Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $600 on Amazon (2026)

The TST City Commuter ($529.99 as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best electric bike under $600 on Amazon US, the top of six in-stock picks from $439.99 to $579.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), one for each format buyers actually search for. It states a 750 W rated motor...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.0/10
TST City Commuter

TST City Commuter

$529.99Save $70

Price as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall under $600. It states a 750 W RATED motor rather than a peak-only marketing...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Budget pick:Funhang Fat 26— Best for apartment charging, and the trust pick of the page. At $439.99 (as of Oct...
  • Runner-up:TST Fat Retro— Best fat-tire, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). 2000 W peak, 90 N·m...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $600 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1TST City Commuter
$529.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#2Funhang Fat 26
$439.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#3TST Fat Retro
$579.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not statedNot statedNot stated720 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#4NARRAK Trike 500
$499as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not statedNot stated500 W624 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#5Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike
$569as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not stated25 mphNot stated624 Wh330 lb59 lbFolding
#6Hopepeak Z10
$469as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not stated28 mphNot stated648 Wh400 lbNot statedFolding

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $70
Pick #18.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $600. It states a 750 W RATED motor rather than a peak-only marketing figure, which is the disclosure that makes it placeable in the US three-class system at all: at a 20 mph cap it is a clean Class 2. Around that sits a 720 Wh removable battery, suspension front and rear, and 7-speed gearing. It is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). No named certification body is the trade, and the listing now states 66 lb and markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for apartment charging, and the trust pick of the page. At $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it documents UL 2271 for the battery via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV — naming the certifying body for each, which is what makes a certification claim checkable rather than a marketing line. Those are the standards New York City's Local Law 39 requires for e-bike and battery sales and California requires for sales from 2026. A 500 W rated motor (modest, legal everywhere), a 624 Wh removable pack, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed gearing and integrated turn signals. Its headline wattage is the peak, and no weight is published.

TST Fat Retro
Amazon
Pick #37.0/10

TST Fat Retro

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best fat-tire, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). 2000 W peak, 90 N·m and dual suspension on a 720 Wh pack in a 20"×4" retro format, genuinely comfortable on broken ground at $579.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The gap is legal rather than mechanical: it states neither a rated wattage nor a top speed, so the listing alone cannot place it in any US class. The Funhang Fat 26 states its rated figure and its top speed, carries both UL certifications with the labs named, and costs less at $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The Jasion RetroVolt 330 outsells it but is a mention, because Jasion gives it 30 mph.

NARRAK Trike 500
Amazon
Pick #47.4/10

NARRAK Trike 500

NARRAK
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best three-wheeler. Its listing states a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery in its own bullets, which no other top-selling trike on Amazon does, under a 500 W rated (1100 W peak) folding fat-tire trike with a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain at $499 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). If the plan involves an apartment lift and indoor charging, that certificate is the whole decision. Three wheels also answer a balance-and-confidence problem that no two-wheeler on this page can.

Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folder. 20-inch fat tires with a single-hinge fold, a battery we estimate at 624 Wh, a 1200 W peak motor, a published 59 lb weight and a 330 lb payload at $569 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The pick when you want fat tires AND a fold under $600, which this bracket rarely offers together. The listings now claim 25 mph, above the Class 2 cap, so set a 20 mph limit in the display. Cadence-sensor pedal assist rather than torque, a 1-year warranty, and 59 lb that no fold makes light are the honest trades.

Hopepeak Z10
Amazon
Pick #66.9/10

Hopepeak Z10

Hopepeak
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best load-hauler, at $469 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). A stated 400 lb total load rating with front and rear racks included, folding to 36"×29", on an exactly stated 648 Wh battery (48 V 13.5 Ah). Nothing else at this price combines utility and a fold. Discount two things in the listing: the "80 miles max" range claim, which the pack cannot deliver, and the 1200 W peak marketing with no rated figure given. It now also claims 28 mph, above the Class 2 cap, so ask about a 20 mph setting.

TL;DR: six picks under $600

  1. TST City Commuter, $529.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. A stated 750 W rated motor (not peak-only), a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing, and it is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). No named certification is the trade, and the listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2.
  2. Funhang Fat 26, $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best for apartment charging. It documents UL 2271 for the battery via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, naming the body behind each, which almost nothing at this price does. A 500 W rated motor, a 624 Wh pack, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed gearing and integrated turn signals.
  3. TST Fat Retro, $579.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best fat-tire, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). 2000 W peak, 90 N·m, dual suspension and a 720 Wh pack in a 20"×4" retro format. It states neither a rated wattage nor a top speed, so its legal class cannot be determined from the listing.
  4. NARRAK Trike 500, $499 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best three-wheeler. A UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery stated in the listing's own bullets, which is unique among the top-selling trikes, under a 500 W rated (1100 W peak) folding fat-tire trike with a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain.
  5. Jasion EB6, $569 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best folder. 20-inch fat tires with a single-hinge fold, a battery we estimate at 624 Wh, a 1200 W peak motor, 59 lb, and a 330 lb payload. Its listings now claim 25 mph, above the Class 2 cap, so set the display to 20 mph; cadence-sensor assist and a 1-year warranty are the other trades.
  6. Hopepeak Z10, $469 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best load-hauler. A stated 400 lb total load rating with front and rear racks included, folding to 36"×29", on a 648 Wh pack. Ignore the "80 miles max" claim, and note the listing now claims 28 mph, above the Class 2 cap, so ask the seller about a 20 mph setting.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $600 ceiling at our checked-at-publish prices, every pick verified in stock against its live listing on publish day, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. Between $500 and $600 the market changes character: rated wattage starts being disclosed, 700 Wh batteries appear, and suspension stops being a sticker. So this guide weights what the listing is willing to state. A bike that publishes a rated motor figure, a top speed and a named certification body is ranked above one with better headline hardware and silence where the numbers should be. A few bikes inside the ceiling are deliberately excluded from the picks and appear as mentions with the reason. Amazon prices move constantly, so bikes over the line at our last check are listed as mentions rather than quietly re-banded, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we built this list

Under $600 is a genuinely different market from under $500. At the floor tier the question is whether a bike is safe to buy at all. One rung up, the good listings start disclosing: rated wattage appears alongside peak, 700 Wh batteries become normal, and suspension is real rather than decorative. The bikes that fail here fail on silence rather than on hardware.

That is why this list ranks on disclosure. A rated wattage figure is not a marketing detail. US e-bike law is built on the three-class framework, where Class 1 and Class 2 cap at 20 mph and Class 3 permits 28 mph but bans throttles, and a listing that publishes only a peak figure and no top speed cannot be placed in any class. Two picks here have exactly that gap and the entries say so.

Every pick has a full review on this site and a live in-stock Amazon US listing checked on publish day. Where a seller names the laboratory behind a certification claim, we name it too, because a claim you can take to a building manager is worth more than a sticker.

Which e-bike under $600 should you buy?

1. TST City Commuter: best overall

The TST City Commuter states a 750 W rated motor rather than a peak-only number, and that single disclosure is what separates it from most of this bracket. It means the bike can be placed in the three-class system. The listing now markets a 28 mph setting, which makes it a Class 3 as sold; capped at 20 mph it rides as a Class 2, street-legal as a bicycle in the 49 US jurisdictions that treat compliant e-bikes that way. Around that it carries a 720 Wh removable battery, suspension at both ends, and 7-speed gearing, which is a strong hardware count for $529.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is also #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), so parts and returns questions get answered by volume.

What you give up is everything left unstated. There is no torque figure and no named certification body. If your building requires a UL mark for indoor charging, this is the wrong bike on this page and the Funhang Fat 26 is the right one. Read the full TST City Commuter review.

2. Funhang Fat 26: best for apartment charging

The Funhang Fat 26 is the paperwork bike. At $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it documents UL 2271 for the battery pack and UL 2849 for the complete bike, the two standards that New York City's Local Law 39 requires for e-bike and battery sales and that California requires for e-bike sales from 2026 — and it goes one step further than any rival at this price by naming who recognised each: SGS for the cell, TÜV for the system. A certification claim with a named body is checkable; one without is not. Around it sits a 500 W rated motor, modest but legal in every state, a 624 Wh removable IPX5 pack, dual 180 mm discs, 7-speed gearing, a 330 lb payload rating and integrated lighting with turn signals, which is genuinely rare below $500.

It gives up outright power to the 750 W bikes on this page, its headline "1000 W Peak" is the peak rather than the rated figure, and it does not publish a weight. It gives up nothing on the part that decides whether you can charge it beside your sofa, and unlike most of this bracket it states its top speed: 20 mph, a clean Class 2. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

3. TST Fat Retro: best fat-tire, and one of Amazon's two best-selling fat bikes

The TST Fat Retro is #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026), behind only the Jasion RetroVolt 330 covered below, and the 20"×4" dual-suspension retro format is genuinely comfortable on broken ground at $579.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It claims 2000 W peak, 90 N·m of torque and a 720 Wh battery, and the sales volume behind it is real rather than review-farmed. The warranty is 180 days, half the usual year.

The gap is the one that matters legally. It states neither a rated wattage nor a top speed, and those are the two numbers that decide where you are allowed to ride. Without them this bike cannot be placed in the three-class system from its listing alone. If cushion per dollar is the brief, it earns the look. If documentation matters more, the Funhang Fat 26 states its rated wattage and its top speed, carries both UL certifications with the certifying bodies named, and costs less at $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Read the full TST Fat Retro review.

4. NARRAK Trike 500: best three-wheeler

Electric trikes are a category where the safety paperwork usually goes missing, and the NARRAK 500 is the exception: its listing states a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery in its own bullets, which no other top-selling trike on Amazon does. Under that sits a 500 W rated motor (1100 W peak), a folding fat-tire three-wheel frame and a Shimano 7-speed drivetrain, at $499 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change).

If your hauling plans involve an apartment lift and charging indoors, that certificate is the whole decision. Three wheels also solve a problem two wheels cannot for riders with balance or confidence concerns, which is why the format keeps selling even though it costs more per mile of range. Read the full NARRAK Trike 500 review.

5. Jasion EB6: best folder

The EB6 is Jasion's folding model: 20-inch fat tires with a single-hinge fold, a 1200 W peak motor, a 48 V battery we estimate at 624 Wh (the listing gives no capacity), a published 59 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, at $569 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is the pick when you specifically want fat tires and a fold and your budget stops under $600, a combination this bracket rarely offers together. One caution: every current listing claims up to 25 mph, which is above the 20 mph ceiling for Class 1 and Class 2, so cap assistance at 20 mph in the display before riding in a bike lane.

The honest trades are a cadence-sensor pedal assist rather than a torque sensor, which gives assistance that arrives in steps rather than proportionally, and a 1-year warranty. At 59 lb it is also not a bike you will carry up stairs often, whatever the fold suggests. Read the full Jasion EB6 review.

6. Hopepeak Z10: best load-hauler

The Z10 is the cargo-curious folder: a stated 400 lb total load rating with front and rear racks included, folding to 36"×29", on a 648 Wh battery (48 V 13.5 Ah), for $469 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). That combination of utility bike, folder and this price has no other representative on our shelves.

The spec sheet earns one cheer for stating its battery capacity exactly and two jeers for the rest. The listing claims "80 miles max", which the pack cannot deliver, and markets a 1200 W peak figure with the legal rated number absent entirely. Buy it for the racks and the load rating, and plan your range on the battery rather than the headline. The speed changed in October 2026: the listing used to say "20+MPH" and now claims 28 mph, which is above the 20 mph limit for Class 1 and Class 2, so ask the seller whether it can be limited to 20 mph before riding in a bike lane. Read the full Hopepeak Z10 review.

Also worth a look: Gotrax R1, best first e-bike (a mention, priced at the ceiling)

The Gotrax R1 is the brand-name answer near the top of this bracket: a 20-inch folding city commuter from an established US company with real phone support and distribution through Target, Walmart and Best Buy, carrying 652 Amazon ratings at $659.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). For a first e-bike bought sight-unseen, a company that answers the phone is worth more than a spec sheet.

Its ceiling is the battery. At 374 Wh it is the smallest pack on this page, and that means about 22 real miles rather than the 40 the brand claims. Buy it for short urban hops, for the fold, and for the support path behind it, not for a commute you have to complete twice a day. Read the full Gotrax R1 review.

Bikes inside the budget that we will not pick

The Razor Rambler 16 at $588.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the most recognisable name on this page, and for a nervous first-time buyer a household US brand with an Amazon return path removes real friction. It stays a mention on range, not on trust: a 15.5 mph cap and roughly 12 real miles from a 360 Wh pack make it the shortest-legged bike in this bracket, at close to the top of the price band. If the name is what you are buying, buy it knowing that.

Two moped-style fat bikes inside the ceiling stay mentions on legality instead. The TST Fat Retro above states no top speed at all; these two state one that fits no US e-bike class. The Jasion RetroVolt 330 at $539.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) was #1 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026), with a 720 Wh pack, rear suspension and a passenger-length bench, but its listing gives no rated wattage and Jasion's own store gives 30 mph, above even the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling. The DEEPOWER QS7 at $669 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is better documented on hardware, with a 960 Wh pack and a 750 W rated motor in its manual, but its Amazon title advertises 28 mph with a throttle and the manual says it reaches 30 mph once a limiter wire is unplugged. Both reviews explain what that means for where you can ride.

What if your budget stretches past $600?

Just past this ceiling sits the best-evidenced bike in our entire catalogue. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 at $599 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the only bike we cover with a measured conversion record, it scores 8.3 in our editorial ranking against 7.6 for the best bike on this page, and it is a Class 3 28 mph machine with a 1200 W motor. It is not on this list only because $599 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is not under $600. If your budget has any give at all, read Best Electric Bikes Under $800 before buying anything here.

One rung down, Best Electric Bikes Under $500 covers the floor of the market, where certification and honest spec disclosure matter more than hardware, and one rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $700 is the next $100 step before the $800 guide. Further up, Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 is where hydraulic brakes and torque sensors become normal. If this is your first e-bike, the beginner's guide ranks by rider profile instead of price, and if indoor charging is the binding constraint, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike product photo

    Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike

    $659.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    Held the "best first e-bike" pick until Amazon moved it to $659.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), over this page's $600 ceiling. The argument for it stands at the higher price: a 20-inch folder from an established US company with real phone support and Target, Walmart and Best Buy distribution, carrying 652 Amazon ratings. For a first bike bought sight-unseen, a company that answers the phone beats a spec sheet. The ceiling is a 374 Wh battery, the smallest on this page, so plan on about 20 real miles rather than the 40 advertised. Covered in full in the under-$800 guide.

  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0 product photo

    Heybike Cityscape 2.0

    $599as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    The best-evidenced bike in our entire catalogue and the only one with a measured conversion record, at $599 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is not ranked here because its price straddles this guide's ceiling rather than sitting reliably under it, just over the line one week and just under it the next. When it is under, it is the best bike on this page by a wide margin. It scores 8.3 against 7.6 for the best bike on this page, and it is a Class 3 28 mph machine with a 1200 W motor. If your budget has any give, read the under-$800 guide before buying anything here.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    Razor Rambler 16

    $588.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    Inside the budget at $588.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) and the most recognisable brand on the page, which genuinely lowers the risk for a first-time buyer. It stays a mention on range rather than trust: a 15.5 mph cap and roughly 12 real miles from a 360 Wh pack make it the shortest-legged bike in this bracket at close to the top of the price band.

  • DTTZH F6 product photo

    DTTZH F6

    $439.98as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    Was a pick in our under-$500 guide until Amazon repriced it above that ceiling, which brings it into this bracket instead. 750 W rated with a 1500 W peak, a 48 V 15.6 Ah battery, hydraulic front shock and NFC-card unlock make it one of the more honestly specified budget listings, but at its current price it now sits against the TST City Commuter, which states the same rated wattage with a stated top speed as well.

  • Vivi MT26GUL 26" Step-Through Electric Commuter Bike product photo

    On Amazon since August 2026, when Vivi moved its whole catalogue there. A 26-inch step-through commuter at $369.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with a 500 W rated motor, SGS certification to UL 2849 and a 50 lb weight, which is light for this bracket. Vivi ships it as Class 2, but our review records a 20 to 21.7 mph top speed, so confirm it tops out at 20. Worth knowing about if you want a lighter full-size frame than anything else at the price.

  • Jasion RetroVolt 330 product photo

    Jasion RetroVolt 330

    $539.99as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    #1 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026), ahead of the TST Fat Retro above, with a 2000 W peak motor, a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension and a passenger-length bench at $539.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a mention rather than a pick because the listing states no rated wattage and Jasion's own store gives 30 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, so as described it fits no US e-bike class. Plan on 30 to 35 miles, not the 70 claimed.

  • DEEPOWER QS7 product photo

    DEEPOWER QS7

    $669as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT

    A 960 Wh battery (48 V x 20 Ah), a 750 W rated motor published in DEEPOWER's manual, a real rear shock and 20 x 4 tires at $669 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), #3 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). It is a mention because its own documents give four top speeds: 28 mph in the Amazon title, 20 on a second listing, 30 on the product page and 15.5 as shipped per the manual, and the UL 2849 report on DEEPOWER's site names the S7, not the QS7. Keep the limiter in place if you ride bike lanes or paths.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $600 on Amazon right now?

The TST City Commuter at $529.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) (our checked price) for the best all-round package: a stated 750 W rated motor rather than a peak-only figure, a 720 Wh removable battery, suspension front and rear, and 7-speed gearing. Its listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph on arrival if you want Class 2 rules. It is also #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). If you charge indoors, buy the Funhang Fat 26 at $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) instead: it documents UL 2271 for the battery via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, which is the paperwork building managers ask for, and the TST names no certification body at all.

Is it worth spending $600 instead of $500 on an electric bike?

Usually yes, and the reason is disclosure rather than hardware. Under $500 the honest listings are the exception. Between $500 and $600 rated wattage starts being published alongside peak figures, 700 Wh batteries become normal (the TST City Commuter and TST Fat Retro both carry 720 Wh), and suspension is functional rather than decorative. The single biggest practical gain is battery: 720 Wh against the 374 Wh typical of the sub-$500 tier roughly doubles usable range. What does not reliably improve at $600 is brakes, which are still mechanical on most of this bracket, or sensor type, which is still cadence rather than torque.

Are electric bikes under $600 street legal in the US?

One of the six picks states a 20 mph top speed, which makes it Class 2 and legal as a bicycle in most US jurisdictions: the Funhang Fat 26. The Hopepeak Z10's listing now claims 28 mph and the Jasion EB6's listings claim 25 mph, which fit no class with a throttle unless you cap them at 20 mph; the TST City Commuter's listing markets a 28 mph setting, which is Class 3 unless you cap it at 20 mph; and two do not publish a top speed at all: the TST Fat Retro and NARRAK Trike 500. That is a real gap rather than a formality, because the US three-class framework is defined by speed and throttle behaviour, so a bike with no stated top speed cannot be placed in a class from its listing. Check the limiter in the display menu when the bike arrives. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration or licence; the exceptions are New Jersey (registration and a licence) and Hawaii (registration). Check your own state in our state-by-state law table.

Which e-bike under $600 is UL certified for charging indoors?

Two of them. The Funhang Fat 26 at $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) documents both UL 2271 for the battery pack via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, and the NARRAK Trike 500 at $499 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) states a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery in its own listing bullets. Those are the standards New York City's Local Law 39 requires for e-bike and battery sales, and California requires UL certification for e-bike sales from 2026. The other four picks on this page name no certification body. If your building or landlord requires a UL mark to charge inside, that requirement narrows this list to two bikes, and the Funhang is the cheaper of them, as well as the only one that names the certifying body behind each standard.

What is the best fat tire electric bike under $600?

The TST Fat Retro at $579.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026). It claims 2000 W peak, 90 N·m of torque, dual suspension and a 720 Wh battery in a 20"×4" retro format, and the comfort over broken ground is real. The caution is that it states neither a rated wattage nor a top speed, so you cannot determine its legal class from the listing. If that matters, the Funhang Fat 26 at $439.99 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is also a fat-tire bike, states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap, documents UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS and TÜV named, and costs less. The #1 seller, the Jasion RetroVolt 330, is not our pick because Jasion gives it 30 mph, which fits no US class.

What is the best folding electric bike under $600?

The Jasion EB6 at $569 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) for most riders: 20-inch fat tires with a single-hinge fold, a battery we estimate at 624 Wh and a 330 lb payload, though its listings now claim 25 mph, so set a 20 mph limit. If you need to carry cargo rather than the bike, the Hopepeak Z10 at $469 (as of Oct 8, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) also folds, to 36"×29", and adds front and rear racks with a stated 400 lb total load rating, though its listing now claims 28 mph. Note that both weigh enough that folding is about storage and car boots rather than carrying: the EB6 is a published 59 lb, and no fold makes that light.

How were these picks verified as in stock?

Every pick was checked against its live Amazon US listing on publish day, and our system re-verifies price and availability every few hours after that. If a listing dies, the buy button is removed automatically and the pick is replaced in the next editorial pass. Prices in this guide are the figures we last checked; Amazon moves them constantly, so the buy buttons always fetch the live number rather than the one written here.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor