Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $300 on Amazon (2026)

The best electric bike under $300 on Amazon is the RPINT Mini 14 ($199 at our last check), a 14-inch folder that documents UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named as the lab, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and publishes its 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload. For the biggest battery for the least money, the HLOIE Folding 14 ($150 checked) carries 576 Wh with a 20 mph Class 2 cap, though its UL 2849 claim names no lab. Five picks in all, three of them under $200 at our October 2026 check, each ranked on what its Amazon listing is willing to state rather than on its headline numbers.

By John WeeksUpdated Oct 24, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.5/10

Best overall under $300. It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Askmy Mini 14— Best range claim you can plan on. A 480 Wh battery and a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim that works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile…
  • Budget pick:HLOIE Folding 14— Biggest battery for the least money: a 576 Wh pack (48 V x 12 Ah) on a 14-inch folder, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 750 W peak motor, at $150…

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $300 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1RPINT Mini 14Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding
#2Askmy Mini 14Class 220 mph740 W480 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#3HLOIE Folding 14Class 220 mphNot stated576 WhNot stated62 lbFolding, step-through
#4Furider 14" Folding Compact E-Bike
$259.99Save $20Check price at Amazon
Not stated20 mph560 W480 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#5URLIFE Mini 14Class 220 mph500 WNot statedNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #17.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $300. It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and sells a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line. It also publishes a 55 lb weight, a 260 lb payload and 3 speeds, and was #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in September 2026. The trades: 14-inch wheels with front suspension only, peak figures that disagree (740 W title, 700 W bullets), and a 480 Wh pack good for about 20 to 28 miles.

Askmy Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #28.1/10

Askmy Mini 14

Askmy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best range claim you can plan on. A 480 Wh battery and a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim that works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile, plus UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 740 W peak motor, tubeless 14-inch tires and a spring fork at $183.99. It passes all four of this page's checks. It ranks below the RPINT because it publishes no weight, payload or rated wattage, has no gearing, and has a much thinner sales record.

HLOIE Folding 14
Amazon
Pick #37.4/10

HLOIE Folding 14

HLOIE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Biggest battery for the least money: a 576 Wh pack (48 V x 12 Ah) on a 14-inch folder, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 750 W peak motor, at $150, the cheapest bike we list. Its 25-mile claim survives the division (23 Wh per mile), so it passes three of the four checks. It fails the fourth: UL 2849 is claimed with no lab named and there is no UL 2271 claim. 62 lb, a 180-day warranty and no working brand website.

Furider 14" Folding Compact E-Bike
AmazonSave $20
Pick #47.0/10

Furider 14" Folding Compact E-Bike

Furider
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best step-through folder: reached #2 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes (October 2026), at $259.99. A 14-inch step-through folder with a 560 W motor, a stated 20 mph and a 480 Wh pack whose 32-mile claim survives the division (15 Wh per mile), so plan on 25 to 30 miles. Class 1 or Class 2 depending on a throttle the listing never mentions. Its title states UL 2849 with no lab named, and it publishes no weight or payload.

URLIFE Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #58.2/10

URLIFE Mini 14

URLIFE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best-selling folder: #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026), at $239.99. A 14-inch folder with a 20 mph cap, a 500 W peak motor and UL 2849 stated in the title, a Class 2 e-bike on its listing. It fails two checks: the UL claim names no lab and does not cover the pack under UL 2271, and URLIFE never publishes the battery capacity, so no range claim can be checked. Buy from URLIFE-US or URLIFE-EBIKE, the sellers URLIFE authorises.

TL;DR: five picks under $300

  1. RPINT Mini 14, $199 at our last check. Best overall. A 14-inch folder that documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and publishes a 55 lb weight and a 260 lb payload. #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026).
  2. Askmy Mini 14, $183.99 at our last check. Best range claim you can plan on. A 480 Wh pack and a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim that works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile, plus UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, tubeless tires and a 20 mph Class 2 cap.
  3. HLOIE Folding 14, $150 at our last check. Biggest battery for the least money. A 576 Wh pack (48 V x 12 Ah), a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 750 W peak motor on a 14-inch folder, with a 25-mile claim that survives the division. Its UL 2849 claim names no lab, and the warranty is 180 days.
  4. Furider 14, $259.99 at our last check. Best step-through folder. Reached #2 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes (October 2026): a 14-inch step-through folder with a 20 mph top speed, a 560 W motor, a 480 Wh pack and a 32-mile claim that survives the division. Its title states UL 2849 but names no lab.
  5. URLIFE Mini 14, $239.99 at our last check. Best-selling folder. #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026): a 14-inch folder with a 20 mph cap, a 500 W peak motor and UL 2849 in its title, no lab named. URLIFE never publishes the battery capacity.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, with a hard $300 ceiling at our checked prices. Bikes within about 3% of the ceiling are listed as mentions rather than picks, because a price that close crosses the line most weeks. Every pick was in stock on its live Amazon listing when this guide was written in September 2026, and every pick has a full review on this site. We have not ridden any of these bikes. Every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it. Picks are ranked on four checks: a UL 2271 or UL 2849 claim with the lab named, a motor figure that places the bike under the 750 W rated federal definition, a stated top speed, and a range claim that holds up when battery watt-hours are divided by claimed miles. Where two bikes were close, the tiebreak was what else the listing publishes (weight, payload, warranty) and how much Amazon sales history sits behind it. Amazon prices move daily, so the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we built this list

Under $300 is where Amazon e-bike listings say the least and claim the most. A spec sheet at this price can print 1000 W, 45 miles and "UL certified" without any of those words meaning what a buyer assumes. The hardware across this bracket is close: hub motors, 250 to 720 Wh batteries, mechanical or basic disc brakes. What separates the bikes worth buying is what the seller is willing to put in writing. So this list ranks on four questions every listing either answers or dodges.

  1. Does it name the lab behind its UL claim?UL 2271 tests the battery pack. UL 2849 tests the complete electrical system: battery, charger, controller and motor together. A claim that names SGS or TÜV can be checked. A claim that names nobody cannot.
  2. Does its motor figure place it under the federal line? The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle in 15 U.S.C. 2085 is written around a 750 W rated motor and 20 mph on motor power alone, and the Consumer Product Safety Commission regulates such a bike as a bicycle under 16 CFR 1512. A stated rated figure settles the question. So does a peak figure at or under 750 W, because a motor cannot be rated above its own peak. A peak figure above 750 W settles nothing.
  3. Does it state a top speed? Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle and still stops at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, usually with no throttle. A throttle bike that goes faster than 20 mph fits no class.
  4. Does the range claim survive division? Divide the battery's watt-hours by the claimed miles. Real e-bikes use roughly 15 to 30 Wh per mile, so a claim that needs less is marketing.

Two picks pass all four checks, the RPINT Mini 14 and the Askmy Mini 14 (the RPINT's pure-electric range claim holds, and its pedal-assist claim is only slightly optimistic). Every other pick passes at least two, and each section below says which one it fails. We have not ridden any of these bikes: every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it, restated from each bike's full review.

Which e-bike under $300 should you buy?

1. RPINT Mini 14: best overall

The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 is the best electric bike under $300 because it answers every question this page asks. It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike and names SGS as the lab that validated both. It states a 20 mph top speed with a throttle, a clean Class 2. Its motor is sold as 740 W peak, which cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line. It also publishes what most rivals at this price leave out: a 55 lb weight, a 260 lb payload, and 3 speeds in Amazon's spec table. It is #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026) and carried 413 ratings at 4.1 stars when we reviewed it in July 2026.

The trades are power and ride quality. RPINT's own peak figures disagree (740 W in the title, 700 W in the bullets) and no rated number appears, so expect steady assistance and real effort on hills. Front suspension only, on 14-inch wheels and a high-carbon steel frame, is firm over broken pavement. The 480 Wh pack (48 V x 10 Ah) comes with a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim that works out at about 19 Wh per mile, which is realistic, and a 30 to 35 mile pedal-assist claim that needs 13.7 Wh per mile, a little optimistic. Plan on 20 to 28 miles of mixed riding. The title's "30-60 miles" belongs to a 20 Ah version of the bike, and the 10 Ah build is the one our review covers. Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review.

2. Askmy Mini 14: best range claim you can plan on

The Askmy Mini 14 at $183.99 is the rare budget e-bike whose range claim survives division. Its 48 V x 10 Ah (480 Wh) battery and a claimed 20 to 25 miles in pure electric mode work out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile, inside normal use, and pure electric is the hardest mode on a battery. It pairs that with UL 2271 and UL 2849, both validated by SGS, a 20 mph cap with a throttle, a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, tubeless 14-inch tires, a spring suspension fork and dual disc brakes.

On the four questions this page asks, the Askmy answers every one. It sits below the RPINT because it publishes less of everything else: no weight, no payload, no rated wattage, no gearing (assist levels only), and a much thinner sales record at #28 in Amazon's Folding Bikes chart (September 2026). Tubeless tires are a real plus on 14-inch wheels, where a pinch flat is one of the most common ways these bikes stop being ridden. Buy it for the last two miles of a longer trip rather than as your only bike. Read the full Askmy Mini 14 review.

3. HLOIE Folding 14: biggest battery for the least money

The HLOIE Folding 14 at $150 is the cheapest bike we list, and it carries a 576 Wh battery (48 V x 12 Ah), the biggest stated pack of the five picks. HLOIE states a 20 mph cap and a 750 W peak motor, which cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, so it is a Class 2 e-bike as listed. Its 25-mile claim needs 23 Wh per mile, inside normal use, so it passes three of this page's four checks.

The one it fails is paperwork: HLOIE claims UL 2849 without naming a lab and makes no UL 2271 claim for the pack. The other trades are about trust, a 62 lb weight, a 180-day warranty where 12 months is normal, and no working brand website, and this listing's title once said 23 mph, so check the display on the first ride. It joined the picks in October 2026, when the Funhang EB-M1 and the Jasion EB5 moved to the mentions below. Read the full HLOIE Folding 14 review.

4. Furider 14: best step-through folder

The Furider 14 at $259.99 reached #2 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes in October 2026. It is a 14-inch step-through folder with a 560 W motor, a 20 mph top speed, a 48 V x 10 Ah (480 Wh) removable battery, a suspension fork plus a mid-frame shock, and a front basket in the listing photos. Its title states UL 2849 Certified, but it names no laboratory and gives no certificate number, which is the one check it fails.

What earns it the place is a range claim that holds up. Furider claims 32 miles, and 480 Wh divided by 32 miles is 15 Wh per mile, achievable for a light rider on steady pedal assist on a small, light bike. Plan on 25 to 30 miles. A 560 W motor sits under the 750 W federal line whether that figure is rated or peak, so at 20 mph this is a Class 1 or Class 2 e-bike depending on whether it has a throttle, which the listing never says. Furider publishes no weight or payload, and riders over about 6 feet usually find 14-inch frames cramped. Read the full Furider 14 review.

5. URLIFE Mini 14: best-selling folder

The URLIFE Mini 14 at $239.99 is the strongest seller among our picks: #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in October 2026. It is a 14-inch folder with a 20 mph cap and a 500 W peak motor, which makes it a Class 2 e-bike on its own listing, with UL 2849 in its title.

It ranks last because it fails two of the four checks. The UL 2849 claim names no laboratory and there is no UL 2271 claim for the pack, and URLIFE never publishes the battery capacity, so no range claim can be checked. URLIFE also warns that only URLIFE-US and URLIFE-EBIKE are authorised sellers, so check the seller name at checkout. Buy it if you want the folder most Amazon shoppers pick and can live without the number that says how far it goes. Read the full URLIFE Mini 14 review.

Are e-bikes under $300 safe?

Some are, and you can tell which from the listing before you buy. Lithium battery fires are the real risk with cheap e-bikes, and two standards exist for it: UL 2271 tests the battery pack, and UL 2849 tests the complete electrical system. Two of the five picks here document both standards and name the lab: the RPINT Mini 14 and the Askmy Mini 14, both via SGS. The HLOIE Folding 14, the Furider 14 and the URLIFE Mini 14 advertise UL 2849 without naming a certifier. Among the mentions below, the Funhang EB-M1 names SGS for the battery and TÜV for the bike, and the VOLTVOGUE City 26 names SGS for both.

Below the picks, the paperwork thins out further. The Qlaway Mountain 26 states TÜV/UL 2849, a named body, and makes no UL 2271 claim. The HQYEX Mini 14 claims neither standard. None of that proves a bike unsafe. It does mean you have nothing to show a landlord who asks. New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold or rented there, and California's SB 1271 restricts the sale of uncertified e-bikes from January 2026. If you charge indoors, buy one of the two named-lab picks or the Funhang EB-M1 mention, and read our battery fire safety guide for what each test covers.

Can you get a street-legal e-bike for under $300?

Yes. The RPINT Mini 14, the Askmy Mini 14, the HLOIE Folding 14 and the URLIFE Mini 14 each state a 20 mph top speed with a throttle and a motor figure that places them under the 750 W rated federal line, which makes each one a Class 2 e-bike on its own listing. The Furider 14 states 20 mph and a 560 W motor, which makes it Class 1 or Class 2 depending on a throttle its listing never mentions. The HQYEX Mini 14 states the same combination as the Class 2 picks. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration; New Jersey and Hawaii require it.

Two former picks need a word. The Funhang EB-M1, a pick here until October 2026 and now a mention, states a 500 W rated motor and no top speed, so its class depends on what the display shows at full throttle. The VOLTVOGUE City 26 was a pick here until its listing changed in October 2026 to a 22 mph top speed, which is over the Class 1 and Class 2 limit, so it is now a mention. The bikes that fail outright are the ones that advertise more speed, covered in the next section. For where each class may ride, including bike paths and sidewalks, check your state in our state-by-state law pages or the street-legal-by-state guide.

What e-bikes should you stay away from?

Stay away from any e-bike under $300 that advertises more than 20 mph with a throttle, unless you only ride on private land. A throttle bike above 20 mph fits no US e-bike class, so on public roads and paths it can be treated as a moped or motor vehicle. Several of Amazon's best sellers in this price band fall into that gap:

  • LELEKUAI T5 ($159.99 at our last check) is #1 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026) with a 480 Wh battery. Its listing title and LELEKUAI's own product page both say 24 mph with a throttle, while the bullets say 20. Until the seller confirms a 20 mph limit in writing, it fits no class. Its UL 2849 claim appears in one title with no lab named.
  • YUCHETX Moped 20 advertises 30 to 35 mph with a throttle, quotes five different battery sizes from 709 to 998 Wh, states no rated wattage, documents no UL standard, and stops an 88 lb bike with cable-actuated disc brakes.
  • Qlife Racer ($239.99 at our last check) is sold at 22 mph with a throttle, unlockable to 25, which is above the 20 mph Class 2 cap. Its UL 2849 claim names no lab.
  • Rakowe Tandem 16 carries a passenger on a folding frame, and says "UL Certified" without naming a standard. It publishes no battery capacity, no top speed and no payload rating, and payload is the number that matters most on a two-seater.

Two softer warnings apply to bikes you might still buy. A range claim that needs fewer than about 15 Wh per mile is marketing, and nearly every listing here makes one: the VOLTVOGUE's 45 miles needs 5.5 Wh per mile. Plan on the arithmetic and judge the bike on the rest. And a short warranty with no brand website behind it (the HLOIE Folding 14 offers 180 days and has no working site; both Qlaway bikes offer 6 months) leaves Amazon's return window as your main protection. The HQYEX Mini 14 is legal as listed and claims no UL standard at all, so keep it out of any building that asks.

What about electric bikes under $200?

Three of the five picks were under $200 at our October 2026 check: the HLOIE Folding 14, the Askmy Mini 14 and the RPINT Mini 14, which sat just under the line, so check the live price on the button. Under $200, buy the RPINT Mini 14 for documentation, the Askmy Mini 14 for a range claim you can believe, and the HLOIE Folding 14 for the biggest battery.

The other bikes under $200 we cover are weaker. The VOLTVOGUE City 26 at $179.99 documents both UL standards via SGS on full-size wheels, but its listing now states 22 mph, over the Class 1 and Class 2 limit, and its 250 Wh pack is good for about 10 to 14 miles. The LELEKUAI T5 at $159.99 is the 24 mph folder covered above. The full-size bikes we cover near this price carry small batteries: 250 Wh on the VOLTVOGUE and 360 Wh on the Jasion EB5. Nothing at this price combines big wheels with a big battery.

What if you can stretch to $300 or a little more?

Two of this guide's former picks became mentions in October 2026, because their prices have moved across the $300 line; check the live price on each card. The Funhang EB-M1 at $219.99 is still the only bike near this price that states a 500 W rated motor and names a lab for both standards (SGS for UL 2271, TÜV for UL 2849), on a 26-inch hardtail with 7 speeds; it gives no top speed. The Jasion EB5 at $199.99 is a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a published 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and it is now the #3 pick in our under-$400 guide.

The DTTZH A12 at $278.99 carries a 720 Wh battery (48 V x 15 Ah), the biggest near this price, beside a 750 W rated motor and a UL 2849 claim that names no lab. It is a mention rather than a pick because it fails three of this page's checks: no lab named, no top speed on the listing, and a "60 miles with PAS" claim that needs 12 Wh per mile, so plan on 25 to 35. The drivetrain is single-speed on 14-inch wheels. The YUCHETX Moped 20 and the Rakowe Tandem 16 from the section above also sit near the line.

A little further up, the Funhang City Cruiser 26 at $369.99 states a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap and both UL standards with SGS named, the full set of disclosures this page looks for.

Where to look next

There is no rung below this one: under $300 is the floor of what we cover. One step up, Best Electric Bikes Under $400 covers the next band, and Best Electric Bikes Under $500 is where 600 to 720 Wh batteries start to appear alongside named-lab certification. If indoor charging is the deciding factor at any price, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone, and Best Folding E-Bikes on Amazon ranks folders of every size. The class explainer covers why rated and peak wattage are different numbers. If you want the best value at each budget rather than the lowest price, Best Budget Electric Bikes picks one bike per need on the same disclosure checks.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Funhang EB-M1 product photo

    A pick here until October 2026, when its price crossed the $300 ceiling; it was $219.99 at our last check. Still the only bike near this price that states a 500 W rated motor and names a lab for both standards: SGS for UL 2271 and TÜV for UL 2849. A 26-inch hardtail with front suspension, 7 speeds, fenders, a lockable IPX5 374.4 Wh battery and a 300 lb maximum load. No top speed is stated, so check the display at full throttle. Whenever it sells under $300, it is the indoor-charging pick.

  • Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter product photo

    A pick here until October 2026, when its price crossed the $300 ceiling. It has moved back and forth across that line since ($199.99 at our last check), so it stays a mention until the price settles. A 26-inch hardtail with a stated 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed gearing, a 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, from a listing with over 2,200 reviews. Its listing states no UL certification, and the 360 Wh battery means about 16 miles. It is the #3 pick in our under-$400 guide.

  • Qlaway Mountain 26 product photo

    A full-size 26-inch hardtail at $279.98 with a 20 mph cap, TÜV/UL 2849 stated, front suspension, puncture-resistant tires, a 400-lumen headlight and 95% pre-assembly. It is a mention because one bullet calls the pack both "48V 5.2Ah" (250 Wh) and "360Wh", the motor is quoted as 1000 W peak with no rated figure, there is no UL 2271 claim, and the warranty is 6 months. Plan on 12 to 18 miles.

  • VOLTVOGUE City 26 product photo

    A full-size 26-inch bike at $179.99 with SGS certification to both UL 2849 and UL 2271, paperwork bikes three times the price often lack. It was a pick here until its listing changed in October 2026 to a 22 mph top speed, which is over the 20 mph Class 1 and Class 2 limit; ask the seller whether it can be limited to 20 mph. The motor is quoted only as 1000 W peak, and the 250 Wh battery is good for about 10 to 14 miles, not the 45 claimed.

  • DTTZH A12 product photo

    DTTZH A12

    $278.99

    A 720 Wh battery (48 V x 15 Ah) and a stated 750 W rated motor at $278.99, more than anything below it offers, with a UL 2849 claim that names no lab. It is a mention because it fails three of this page's checks: no lab named, no top speed on the listing, and a 60-mile claim that needs 12 Wh per mile, so plan on 25 to 35. The drivetrain is single-speed on 14-inch wheels and no weight is published. The same title also sells a 2000 W A12S, so check the configuration selector. It is a pick in the under-$500 guide.

  • sixblues EB3S 26" Electric Mountain Bike product photo

    Close to the $300 line at $309.99, and the strongest paperwork near it: UL 2849 for the whole bike and UL 2271 for the battery, both with SGS named, plus a stated 20 mph. It misses two checks: the motor is quoted only as 1500 W peak, and the 80-mile claim needs 6.75 Wh per mile. The 540 Wh pack is still the largest on any 26-inch bike we list near $300. Plan on about 30 miles.

  • AYOLNY EB1 14" Folding Electric Bike product photo

    A 14-inch folder with a 432 Wh battery (about 22 miles), dual disc brakes, a throttle, 10/15/20 mph modes and a USB port, for $259.99 at our last check; its listing family sat #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in October 2026. It is a mention because the listing gives only a 1500 W peak figure, names no UL standard for this build, and weighs 52.9 lb. The same listing sells a cheaper 280.8 Wh EB1 with a drum brake, so pick the 432 Wh option.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $300 on Amazon?

The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (our checked price). It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and publishes a 55 lb weight and a 260 lb payload. Its 14-inch wheels and front-only suspension are the trade. For a range claim you can plan on, the Askmy Mini 14 at $183.99 passes all four of our checks too, and for the biggest battery the HLOIE Folding 14 at $150 carries 576 Wh. Every pick here is a 14-inch folder; for full-size wheels, see the Jasion EB5 and Funhang EB-M1, two 26-inch hardtails listed as mentions because their prices move across the $300 line.

What is the cheapest but most reliable e-bike?

We have not ridden these bikes, and reliability cannot be read off a listing, so the honest proxies are sales history, warranty terms and paperwork. On paperwork the RPINT Mini 14 at $199 is strongest, with both UL standards and SGS named, and it had 413 ratings at 4.1 stars in July 2026. On sales history the URLIFE Mini 14 at $239.99 was #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in October 2026, and the Jasion EB5 at $199.99, a mention here because its price moves across $300, has over 2,200 reviews and a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain any bike shop can service. Avoid any bike with a warranty under 12 months from a brand with no website.

What e-bikes should you stay away from?

Stay away from the LELEKUAI T5, the YUCHETX Moped 20 and the Qlife Racer for public roads, because each is sold faster than 20 mph with a throttle (24, 30 to 35, and 22 mph), which fits no US e-bike class. The LELEKUAI's bullets say 20 mph and its title and maker say 24, so get a 20 mph limit confirmed in writing before buying it. More generally, avoid a bike with no UL 2271 or UL 2849 claim if you charge indoors, treat a UL claim that names no lab as unverified, and be wary of warranties under 12 months, such as the HLOIE Folding 14's 180 days. Almost every range claim at this price is inflated, so plan on the arithmetic.

Are there good electric bikes under $200 for adults?

Yes. The Askmy Mini 14 at $183.99 and the RPINT Mini 14 at $199 both document UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named, state a 20 mph Class 2 cap and carry 480 Wh batteries; both are 14-inch folders. The HLOIE Folding 14 at $150 is the cheapest bike we list and carries 576 Wh, with a UL 2849 claim that names no lab and a 180-day warranty. The VOLTVOGUE City 26 at $179.99 has full-size wheels and both UL standards via SGS, but only 250 Wh, and its listing now states 22 mph, over the Class 2 limit. The RPINT sat just under $200 at our October 2026 check, so confirm the live price.

What are some good electric bikes under $250?

Four of the five picks were under $250 at our October 2026 check: the HLOIE Folding 14, the Askmy Mini 14, the RPINT Mini 14 and the URLIFE Mini 14 at $239.99, the best seller of the four, which never publishes its battery size. The Furider 14 sat just above, at $259.99. The HQYEX Mini 14 at $199.97 also sits under $250 as a Class 2 folder with a 432 Wh battery, and it claims no UL standard at all, so skip it if you charge indoors.

What are some good electric bikes for adults under $350?

Start with the two full-size mentions on this page, whose prices have moved on both sides of $300: the Jasion EB5 at $199.99 is a 26-inch hardtail with a stated 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and the Funhang EB-M1 at $219.99 states a 500 W rated motor and names SGS and TÜV for its two UL standards, though it gives no top speed. A little further up, the Funhang City Cruiser 26 at $369.99 states a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 certified by SGS, the full set of disclosures this page screens for. For more options in that band, see Best Electric Bikes Under $400.

Is it safe to charge a cheap e-bike indoors?

The RPINT Mini 14 and Askmy Mini 14 are the picks under $300 with the paperwork for indoor charging: each documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete electrical system, and names SGS as the lab. Among the mentions, the Funhang EB-M1 names SGS and TÜV, and the VOLTVOGUE City 26 names SGS for both. New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold or rented there, and many buildings ask for it before allowing indoor charging. The HLOIE Folding 14, Furider 14 and URLIFE Mini 14 advertise UL 2849 without naming a certifier, so ask for the certificate first. The HQYEX Mini 14 and YUCHETX Moped 20 document neither standard. Our battery fire safety guide explains what each test covers.

Are electric bikes under $300 street legal?

Most of the picks are, on their own listings. The RPINT Mini 14, Askmy Mini 14, HLOIE Folding 14 and URLIFE Mini 14 each state a 20 mph cap with a throttle and a motor figure under the 750 W rated federal line, which makes them Class 2. The Furider 14 states 20 mph and a 560 W motor, which is Class 1 or Class 2 depending on a throttle the listing never mentions. The VOLTVOGUE City 26, now a mention, states 22 mph, which is over the Class 1 and Class 2 limit. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration; New Jersey and Hawaii require it. Check your state in our state-by-state law table.

Our pick

RPINT Mini 14

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: RPINT Mini 14

Best overall under $300. It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor