EB-C2, is listed at 20 mph on Amazon and 21.7 mph on Funhang's store, so check the display at full throttle on flat ground before riding a bike path. The range claims split: 25 to 30 throttle miles needs 12.5 to 15 Wh per mile, optimistic and possible for a light rider, while 40 to 50 pedal-assist miles needs 7.5 to 9.4 Wh per mile and does not hold. Plan on about 20 miles. There is no rear rack, no published weight, and it ships 85% assembled. Read the full Funhang EB-M1 review.

4. Funhang City Cruiser 26: best value commuter

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 at $319.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best value commuter e-bike on Amazon because it states everything a commuter needs settled before the first ride: a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak), a 20 mph cap with a throttle, which is a textbook Class 2, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849, both certified by SGS. There is no display setting to change and no caveat on the motor or the speed. It is a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and seat for riders of different heights, five riding modes and an IPX5 removable battery, and it is #3 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026). Most states treat a Class 2 e-bike like this as a bicycle; New Jersey requires a license, registration and insurance for a throttle e-bike like this one, and Hawaii requires registration.

The battery is the trade. Funhang claims 25 to 30 miles in pure electric mode from 374 Wh, which needs 12.5 to 15 Wh per mile. The 25-mile end sits right at the edge of what real e-bikes use and the 30-mile end needs less than they do, so treat the claim as a best case and plan on about 20 miles. The brakes are mechanical discs, no weight or payload figure is published, it ships 85% assembled, and a 26-inch city tire rides harder over broken pavement than the Fat 26's 4-inch tires.

Two other commuters are worth a look at this budget. The Hoverfly OUREA ($499.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is a by-the-book Class 2 with a 750 W motor at the federal cap (its title calls the figure peak), a stated 20 mph, UL 2849 and a 365-day warranty; its UL claim names no lab. The Vivi MT26GUL ($369.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is a 50 lb step-through with a 500 W rated motor, SGS certification to UL 2849 and cruise control. Its review gives the top speed as 20 to 21.7 mph, so confirm a 20 mph cap on the display. Read the full Funhang City Cruiser 26 review.

5. TST City Commuter: best value for longer rides and heavier riders

The TST City Commuter at $559.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best budget e-bike for longer rides and heavier riders, and the pick with the strongest sales record: #4 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (October 2026), and #1 in that chart when we added it in July 2026. It carries the biggest battery of the five, 720 Wh (48 V x 15 Ah), the only front and rear suspension among them, 20 x 4 inch fat tires, 7-speed gearing and a stated 450 lb maximum load. TST states a 750 W rated motor, the disclosure most budget listings skip. Its "up to 60 miles" needs 12 Wh per mile, so plan on 30 to 40 miles of mixed pedal-assist riding.

Two checks cost it a higher place. Its listing mentions no UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification anywhere. New York City's Local Law 39 bans the sale of uncertified e-bikes there, California's SB 1271 restricts their sale from January 2026, and many buildings ask for the certificate before indoor charging, so if you charge indoors, buy the Fat 26 instead. And the current title markets 28 mph and a 2000 W peak figure. The TST rides as a Class 2 only at its 20 mph setting, so set the cap on arrival: a throttle bike above 20 mph fits no class. It weighs 66 lb, the brakes are mechanical discs (adequate at 20 mph, less so at 28), and no torque figure is published. Read the full TST City Commuter review.

If you want 28 mph pedal assist on a budget, two of the bikes we review make the case: The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ($479 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is a step-through with pedal assist to 28 mph and the throttle held to 20, and it switches down to Class 2 or Class 1 from the display. It states a 750 W rated motor and claims UL 2849 and UL 2271, with no lab named in our review, and carries a 2-year frame warranty. Its 468 Wh pack gives roughly 23 to 31 miles against the 50 claimed. The Jasion EB5 MAX ($549 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) pairs a 750 W rated motor with a 720 Wh battery and hydraulic disc brakes, at 78 lb and with a thin sales record (#1,384 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles, October 2026).

Are cheap e-bikes worth it?

Yes, if the listing passes the checks above and your rides are short. Three of the five picks here pass all four ranking checks, and a fourth misses only a stated top speed, so a cheap e-bike no longer has to mean an undocumented one. Spending more mostly buys parts and range, at a worse rate per watt-hour: across the bikes we track, the median cost per watt-hour was $0.77 under $500 and $1.61 over $1,000 in August 2026. Our e-bike cost guide has the full table.

What a low price takes away is printed on the listings above. Across the bikes we track, the average battery was 418 Wh under $300 and 468 Wh from $300 to $500 in August 2026, so plan on about 20 miles a charge. None of the five picks states a torque sensor, and the Jasion EB5's cadence sensor, per its review, switches power on and off rather than ramping it with your effort. Where a listing states its brake type it is usually a mechanical disc; among the picks and mentions, the Jasion EB5 MAX is the only one with hydraulic brakes front and rear. The picks and mentions that publish a weight run from about 50 to 78 lb. And the brands are mostly Amazon storefronts, so support runs through Amazon and its 30-day return window is your main safety net.

So a cheap e-bike is worth it for flat-to-rolling trips under about 10 miles each way, as a first e-bike before you spend more, and for last-mile rides beside a train or a car. It is the wrong buy for a long daily commute, steep hills with a heavy rider, or anyone who wants a local dealer to fix it. Those riders should start higher up the ladder below, where bikes such as the Vivi ACE01 pair a torque sensor with hydraulic brakes. For running costs and the comparison with a car, read are e-bikes worth it?

What should you avoid on a cheap e-bike?

Avoid four things on a cheap e-bike. Each one shows up on real Amazon listings, some of them best-sellers.

  • A throttle speed that fits no class. The LELEKUAI T5 is #1 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026), and its title and maker both say 24 mph with a throttle while its bullets say 20. The ESKUTE V300, #1 in Amazon's Electric Road Bikes (October 2026), advertises 30+ mph. The ASKGO S9 advertises 36 mph, and the YUCHETX Moped 20 30 to 35 mph. A throttle bike above 20 mph fits no US e-bike class, so on public roads it can be treated as a moped or motor vehicle. Big batteries are the lure: the V300 carries 998 Wh and the S9 960 Wh.
  • A range claim you cannot check. The VOLTVOGUE City 26 claims 45 miles from 250 Wh, which needs 5.5 Wh per mile. The HopCycle EB3L states a 750 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap, the right numbers, and still titles itself at 80 miles from a 374 Wh battery that appears only in its product description: 4.7 Wh per mile. Divide before you believe.
  • A UL claim with no lab, or none at all. The HLOIE Folding 14, the DTTZH A12 and the Jasion EB5 claim UL 2849 and name nobody. The TST City Commuter, the HopCycle EB3L and the ESKUTE V300 claim no UL standard. Neither proves a bike unsafe. It does leave you with nothing to show a landlord who asks, and New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold there. Our battery fire safety guide explains what each test covers.
  • A short or contradictory warranty. The HLOIE Folding 14 offers 180 days and has no working brand website. The HopCycle EB3L states 180 days in one place and 12 months in another. The Jasion EB5 covers its frame for 6 months. A short term with no brand site behind it leaves Amazon's return window as your only protection.

For the full list of red flags, including CPSC recalls, see our e-bikes to avoid guide.

What is the best electric bike for the money at your budget?

Every rung of our Amazon price ladder reports the same disclosures as this page (rated motor, top speed, UL lab, range arithmetic), so pick the ceiling you will not go over and start there:

  • Under $300: 14-inch folders with both UL standards and SGS named, plus the first full-size hardtails.
  • Under $400: full-size and fat-tire frames, bigger batteries and step-throughs with racks.
  • Under $500: fat tires with both UL labs named, and a 365-day warranty.
  • Under $600: 720 Wh batteries with suspension front and rear.
  • Under $700: mostly certification and format: an e-trike, a fat-tire folder and a Class 3 commuter with UL paperwork.
  • Under $800: a certified pick, a folder, a trike and a big-battery pick.
  • Under $900: torque sensors and hydraulic brakes, and a bench seat built for a passenger.
  • Under $1,000: passenger haulers and fat-tire power picks.
  • Under $1,500: cargo haulers and mountain bikes.

If indoor charging decides it at any price, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone. Best fat tire e-bikes under $1,000, best e-bikes for heavy riders and best folding e-bikes on Amazon rank by format, and the class explainer covers why rated and peak wattage are different numbers. For where each class may ride, check your state in our state-by-state law pages.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter product photo

    Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter

    $199as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    Full-size wheels for $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), and #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026), with 2,283 reviews at 4.1 stars in May 2026. A 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed Shimano gearing, a weight of about 50 lb and a 330 lb payload. It misses two checks: its UL 2849 claim names no certifier, and its 360 Wh pack turns the 25 to 40 mile claim into a 9 to 14 Wh per mile ask, so plan on about 16 miles. The warranty is 1 year on motor and battery and 6 months on the frame. Its listing showed low stock at our October 2026 check.

  • Askmy Mini 14 product photo

    Askmy Mini 14

    $183.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    Passes all four of this page's ranking checks at $183.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, and a 480 Wh pack whose 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile. Tubeless 14-inch tires and a spring fork. It is a mention because it publishes no weight, payload or rated figure, has no gearing, and sits #38 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026), a much thinner sales record than the RPINT's.

  • Hoverfly OUREA product photo

    Hoverfly OUREA

    $499.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    A by-the-book Class 2 commuter at $499.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 750 W motor that sits at the federal cap whether the figure is rated or peak (the title calls it peak), a stated 20 mph cap, UL 2849, a 365-day warranty and 90% pre-assembly. The seller splits its range claim by mode, 20 miles on the throttle and 40 with pedal assist, and the throttle figure holds up from 374.4 Wh. It is a mention because its UL claim names no lab and the Funhang City Cruiser 26 states a rated motor and both UL standards with SGS named on the same size of battery.

  • Vivi MT26GUL 26" Step-Through Electric Commuter Bike product photo

    A 50 lb, 26-inch step-through at $369.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with a 500 W rated motor (750 W peak), SGS certification to UL 2849, cruise control, a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain and a 300 lb payload. It is a mention because its 374 Wh pack means about 20 miles against the 50 claimed, its review gives the top speed as 20 to 21.7 mph (so confirm a 20 mph cap before treating it as Class 2), and its sales record is thin at #98 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026).

  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0 product photo

    Heybike Cityscape 2.0

    $479as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    The Class 3 option, at $479 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): pedal assist to 28 mph with the throttle held to 20, switchable to Class 2 or Class 1 from the display, a 1200 W peak (750 W rated) motor, UL 2849 and UL 2271 claims, and a 2-year frame warranty with 1 year on the battery. #11 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026). It is a mention because neither UL claim names a lab in our review, the 468 Wh pack gives roughly 23 to 31 miles against the 50 claimed, it weighs 62 lb, and the brakes are mechanical discs.

  • Jasion EB5 MAX 1500W Fat-Tire Performance E-Bike product photo

    Hydraulic brakes and a big battery for a Class 3 rider, at $549 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 750 W rated (1500 W peak) motor with 85 Nm, a 720 Wh pack, hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors, 26 x 4 inch tires, cruise control, a rack and fenders. It is a mention because the sales record is thin (#1,384 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles, October 2026, and a small 3-star review sample when we reviewed it), it weighs 78 lb, its UL 2849 claim does not reliably name a certifier, and the warranty is 1 year on motor and battery and 6 months on the frame. Its title says 28+ mph, so confirm the assist stops at 28.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best budget electric bike?

The Funhang Fat 26 ($439.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best budget electric bike on Amazon. It states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph Class 2 cap, documents UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV, and its 624 Wh battery backs a 30 to 35 mile throttle claim at about 18 to 21 Wh per mile. It adds a rear rack, turn signals and a 330 lb payload on 26 x 4 inch tires. On a tighter budget, the RPINT Mini 14 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) passes the same checks as a 14-inch folder, and the Funhang EB-M1 ($219.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the full-size pick under $300.

What is the best electric bike for the money?

The Funhang Fat 26 ($439.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best electric bike for the money on Amazon, because every number that decides value is stated and holds up: a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap, both UL standards with the labs named and 624 Wh of battery. Spending more on a budget bike mostly buys battery and suspension. The TST City Commuter ($559.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) adds a 720 Wh pack, front and rear suspension and a 450 lb maximum load, with no UL claim. Torque sensors and hydraulic brakes arrive higher up, on bikes like the Vivi ACE01 ($689.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change).

What is the cheapest electric bike worth buying?

The RPINT Mini 14 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the cheapest electric bike we would call worth buying. It documents UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and its 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile. The slightly cheaper Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) passes the same four checks, and only the RPINT publishes its weight (55 lb) and payload (260 lb). Both are 14-inch folders. For full-size wheels, the Jasion EB5 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) has the longest sales record, though its UL claim names no lab.

Are cheap e-bikes worth it?

Yes, for short trips on a bike whose listing passes basic checks, and the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($319.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) shows what passing looks like: a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and both UL standards certified by SGS, all stated on the listing. What a low price takes away is battery (plan on about 20 miles from its 374 Wh pack), torque sensing, hydraulic brakes and a dealer network, and Amazon's 30-day return window becomes your main safety net. A cheap e-bike suits flat-to-rolling trips under about 10 miles each way. For long commutes, steep hills or a heavy rider, spend more.

What e-bikes should you stay away from?

Stay away from budget e-bikes sold faster than 20 mph with a throttle, such as the LELEKUAI T5 (24 mph in its title), the ESKUTE V300 (30+ mph) and the ASKGO S9 (36 mph), unless you ride only on private land or set a 20 mph cap, as our TST City Commuter pick needs: a throttle bike over 20 mph fits no US e-bike class and can be treated as a moped on public roads. Also be wary of range claims needing under 15 Wh per mile (the VOLTVOGUE City 26's 45 miles from 250 Wh), UL claims naming no lab, and warranties under 12 months, like the HLOIE Folding 14's 180 days. Our e-bikes to avoid guide covers recalls.

Can you get a good electric bike for under $200?

Yes: the RPINT Mini 14 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), the Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) and the Jasion EB5 ($199 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) were all under $200 at our October 2026 check. The two minis document both UL standards with SGS named, state a 20 mph Class 2 cap and carry 480 Wh packs. The Jasion is a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor and 7 speeds, a 360 Wh pack good for about 16 miles, and a UL claim with no lab named. Nothing we review was under $100 then; the cheapest, the HLOIE Folding 14, has a 180-day warranty and a UL claim with no lab.

What is the best cheap electric bike for adults?

For most adults the Funhang Fat 26 ($439.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best cheap electric bike: Funhang sizes it for riders from 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 2 in and rates it for a 330 lb payload on a full-size 26-inch frame. Heavier riders should look at the TST City Commuter ($559.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), which states a 450 lb maximum load, the highest of the five picks, with front and rear suspension. The RPINT Mini 14 is rated for 260 lb, so check that figure against your own weight plus a loaded bag. For higher capacities, see best e-bikes for heavy riders.

What is the best budget electric mountain bike?

The Funhang EB-M1 ($219.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is #1 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026) and the budget mountain-style bike we would buy: a 26-inch hardtail with front suspension, 7 speeds, a 500 W rated motor and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS and TÜV named. It states no top speed, so check the display on the first ride. For sand, gravel and broken ground, the Funhang Fat 26 ($439.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) adds 26 x 4 inch tires, a 624 Wh pack and a stated 20 mph cap. Our reviews place the EB-M1 on pavement and packed trails and the Fat 26 on softer, rougher surfaces.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor