Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $800 in the US (2026)

The TST City Commuter ($559.99 at our last check) is the best electric bike under $800 on Amazon US, the top of six in-stock picks from $499.99 to $769.99, one for each archetype: best overall, best certified, best budget, best folder, best trike, best battery. It earns the top slot with a 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.0/10
TST City Commuter

TST City Commuter

$559.99Save $40

#6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026) and the most-bought bike on this page by a...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Budget pick:Funhang Fat 26— Both UL certifications with the certifying body named — UL 2271 for the battery via SGS,...
  • Runner-up:Hoverfly OUREA— Budget pick, and the cheapest bike on this page at $499.99. It is also the cleanest...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $800 in the US (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1TST City CommuterClass 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#2Funhang Fat 26Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#3Hoverfly OUREAClass 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#4Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-BikeClass 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lb62 lbFolding
#5NARRAK Trike 500Not statedNot stated500 W624 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#6VEBLUE Folding 20Not statedNot statedNot stated1040 WhNot statedNot statedFolding

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $40
Pick #18.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

#6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026) and the most-bought bike on this page by a wide margin: 487 owner ratings at 4.2 stars and a sales rank about three times stronger than anything else here. A 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah for $559.99 is more capacity than the pick below it and more than most bikes in this band, with 750 W rated stated alongside the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing. 🔴 It names no UL 2849 and no UL 2271, which rules it out for purchase in New York City under Local Law 39 or in California under SB 1271, and for buildings that ask for certification before indoor charging — if either applies to you, the Funhang directly below carries both, from named certifying bodies. The listing now states 66 lb and a 450 lb maximum load and markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply, and plan on about 35 miles against the 60-mile claim.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Both UL certifications with the certifying body named — UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TUV — at $459.99 at our last check. That is the paperwork NYC Local Law 39 and California SB 1271 ask for, and at this price it is rarer than anything on the spec sheet. A 624 Wh pack quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah gives about 31 real throttle miles (the seller claims 30-35, and the claim survives division) and 55-60 on pedal-assist. Integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals, a 330 lb payload and a 60 lb rear rack. The headline says 1000 W; the rated motor is 500 W, stated in the first bullet, and rated wattage is the number the statutes regulate. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

Hoverfly OUREA
Amazon
Pick #37.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Budget pick, and the cheapest bike on this page at $499.99. It is also the cleanest legal package here: 750 W at the federal cap, a 20 mph cap — a by-the-book Class 2 in every US jurisdiction we track — and UL 2849 certified, with every number stated and none inflated. The seller splits its range claim by mode, 20 miles on throttle and 40 on pedal-assist, and both survive the arithmetic on a 374 Wh pack. A 365-day warranty is four times the norm in this band. The honest trade is capacity: that pack is the smallest of these picks, so this is the bike for a sub-10-mile commute with indoor charging, not for long hauls. Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review.

Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folder, and the most legally unambiguous bike here. A stated 20 mph makes it a clean Class 2, road-legal in every US jurisdiction we track including the seven that ban Class 3. 500 W rated (1000 W peak), 624 Wh, 20-inch fat tires, a published 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload rating, and it folds. Fat tires on a folding frame is a real combination rather than a spec-sheet flourish. Plan on about 30 miles against the 50-mile brand claim.

NARRAK Trike 500
Amazon
Pick #57.4/10

NARRAK Trike 500

NARRAK
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The only three-wheeler inside the ceiling, at $519. Three wheels remove balance as a prerequisite, which makes this the entry for riders returning after injury or carrying shopping daily. 500 W rated (1100 W peak) with a 624 Wh pack the listing states as UL 2849 certified, which is rare this low in the band. No stated top speed, weight or payload; treat the roughly 27-mile figure as a loaded-trike estimate.

VEBLUE Folding 20
Amazon
Pick #66.9/10

VEBLUE Folding 20

VEBLUE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best battery, by a distance. 1,040 Wh stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah, more capacity than most bikes at twice the price, in a folding 20-inch frame. A realistic 45 miles of mixed riding is a different proposition from the 20-odd a 374 Wh budget folder manages. The disclosure does not match the battery: only a 1500 W peak figure appears with no rated wattage printed, and the listing states neither a top speed nor a weight. Buy it for the pack specifically and check the limiter before the first ride.

TL;DR: six picks across archetypes

  1. TST City Commuter, $559.99 at our last check. Best overall. A 720 Wh battery (48 V x 15 Ah, stated exactly), 750 W rated alongside the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension, and the strongest Amazon sales rank on this page. No UL certification is named, which is the trade, and the listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2.
  2. Funhang Fat 26, $459.99 at our last check. Best certified. UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TUV, the certifying body named in each case, on a 624 Wh pack (48 V x 13 Ah). Lights and turn signals fitted, a 330 lb payload and a 60 lb rear rack. Rated motor 500 W, stated in the first bullet under a 1000 W headline.
  3. Hoverfly OUREA, $499.99 at our last check. Budget pick, cheapest on the page. 750 W at the federal cap, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and UL 2849, every number stated and none inflated, with a 365-day warranty. The 374 Wh pack is the smallest here, so it is a short-commute bike.
  4. Jasion EB6, $579 at our last check. Best folder. A clean Class 2 at 20 mph, 500 W rated (1000 W peak), 624 Wh, 20-inch fat tires, a 330 lb payload rating and a published 62 lb weight.
  5. NARRAK Trike 500, $519 at our last check. Best trike, and the only three-wheeler inside the ceiling. 500 W rated (1100 W peak) with a 624 Wh pack the listing states as UL 2849 certified.
  6. VEBLUE Folding 20, $769.99 at our last check. Best battery. 1,040 Wh (52 V x 20 Ah, stated exactly), which is more capacity than most bikes at twice this price carry, in a folding 20-inch frame.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $800 ceiling at our checked-at-publish prices, every pick verified in stock against the live listing through the Amazon product API on publish day, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. This is the band where a commuter e-bike stops asking you to accept a compromise you will notice daily: at $500 to $800 a removable battery, disc brakes and a certified pack are all available at once, which is rarely true below $500. So this guide weights three things: whether the seller states a RATED motor figure rather than a peak-only marketing number, whether the battery capacity is disclosed in watt-hours you can check, and whether a fire-safety certification exists with a body named against it. Two bikes inside the price ceiling are deliberately excluded from the picks on compliance. The EUYBIKE 2-Seater advertises 35 mph, which is above the 28 mph Class 3 cap and fits no US e-bike class, and the DEEPOWER QS7 advertises 28 mph with a throttle, which fits no class in most states, so both appear as mentions with the reason rather than as recommendations. Amazon prices move constantly. Bikes over the line at our last check appear as honourable mentions, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we built this list

The $500 to $800 band is the first point on Amazon where you stop paying for the absence of things. Below $500 the recurring question is what the listing is hiding: a peak-only wattage figure, a battery quoted in vague amp-hours, no certification anywhere. In this band those disclosures start appearing as standard, and the bikes that still withhold them stand out rather than blend in.

So the screen here is disclosure first. A rated motor figure stated alongside the peak, because rated wattage is what US state law regulates and peak wattage is what marketing prints. A battery capacity in watt-hours you can verify against the volts and amp-hours. A fire-safety certification, ideally with the certifying body named. Every pick below clears at least two of the three, and each entry says plainly which one it misses.

Two bikes here are worth calling out for the opposite reason. The Funhang Fat 26 holds UL 2271 at the cell level and UL 2849 for the complete bike, and names the certifying body against each (SGS and TUV), which is a step beyond the bare claim most listings make; that pairing is what NYC Local Law 39 references for e-bike and battery sales and what a growing number of apartment buildings and offices ask to see. The NARRAK trike states UL 2849 against its pack at $519, which is unusual at the bottom of this band.

Set expectations honestly. These are still budget bikes. Mechanical disc brakes rather than hydraulic, cadence sensing rather than torque, and manufacturer range claims that assume a light rider on flat ground at the lowest assist level. Every entry below gives a realistic range instead of the headline one.

Which e-bike under $800 should you buy?

1. TST City Commuter: best overall

The TST City Commuter carries a 720 Wh battery, stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah, for $559.99. That is more capacity than any other pick on this page and more than most bikes in the band, and capacity is the specification that decides whether a bike is useful on the third day without a charge. TST also states 750 W rated next to the 1500 W peak, the disclosure most of this tier skips entirely, and its title now markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph if you want Class 2 rules.

It also has the strongest Amazon sales rank of anything on this page, which is worth something concrete rather than as a vanity number: volume is what gets returns processed and replacement parts answered. The listing now states 66 lb and a 450 lb maximum load, and the title markets a 28 mph setting, so confirm the limiter in the display menu on arrival. Against the seller's 60-mile claim, plan on about 35 miles in mixed riding.

One thing decides whether this is the right pick for you rather than the Funhang below, and it is not a spec: the listing names no UL 2849 and no UL 2271. That is a hard stop if a building manager asks for certification before indoor charging, and New York City bans the sale of uncertified e-bikes under Local Law 39, and California SB 1271 has restricted sales of uncertified e-bikes since January 2026. If you have a garage, a shed or a ground-floor porch and no building manager to satisfy, it is the most bike per dollar on this page by a distance. If you have to carry it into a flat, buy the Funhang. Read the full City Commuter review.

2. Funhang Fat 26: both certifications, with the certifying body named

Most listings that claim UL certification claim it as a bare phrase. The Fat 26 names the body against each standard: UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TUV. That is the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references for e-bike and battery sales, and it is what California SB 1271 has required of new sales since January 2026. At this price it is rarer than anything on the spec sheet.

The rest holds up. The pack is 624 Wh, quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah, which divides out to about 31 real throttle miles against a 30-to-35 claim, and 55 to 60 on pedal-assist. Integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals come fitted, the payload rating is 330 lb, and the rear rack is rated to 60 lb. The one number to read carefully is the motor: the headline says 1000 W, and the rated figure is 500 W, stated in the first bullet. Rated wattage is what US state law regulates, so that is the number to take to your statute. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

3. Hoverfly OUREA: budget pick, and the cleanest legal package here

The OUREA is the cheapest bike on this page and the one whose numbers need the least interpretation. 750 W at the federal cap. A 20 mph cap. UL 2849. That combination is a by-the-book Class 2 in every US jurisdiction we track, including the seven states that ban Class 3 outright, and it is certified for the indoor charging a flat or an office needs. Nothing on the listing is inflated to look bigger than it is, which on this page is a distinguishing feature rather than a baseline.

The seller even splits its range claim by mode rather than quoting the flattering half: 20 miles on throttle, 40 on pedal-assist. Both survive division against the 374 Wh pack. The warranty is 365 days, four times the norm in this band. The honest trade is that same pack: it is the smallest of the six picks, so this is the bike for a sub-10-mile commute that charges indoors, not for the 40-mile weekend you might be imagining. If range is the constraint, the VEBLUE at the bottom of this page carries nearly three times the capacity. Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review.

4. Jasion EB6: best folder

The EB6 is the most legally unambiguous bike on this page. It states 20 mph, which makes it a clean Class 2, road-legal in every US jurisdiction we track including the seven that ban Class 3 outright. Around that it puts a 500 W rated motor quoted at 1000 W peak, a 624 Wh battery, 20-inch fat tires, a published 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload rating, and it folds.

Fat tires on a folder is a genuine combination rather than a spec-sheet flourish, because the format usually forces a choice between packing small and riding comfortably on bad surfaces. The brand claims 50 miles; plan on about 30 with pedal assist in real conditions. Read the full Jasion EB6 review.

5. NARRAK Trike 500: best trike, and the only three-wheeler

At $519 this is the only trike in our catalogue inside the ceiling. Three wheels change who an e-bike is for: balance stops being a prerequisite, which makes this the entry here for riders returning after an injury, riders carrying shopping every day, or anyone for whom a two-wheeler is the reason they gave up cycling.

The specification is more forthcoming than the price suggests. The motor is 500 W rated, quoted at 1100 W peak, and the pack is 624 Wh described on the listing as UL 2849 certified, which is not something we expect to find at the bottom of this band. What is absent is a stated top speed, a weight and a payload figure, so treat the range as the loaded-trike estimate of roughly 27 miles rather than a headline. Read the full NARRAK Trike 500 review.

6. VEBLUE Folding 20: best battery

1,040 Wh, stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah. That is the single biggest number on this page and it is bigger than the packs on most bikes at twice the price, in a folding 20-inch frame at $769.99. If range anxiety is the thing stopping you from commuting by bike, this is the direct answer to it, and a realistic 45 miles of mixed riding is a different proposition from the 20-odd miles a 374 Wh budget folder delivers.

The disclosure is weaker than the battery deserves. Only a 1500 W peak figure appears, with no rated wattage printed anywhere, and the listing states no top speed and no weight. A 1 kWh pack on a folding frame will also not be light. Buy this one for the battery specifically, and check the limiter setting before the first ride. Read the full VEBLUE Folding 20 review.

Bikes inside the budget that we will not recommend

The EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo costs $799.99, and on hardware it is the most interesting thing in this price band. It is a true two-up bike: an extended fat-tire frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, so an older child or a second adult on short hops rides behind you instead of perched in a child seat. It carries a 960 Wh battery, a 750 W rated motor quoted at 1450 W peak, dual suspension, a 400 lb payload rating and a 4.2-star owner rating.

It is not on the list because its listing advertises a 35 mph top speed. The US three-class framework caps Class 3 pedal-assist at 28 mph, so a bike assisting to 35 fits no class in any state and can be reclassified as a moped on public roads, which changes licensing, registration and where you may legally ride. That is a heavier consequence than usual here, because the whole point of the bike is carrying a passenger. Controllers of this type normally expose a speed limit in the display menu, and capping it at 28 mph brings it back inside Class 3. That is a change you make before the first ride rather than a detail to discover afterwards. The full reasoning is in the EUYBIKE review; check your own state on the street-legal-by-state guide.

The DEEPOWER QS7 at $589.99 is the same story on a single-seat moped frame. On this page's own disclosure screen it scores well: a 960 Wh pack stated as 48 V x 20 Ah and a 750 W rated motor published in DEEPOWER's manual, with a real rear shock. But its Amazon title advertises 28 mph with a throttle, which fits no class in most states, the manual says it reaches 30 mph once a limiter wire under the seat is unplugged, and the UL 2849 report linked from DEEPOWER's site names the S7 rather than the QS7. The manual also says it ships limited to 15.5 mph, so whether it is legal depends on leaving that limiter alone.

What $800 buys that $500 does not

The honest answer is fewer absences rather than more features. Battery capacity is the clearest gain: 720 Wh and 1,040 Wh packs exist in this band at prices where the sub-$500 tier is still arguing about whether 374 Wh is enough. Certification becomes findable rather than exceptional. Rated wattage gets printed next to peak wattage often enough that a listing omitting it looks evasive instead of normal.

What does not change much is component quality. Mechanical disc brakes remain the norm, cadence sensors remain the norm, and the derailleurs are entry-level Shimano at both ends of the band. If those are what you are shopping for, the money is better spent above $1,000. If a certified battery, a real watt-hour figure and a bike that is legal where you live are what you are shopping for, this band is where they stop being a gamble.

What if your budget moves?

One rung down, Best Electric Bikes Under $700 sits between this page and Best Electric Bikes Under $600, and one rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $900 is the last step before the $1,000 line. Below all of them, Best Electric Bikes Under $500 covers the floor of the market, where the screen shifts almost entirely to whether the seller is telling the truth. Above, Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 adds hydraulic brakes and heavier-duty frames, and Best Electric Bikes Under $1,500 is where torque sensors and premium components start. If this is your first e-bike, the beginner's guide ranks by first-timer profile instead of price, and if indoor charging is the binding constraint, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • isinwheel U7 Cargo product photo

    Arrives with dual cargo racks already fitted, front and rear, on a step-through fat-tire frame rated to 330 lb, which removes the rack-buying tax cargo-curious buyers forget to budget for. 500 W rated (1000 W peak), a removable 500 Wh pack, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 65 lb published. At $729.99 it sits at the top of the band while carrying the smallest battery of the bikes we considered here, and a loaded cargo bike is the worst case for range — plan on 25 to 35 miles with weight aboard. Read the review if the fitted racks are the deciding factor.

  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0 product photo

    The best-documented bike under $800 and the highest editorial score in our catalogue: UL 2849 for the complete bike plus UL 2271 at cell level, 750 W rated (1200 W peak), a removable 468 Wh pack, and Class 3 assist to 28 mph that switches down to Class 2 or Class 1 from the display. It is a mention rather than a pick because our picks above match it on certification at a lower price and, in the case of the Funhang, on battery capacity too. At $609 it is still the right buy if you specifically want Class 3 speed you can switch off. Plan on 25 to 35 real miles rather than the quoted 50, and note the 62 lb weight.

  • EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo product photo

    The most interesting hardware in the band at $799.99: a true two-up frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, a 960 Wh battery, 750 W rated (1450 W peak), dual suspension, a 400 lb payload rating and a 4.2-star owner rating. It is excluded from the picks on COMPLIANCE, not price. The listing advertises 35 mph, which is above the 28 mph Class 3 cap and therefore fits no US class; on public roads it can be reclassified as a moped, which changes licensing and registration. Cap it at 28 mph in the display menu before riding, and treat 35 as a private-property figure.

  • DEEPOWER QS7 product photo

    A 960 Wh pack (48 V x 20 Ah), a 750 W rated motor published in DEEPOWER's manual rather than on the listing, a real rear shock and 20 x 4 tires at $589.99, which on disclosure beats the peak-only VEBLUE pick. It is excluded on compliance: the Amazon title advertises 28 mph with a throttle, the manual says 30 mph with the limiter wire unplugged, and the UL 2849 report on DEEPOWER's site names the S7, not the QS7. The manual says it ships limited to 15.5 mph; leave it that way for bike lanes and paths.

  • ESKUTE E Trike product photo

    The second trike in the band at $299, with the same 624 Wh pack and a 500 W rated motor quoted at 1200 W peak. It loses the slot to the NARRAK on price alone, costing more for a closely comparable specification. Worth reading if the NARRAK is out of stock or if the basket configuration suits you better; the full review discusses the basket capacities individually rather than as one payload number.

  • TST Fat Retro product photo

    A 720 Wh dual-suspension fat-tire retro cruiser at $579.99 from the same brand as our top pick, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). What keeps it out is disclosure: the seller states only a 2000 W peak figure with no rated wattage anywhere, prints no top speed, publishes no weight and offers a 180-day warranty. The battery is quoted as 15 Ah with the voltage left unstated. Good hardware, thin paperwork.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    The household-name option at $588.99, from a US brand most buyers already trust, in a 16-inch moto style. The specification is where it falls behind this list: a 350 W motor, a 360 Wh battery, a 16 mph top speed and roughly 12 miles of range, all below what the same money buys elsewhere on this page. Buy it for the brand, the support path and the styling rather than for the numbers.

  • Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike product photo

    The lightest folder we cover at a published 48 lb, at $659.99, with a 350 W rated motor (500 W peak), a 374 Wh pack, a clean Class 2 20 mph cap and a 250 lb payload rating. It loses the folder slot to the Jasion EB6 on battery and motor, but 48 lb against the EB6's 62 is a real difference if the bike has to go up stairs or into a car boot regularly.

  • Vivi H7UL 27.5" Electric Mountain Bike product photo

    On Amazon since August 2026, when Vivi moved its whole catalogue there. It was a mention because Vivi sold direct and this guide ranks Amazon listings; that reason is gone. At $549.99 it carries SGS-certified UL 2849, a 499 Wh pack and real 27.5-inch trail geometry, but its review records a 22 mph top speed, above the 20 mph Class 2 line, so set the limiter to 20 where Class 2 rules apply. Read the full review before choosing between it and the picks above.

  • Elecby T300 product photo

    A third trike option at $678.99 with a 624 Wh pack stated exactly. It sits behind both the NARRAK and the ESKUTE because its motor figure appears as a bare "1200 W" with no rated or peak qualifier attached, which is the one disclosure this guide weights hardest. Roughly 26 miles loaded.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $800 on Amazon right now?

The TST City Commuter at $559.99 (our checked price) for the best all-round package: a 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah, 750 W rated printed next to the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension, and the strongest Amazon sales rank on this page. Its listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply. If you charge indoors, buy the Funhang Fat 26 at $459.99 instead: it carries UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TUV, the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references and California SB 1271 requires. On price, the Hoverfly OUREA at $499.99 is the cheapest pick here and still states 750 W rated, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and UL 2849.

Is $800 enough for a good electric bike?

Yes, and this is roughly where the answer changes from "with reservations" to "comfortably". Under $500 the recurring problem is disclosure: peak-only wattage figures, vague battery capacities and absent certification. In the $500 to $800 band those become findable. Batteries of 720 Wh and 1,040 Wh exist here, UL certification appears on several listings with a body named against it, and rated wattage is printed often enough that a listing omitting it stands out. What $800 still does not buy is component quality. Mechanical disc brakes and cadence sensors remain the norm; hydraulic brakes and torque sensors start above $1,000.

Which of these e-bikes are street legal, and do they need registration?

Three of the six picks state a top speed inside the Class 2 20 mph cap: the Hoverfly OUREA, the Jasion EB6 and the Funhang Fat 26. That makes them road-legal in every US jurisdiction we track, including the seven states that ban Class 3 outright (DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina). The TST City Commuter states 750 W rated but its listing markets a 28 mph setting, which is Class 3, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply. The NARRAK Trike 500 and VEBLUE Folding 20 state no top speed at all, so confirm the limiter on arrival. In 49 of 51 US jurisdictions a compliant e-bike is legally a bicycle and needs no registration or licence; the exceptions are New Jersey (registration and a licence) and Hawaii (registration). Check yours in our state-by-state law table.

Which of these has the longest range?

The VEBLUE Folding 20 by a clear margin, on a 1,040 Wh battery stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah. That is more capacity than most bikes at twice this price carry, and it supports a realistic 45 miles of mixed riding. Second is the TST City Commuter at 720 Wh for roughly 35 miles. Treat every manufacturer range figure on this page with suspicion: they assume a light rider, flat ground and the lowest assist level, and the gap to real-world riding runs 30 to 50 percent. The number worth comparing is watt-hours, because it is the one specification a seller cannot make flattering without changing the hardware.

Do any of these have UL certification for indoor charging?

The Funhang Fat 26 is the strongest case: UL 2271 at the cell level via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TUV, with the certifying body named against each rather than the bare claim most listings make. That is the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references and that many apartment buildings and workplaces now ask to see before allowing indoor storage. The Hoverfly OUREA states UL 2849, and the NARRAK Trike 500 states UL 2849 against its 624 Wh pack, which is unusual at $519. The remaining picks do not carry a certification claim we can verify from the listing, and this guide says so on each entry rather than leaving it implied. If indoor charging is the constraint that decides your purchase, our UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone.

How were these picks verified as in stock?

Every pick was checked against its live Amazon listing through Amazon's own product API on publish day, and our system re-verifies price and availability every six hours after that. If a listing dies, the buy button is removed automatically and the pick is replaced in the next editorial pass. A recommendation you cannot act on is worth less than no recommendation.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor