Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best UL-Certified Apartment E-Bikes (2026)

The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ($609 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change, 62 lb) is the best UL-certified e-bike for apartment living we cover, with the UL 2849 + UL 2271 pairing and a 600-review track record, and the top of six picks with explicit UL certification evidence, ranked for apartment dwellers. The rest: the RPINT Mini...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.3/10
Heybike Cityscape 2.0

Heybike Cityscape 2.0

$609

Price as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall apartment pick. UL 2849 + UL 2271, the exact pairing NYC Local Law 39...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Compare the picks

Best UL-Certified Apartment E-Bikes (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Heybike Cityscape 2.0
$609as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1200 W468 Wh330 lb62 lbStep-through
#2RPINT Mini 14
$199as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding
#3Vivi Gopina 350W Fat-Tire Folding Mini E-Bike
$379.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 322 mph350 W374 WhNot stated69 lbFolding, step-through
#4Hoverfly OUREA
$499.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#5Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike
$561.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 325 mph750 W720 WhNot stated72 lbStandard
#6NARRAK Trike 500
$519as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not statedNot stated500 W624 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Heybike Cityscape 2.0
Amazon
Pick #18.3/10

Heybike Cityscape 2.0

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall apartment pick. UL 2849 + UL 2271, the exact pairing NYC Local Law 39 names, on a stated-62 lb step-through with a removable 468 Wh battery and 600+ Amazon reviews at 4.2★. At $609 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change).

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #27.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The best-documented budget bike we cover, and the cheapest certificate here: both UL 2271 and UL 2849 at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with SGS named as the validating lab, where every similarly priced rival either documents neither or asserts one without a body. A published 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, a removable 480 Wh pack and a 14-inch fold. Peak-only wattage and a modest tank are the trades.

Vivi Gopina 350W Fat-Tire Folding Mini E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The smallest footprint here: a 16" fat-tire folder that fits a closet, SGS-certified to UL 2849, with a removable 374 Wh battery and a step-thru option, at $379.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) on Amazon. Honest trades: 69 lb (trunk fold, not a stair carry) and 18–24 real miles.

Hoverfly OUREA
Amazon
Pick #47.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best warranty of any UL pick: 365-day coverage on a UL 2849-certified bike with every number stated honestly: 750 W at the federal cap, 20 mph Class 2 cap, 374.4 Wh removable battery, 20–40 mile honest range, at $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The cleanest legal package on the shelf.

Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike
AmazonSave $30
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The upgrade pick: the only certified bike here with a torque sensor and hydraulic brakes: SGS UL 2849 + UL 2271, a removable 720 Wh pack, and 5–6 hour desk charges on the 3A charger, at $561.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Apartment caveats: 72 lb, high-step, elevator building recommended.

NARRAK Trike 500
Amazon
Pick #67.4/10

NARRAK Trike 500

NARRAK
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The stability pick for elevator buildings: a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery stated in the listing's own bullets, unique among top-selling trikes, on a folding 500 W three-wheeler that stands on its own in a corner and loads like a shopping cart. $519 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change).

TL;DR: six UL-certified picks by apartment situation

  1. Heybike Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · best overall · UL 2849 + UL 2271 · 62 lb · step-through · 600+ reviews
  2. RPINT Mini 14, $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · best budget paperwork, and the cheapest certificate here · UL 2271 + UL 2849, SGS named · 55 lb · 14" folder
  3. Vivi Gopina, $379.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · smallest footprint · SGS-certified UL 2849 · 16" folder · step-thru option
  4. Hoverfly OUREA, $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · best warranty · UL 2849 · 365-day coverage · every spec stated
  5. Vivi ACE01, $561.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · the upgrade pick · SGS UL 2849 + UL 2271 · torque sensor · hydraulic brakes
  6. NARRAK Trike 500, $519 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) · stability pick · UL 2849 battery in the listing bullets · folds · self-standing

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

UL evidence is the headline filter. Bikes without explicit UL 2849 certification in the manufacturer listing were excluded entirely, whatever their other merits. Then layered: (1) removable battery for desk charging independent of the bike; (2) verified purchasable on publish day on Amazon US, via Amazon's Creators API; (3) apartment-relevant format: step-through, compact, folding, or self-standing; (4) weight quoted only where the manufacturer states it. Budget listings habitually omit weight; we flag the omission rather than inventing a number.

Why UL 2849 is the headline filter (and why we exclude bikes without it)

UL 2849 is Underwriters Laboratories' e-bike-specific battery + electrical-system safety standard, published in 2018. As defined by UL Standards & Engagement, it codifies lithium-ion cell, BMS and thermal-runaway safety for the assembled e-bike as one system: battery, charger interaction, wiring and motor controller together.

Why apartment buyers care: according to the NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection, Local Law 39 (passed June 2023, enforcing 2024+) mandates UL 2271 (battery) or UL 2849 (whole-system) certification for e-bikes sold, rented or leased in the city, and many residential buildings now ask for the same certificates in their own indoor-charging rules. Other US cities are following: NJ, MA, parts of CA. Without a UL cert, your building can ban indoor charging, which on a 4-floor walkup means there's nowhere to charge the bike at all.

The fire-safety backdrop: multiple fatal apartment fires from 2022–2024 traced to non-UL e-bike batteries or aftermarket fast-chargers. CPSC's reportable-incident count grew sharply post-2022. UL 2849 covers internal cell quality, BMS thermal cutoff, charger compatibility, charge-rate ceiling, and assembled-system fault tolerance.

A bike that doesn't advertise UL 2849 in its listing may be perfectly safe, but the certificate is what your building inspector and your insurance provider will ask about, not the bike's actual fire-safety record. That is why this guide treats the paperwork as the product.

What constraints do apartment riders actually hit?

  1. UL fire safety: covered above. The hard filter.
  2. Carry weight up stairs. Practical thresholds: under 60 lb is comfortable single-flight, 60–75 lb is borderline, 75+ lb is not realistic for daily walkup use. The Cityscape states 62 lb, the RPINT 55 lb, the Gopina 69 lb with its battery, the ACE01 72 lb; the Hoverfly leaves weight unstated (a common budget-listing omission we flag rather than paper over); the trike is a ground-floor/elevator machine by nature.
  3. Footprint. Step-throughs (Cityscape, the Gopina step-thru variant) walk through doorways easily; the Gopina and the 14-inch RPINT both fold; the OUREA is a conventional frame; the NARRAK folds and, being a trike, stands on its own in a corner without leaning on your wall.
  4. Charging accessibility. UL cert + a removable battery you can charge at a desk, independent of where the bike parks. All six picks have removable batteries.

The picks, in detail

#1: Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ($609 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): best overall

Read the full Heybike Cityscape 2.0 review. The strongest all-round apartment package we cover: UL 2849 + UL 2271 certification (the exact pairing NYC Local Law 39 names), a stated 62 lb, a step-through frame that walks through doorways and into elevator cabs without drama, a 468 Wh removable battery for desk charging, and 600+ Amazon owner reviews at 4.2★, the deepest troubleshooting pool of any pick here. At its mid-2026 street price of $609 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), it is also strong value for the certification pair.

#2: RPINT Mini 14 ($199 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): the best-documented budget bike we cover

Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review. The paperwork bike, and the cheapest certificate on this page by a wide margin: at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it documents both UL 2271 (battery) and UL 2849 (full system) and names SGS as the validating laboratory. Claiming one standard is common; claiming both and naming the body that validated them is not, and it is what separates a checkable certificate from a sticker. For an apartment the rest of the sheet reads well too: a published 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload where most budget rivals publish neither, a stated 20 mph cap that makes it a clean Class 2, a removable 480 Wh pack for desk charging, and a 14-inch fold. It is #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026), with 413 ratings at 4.1★. The trades are power and tank: it quotes peak wattage only, its own two peak figures disagree, and 480 Wh is modest.

#3: Vivi Gopina ($379.99 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): the smallest footprint

Read the full Vivi Gopina review. The apartment-specialist pick: a 16" x 3.0" fat-tire folder that fits a closet or a car trunk, with SGS certification to UL 2849, a removable 374 Wh battery, a lockable front fork, and a step-thru frame option at the same price tier. At $379.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it is a certified folder with a step-thru option; the 14-inch RPINT Mini 14 above carries a certificate for less. The honest trades from our review: 69 lb with the battery (the fold fits a trunk; it is not a stair-carry bike), 18–24 real miles from the 374 Wh pack, and 16" wheels that ride busier over potholes than a 20" folder. For a ground-floor or elevator apartment with tight storage, it is the certified folder to look at. Sold on Amazon US since Vivi moved its catalogue there in August 2026.

#4: Hoverfly OUREA ($499.99 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): best warranty

Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review. The certified budget pick with the longest safety net: UL 2849 certification, every number stated and none inflated: 750 W at the federal cap, 20 mph Class 2 cap, 374.4 Wh removable battery, an honest 20–40 mile range split, and a 365-day warranty, the longest coverage on this list. For a small apartment and a sub-10-mile commute with indoor charging, this is the cleanest legal package on the shelf at any price, let alone $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change).

#5: Vivi ACE01 ($561.99 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): the upgrade pick

Read the full Vivi ACE01 review. For the buyer who wants the certificate and the ride quality the budget tier can't offer: the ACE01 is the only bike on this list with a torque sensor (assist that ramps with your pedal pressure instead of switching on and off) and hydraulic disc brakes, paired with SGS certification to UL 2849 and UL 2271, the same double paperwork as the Cityscape. The 720 Wh battery is removable and semi-integrated, and the 3A charger refills it in 5–6 hours at a desk. The honest apartment caveats: 72 lb and a high-step frame make it an elevator-building bike, and its 26x4" fat tires want more storage length than the folders here. Sold on Amazon US at $561.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), since Vivi moved its catalogue there in August 2026.

#6: NARRAK Trike 500 ($519 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): the stability pick

Read the full NARRAK Trike 500 review. The pick for elevator buildings and riders who value stability: a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery, stated in the listing's own bullets, and unique among the top-selling trikes: under a 500 W rated folding fat-tire three-wheeler with a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain. Our review's one-line verdict fits this guide exactly: "if your hauling plans include an apartment lift and indoor charging, that certificate is the whole decision. … this is the one we'd charge beside the sofa." A trike is a ground-floor or elevator machine, not a stair-carry bike, but it also stands on its own in a corner, needs no wall lean, and loads like a shopping cart.

Honorable mentions

AddMotor GAROOTAN M-81 ($1,199 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): UL 2849 certified with hydraulic brakes and a passenger deck, but a long-wheelbase cargo bike is the wrong footprint for most apartments. If you have ground-floor storage and family-hauling needs, it leads our family guide.

Vivi F26FUL ($869.99 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): SGS-certified to UL 2849 and UL 2271 with an 864 Wh pack (the Pro trim, the only one Amazon sells), but a 74 lb high-step 26x4" fat bike is a garage machine, not an apartment one. If range per dollar is your whole question and you have the storage, its review makes the case.

What else matters for indoor charging?

"UL Certified" in a listing title is not enough. UL 2580 (cells only) and UL 2271 (battery pack) do not certify the bike as a system. The standard your building inspector will ask about is UL 2849. Verify the mark in the listing photos or bullets, exactly as the six picks above state it.

Charge the battery, not the bike. Every pick here has a removable pack. Charge it at a desk or on a tiled floor away from exits, never overnight beside your door. The certificate covers the system; good habits cover the rest.

Renters: get it in writing. If your lease or building rules mention e-bikes at all, a one-line email to management citing the UL 2849 certificate settles the question before it becomes a dispute.

Sources

Certification claims for each pick are quoted from the manufacturer listing at verification time. Confirm the mark in the listing photos before purchase. The two Vivi picks are SGS-certified to the UL standards named; SGS is the accredited test laboratory that performed the certification.

More content on the site

The under-$500 guide covers the floor tier (where the RPINT and OUREA also appear); the folding guide ranks by fold quality; the family guide covers the UL-certified cargo bikes this page excludes on footprint.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best UL-certified e-bike for an apartment right now?

The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 at $609 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It carries the UL 2849 + UL 2271 pairing that NYC Local Law 39 names, states its weight (62 lb), has a removable battery for desk charging, and its 600+ Amazon reviews give apartment first-timers the deepest troubleshooting pool of any certified bike we cover. On a tighter budget, the RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) documents both UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named, and if storage space is the binding constraint, the Vivi Gopina at $379.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is a 16-inch certified folder with a step-thru option.

Is UL 2849 legally required to charge an e-bike in my apartment?

Usually it is your building, not a statute, that asks. New York City's Local Law 39 bans the sale, lease or rental in the city of e-bikes and batteries not certified to UL 2849 or UL 2271; it does not regulate where you charge, and building rules and FDNY guidance are separate. So check your lease and house rules: many US landlords, HOAs and workplaces now ask for the same certificates after the 2022–2024 battery-fire wave, and insurers increasingly ask. Even where no rule exists yet, the certificate is the difference between a conversation with your landlord and a dispute.

What is the difference between UL 2271 and UL 2849?

UL 2271 certifies the battery pack; UL 2849 certifies the whole e-bike electrical system: battery, BMS, charger interaction, wiring and motor controller together. UL 2580 covers cells only. NYC Local Law 39 names UL 2849 for e-bikes and UL 2271 for batteries sold in the city, but 2849 is the stronger claim because it covers the system the fire actually starts in. Three picks on this list (the Cityscape, the RPINT, and the Vivi ACE01) document both.

Can I charge the battery off the bike?

Yes. Every pick on this list has a removable battery, which is an apartment requirement in its own right: it lets you park the bike wherever it fits and charge the pack at a desk. Charge it on a hard surface away from your exit path, use only the supplied charger (charger mismatch is a leading cause of the fires UL 2849 exists to prevent), and avoid charging unattended overnight.

Are the Vivi picks sold on Amazon?

Yes. The Vivi Gopina and Vivi ACE01 have been sold on Amazon US since August 2026, when Vivi moved its catalogue there, and both carry the SGS-issued UL 2849 certification this guide filters on. Every pick on this page, Vivi included, is verified in stock against its live Amazon US listing, and the buy buttons fetch the live price. Our affiliate relationships are disclosed on every page; picks are ranked on certification evidence and apartment fit, never on commission.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor