Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $700 on Amazon (2026)

The TST City Commuter ($569.99 as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is our best overall pick among electric bikes under $700 on Amazon: a 720 Wh removable battery and a stated 750 W rated motor on a bike that is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), though it names no UL certification and its title...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.0/10
TST City Commuter

TST City Commuter

$569.99Save $30

Price as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall under $700, and #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). A 720 Wh removable...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Heybike Cityscape 2.0Best certified commuter, and the pick for indoor charging or a switchable class. Certified to UL...
  • Pick #3:ESKUTE E TrikeBest for groceries, and #3 in Amazon's Electric Tricycles (September 2026). A folding step-through trike with...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $700 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1TST City Commuter
$569.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#2Heybike Cityscape 2.0
$609as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1200 W468 Wh330 lb62 lbStep-through
#3ESKUTE E Trike
$669as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not statedNot stated500 W624 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#4Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike
$579as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lb62 lbFolding
#5Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
$593.98as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph350 W374 Wh250 lb48 lbFolding

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $30
Pick #18.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $700, and #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). A 720 Wh removable pack (48 V x 15 Ah) and a stated 750 W rated motor for $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), with front and rear suspension, 7-speed gearing, a published 66 lb weight and a 450 lb maximum load. The listing names no UL 2849 and no UL 2271, which rules it out for indoor charging in New York City and for buyers in California under SB 1271; the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 is the certified pick. Its title markets 28 mph and 2000 W peak, so set the cap to 20 mph for Class 2. Plan on 30 to 40 miles.

Heybike Cityscape 2.0
Amazon
Pick #28.3/10

Heybike Cityscape 2.0

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best certified commuter, and the pick for indoor charging or a switchable class. Certified to UL 2849 for the complete electrical system and UL 2271 at the cell level, with a 750 W rated rear hub (1200 W peak, 75 Nm) and a removable 468 Wh battery. It ships as Class 3, pedal-assist to 28 mph with a 20 mph throttle, and the display switches it to Class 2 or Class 1. A 62 lb weight, mechanical disc brakes and a smaller pack than the TST above are the trades; plan on roughly 23 to 31 real miles rather than the 50 claimed.

ESKUTE E Trike
Amazon
Pick #37.3/10

ESKUTE E Trike

ESKUTE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for groceries, and #3 in Amazon's Electric Tricycles (September 2026). A folding step-through trike with front and rear baskets as standard, a plainly stated 500 W rated motor (1200 W peak) and a 624 Wh removable pack (48 V x 13 Ah), for riders from 4'8" to 6'2". It stands still while you load it. ESKUTE states no top speed, no payload and no battery certification, so its class cannot be determined from the listing; the NARRAK Trike 500 is the certified alternative. Plan on 25 to 30 miles loaded.

Jasion EB6 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folder. A stated 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak, 70 Nm) on a 20-inch fat-tire frame that folds to roughly 36 x 18 x 28 inches, with a battery we estimate at 624 Wh, rack, fenders and lights standard. Jasion publishes a 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, so the fold is for storage rather than carrying. Cadence-sensor assist, mechanical disc brakes and a one-year motor and battery warranty are the trades. Plan on 25 to 32 miles.

Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
AmazonSave $66
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best first e-bike, and #9 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). The lightest pick at a published 48 lb, a 20-inch folder with a 350 W rated motor (500 W peak) and a 20 mph Class 2 cap, from a US company that also sells it through Target, Walmart and Best Buy and runs a Dallas-based service team. The 374 Wh battery gives about 20 real miles, there is no front suspension, and 350 W works hard on steep grades. Buy it for short, flat trips.

TL;DR: five picks under $700

  1. TST City Commuter, $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall, and #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). A 720 Wh removable battery, 750 W rated, front and rear suspension, 66 lb published. No UL certification is named, and the title markets 28 mph, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2.
  2. Heybike Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best certified commuter. Certified to UL 2849 (the complete electrical system) and UL 2271 (the cells), a 750 W rated motor with a 1200 W peak, and Class 3 assist that switches down to Class 2 or Class 1 from the display. The 468 Wh pack and 62 lb weight are the trades.
  3. ESKUTE E Trike, $669 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best for groceries, and #3 in Amazon's Electric Tricycles (September 2026). A folding three-wheeler with front and rear baskets as standard, 500 W rated (1200 W peak) and a 624 Wh removable pack. No top speed, payload or certification is stated.
  4. Jasion EB6, $579 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best folder. A stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, 500 W rated, an estimated 624 Wh battery, 20-inch fat tires, a published 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload. Cadence sensing and mechanical brakes are the trades.
  5. Gotrax R1, $593.98 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best first e-bike, and #9 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). The lightest pick at a published 48 lb, a Class 2 20 mph cap, and a US company that also sells it through Target, Walmart and Best Buy. Its 374 Wh battery is the smallest here.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $700 ceiling at the prices in our production catalogue on publish day, and every pick in stock at that check with a full standalone review on this site. A bike priced within about 3% of the ceiling counts as a straddler: Amazon prices move daily, so it appears as a mention with the reason rather than as a pick that could be over the line tomorrow. We have not ridden these bikes. The method is the listing, the manufacturer's spec sheet or manual, and certification documents, and the ranking starts from how bikes sell on Amazon, then weights what each seller is willing to state: a rated motor figure rather than a peak-only number, a top speed that places the bike in a US class, and a named safety certification. Where a listing is silent, the entry says so. The buy buttons always fetch the live price, not the figure written here.

What does $700 buy that $600 does not?

Less than the extra $100 suggests, and mostly not battery. The largest pack among these picks, the TST City Commuter's 720 Wh, belongs to a bike that also appears on our under-$600 list. What the step up buys is certification and format. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 puts UL 2849 and UL 2271 on a full-size commuter along with a class you can change from the display, and the ESKUTE E Trike puts a basket at both ends of a folding three-wheeler.

UL 2849 covers the battery, charger and controller as one system and UL 2271 covers the battery pack. They matter because of where people charge. New York City's Local Law 39 of 2023 barred the sale of e-bikes without UL 2849 (or an equivalent), California SB 1271 has restricted sales of uncertified e-bikes since January 2026, and a growing number of apartment buildings and offices ask for the paperwork before they allow a bike inside.

Right at the $700 line sit the two things readers most often ask this budget for: a torque sensor with hydraulic brakes (the Vivi ACE01) and a seat for a passenger (the EUYBIKE 2-Seater). Both are mentions below, and the section says why. What does not change between $600 and $700 is the component tier. None of the listings for these picks advertises hydraulic brakes or a torque sensor, and every range claim assumes a light rider on flat ground at the lowest assist level, so each entry gives a planning range instead.

How we built this list

Every pick is sold by Amazon US, was in stock in our production catalogue on publish day, and has a full review on this site. Nothing here has been ridden by us. The facts come from each Amazon listing, the manufacturer's spec sheet or manual, and certification claims, and each entry restates its own review.

The top of the list follows Amazon sales and battery per dollar: the TST City Commuter sits higher on Amazon's own charts than any other commuter here. Below that, the ranking weights disclosure. US e-bike law is written around rated motor wattage and the speed at which assist stops, so a listing that states both can be placed in a class and a listing that states neither cannot. A named certification ranks above an unnamed one. Where a seller leaves a number out, the entry below says which number is missing.

Which e-bike under $700 should you buy?

1. TST City Commuter: best overall

The TST City Commuter carries a 720 Wh removable battery (48 V x 15 Ah) and a stated 750 W rated motor for $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), more battery than the Cityscape for less money. It is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), well ahead of the Cityscape's #28 in the same chart, and around the pack it has front and rear suspension, 20 x 4 inch fat tires, 7-speed gearing, a published 66 lb weight and a 450 lb maximum load.

It ranks first on sales and battery per dollar, and it has one gap that decides whether it suits you: the listing names no UL 2849 and no UL 2271 certification, and it publishes no torque figure. If the bike lives in a garage or a shed, that may not matter to you. If you charge inside a New York City apartment, or you are buying in California under SB 1271, it rules this bike out, and the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 below is the pick. The title now markets a 28 mph setting and a 2000 W peak figure; set the cap to 20 mph in the display menu for Class 2 rules. The brakes are mechanical discs. Plan on 30 to 40 miles, not the 60 claimed. Read the full TST City Commuter review.

2. Heybike Cityscape 2.0: best certified commuter

The Heybike Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the pick when certification matters, and the bike the extra $100 over a $600 budget is for: a 26-inch step-through commuter certified to UL 2849 for the complete electrical system and UL 2271 at the cell level, with a 750 W rated rear hub (1200 W peak, 75 Nm) and a removable 468 Wh battery (36 V x 13 Ah). That certification pairing is what New York City's Local Law 39 put behind e-bike sales, and it is what building managers ask to see before they allow indoor charging.

It ships as a Class 3 bike, pedal-assist to 28 mph with the throttle capped at 20 mph, and the display switches it down to Class 2 or Class 1. That switch is the practical reason to pay for it: one bike can follow a Class 3 road commute and a Class 1-only trail rule. The hardware around it is ordinary for the price: a 7-speed Shimano Tourney, mechanical disc brakes on 180 mm rotors and a front fork with 60 mm of travel.

The trades are weight and battery. At a published 62 lb it is a hard carry up stairs, and 468 Wh is well short of the 720 Wh on the TST, so plan on roughly 23 to 31 miles rather than the 50 Heybike quotes. The warranty is two years on the frame and one year on the battery, and more than 600 Amazon owner ratings averaged 4.2 stars when we reviewed it. Read the full Heybike Cityscape 2.0 review, or see it against another certified Class 3 commuter in Cityscape 2.0 vs Jasion Roamer ST.

3. ESKUTE E Trike: best for groceries

The ESKUTE E Trike, $669 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the three-wheeler with a basket at each end, and it is #3 in Amazon's Electric Tricycles (September 2026). The listing states its motor plainly as 500 W rated (1200 W peak) and its battery exactly as 48 V x 13 Ah (624 Wh, removable), and the frame folds. A trike stands still while you load it, which is most of the point for errand riders, and ESKUTE gives a rider-height range of 4'8" to 6'2", so one trike can serve a household.

The gaps are the two numbers a hauler needs most. ESKUTE states no top speed and no combined payload, so its class cannot be determined from the listing and the baskets are grocery-scale, never passenger seats. It claims no battery certification either. If you charge indoors, the NARRAK Trike 500 states a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery in its own listing bullets for $519 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), and the NARRAK Folding Trike 350, #1 in Amazon's Electric Tricycles (September 2026), has a 16 mph cap with UL 2849 and UL 2271 named on NARRAK's own product page. Plan on 25 to 30 miles with loaded baskets. Read the full ESKUTE E Trike review, or compare every format in our electric trike guide.

4. Jasion EB6: best folder

The Jasion EB6, $579 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is a 20-inch fat-tire folder with a stated 20 mph cap and a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak, 70 Nm), which makes it a clean Class 2. A removable battery we estimate at 624 Wh, a front fork, a rear rack, fenders and lights come standard, Jasion publishes a 62 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and it folds to roughly 36 x 18 x 28 inches: upright in an SUV cargo area, diagonally in a sedan trunk.

The trades are cadence-sensor assist (power arrives in steps rather than in proportion to your effort), mechanical disc brakes, and a warranty of one year on motor and battery and six months on the frame and components. At 62 lb the fold is for storage and car trunks, not for carrying. Plan on 25 to 32 miles against the 50 claimed. If you need a certificate to charge indoors, the URLIFE Folding 20 states UL 2849 in its title for $559.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), though it publishes neither a rated wattage nor a top speed. Read the full Jasion EB6 review.

5. Gotrax R1: best first e-bike

The Gotrax R1, $593.98 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the lightest bike on this page at a published 48 lb, and #9 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). It is a 20-inch folder from a US company that sells the same model through Amazon, Target, Walmart and Best Buy and runs a Dallas-based service team, so a first-time buyer has a phone number behind the purchase. The Amazon title states 20 mph and the motor is 350 W rated (500 W peak), which makes it Class 2.

The limits are in the rest of the spec. The 374 Wh battery means about 20 real miles rather than the 40 Gotrax claims, 350 W with a cadence sensor works hard on sustained grades above 5%, there is no front suspension, and the warranty is one year on motor and battery with 90 days on components. Buy it for short, flat trips and a bike you can carry up one flight of stairs. Read the full Gotrax R1 review.

Which e-bikes near $700 did we leave out, and why?

The Vivi ACE01 is the bike near this ceiling in our catalogue with a torque sensor, the part that scales assist to how hard you pedal, and Vivi's spec sheet adds hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh battery and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271. It is a mention because its price, $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), sits within about 2% of $700, close enough to cross the line on any given day. It is also a Class 3 bike (25 mph pedal assist) and weighs 72 lb. If your budget can stretch, it has the strongest spec sheet in this part of Amazon.

The EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo, $683.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the two-seater in this band: a passenger bench with foot pegs, a 960 Wh battery, a 750 W rated motor (1450 W peak) and front and seat-post suspension. It fails twice. Its price sits within 3% of the ceiling, and its listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 limit, so as sold it fits no US e-bike class and can be treated as a moped on public roads. Cap it at 28 mph before the first ride, and keep it there with a passenger aboard.

The Elecby T300, $678.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is a third folding trike with an exactly stated 624 Wh pack and the lowest step-over of the trike set. It sits right on the 3% line under $700, and its motor appears as a bare "1200W" with no rated or peak label, the disclosure this guide weights hardest, so the ESKUTE takes the trike slot.

If you arrived from a video about the TST R002, note that TST's own store lists that 20-inch fat bike at 32 mph, above every US class. The TST Fat 20 sold on Amazon for $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) matches the R002's photograph in five distinctive details, but the two listings give different weights and the Amazon one states no top speed, so we have not assigned it the 32 mph figure. It does state 750 W rated and 720 Wh. Ask TST for the assist cut-off in writing before you buy.

The Jasion EB5 MAX, $549 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the way to get hydraulic disc brakes and Class 3 speed well under $700: 750 W rated, 720 Wh, 26 x 4 tires and cruise control. It stays a mention on evidence. Its Amazon review base was a few ratings averaging 3 stars when we reviewed it, it weighs 78 lb, and its title says "28+ MPH", so confirm that assist stops at 28 mph. The ASKGO GT50 is #1 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (September 2026), and at an advertised 36 mph it is not a bicycle under any US state law.

Are e-bikes under $700 street legal?

Four of the five picks can be placed in a US class from what their sellers state. The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle in 15 U.S.C. § 2085 caps the motor at 750 W and brings these bikes under the CPSC bicycle rules at 16 CFR 1512, and most states add the three-class system on top: Class 1 is pedal-assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle to 20 mph, and Class 3 is pedal-assist to 28 mph. The wattage that counts is the rated figure, never the peak.

The Jasion EB6 and Gotrax R1 state 20 mph and are Class 2. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ships as Class 3 and switches to Class 2 or Class 1 from its display. The TST City Commuter's title markets 28 mph, so set it to 20 mph if you want Class 2 rules. The ESKUTE E Trike states no top speed, so its class cannot be determined from the listing; most state statutes define an e-bike as having two or three wheels, so a speed-capped trike fits the same framework. New Jersey and Hawaii require registration, and several states keep Class 3 off shared paths or do not recognize it. Check your state, or pick a bike and a state in our ride check tool to see where it may go.

What if your budget moves?

One rung down, Best Electric Bikes Under $600 ranks the TST City Commuter first and is where the UL-documented Funhang Fat 26 and NARRAK Trike 500 sit. One rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $800 adds a 1,040 Wh folder and the budget Hoverfly OUREA. If indoor charging decides it, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone, and if the three classes are new to you, our class explainer covers them in one page.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike product photo

    Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike

    $689.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    The torque-sensor bike at the top of this band: Vivi's spec sheet lists a torque sensor, hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor (1500 W peak, 90 Nm), a 720 Wh battery and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271. It is a mention because $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) sits within about 2% of the $700 ceiling, close enough to cross it on any given day. It is Class 3 (25 mph pedal assist, 20 mph throttle) and weighs 72 lb. If your budget can stretch, read its review first.

  • EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo product photo

    EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo

    $683.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    The two-seater in this band: a passenger bench with foot pegs, a 960 Wh battery, a 750 W rated motor (1450 W peak) and front and seat-post suspension, for $683.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). It is excluded twice over. Its price sits within 3% of the ceiling, and the listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 limit, so as sold it fits no US e-bike class and can be treated as a moped on public roads. Cap it at 28 mph before riding, especially with a passenger.

  • NARRAK Trike 500 product photo

    NARRAK Trike 500

    $519as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    The certified alternative to the ESKUTE, for $519 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change): its listing bullets state a UL 2849-certified 624 Wh battery, under a 500 W rated (1100 W peak) folding fat-tire trike with a Shimano 7-speed. It gives up the ESKUTE's second basket. No top speed is stated, so confirm the cap on arrival. It is the trike pick on our under-$600 guide.

  • Elecby T300 product photo

    Elecby T300

    $678.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    A third folding trike, for $678.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), with an exactly stated 624 Wh battery and the lowest step-over of the trike set, which matters if knees or hips make mounting the first question. It sits right on the 3% line under $700, and its motor is listed as a bare "1200W" with no rated or peak label, so its legal wattage is undisclosed. No certification, top speed or payload is stated.

  • Jasion EB5 MAX 1500W Fat-Tire Performance E-Bike product photo

    Hydraulic disc brakes and Class 3 speed well under $700, for $549 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change): a 750 W rated motor (1500 W peak, 85 Nm), a 720 Wh battery, 26 x 4 tires and cruise control. It is a mention on evidence. The Amazon review base was a few ratings averaging 3 stars when we reviewed it, it weighs 78 lb, and the title says "28+ MPH", so confirm that assist stops at 28 mph before riding anywhere Class 3 is restricted.

  • TST Fat 20 product photo

    TST Fat 20

    $569.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    For readers who found the TST R002 on YouTube: TST's own store lists that 20-inch fat bike at 32 mph, above every US class. This Amazon model, $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), matches the R002's photograph in five distinctive details but lists a different weight and states no top speed, so we have not assigned it 32 mph. It does state 750 W rated, a 720 Wh battery, 66 lb and a 450 lb maximum load. The warranty is 180 days. Ask TST for the assist cut-off in writing.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $700 for adults?

The TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) (our checked price) for most adults: a 720 Wh removable battery, a stated 750 W rated motor, front and rear suspension and a 450 lb maximum load, on a bike that is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). It names no UL certification and its title markets 28 mph, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2. If you charge indoors, the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 at $609 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is certified to UL 2849 and UL 2271 and switches between Class 3, 2 and 1 from its display. For balance or errands, the ESKUTE E Trike is the three-wheel pick.

What is the best e-bike for value for money under $700?

The TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) gives the most hardware per dollar on this page: a 720 Wh removable battery, a stated 750 W rated motor, front and rear suspension, 7-speed gearing and a published 450 lb maximum load. It is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). The value case has one condition. The listing names no UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification, so it suits a rider who charges in a garage or shed, and it does not suit an apartment with a certification rule. Its title markets 28 mph, so set the cap to 20 mph for Class 2.

Is it worth spending $700 instead of $600 on an electric bike?

Only if you need what the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 or the ESKUTE E Trike adds. The Cityscape brings UL 2849 and UL 2271 certification and a class you can switch from the display, which matters for indoor charging and for trails that allow only Class 1 or 2. The ESKUTE adds a second basket to a folding trike. If battery is the goal, the extra $100 does not help: the TST City Commuter's 720 Wh pack is the largest among these picks, and that bike also appears on our under-$600 list. Brakes and sensors stay the same tier across the step.

What is the best electric bike under $600?

Our under-$600 guide ranks the TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) first, for its 720 Wh battery and stated 750 W rated motor. If you charge indoors, the Funhang Fat 26 at $449.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is its alternative there: it documents UL 2271 for the battery via SGS and UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, naming the certifying body for each, and states a 20 mph Class 2 cap. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 is a mention on that page because its price has moved either side of $600, and it is our certified commuter pick here.

What is the best ebike for under $800?

Our under-$800 guide also ranks the TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) first and adds the VEBLUE Folding 20 at $769.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) for its 1,040 Wh battery, stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah, though that listing gives only a peak wattage and no top speed. The extra room above $700 mainly buys battery and a few certified options. The Vivi ACE01, with its torque sensor and hydraulic brakes, sits right at the $700 line, so an $800 budget covers it comfortably.

What are some good electric bikes under $750?

The Vivi ACE01 at $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the strongest spec sheet near that budget: a torque sensor, hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh battery and SGS-tested UL 2849 and UL 2271, per Vivi's spec sheet, as a 72 lb Class 3 bike. The Jasion Roamer ST at $719.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is a UL 2849-certified Class 3 step-through with a 750 W rated motor, a 528 Wh battery and hydraulic brakes. Both are Class 3, which several states keep off shared paths, so check your state first.

Are electric bikes under $700 street legal?

Most are, once set up correctly. The Jasion EB6 and Gotrax R1 state 20 mph and are Class 2. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ships as Class 3 and switches to Class 2 or 1 from the display. The TST City Commuter markets 28 mph, so cap it at 20 mph for Class 2. The ESKUTE E Trike states no top speed, so its class cannot be determined from the listing. The federal definition in 15 U.S.C. § 2085 caps rated power at 750 W, and a bike advertising more than 28 mph, like the EUYBIKE 2-Seater at 35 mph, fits no class. New Jersey and Hawaii require registration. Check your state.

Which e-bike under $700 is UL certified for charging indoors?

The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 at $609 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the certified pick on this page, with UL 2849 for the complete electrical system and UL 2271 at the cell level, the pairing New York City's Local Law 39 put behind e-bike sales. Cheaper certified options sit on our under-$600 guide: the Funhang Fat 26, which names SGS and TÜV as its certifying bodies, and the NARRAK Trike 500, which states UL 2849 for its battery. The TST City Commuter, ESKUTE E Trike, Jasion EB6 and Gotrax R1 name no certification. Our UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor