Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Fat Tire E-Bikes Under $1,000 (2026)

Seven fat-tire e-bikes on Amazon US, each under $1,000 at the live price and each with a full review on this site. The Funhang Fat 26 ($459.99 at our last check) is the best overall pick: a 26×4 fat bike that states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap, which makes it a clean Class 2, and...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.4/10

Best overall. A 26×4 fat bike that states its rated motor, 500 W with 66.6 N·m,...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:TST City CommuterBest fat-tire commuter, and a bike our readers order through our Amazon links. A stated 750...
  • Pick #3:TST Fat 20Best for heavy riders and loads. It publishes a 66 lb weight and a 450 lb...

Compare the picks

Best Fat Tire E-Bikes Under $1,000 (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Funhang Fat 26Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#2TST City CommuterClass 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#3TST Fat 20Not statedNot stated750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#4Heybike RangerClass 328 mph1400 W600 Wh400 lb70 lbFolding, step-through
#5Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-BikeClass 325 mph750 W720 WhNot stated72 lbStandard
#6Kingbull Ranger Vintage Moped-Style E-BikeClass 328 mph750 W864 Wh350 lb88 lbStandard
#7Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-BikeClass 328 mph750 W720 Wh330 lb76 lbStandard

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #17.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall. A 26×4 fat bike that states its rated motor, 500 W with 66.6 N·m, and a 20 mph top speed: a clean Class 2 with 250 W of headroom under the cap. It documents UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV, naming the certifying body for each. The 624 Wh removable pack gives about 31 real throttle miles, with a 330 lb payload, a 60 lb rack and integrated turn signals, at $459.99. No published weight, and 500 W is modest on hills.

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $30
Pick #28.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best fat-tire commuter, and a bike our readers order through our Amazon links. A stated 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh removable pack, suspension front and rear and 7-speed gearing on 4-inch tires, at $569.99. It names no UL 2849 or UL 2271, and lists 66 lb with a 450 lb maximum load. TST has retitled the listing to advertise 2000 W peak and 28 mph; the rated figure is still 750 W, so it is Class 3 as listed and Class 2 when limited to 20 mph. Confirm the limiter on arrival.

TST Fat 20
AmazonSave $30
Pick #37.5/10

TST Fat 20

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for heavy riders and loads. It publishes a 66 lb weight and a 450 lb maximum load, the highest load rating in this guide, and states 750 W rated alongside 1,500 W peak, with a 720 Wh pack, suspension front and rear and 20×4 puncture-proof tires, at $569.99. Its class cannot be determined: the listing states no top speed, and TST's own storefront lists a matching model at 32 mph. The warranty is 180 days, half the category norm.

Heybike Ranger
Amazon
Pick #47.5/10

Heybike Ranger

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folding fat tire e-bike. A step-through 20×4 folder with hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor (1,400 W peak, 80 N·m), a 600 Wh pack, a 400 lb payload and UL 2849 plus UL 2271 listed on the Amazon page, at $799.99. Class 1, 2 or 3 is selectable in the display. It weighs 70 lb and folds to 40 × 20 × 31 inches, so the fold is for storage, and assist is cadence-based.

Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike
AmazonSave $30
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best ride quality. The only pick that states a torque sensor, paired with hydraulic 180 mm brakes, a 100 mm lockout fork, a 750 W rated motor with 90 N·m, a 720 Wh pack and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271, on 26×4.0 tires, at $569.99. It ships as Class 3, pedal assist to 25 mph with the throttle capped at 20, so riders in the seven no-Class-3 jurisdictions should look elsewhere. 72 lb, no published payload, and a 1-year warranty on motor and battery.

Kingbull Ranger Vintage Moped-Style E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for two riders and range. The biggest pack of the seven picks at 864 Wh, a bench seat with footrest pegs in the box, a 150 lb rack rating inside a 350 lb payload, turn signals, a horn and IPX6 sealing, on 20×4.0 tires with a 750 W rated motor, at $799. Class 3 as shipped, with Class 2 selectable. Kingbull's spec table lists no rear shock and names no brake caliper on an 88 lb bike, and its certification line is not UL 2849.

Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for trails. Knobby CST 26×4.0 tires on mountain geometry, hydraulic 180 mm brakes, a 750 W rated motor with 95 N·m, a 720 Wh pack and a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame, at $899. Class 3 at 28 mph. At 76 lb with a basic spring fork it suits fire roads and gravel rather than technical singletrack, and Kingbull does not advertise UL 2849 on the Amazon listing.

TL;DR: seven picks under $1,000

  1. Funhang Fat 26, $459.99 at our last check. Best overall. 500 W rated with a stated 20 mph cap on 26×4 tires, a clean Class 2, plus UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV and a 624 Wh pack.
  2. TST City Commuter, $569.99 at our last check. Best fat-tire commuter, and a bike our readers buy. 750 W rated, 720 Wh and suspension front and rear on 4-inch tires. No certification named; the listing now advertises 28 mph.
  3. TST Fat 20, $569.99 at our last check. Best for heavy riders. A 450 lb maximum load, a published 66 lb weight, 750 W rated and 720 Wh. No top speed stated, so its class cannot be determined.
  4. Heybike Ranger, $799.99 at our last check. Best folding fat tire e-bike. A step-through 20×4 folder with hydraulic brakes, UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed, and Class 1, 2 or 3 in the display. 70 lb.
  5. Vivi ACE01, $569.99 at our last check. Best ride quality. The only pick that states a torque sensor, plus hydraulic brakes, 90 N·m, 720 Wh and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271. Class 3 at 25 mph.
  6. Kingbull Ranger, $799 at our last check. Best for two riders and range. The biggest pack of the seven at 864 Wh and a bench seat with footrest pegs. 88 lb, no rear shock.
  7. Kingbull Hunter 2.0, $899 at our last check. Best for trails. Knobby 26×4.0 tires, 95 N·m, hydraulic brakes and a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame. Class 3, 76 lb.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a $1,000 ceiling on the live price, every pick in stock at our last check, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. "Fat tire" here means 4-inch tires, as each bike's own review describes them; 3-inch listings sold as fat bikes are left out. We rank on fit first, then sales evidence (Amazon orders through our own links where we have them, Amazon sales rank where we do not), then editorial score. Legal class is judged the way US statutes judge it: on the rated motor figure and the top speed. Where a listing states only a peak figure or no top speed, we say the class cannot be determined rather than guess. We have not ridden these bikes; every spec is the seller's claim or our arithmetic on it. Amazon prices move constantly, so a bike that crosses $1,000 becomes a mention rather than a quietly re-banded pick, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we built this list

Fat-tire listings lean hard on big numbers: every pick here markets a peak figure of 1,000 W or more, and five of the seven advertise 55 to 80 miles from 720-864 Wh, which assumes 10.8 to 13 Wh per mile when a 4-inch tire draws closer to 20. So the list is ranked on three things, in order.

Fit first. Every pick runs 4-inch tires by its own review, was in stock at our last check, costs under $1,000 at the live Amazon price, and has a full review on this site. Sales evidence second. Amazon orders through our own links outrank everything else, and the Funhang Fat 26 and the TST City Commuter both have them; below that, a stronger Amazon sales rank wins. Editorial score third, as the tiebreaker.

The legal check runs through every entry. Class 1 and Class 2 stop assisting at 20 mph, Class 3 assists to 28 mph through the pedals, and all three sit under a 750 W rated motor ceiling (Oregon alone allows 1,000 W). Each entry ends on a one-line class verdict, and where the listing does not give enough to decide, we say so.

Which fat tire e-bike under $1,000 should you buy?

1. Funhang Fat 26: best overall

The Funhang Fat 26 leads because it answers the two questions most fat-tire listings dodge: what class it is, and whether the battery is certified. The title says "1000W Peak"; the first bullet gives the rated figure, 500 W with 66.6 N·m, and a 20 mph top speed, a clean Class 2 with 250 W of headroom under the cap. It documents UL 2271 for the battery via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, naming the body behind each, which makes the claim checkable. Around that: 26×4 tires, a 48 V × 13 Ah (624 Wh) removable pack, dual 180 mm discs, a 330 lb payload and integrated turn signals. Our readers order it through our Amazon links.

Its range claim survives the arithmetic: Funhang quotes 30-35 miles on throttle, and 624 Wh at the 19-22 Wh per mile a 26×4 tire draws gives about 31 miles. The gaps are no published weight, a slow charge of about 6.5 hours, and a motor that is modest on hills with a heavy rider; the other six picks all state 750 W rated. Class verdict: Class 2 (500 W rated, 20 mph stated). Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

2. TST City Commuter: best fat-tire commuter

The TST City Commuter is a fat-tire bike our readers actually buy: Amazon reports orders for it through our links, and it sells in volume on Amazon. It states a 750 W rated motor alongside the peak figure, which many budget listings do not, and pairs it with a 48 V × 15 Ah (720 Wh) removable pack, suspension front and rear, 7-speed gearing and 4-inch fat tires.

The trade is what the listing leaves out, plus one recent change. It names no UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification and no torque figure, though it now lists 66 lb and a 450 lb maximum load. And TST has retitled the listing to advertise a 2000 W peak motor and 28 mph. The rated figure is still 750 W, so it is legal on power, while 28 mph is Class 3 territory, which some states restrict and seven jurisdictions do not recognize. Class verdict: Class 3 as listed, Class 2 when limited to 20 mph; set and confirm the limiter on arrival. Read the full TST City Commuter review.

3. TST Fat 20: best for heavy riders and loads

The TST Fat 20 publishes the two numbers a heavy rider needs and most listings skip: a 66 lb bike weight and a 450 lb maximum load, the highest load rating in this guide. It states 750 W rated alongside 1,500 W peak, so it is legal on power in every state, with a 48 V × 15 Ah (720 Wh) pack, suspension front and rear and 20×4 puncture-proof tires. It sells in volume on Amazon. If load is why you are here, the heavy-rider guide goes further.

Two things hold it back. The listing states no top speed, and TST's own storefront lists a visually matching 20-inch model at 32 mph, above the Class 3 ceiling; we have left that figure off this bike because the two listings differ on weight, so ask TST for the assist cut-off in writing. The warranty is 180 days, half the category norm. TST claims 60 miles, which needs 12 Wh per mile; plan on about 33. Class verdict: cannot be determined from the listing (750 W rated, no top speed). Read the full TST Fat 20 review.

4. Heybike Ranger: best folding fat tire e-bike

The Heybike Ranger is the folder to pick when stopping power matters. It pairs a step-through 20×4 folding frame with hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor (1,400 W peak, 80 N·m), a 48 V × 12.5 Ah (600 Wh) removable pack, a 400 lb total payload and UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed on the Amazon page. Class is a menu setting: it ships as Class 2, with Class 1 and Class 3 (28 mph pedal assist, throttle held to 20 mph) one tap away.

The fold is for storage. At 70 lb and 40 × 20 × 31 inches folded, lifting it onto a car rack single-handed is a stretch. The 600 Wh pack is the smallest of the seven picks: Heybike claims 45 miles, and our review plans on 25-35. Assist is cadence-based. For a lighter fold with a simpler legal story, see the Jasion EB6 below. Class verdict: Class 1, 2 or 3, your choice in the display (750 W rated). Read the full Heybike Ranger review.

5. Vivi ACE01: best ride quality

The ACE01 is the only pick that combines a torque sensor, hydraulic brakes and both UL standards. The torque sensor scales assist to how hard you press the pedals, where a cadence sensor switches the motor on whenever the cranks turn. Around it: hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 100 mm lockout fork, a 750 W rated hub with 90 N·m, a 48 V × 15 Ah (720 Wh) removable pack, 26×4.0 tires, and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271 per Vivi's spec sheet.

The trades are weight and class. At 72 lb it is heavy, and it ships as Class 3: pedal assist to 25 mph, throttle capped at 20. Class 3 is not recognized in seven jurisdictions, and several states keep it off shared-use paths. Vivi claims 60 miles; 720 Wh at 25 Wh per mile is about 29. No payload rating is published, and the warranty is 1 year on motor and battery. The ACE01 Pro adds an app with GPS tracking and a movement alarm. Class verdict: Class 3 (750 W rated, 25 mph assist, 20 mph throttle). Read the full Vivi ACE01 review.

6. Kingbull Ranger: best for two riders and range

The Ranger is the moped-style pick, with the biggest battery of the seven: 48 V × 18 Ah, 864 Wh. A long bench seat, a 150 lb rear rack rating and footrest pegs in the box make a passenger a designed use, inside a 350 lb total payload, and it adds turn signals, a horn and IPX6 sealing on 20×4.0 tires and a 750 W rated motor. Kingbull's warranty runs 2 years on the motor, battery, controller, sensors, wiring and frame. The 80-mile claim needs 10.8 Wh per mile; our arithmetic gives 31 to 43 miles.

Read the spec table before the marketing. Kingbull calls it "full suspension", and the table lists a fork and no rear shock. The Brakes row names no caliper or rotor on an 88 lb bike rated to 28 mph, so ask Kingbull to confirm the brakes in writing. The certification line reads "UL Certificated by SGS", a different claim from UL 2849. The frame is high-carbon steel, the saddle does not adjust, and for a passenger the 150 lb rack limit is the one that binds. Class verdict: Class 3 as shipped (28 mph), Class 2 selectable, the setting to use in the seven no-Class-3 jurisdictions. Read the full Kingbull Ranger review.

7. Kingbull Hunter 2.0: best for trails

The Hunter 2.0 is the pick designed for off-road riding: CST 26×4.0 tires with aggressive tread, mountain-bike geometry, and hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors. The 750 W rated hub (1,200 W peak) makes 95 N·m, the highest torque figure among the picks, from a 48 V × 15 Ah (720 Wh) pack. Kingbull backs it with a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame and a California-based service team.

Know its limits. It weighs 76 lb and uses a basic spring fork, so fire roads, gravel and doubletrack suit it and technical singletrack does not. Knobby tires also cost range on pavement: Kingbull claims 55 miles, and our review plans on about 30 mixed and 22 at a sustained 28 mph. Kingbull does not advertise UL 2849 on the Amazon listing, so ask first if your building requires it. Class verdict: Class 3 (750 W rated, 28 mph). Read the full Kingbull Hunter 2.0 review.

Every pick's class at a glance

Rated output and top speed decide the class; peak output does not. This is what each listing gives us, per its review.

Pick Rated motor (peak) Top speed on the listing Class verdict UL 2849
Funhang Fat 26 500 W (1,000 W) 20 mph Class 2 Yes, via TÜV
TST City Commuter 750 W (now marketed at 2,000 W) 28 mph advertised Class 3 as listed; Class 2 if limited to 20 mph Not named
TST Fat 20 750 W (1,500 W) Not stated Cannot be determined None recorded
Heybike Ranger 750 W (1,400 W) 20 or 28 mph by mode Class 1, 2 or 3, selectable Listed
Vivi ACE01 750 W (1,500 W) 25 mph assist, 20 mph throttle Class 3 SGS-tested
Kingbull Ranger 750 W (1,300 W) 28 mph Class 3, Class 2 selectable Not stated (SGS label only)
Kingbull Hunter 2.0 750 W (1,200 W) 28 mph Class 3 Not advertised

What do 4-inch tires cost you?

Weight

Every pick that publishes a weight lands between 66 lb (both TSTs) and 88 lb (Kingbull Ranger); only the Funhang publishes none. That number decides whether the bike goes on a car rack, up stairs, or anywhere folded. The lightest published weight in this guide is the Jasion EB6 folder at 62 lb, which its review puts at one flight of stairs for a moderately strong adult.

Range: the 4-inch tax

Four-inch tires cost watt-hours. Our Funhang review puts a 26×4 tire at roughly 19-22 Wh per mile on throttle, against 12-15 for a slim commuter tire, which is why its 624 Wh gives about 31 miles where a narrower bike with the same pack would get closer to 45. Plan any bike here at about 24 Wh per mile: 720 Wh is then 30 miles and 864 Wh is 36. Knobby tread costs more again; our Hunter 2.0 review puts it at 25-30% on smooth pavement. Run your own numbers in the range calculator.

Tire pressure

Pressure is the free adjustment that changes a fat bike most. The working range is printed on the sidewall. Run toward the top of it on pavement, where a firmer tire rolls more easily and gives back range, and toward the bottom on sand and soft snow, where a softer tire spreads its footprint and floats. Check it weekly with a gauge that reads low pressures accurately; on a 4-inch tire a few PSI is a large share of the total, and you will not feel it by squeezing.

Where fat tires earn their keep: sand, snow and gravel

Buy fat tires for the ground you ride. The extra air volume grips on gravel, floats over dry sand and packed snow, and takes the edge off broken pavement in a way a budget suspension fork cannot. On smooth pavement alone they add weight and cost range, and a narrower-tire bike from the under-$600 or under-$800 guides will go further per charge.

Sand. Dry sand bogs down a narrow tire; a 4-inch tire at low pressure floats over it. Expect range well below the pavement figure.

Snow and cold. Four-inch tires float over packed snow, and ice is still ice. Our Jasion EB6 review plans on losing 30-40% of range below 20°F, and road salt corrodes components quickly, so rinse and lubricate after winter rides. The TST Fat 20's tires are described as puncture-proof snow tires.

Gravel, fire roads and trails. This is the Kingbull Hunter 2.0's ground. Its review is plain that a 76 lb bike with a basic spring fork belongs on fire roads, gravel and doubletrack, and that technical singletrack calls for a much lighter e-MTB with air suspension at three to five times the price.

The 1,000 W "Class 2" trap

Fat-tire titles are where a four-figure wattage most often sits beside a legal-sounding class. The law does not read that number. The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle, 15 U.S.C. §2085, sets the motor limit below 750 W, and nearly every state three-class statute uses the same ceiling; Oregon alone allows 1,000 W. Those limits apply to rated (continuous) output. Peak is a brief figure no statute mentions, and a peak about twice the rated figure is normal engineering.

So a title with "1000W" and "Class 2" in it describes one of two things. Either 1,000 W is the peak and a rated figure of 750 W or less sits further down the listing, which is fine, or the rated output really is above 750 W and the bike is outside the class system everywhere except Oregon. Class 2 means a rated motor inside the cap and a throttle that stops at 20 mph, so look for the word "rated" and a stated top speed. If either is missing, the class cannot be determined from the listing, whatever the title says. On bikes we cover:

  • The Funhang Fat 26 says "1000W Peak" in its title and 500 W rated in its first bullet. Class 2.
  • The Heybike Ranger markets 1,400 W peak and states 750 W rated. Legal on power.
  • The TST Fat Retro and Likebike UM1 state only a 1,500 W peak and no top speed. Undetermined.
  • The ASKGO S9 states only a 2,500 W peak, gives 28 mph in its title and 36 mph in its bullets, and has a throttle. Either speed puts it outside the US e-bike classes.
  • The GAMVIRE V7 PRO, at $999, claims 6,000 W peak and 47 mph. That is not an e-bike in any US state, and it is above the moped ceiling most states use.

Speed has its own trap. A throttle that pushes past 20 mph fits no class: Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph, and Class 3 assists to 28 mph through the pedals. Class 3 itself is not recognized in DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania or South Carolina, with North Carolina changing on December 1, 2026. Four picks have a Class 3 mode (the Heybike Ranger, the Vivi ACE01 and both Kingbulls), and the Heybike and Kingbull Ranger switch to Class 2 in the display. Our class explainer covers the detail, and your state's rules are on our e-bike law pages.

Which picks can you charge indoors?

Three picks document UL 2849 for the complete bike: the Funhang Fat 26 (via TÜV, plus UL 2271 via SGS), the Heybike Ranger (both standards listed on the Amazon page) and the Vivi ACE01 (SGS-tested to both, per Vivi's spec sheet). New York City's Local Law 39 bars selling or renting an e-bike in the city without UL 2849 or an equivalent, California SB 1271 requires certification for sales from January 1, 2026, and a growing number of apartment buildings ask for the paperwork before indoor charging. For more options, see the UL-certified shortlist.

Related guides

If fat tires are not a must, Best Electric Bikes Under $600 and Best Electric Bikes Under $800 include narrower-tire bikes that go further per charge, and Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 ranks every format at this budget. For more folders, see the folding e-bike guide. Heavier riders should read the best e-bikes for heavy riders. Before buying from an unfamiliar brand, read which e-bikes to avoid, and check your state's rules on our e-bike law pages.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • DTTZH F6 product photo

    DTTZH F6

    $469.98

    A 48 V × 15.6 Ah (749 Wh) pack behind a stated 750 W rated motor (1,500 W peak), a hydraulic front shock plus a rear shock, 20×4 tires, 3 A charging and NFC-card unlock, at $469.98. It even quotes its own throttle-only range, 24 miles, and the arithmetic backs it. It is a mention because the listing states no top speed and no certification, so its class cannot be determined; the Funhang Fat 26 settles both.

  • Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike product photo

    The lighter, simpler folding fat bike: 20-inch fat tires with a single-hinge fold, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap on a 500 W rated motor (1,000 W peak, 70 N·m), a 624 Wh pack, a published 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, at $579. It trails the Heybike Ranger on brakes (mechanical discs rather than hydraulic) and warranty (1 year on motor and battery, 6 months on frame and components), and assist is cadence-based.

  • TST Fat Retro product photo

    TST's retro-styled fat bike on 20×4 tires, with dual suspension, a claimed 90 N·m and a smartphone app, at $599.99. It is a mention because the listing states only a 1,500 W peak figure and no top speed, so its class cannot be determined, and it gives the battery as "15AH" with no voltage. The TST Fat 20 is the same brand's 20-inch fat bike with a stated 750 W rated motor, a published weight and a 450 lb load rating.

  • Vivi F26FUL 500W Long-Range Fat-Tire E-Bike product photo

    A certified 26×4.0 fat bike: SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271, a 500 W rated motor (1,000 W peak, 75 N·m) and a choice of 614 Wh or 864 Wh pack, at $869.99. Vivi's spec sheet lists pedal assist to 25 mph with a 20 mph throttle, which is Class 3. It is a mention because it runs mechanical 160 mm discs and a cadence sensor, while the Vivi ACE01, at $569.99, adds hydraulic brakes and a torque sensor with the same certification.

  • Likebike UM1 product photo

    Dual-piston hydraulic disc brakes, a 48 V × 20 Ah (960 Wh) pack, IPX6 sealing, full suspension and 20×4 tires, with a 365-day warranty, at $549.99. Its 30-plus-mile range claim is conservative for that pack. It is a mention because the listing states no top speed and only a 1,500 W peak, so its class cannot be determined, and it names no UL certification and no weight.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric fat tire bike under $1000?

The Funhang Fat 26 at $459.99 (our last check) for most riders. It states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap, which makes it a clean Class 2, runs 26×4 tires and a 624 Wh removable pack, and documents UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV. If you want more battery and suspension front and rear, the TST City Commuter at $569.99 states 750 W rated and carries 720 Wh, though it names no certification and its listing now advertises 28 mph. For trails, the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 at $899 adds knobby tires, hydraulic brakes and 95 N·m.

Are fat tire e-bikes worth it?

Yes, if you ride the surfaces they are built for. On gravel, sand, snow and broken pavement, the extra air volume grips and cushions in a way a budget suspension fork cannot. The cost is efficiency and weight: a 26×4 tire draws roughly 19-22 Wh per mile on throttle where a slim commuter tire draws 12-15, and every one of our seven picks that publishes a weight falls between 66 and 88 lb. If you only ride smooth pavement, a narrower-tire bike goes further on the same battery. Buy fat tires for the ground you ride.

What are the disadvantages of fat tire e-bikes?

Four, in the order they usually bite. Weight: the picks here that publish a figure run 66 to 88 lb, so stairs and car racks get hard. Range: 4-inch tires draw around 20 Wh per mile or more, so a 720 Wh pack is closer to 30 real miles than the 60 that three of these listings advertise. Legal ambiguity: fat-tire listings often quote only a peak wattage or no top speed, which leaves the class undetermined. Fold size: fat tires make a folded bike bulkier; the Heybike Ranger folds to 40 × 20 × 31 inches. Knobby tread costs further range on pavement.

Are fat tire e-bikes legal?

The tires have nothing to do with it. US e-bike law classifies by motor and speed: a rated motor within the 750 W federal limit (Oregon allows 1,000 W), and assistance that stops at 20 mph for Class 1 and Class 2 or 28 mph through the pedals for Class 3. A fat-tire bike inside those limits is as legal as any other e-bike. The catch is that fat-tire listings often lead with big peak figures and leave out the top speed, so the class cannot always be read from the listing. Of the seven picks, the Funhang Fat 26 is the cleanest case: 500 W rated and a stated 20 mph. Check your state on our law pages.

Is a 750 watt eBike street legal?

On power, yes, when 750 W is the rated figure: that is the federal limit, and nearly every state uses the same one, with Oregon allowing 1,000 W. Speed decides the rest. Limited to 20 mph it can be Class 1 or Class 2; assisting to 28 mph through the pedals it is Class 3, which is not recognized in DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania or South Carolina, with North Carolina changing on December 1, 2026. If 750 W is only the peak figure, the rated output is lower still. If the listing never says rated or peak, the class cannot be determined. Check your state.

How fast will a 750 watt e-bike go?

As fast as its class allows, and the wattage does not set that. A 750 W rated e-bike assists to 20 mph as Class 1 or Class 2, and to 28 mph as Class 3. Among the picks, the Heybike Ranger does 20 mph in Class 2 mode and 28 mph in Class 3, the Vivi ACE01 assists to 25 mph with its throttle capped at 20, and both Kingbulls reach 28 mph. Wattage and torque decide how quickly a bike gets there and how well it holds speed on a hill with a heavy rider. A listing that claims more than 28 mph is outside the e-bike classes.

What is the best folding fat tire e-bike?

Under $1,000, the Heybike Ranger at $799.99: a step-through 20×4 folder with hydraulic disc brakes, UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed, a 750 W rated motor, a 400 lb payload and Class 1, 2 or 3 selectable in the display. It weighs 70 lb and folds to 40 × 20 × 31 inches, so the fold is for storage. For a lighter bike with a simpler legal story, the Jasion EB6 at $579 states a 20 mph Class 2 cap on a 500 W rated motor, weighs 62 lb and folds to about 36 × 18 × 28 inches, with mechanical brakes and a 1-year motor and battery warranty. More folders are in the folding guide.

What eBikes to stay away from?

In the fat-tire format, three listing patterns deserve the hardest look: a wattage with no rated figure anywhere, no stated top speed, and a claimed top speed above 28 mph. The first two leave the class undetermined; the third puts the bike outside the e-bike classes entirely, like the 47 mph GAMVIRE V7 PRO. After that, check for a named UL 2849 certification if you charge indoors, a published weight and payload, and a range claim that survives dividing the battery by about 20 Wh per mile. Our guide to e-bikes to avoid goes further.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor