Review · Funhang
mountain7.8/10Funhang EB-M1
Spec-verified against the manufacturer listing
Our verdict
The Funhang EB-M1 is the cheapest bike we list that pairs a stated 500 W rated motor with both UL 2271 and UL 2849, each with the lab named. At $229.99 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change) that paperwork is the reason to buy it. The catch is a missing top speed, which is the one number that decides its class, and a 40-50 mile pedal-assist claim its 374 Wh battery cannot deliver.
- Best for
- Riders who need UL 2849 paperwork for indoor charging at the lowest price
Save $70down from $300 at Amazon
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on links to other retailers. Full disclosure.
Free 30-day returns via Amazon
Not sold on this one? See every ranked pick in our guide to the best e-bikes under $500 on Amazon.

At a glance
Run this in our range calculator →The numbers
Funhang EB-M1 is a electric mountain bike that scores 7.8/10 on our editorial rubric, last verified on September 16, 2026. Amazon listed it at $230 as of September 16, 2026. Prices change often, so treat that as a snapshot. On Amazon it currently ranks #4 Best Seller in Electric Mountain Bikes. It pairs a 500 W hub motor with 55 Nm of torque and a 374 Wh battery, good for a claimed range of up to 20 miles. The bike is rated to carry 300 lb of rider and cargo. It best suits riders who need UL 2849 paperwork for indoor charging at the lowest price.
Pros
- + States a 500 W RATED motor, 250 W under the federal 750 W definition
- + UL 2271 (battery, SGS) and UL 2849 (whole bike, TUV), both with the lab named
- + The lowest price we have seen for that combination of disclosures
- + Removable, lockable IPX5 battery that Funhang says charges in 4-5 hours
- + Front suspension, fenders, headlight, horn and 7 speeds included
Cons
- - No top speed stated anywhere, so its class cannot be confirmed on paper
- - The 40-50 mile pedal-assist claim needs 7.5-9.4 Wh/mi from 374.4 Wh and does not hold
- - No rear rack, unlike both other Funhang bikes we cover
- - No published weight, and torque (55 Nm) appears only on Funhang's own store
- - 85% pre-assembled, so bars, pedals and front wheel are your job
Who is this for?
- Riders who need UL 2849 paperwork for indoor charging at the lowest price
- Short commutes and packed trails of about 20 miles per charge
- Buyers who wanted the Funhang Fat 26 and find it out of stock
The 30-second verdict
The Funhang EB-M1 is a plain 26-inch hardtail with front suspension, fenders, a headlight and a 7-speed drivetrain, and at $229.99 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change) it does something almost nothing else on our Amazon shelf does: it states a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak) and documents UL 2271 for the battery, certified by SGS, and UL 2849 for the complete bike, certified by TUV. Among the bikes we cover, no cheaper listing combines those three disclosures. What it leaves out is the top speed. Neither the Amazon listing nor Funhang's own store page gives one, and with a throttle fitted that figure decides whether this is a Class 2 e-bike or no class at all. Its sibling the EB-C2 states 20 mph, so a 20 mph governor is likely, but likely is not stated. The battery is modest at 374.4 Wh: plan on roughly 20 miles, not the 40-50 the listing prints for pedal-assist.
The full review, section by section. Tap any section to read it.
The paperwork is the product
The paperwork is the product
Budget e-bike listings usually fail on one of two counts. Either they quote only a peak wattage (1000 W, 1500 W, 2500 W) and never a rated one, or they say "UL certified" without naming the standard or who tested it. The EB-M1 avoids both. The rated figure is the one US law is written around: the federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle at 15 U.S.C. §2085 uses 750 W, and 500 W rated sits 250 W under it.
On safety, UL 2271 covers the battery pack and UL 2849 covers the complete electrical system (battery, charger, controller and motor tested together). That second one matters where it is enforced. New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for any e-bike sold or rented there, and a growing number of landlords and employers ask for it before allowing indoor charging. Naming SGS and TUV makes the claim checkable instead of decorative. The Funhang Fat 26 documents the same two standards with the same two labs.
Is the Funhang EB-M1 street legal?
Is the Funhang EB-M1 street legal?
Under the US three-class framework, Class 1 is pedal-assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle and still caps at 20 mph, and Class 3 allows pedal-assist to 28 mph but no throttle in most states. The EB-M1 has a throttle (its five modes include pure electric and cruise). So if it tops out at 20 mph it is a clean Class 2, legal in all 50 states. If it goes faster on the throttle, it fits no class.
We cannot tell you which, because Funhang does not say. The two Funhang bikes we already cover both state 20 mph. The EB-C2 step-through states 20 mph on Amazon and 21.7 mph on Funhang's own store, which is the kind of gap that makes us unwilling to assume. On your first ride, check the speed on the LCD at full throttle on flat ground. If it passes 20 mph, look for a speed-limit setting in the display menu before riding on a bike path. Our street-legal-by-state guide has the local rules.
How far does the Funhang EB-M1 go on a charge?
How far does the Funhang EB-M1 go on a charge?
The battery is 48 V and 374.4 Wh. Funhang quotes 25-30 miles in pure electric mode and 40-50 miles with pedal-assist. We use 15-30 Wh per mile as the realistic band for a bike like this, which puts the honest range at 374.4 / 30 = 12.5 miles at worst and 374.4 / 15 = 25 miles at best.
The throttle claim needs 374.4 / 30 = 12.5 Wh/mi at its top end and 15 Wh/mi at its bottom end. Twenty-five miles is possible for a light rider on flat tarmac; thirty is optimistic. The pedal-assist claim needs 374.4 / 50 = 7.5 Wh/mi, and even the 40-mile end needs 9.4 Wh/mi. Neither survives the arithmetic. Plan on about 20 miles of mixed riding and treat anything beyond that as a bonus. The upside of a small pack is charging: Funhang quotes 4-5 hours, and the battery is removable, lockable (two keys) and rated IPX5.
Funhang EB-M1 vs other budget mountain e-bikes
Funhang EB-M1 vs other budget mountain e-bikes
Against the Funhang Fat 26 at $449.99 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change): the Fat 26 has 26x4.0 tyres, a 624 Wh battery, a rear rack and turn signals, and states 20 mph. It is the better bike for sand, gravel and range. The EB-M1 is cheaper and a conventional narrow-tyre hardtail, so it suits pavement and packed trails. If the Fat 26 listing is out of stock when you check, the EB-M1 is the Funhang to look at instead, with the same UL paperwork and a smaller battery.
Against the Funhang City Cruiser 26 at $319.99 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change): the same 374.4 Wh battery and 500 W rated motor, but a step-through frame with a rear rack, a stated 20 mph, and an upright position. Buy the City Cruiser for commuting in normal clothes; buy the EB-M1 if you want a mountain-style position and front suspension for rougher paths.
Against other budget hardtails: the Qlife Racer at $234.99 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change) states 750 W rated and a similar 375 Wh pack, but lists 22 mph, which is above the 20 mph Class 2 cap. The Jasion EB5 at $199 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change) states 500 W rated and 20 mph with a smaller 360 Wh pack. The Misodo Mountain 26 at $309.98 (as of Sep 16, 12:01 PM EDT, subject to change) has a bigger 499 Wh battery but quotes only a 1500 W peak and, like the EB-M1, no top speed.
The rest of the sheet
The rest of the sheet
Five modes (throttle, pedal-assist, normal bike, cruise and a walk/booster mode) with five assist levels, an LCD display, dual disc brakes, front and rear fenders, an LED headlight, an electric horn and reflectors. Funhang states a rider height range of 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 1 in, a 300 lb maximum load, 85% pre-assembly and a 12-month warranty. The Amazon listing gives no weight or torque figure; a spec graphic on Funhang's own store quotes 55 Nm, and there is still no weight anywhere. There is no rear rack, so carrying groceries means a backpack or an aftermarket rack.

Ready to buy?
Save $70 at Amazon right now
We update prices as the listing changes, and the final price is set by the retailer at checkout.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Funhang EB-M1 street legal?
Probably, but the listing does not prove it. The motor is 500 W rated, inside the federal 750 W definition, and it has a throttle. That makes it a Class 2 e-bike if it is capped at 20 mph, which would be legal in all 50 states. Funhang does not state a top speed for the EB-M1 anywhere, so check the LCD at full throttle on your first ride. If it goes past 20 mph, it fits no class until you lower the limit. See our street-legal-by-state guide.
How far does the Funhang EB-M1 go on a charge?
Plan on about 20 miles. The battery is 374.4 Wh. Funhang claims 25-30 miles on throttle, which needs 12.5-15 Wh per mile and is possible for a light rider on flat ground. It also claims 40-50 miles with pedal-assist, which needs 374.4 / 50 = 7.5 Wh per mile and does not hold up. Hills, wind, cold and a heavier rider all push the real number down.
Is the Funhang EB-M1 UL certified?
Yes, to both standards, according to the listing. It states UL 2271 for the battery, certified by SGS, and UL 2849 for the complete e-bike, certified by TUV. UL 2271 covers the pack alone; UL 2849 covers the battery, charger, controller and motor as one system. UL 2849 is what New York City requires for e-bikes sold there and what many buildings ask for before allowing indoor charging.
What is the difference between the Funhang EB-M1 and the Funhang Fat 26?
Tyres, battery and price. The Funhang Fat 26 has 26x4.0 fat tyres, a 624 Wh battery, a rear rack and turn signals, and states 20 mph. The EB-M1 has standard 26-inch mountain tyres, a 374.4 Wh battery, no rack and no stated top speed, and costs less. Both document UL 2271 and UL 2849. Pick the Fat 26 for soft ground and range, the EB-M1 for pavement, packed trails and the lower price.
How fast does the Funhang EB-M1 go?
Neither the Amazon listing nor Funhang's own store states a top speed for the EB-M1. Its sibling, the Funhang EB-C2, is listed at 20 mph with the same 500 W rated motor, but we will not assume the same cap on a different model. Check the speed setting on the display after delivery: at 20 mph with its throttle, the EB-M1 is a Class 2 e-bike.
An e-bike this heavy is a theft target, and most bike insurance won't pay out without a rated lock.

Sportneer heavy-duty bike U-lock
Amazon's #1 best-selling U-lock. Hardened steel with a frame mount and a cable for the front wheel.
4.6★ from 5,146 Amazon ratings
Check it on Amazon
Bottom line
Is the Funhang EB-M1 for you?
Check the live price + availability before deciding.
If this isn't the one
8.4
mountain
ASKGO GT50
Save $73
ASKGO's flagship: the only bike in its range with genuine rear suspension, 120 N.m of claimed torque, a...
Read the review 8.3
mountain
Likebike UM1
Save $50
A 20x4 fat-tyre e-bike with a 960 Wh battery, full suspension, IPX6 waterproofing and, unusually at this price,...
Read the review 8.2
mountain
ASKGO S9
Save $100
The ASKGO S9 is a high-volume fat-tire e-bike that carries a 960 Wh battery for , which is...
Read the review