Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $900 on Amazon (2026)

The best electric bike under $900 on Amazon is the Vivi ACE01 ($689.99 as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), which pairs a torque sensor with hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, a 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh battery and UL 2849 and UL 2271 certification from SGS. Most of the five picks here cost less...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.6/10
Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike

Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike

$689.99

Price as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall under $900, and the only pick with a torque sensor, so assist scales with...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $900 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike
$689.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 325 mph750 W720 WhNot stated72 lbStandard
#2Heybike Ranger
$799.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1400 W600 Wh400 lb70 lbFolding, step-through
#3Jasion Roamer ST 1200W Step-Through Commuter
$719.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph750 W528 Wh330 lb60 lbStep-through
#4Kingbull Ranger Vintage Moped-Style E-Bike
$849as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph750 W864 Wh350 lb88 lbStandard
#5Vivi ACE07 750W Fat-Tire Step-Through
$781.79as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh330 lb75 lbStep-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $900, and the only pick with a torque sensor, so assist scales with how hard you pedal. It adds hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, a 750 W rated motor (1500 W peak, 90 N·m), a removable 720 Wh battery and SGS certification to both UL 2849 and UL 2271, for $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Vivi sells it as Class 3 with 25 mph assist and a 20 mph throttle, so riders in the seven no-Class-3 states should take the ACE07. Plan on 25 to 35 miles, not 60. The trades are 72 lb, no published payload, a 1-year warranty and a weak Amazon sales rank (September 2026).

Heybike Ranger
Amazon
Pick #27.5/10

Heybike Ranger

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folder. Hydraulic disc brakes and UL 2849 plus UL 2271 listed on the Amazon page, on a folding step-through fat-tire frame, for $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). 750 W rated (1400 W peak, 80 N·m), a 600 Wh pack that charges in about 3 hours, and Class 1, 2 or 3 selectable from the display. The 400 lb payload is the highest among these picks. #24 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). At 70 lb the fold is for storage, and assist is cadence-sensed.

Jasion Roamer ST 1200W Step-Through Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best step-through commuter, and the strongest Amazon sales rank of the five picks: #29 in Electric Bicycles (September 2026). The title states "UL2849 Certified", and the bike has hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, a 750 W rated motor (1200 W peak), Class 3 assist to 28 mph, cruise control, fenders and a rack, at 60 lb, the lightest pick, for $719.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). The 528 Wh pack is the smallest here, so plan on about 30 miles. Warranty is 1 year on motor and battery.

Kingbull Ranger Vintage Moped-Style E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best two-up bike and the biggest battery on the page: 864 Wh (48 V x 18 Ah), a bench seat, footrest pegs in the box and a 150 lb rear rack rating, for $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). 750 W rated, Class 3 with Class 2 selectable, a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame, and 31 to 43 real miles. It ranks fourth on disclosure: Kingbull markets "full suspension" but lists no rear shock, the Brakes row names no caliper on an 88 lb bike, and "UL Certificated by SGS" is not a UL 2849 claim.

Vivi ACE07 750W Fat-Tire Step-Through
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best Class 2, for DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina, which do not recognise Class 3. A 19.8 mph cap, a 750 W rated motor, a removable 720 Wh pack and UL 2849 via SGS in the listing title, on a 26 x 4 inch step-through frame with rack, fenders and lights, for $781.79 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Plan on 30 to 40 miles on pavement. It weighs 75 lb, uses a cadence sensor, and has shipped with both hydraulic and mechanical brakes, so check the listing.

TL;DR: five picks under $900

  1. Vivi ACE01, $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. A torque sensor and hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, a 750 W rated motor (1500 W peak, 90 N·m), a 720 Wh battery, and UL 2849 and UL 2271 certified by SGS. Class 3: 25 mph pedal assist, throttle capped at 20 mph. No payload rating is published.
  2. Heybike Ranger, $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best folder. Hydraulic disc brakes, UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed on its Amazon page, 750 W rated (1400 W peak), a 600 Wh pack, a 400 lb payload and Class 1, 2 or 3 selectable from the display. #24 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026).
  3. Jasion Roamer ST, $719.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best step-through commuter, and #29 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), the strongest sales rank of the five. "UL2849 Certified" in the listing title, hydraulic disc brakes, 750 W rated, Class 3 to 28 mph, 60 lb. Its 528 Wh pack is the smallest here.
  4. Kingbull Ranger, $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best two-up bike and the biggest battery on the page. 864 Wh (48 V x 18 Ah), 750 W rated, a bench seat with a 150 lb rear rack rating and footrest pegs in the box, and a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame. Kingbull's spec table names no brake caliper and no rear shock.
  5. Vivi ACE07, $781.79 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Best Class 2, for the seven jurisdictions that do not recognise Class 3. 750 W rated, a 720 Wh pack, a 19.8 mph cap and UL 2849 via SGS in the listing title, on a 26 x 4 inch fat-tire step-through frame.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $900 ceiling at our checked prices, every pick in stock on its live Amazon listing when this guide was written (September 2026), and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. We have not ridden these bikes. The ranking reads what each listing, spec sheet and certification claim is willing to state: a rated motor figure next to the peak, a top speed, a battery capacity you can check against volts and amp-hours, and a fire-safety certification with the testing body named. Amazon sales rank breaks ties. Bikes within about 3% of the ceiling are listed as mentions rather than picks, because a $20 price move should not reshuffle the page. Amazon prices move daily, so the figures in this guide are the ones we last checked, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

What does $900 buy that $800 does not?

Less than most buyers expect. The three upgrades people save toward at this price are a torque sensor, hydraulic brakes and a fire-safety certification, and in the Amazon listings we cover all three appear below $800. The Vivi ACE01 has every one of them for $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). The Heybike Ranger and the Jasion Roamer ST both fit hydraulic disc brakes and state UL 2849. If those are what you were saving for, you can stop before $800.

What crossing $800 buys is size. At our September 2026 check, the in-stock Amazon bikes we review between $800 and $900 were the Gotrax R7, the Kingbull Ranger and the Vivi F26FUL, with the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 and a SISIGAD family bike within a dollar of the ceiling. The Kingbull Ranger carries 864 Wh, a fifth more than the 720 Wh packs that are normal just below $800, and it is the only pick here built around a second rider. The F26FUL is offered with the same 864 Wh size. Right at the ceiling, the Hunter 2.0 adds hydraulic brakes and a 2-year warranty to a 720 Wh fat-tire mountain frame.

What this band still does not buy is a light bike. Every pick here weighs 60 lb or more, and the heaviest, the Kingbull Ranger, is 88 lb on a high-carbon steel frame. It also does not reliably buy full suspension: Kingbull markets the Ranger as "full suspension" while its own spec table lists only a fork.

Should you stop at $800 or stretch to $1,000?

Stop at $800 if you ride alone and your trips are under about 30 miles. The ACE01, Roamer ST and ACE07 all sit below that line, and if your bike lives in a garage rather than a flat, the TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) (#6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles, September 2026) gives you 720 Wh and a stated 750 W rated motor for far less. It names no UL certification, which is why it leads the under-$800 guide for garage storage and is a mention here.

Stretch to $900 for one of two reasons: a passenger, or a battery above 800 Wh on a bike that can be set to a legal class. Both point at the Kingbull Ranger.

Stretching to $1,000 buys nothing extra on Amazon that we have found. At our September 2026 check, every pick in our under-$1,000 guide cost less than $900. The one reason to pass $900 is the Vivi ACE01 Pro, which adds app connectivity, GPS route tracking and an anti-theft alarm to the ACE01's platform.

Which e-bike under $900 should you buy?

1. Vivi ACE01: best overall

The Vivi ACE01 is the only pick here with a torque sensor, and for $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) it pairs that sensor with hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes and certification by SGS to both UL 2849 (the complete electrical system) and UL 2271 (the battery). A torque sensor reads how hard you press the pedals and scales the motor to match, so assist ramps with your effort instead of switching on whenever the cranks turn. Every other pick here uses a cadence sensor.

The powertrain is stated in full: 750 W rated (the figure state caps regulate), 1500 W peak and 90 N·m. The 720 Wh pack (48 V x 15 Ah) is removable, and Vivi's "up to 60 miles" works out to about 25 to 35 miles of mixed riding on 26 x 4 inch tires. The 100 mm coil fork locks out and adjusts for preload.

Vivi sells it as Class 3: pedal assist to 25 mph, with the throttle capped at 20 mph. A throttle on a Class 3 bike is not allowed in every state, and seven jurisdictions do not recognise Class 3 at all, so if you live in one of them the ACE07 below is the compliant choice. The trades are 72 lb of bike, no published payload rating, a 1-year warranty on motor and battery, and a far weaker Amazon sales rank than the Roamer ST or Heybike Ranger (September 2026). Read the full Vivi ACE01 review.

2. Heybike Ranger: best folder

The Heybike Ranger is a folding step-through fat-tire bike with hydraulic disc brakes (180 mm rotors) and UL 2849 and UL 2271 certifications listed on its Amazon page, for $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). That combination of fold, hydraulics and certification is the reason to buy it. It is #24 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026), and it sits right on the under-$800 guide's ceiling, which is why it appears here.

The motor is 750 W rated (1400 W peak, 80 N·m) and the display switches between Class 1, 2 and 3, topping out at 28 mph pedal assist. The 600 Wh pack (48 V x 12.5 Ah) charges in about 3 hours on the included 4 A charger; plan on 25 to 35 miles at mid assist against the 45-mile claim. The payload is 400 lb with a 150 lb rear rack, the highest among these picks, and Heybike's sizing chart covers riders from 4'11" to 6'3".

It folds to 40 x 20 x 31 inches, but at 70 lb the fold is for car boots and closets, not for carrying. Assist comes from a cadence sensor. Read the full Heybike Ranger review.

3. Jasion Roamer ST: best step-through commuter

The Jasion Roamer ST is a step-through Class 3 commuter whose Amazon title states "UL2849 Certified", for $719.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), and it has the strongest Amazon sales rank of the five picks: #29 in Electric Bicycles (September 2026). It pairs that with hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, a 750 W rated motor (1200 W peak, 75 N·m), and cruise control, fenders, lights and a rear rack as standard.

At 60 lb it is the lightest pick here, and the step-through frame suits riders who find swinging a leg over a top tube difficult. Pedal assist runs to 28 mph, which is Class 3, and the throttle caps at 20 mph. The trade is the battery: 528 Wh (36 V x 14.6 Ah) is the smallest on this page, so plan on about 30 miles against the 40-to-62-mile claim. The warranty is 1 year on motor and battery and 6 months on the frame. The listing covers several Roamer variants, so check the configuration reads ST before checkout. Read the full Jasion Roamer ST review.

4. Kingbull Ranger: best two-up bike and biggest battery

The Kingbull Ranger carries the biggest battery on this page, 864 Wh (48 V x 18 Ah), and a bench seat built for a passenger, for $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). The footrest pegs come in the box, the maximum payload is 350 lb, and the 150 lb rear rack rating is the figure that binds: a 150 lb passenger is already at the limit, so two large adults fall outside the specification.

The motor is 750 W rated, the ceiling in the federal low-speed electric bicycle definition at 16 CFR 1512.2; the 1300 W figure is peak. It ships as Class 3 at 28 mph with Class 2 selectable in the display, so it can be set legal in the seven no-Class-3 states. Against Kingbull's 80-mile claim, plan on 31 to 43 miles. Turn signals, a horn, IPX6 sealing and a lockable 80 mm dual-crown fork are fitted, and the warranty is 2 years on motor, battery, controller and frame (1 year on display and fork, 3 months on brakes and tires).

It ranks fourth on what the spec sheet leaves out. Kingbull calls it "full suspension", but its own table lists a fork and no rear shock. The Brakes row names only the power cut-off levers, with no caliper or brake type, on an 88 lb bike rated to 28 mph, so ask Kingbull to confirm the brakes in writing before ordering. It is labelled "UL Certificated by SGS", which is not the UL 2849 claim Kingbull makes for its dearer bikes. The saddle is fixed, and assist is cadence-sensed. Carrying a passenger is regulated separately in some states, so check your state. Read the full Kingbull Ranger review.

5. Vivi ACE07: best Class 2

The Vivi ACE07 is the pick for DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina, the seven jurisdictions that do not recognise Class 3: for $781.79 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) it caps at 19.8 mph, states a 750 W rated motor and carries UL 2849 via SGS in its listing title. North Carolina starts recognising Class 3 on 1 December 2026.

Around that sits a removable 720 Wh battery (48 V x 15 Ah), 26 x 4 inch fat tires on a step-through frame, a front spring fork, and a rear rack, fenders and lights as standard. Plan on 30 to 40 miles on pavement against the 40-to-55-mile claim, and less in snow or sand. The payload is 330 lb.

The trades: 75 lb, a cadence sensor, a 1-year warranty on motor and battery, and fat tires that cost range on smooth roads. Vivi has shipped this bike with both hydraulic and mechanical 180 mm disc brakes, so if hydraulics matter, confirm them in the listing description before ordering. Read the full Vivi ACE07 review.

Which e-bike under $900 is the best value for money?

Most bike per dollar: the Vivi ACE01. A torque sensor, hydraulic brakes and two named certifications for $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change).

Most battery per dollar with a legal setting: the Kingbull Ranger. 864 Wh for $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), with Class 2 selectable.

Folding, certified and hydraulic in one bike: the Heybike Ranger.

Lightest, with the strongest Amazon sales rank of the five (September 2026): the Jasion Roamer ST at 60 lb.

Living in a state without Class 3: the Vivi ACE07.

Keeping it in a garage and spending the least: the TST City Commuter from the under-$800 guide, for $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change).

Bikes under $900 we did not pick

The Gotrax R7 at $809.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) comes from a brand with a real US support operation, which counts for something. Its listing claims 25 mph with a throttle, which fits no class: Class 2 stops at 20 mph and Class 3 allows 28 mph on pedal assist. It also carries a 499 Wh pack (per Gotrax's spec; the listing omits it), names no UL certification, weighs 81 lb and does not fold.

The EUYBIKE 2-Seater at $683.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the other two-up bike in this price range, with a 960 Wh pack and a 750 W rated motor. Its listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 limit, so as described it fits no US e-bike class. The Kingbull Ranger is the two-up pick because it ships with a Class 2 setting.

The Vivi F26FUL at $869.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is certified by SGS to UL 2849 and UL 2271 and is offered with an 864 Wh pack, but it sits near this guide's ceiling and the ACE01 costs less while adding a torque sensor and hydraulic brakes where the F26FUL has mechanical 160 mm discs.

The VEBLUE Folding 20 at $769.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) has the largest battery of any bike in this guide, 1,040 Wh (52 V x 20 Ah). Its listing gives only a 1500 W peak figure, no top speed, no weight and no certification, so its class cannot be determined from the listing. It is the battery pick in the under-$800 guide.

What if your budget moves?

Right at this ceiling, the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 at $899 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is a 750 W rated, 720 Wh, Class 3 fat-tire mountain bike with hydraulic brakes, knobby 26 x 4 inch tires and a 2-year warranty. It is a mention rather than a pick because its price sits a dollar or so under $900, so an ordinary price move takes it out of the bracket. It is a pick in the under-$1,000 guide.

One rung down, Best Electric Bikes Under $800 ranks on the same disclosure screen at lower prices. One rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 is the same shelf with the Hunter 2.0 in the picks. If fat tires are the point, see the fat-tire guide under $1,000; if you are carrying children, the family guide; and if indoor charging decides it, the UL-certified shortlist.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike product photo

    A straddler: $899 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), a dollar or so under this guide's ceiling, so it is a mention rather than a pick. A 750 W rated (1200 W peak) fat-tire mountain bike with 95 N·m, a 720 Wh pack, hydraulic brakes, knobby 26 x 4 inch tires, Class 3 to 28 mph and a 2-year warranty on motor, battery and frame. Kingbull does not advertise UL 2849 for it on Amazon. It is a pick in the under-$1,000 guide.

  • Vivi F26FUL 500W Long-Range Fat-Tire E-Bike product photo

    Vivi F26FUL 500W Long-Range Fat-Tire E-Bike

    $869.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    SGS-certified to UL 2849 and UL 2271, 500 W rated with 75 N·m, and offered with an 864 Wh "Pro" battery, for $869.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a mention because it sits near the $900 ceiling and the Vivi ACE01 costs less while adding a torque sensor and hydraulic brakes; the F26FUL has mechanical 160 mm discs and publishes no payload. Buy it only if the extra battery over the ACE01 is the point, and check the listing names the Pro pack.

  • TST City Commuter product photo

    TST City Commuter

    $569.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    The cheaper bike that is still the better buy if you store it in a garage: $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) and #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026). A stated 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh pack and front and rear suspension. It names no UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification, and its listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply. It is the top pick in the under-$800 guide.

  • Gotrax R7 product photo

    Gotrax R7

    $809.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    From a brand with a real US support operation, for $809.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Its listing claims 25 mph with a throttle, which fits no US e-bike class, so set the limiter to 20 mph for street use. The pack is 499 Wh per Gotrax's spec (the listing omits it), no UL certification is named, and it weighs 81 lb and does not fold.

  • EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo product photo

    EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo

    $683.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    A true two-up frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, a 960 Wh pack and a 750 W rated motor, for $683.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). It is not a pick because the listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 limit, so as described it fits no US e-bike class. The Kingbull Ranger is the two-up pick because it ships with a Class 2 setting.

  • VEBLUE Folding 20 product photo

    VEBLUE Folding 20

    $769.99as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT

    The largest battery of any bike in this guide, 1,040 Wh stated as 52 V x 20 Ah, in a folding 20 x 4 inch frame, for $769.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a mention because the listing gives only a 1500 W peak figure, no top speed, no weight and no certification, so its class cannot be determined from the listing. It is the battery pick in the under-$800 guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $900 on Amazon?

The Vivi ACE01 at $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) (our last check). It is the only bike we rank under $900 with a torque sensor, and it adds hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, a 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh battery and SGS certification to UL 2849 and UL 2271. It is sold as Class 3 (25 mph assist), so in the seven jurisdictions without Class 3 take the Vivi ACE07 at $781.79 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) instead, which caps at 19.8 mph. If you want a folder, the Heybike Ranger at $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) has hydraulic brakes and both UL certifications. If you carry a passenger, the Kingbull Ranger at $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the two-up pick on this page.

Is it worth spending $900 instead of $800 on an electric bike?

Only if you need a bigger battery or a passenger seat, and then the Kingbull Ranger at $849 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the reason: 864 Wh and a bench seat with a 150 lb rack rating. The upgrades most buyers expect from the extra $100 are already below $800 on Amazon. The Vivi ACE01 has a torque sensor, hydraulic brakes and two SGS-certified UL standards, and the Heybike Ranger and Jasion Roamer ST both fit hydraulic brakes and state UL 2849. What the band above $800 does not buy is less weight: every pick here is 60 lb or heavier.

What is the best ebike under $1,000?

The TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) leads our under-$1,000 guide: #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), a stated 750 W rated motor and a 720 Wh pack, with no named UL certification. At our September 2026 check every pick in that guide cost less than $900, so the extra $100 buys no additional Amazon pick. The closest to $1,000 is the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 at $899 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), a Class 3 fat-tire mountain bike with hydraulic brakes and a 2-year warranty. Past $900, the Vivi ACE01 Pro adds app connectivity, GPS tracking and an anti-theft alarm to the ACE01.

What is the best electric bike under $800?

On this page, the Vivi ACE01 at $689.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is under $800 and is our best overall pick: a torque sensor, hydraulic brakes, 720 Wh and SGS certification to UL 2849 and UL 2271. For garage storage and the lowest price, our under-$800 guide ranks the TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) first, and it ranks the Funhang Fat 26 at $449.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) first for indoor charging, because it names SGS and TÜV against its two UL standards. The Heybike Ranger at $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) sits on the $800 line, which is why it is a pick here and not there.

What is the best electric bike under $900 for adults and heavier riders?

The Heybike Ranger at $799.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) has the highest payload rating on this page, 400 lb for rider and cargo, with a 150 lb rear rack and hydraulic disc brakes, and Heybike's sizing chart covers riders from 4'11" to 6'3". The Kingbull Ranger is rated to 350 lb with the rack as the binding limit. The Jasion Roamer ST and Vivi ACE07 are rated to 330 lb. Vivi publishes no payload figure for the ACE01, so a rider near the top of that range should ask the seller before buying it.

Are e-bikes under $900 street legal in the US?

All five picks state a 750 W rated motor, the ceiling in the federal definition at 16 CFR 1512.2, so the question is speed. The Vivi ACE07 caps at 19.8 mph, a Class 2. The Heybike Ranger and Kingbull Ranger can be set to Class 2 in the display. The Vivi ACE01 (25 mph) and Jasion Roamer ST (28 mph) are Class 3, which DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina do not recognise; North Carolina changes on 1 December 2026. A compliant e-bike needs no registration in most states; New Jersey and Hawaii require it. Check yours in our state law table.

Can you buy a 50 mph electric bike for under $1,000?

Yes, but not as a legal e-bike. A bike that does 50 mph is a motor vehicle under US law, which in most states means moped or motorcycle rules: registration, a licence, insurance, and no bike lanes or paths. The federal definition in 16 CFR 1512.2 covers motors under 750 W, and the fastest US e-bike class, Class 3, stops assisting at 28 mph. Amazon does sell faster machines in this price range, such as the ASKGO Dirt 5500, a 40 mph dirt bike for $599.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) that is not a bicycle in any US state. None of the picks on this page goes past 28 mph.

What is the best electric dirt bike under $900?

For trails that allow e-bikes, the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 at $899 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) is the closest thing to a dirt bike that stays in a legal class: knobby 26 x 4 inch tires, mountain geometry, hydraulic brakes, a 750 W rated motor and Class 3 assist to 28 mph. Its review is clear that it suits fire roads and gravel, not technical singletrack. Faster "electric dirt bikes" on Amazon at this price, such as the ASKGO Dirt 5500, run at 40 mph and are private-land machines. Our street-legal electric dirt bike guide sorts the legal ones from the rest.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor