Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 in the US (2026)

Six US-shippable Amazon e-bikes, one per archetype: best overall, best certified, best budget, best folder, best passenger hauler, best fat-tire power pick. The TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) is the best overall pick: one of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, with a stated 750 W rated motor rather than peak-only marketing,...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.0/10
TST City Commuter

TST City Commuter

$569.99Save $30

Price as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT · subject to change

One of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, and the most-bought bike in this guide by a distance:...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Funhang Fat 26Both UL certifications with the certifying body named — UL 2271 for the battery via SGS,...
  • Budget pick:Hoverfly OUREABudget pick, and the cheapest bike in this guide at $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 in the US (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1TST City Commuter
$569.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#2Funhang Fat 26
$459.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#3Hoverfly OUREA
$449.98as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#4Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
$593.98as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph350 W374 Wh250 lb48 lbFolding
#5EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo
$683.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 335 mph1450 W960 Wh400 lb77 lbStep-through
#6Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike
$899as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph750 W720 Wh330 lb76 lbStandard

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $30
Pick #18.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

One of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, and the most-bought bike in this guide by a distance: 487 owner ratings at 4.2★ on a sales rank about three times stronger than anything else here. A stated 750 W rated motor (not peak-only marketing), a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing at $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). 🔴 The trade is certification: the listing names no UL 2849 and no UL 2271, a hard stop for indoor charging under NYC Local Law 39 and for buying in California under SB 1271. If either applies, the Funhang directly below carries both, from named certifying bodies. Its listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Both UL certifications with the certifying body named — UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TUV — at $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change), which is the paperwork NYC Local Law 39 and California SB 1271 ask for. A 624 Wh pack quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah gives about 31 real throttle miles and 55-60 on pedal-assist. Integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals, a 330 lb payload and a 60 lb rear rack. The headline says 1000 W; the rated motor is 500 W, stated in the first bullet, and rated wattage is the figure the statutes regulate. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

Hoverfly OUREA
AmazonSave $50
Pick #37.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Budget pick, and the cheapest bike in this guide at $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). 750 W rated, a 20 mph cap — a by-the-book Class 2 in every US jurisdiction we track — and UL 2849 certified, with every number stated and none inflated. The seller splits its range claim by mode, 20 miles on throttle and 40 on pedal-assist, and both survive the arithmetic on a 374 Wh pack. A 365-day warranty is four times the norm at this price. The trade is capacity: that pack is the smallest of these picks, so this is a sub-10-mile commuter with indoor charging, not a distance bike. Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review.

Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
AmazonSave $66
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folder. 652 Amazon reviews at 4★, the most-validated folder we cover, from an established US brand with real phone support and Target/Walmart/Best Buy distribution. 48 lb, single-hinge fold, Class 2 (20 mph). The brand behind the bike is the spec that matters most in the folder class.

EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo
AmazonSave $36
Pick #57.0/10

EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo

EUYBIKE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best passenger hauler, and the true two-up bike of the tier. Extended frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, 750 W rated / 1450 W peak hub, 82 N·m torque, 960 Wh removable battery, dual suspension, IP67 sealing, 4.2★ owner rating at $683.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Plan 30–45 loaded miles, and keep the limiter at 28 mph for public roads.

Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best fat-tire power pick. 750 W rated / 1500 W peak motor, 720 Wh battery (the biggest here), 26×4" fat tires, Class 3: the muscle of the list, with the Amazon-best-seller DNA of the delisted EB5. Cadence-sensor assist and a 1-year warranty are the trades.

TL;DR: six picks across archetypes

  1. TST City Commuter, $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. One of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, with a stated 750 W rated motor, a 720 Wh removable battery, and front + rear suspension. No named certification, which is the trade.
  2. Funhang Fat 26, $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best certified. UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TUV, the certifying body named in each case, on a 624 Wh pack. Lights and turn signals fitted, 330 lb payload, 60 lb rear rack.
  3. Hoverfly OUREA, $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Budget pick, cheapest here. 750 W rated, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, UL 2849 and a 365-day warranty, with a 374 Wh pack that makes it a short-commute bike.
  4. Gotrax R1, $593.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best folder. 652 Amazon reviews, the most-validated folder we cover, from an established US brand with real phone support.
  5. EUYBIKE 2-Seater, $683.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best passenger hauler. A true two-up frame with a bench and foot pegs, 750 W rated hub, 960 Wh battery, 4.2★ owner rating.
  6. Kingbull Hunter 2.0, $899 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best fat-tire power pick. 750 W rated, 720 Wh battery, Class 3, hydraulic brakes and a 2-year warranty.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, $1,000 ceiling at our checked-at-publish prices, every pick verified in stock against the live listing on publish day, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. One honesty note that this tier demands: Amazon prices and stock move constantly. Bikes drop off this list when a sellout wave leaves them unbuyable and return when stock does; the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 came back to Amazon in August 2026 and is a pick again. Prices shown are what we verified at publish; the price buttons always fetch the live number, and out-of-stock picks automatically lose their buy buttons until stock returns.

How we built this list

$1,000 is the pivotal budget line on Amazon US. Below it, most listings cut something structural: the fire-safety cert, the brakes, or the warranty handler. Every pick here has a full review on this site, a live in-stock Amazon US listing verified on publish day, and the specific hardware its price band usually deletes. We rank by archetype fit rather than raw spec count: a folding commuter and a fat-tire power bike are different tools, not competitors.

A word on how rank 1 was decided. Until September 2026 the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 led this guide on its editorial score, which is still the highest in our catalogue. Two consecutive 30-day Amazon exports then showed it drawing more clicks than any bike on this site and returning no attributable earnings, while the TST City Commuter, the Funhang Fat 26 and the Hoverfly OUREA returned measurable earnings per click. Readers were being sent to a bike they consistently did not buy, so the order changed. The Cityscape is still an easy recommendation and now sits in the mentions below.

The picks, in detail

#1 Best Overall: TST City Commuter ($569.99 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full TST City Commuter review. One of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, it is a fat-tire commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) whose spec sheet reads honestly for the money: a stated 750 W rated motor (not peak-only marketing), a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension, and 7-speed gearing. The sales rank itself is a practical feature: parts and returns questions get answered by volume. What you give up is certification, since none is named, and its listing markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply. Buy it as a value commuter with eyes open; if UL paperwork is a requirement in your building, the Funhang below is the pick.

#2 Best Certified: Funhang Fat 26 ($459.99 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review. Most listings that claim UL certification claim it as a bare phrase. This one names the body against each standard: UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TUV — the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references for indoor charging, and what California SB 1271 has required of new sales since January 2026. The pack is 624 Wh (48 V x 13 Ah), which divides out to about 31 real throttle miles against a 30-to-35 claim and 55 to 60 on pedal-assist. Integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals come fitted, the payload rating is 330 lb and the rear rack takes 60 lb. Read the motor line carefully: the headline says 1000 W, and the rated figure is 500 W, stated in the first bullet. Rated wattage is the number your state statute regulates.

#3 Budget Pick: Hoverfly OUREA ($449.98 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review. The cheapest bike in this guide, and the one whose numbers need the least interpretation: 750 W rated, a 20 mph cap and UL 2849. That is a by-the-book Class 2 in every US jurisdiction we track, including the seven states that ban Class 3 outright, with the certification a flat or an office needs for indoor charging. The seller even splits its range claim by mode instead of quoting the flattering half — 20 miles on throttle, 40 on pedal-assist — and both survive division against the 374 Wh pack. The warranty is 365 days, four times the norm. The trade is that pack: it is the smallest of these six picks, so this is a sub-10-mile commuter, not a distance bike. If range is the constraint, the Kingbull at the bottom of this list carries nearly twice the capacity.

#4 Best Folder: Gotrax R1 ($593.98 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full Gotrax R1 review. Gotrax built its US brand on electric scooters, and the R1 translates that distribution-and-support model into a 20" folding commuter: 652 Amazon reviews at a 4-star average, the most-validated folder we cover, plus Target/Walmart/Best Buy distribution and US phone support the import-only brands can't match. 48 lb (genuinely carryable), single-hinge fold, Class 2 (20 mph). At the budget tier, the brand behind the bike is a spec, and this is the strongest one in the folder class.

#5 Best Passenger Hauler: EUYBIKE 2-Seater ($683.99 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full EUYBIKE 2-Seater review. The true two-up bike of the budget tier: an extended fat-tire frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, so an older child, or a second adult on short hops, rides behind you rather than in a small child seat. 750 W rated / 1450 W peak hub, 82 N·m of torque, a big 960 Wh removable battery, dual suspension, dual disc brakes, IP67 weather sealing, and a 4.2★ Amazon owner rating. Two honest cautions from our review: plan 30–45 loaded miles rather than the 80-mile headline, and keep the speed limiter at 28 mph for public roads. The advertised top speed exceeds the Class 3 limit out of the box.

#6 Best Fat-Tire Power Pick: Kingbull Hunter 2.0 ($899 as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)

Read the full Kingbull Hunter 2.0 review. The spec-per-dollar power pick: 750 W rated / 1200 W peak motor with 95 N·m of torque, a 720 Wh battery (the biggest on this list), 26×4" fat tires, and Class 3 (28 mph) capability. What separates it from the Amazon-import tier at this price is build and backing: hydraulic disc brakes rather than mechanical, a 2-year warranty against the usual one, and a US service team in California instead of a storefront. The trade-off is the standard one below $1,500: cadence-sensor assist, not a torque sensor. For hills, headwinds, and range anxiety under $900, nothing else here matches it.

How to choose between them: decision tree

Just want the bike most people buy? → TST City Commuter. One of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, and the volume shows in how fast parts-and-returns questions get answered.

Charging indoors, or buying in California or New York City? → Funhang Fat 26. Both UL standards, each with the certifying body named.

Spending as little as possible without giving up the paperwork? → Hoverfly OUREA. The cheapest bike here still states 750 W rated, a 20 mph cap and UL 2849.

Need it in a car trunk or a closet? → Gotrax R1. The 652-review track record is the anti-lemon insurance.

Carrying a passenger? → EUYBIKE 2-Seater. The only true two-up frame on the list.

Hills, headwinds, and maximum range per dollar? → Kingbull Hunter 2.0. The 720 Wh battery and 95 N·m of torque are the muscle of this list.

What should you know before buying?

Class 2 vs Class 3 at this price: Class 2 = throttle + pedal-assist to 20 mph; Class 3 = pedal-assist to 28 mph. The Hunter 2.0 is Class 3; the Hoverfly, R1, Funhang and TST are Class 2; the EUYBIKE must be capped at 28 mph for road use. Whether Class 3 is legal on your local bike paths varies by state, so check yours in our e-bike laws hub or run your setup through the legality checker.

UL 2849, and why we keep repeating it: NYC Local Law 39 and a growing share of US apartment buildings require UL 2849 certification for indoor charging. At this price tier it is the single most commonly cut corner. The Funhang carries the UL 2849 + UL 2271 pairing with a named body against each and the Hoverfly states UL 2849; verify the mark in listing photos before ordering anything else, or start from the UL-certified apartment guide.

Range realism: manufacturer range claims are measured at minimum assist with a light rider on flat ground. Expect 50-70% of the claim in real riding. Run any pick's battery and motor through our range calculator with your weight and terrain for an honest band.

The catalog-rotation asterisk: Amazon's e-bike catalog rotates brutally, and this list has felt it in both directions. The Kingbull Hunter 2.0 was delisted in 2026 and is back as a pick; the Kingbull Literider 2.0 and the Heybike Ranger are still off Amazon, their reviews stay live for reference, and each points readers at its closest buyable alternative. That rotation is why every pick above was re-verified through Amazon's own product API on publish day, and why the buy buttons fetch the live number rather than the one printed here.

More content on the site

Stretching the budget? Best Electric Bikes Under $1,500 covers the tier above. Cutting it? Best Electric Bikes Under $800 is the band directly below this one, and Best Electric Bikes Under $500 covers the floor of the market. First e-bike ever? Start with the beginner's guide.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0 product photo

    Heybike Cityscape 2.0

    $609as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT

    The best-documented bike we cover and our highest editorial score (8.3/10): 600+ Amazon reviews at 4.2 stars, 1200 W peak, Class 3 switchable down to Class 1 or 2, UL 2849 + UL 2271 certified, step-through, and a street price down from a $1,299 list to $609 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). It is a mention rather than a pick because the picks above match it on certification for less money, and the Funhang beats it on battery capacity. Still the right buy if you specifically want Class 3 speed you can switch off. 62 lb, mechanical brakes, basic display.

  • Gotrax R7 product photo

    Gotrax R7

    $809.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT

    The known-brand fat bike of the tier at $809.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change): Gotrax's real US support operation on a moto-style 20"×4" frame. The caveat from our review: its claimed 25 mph top end fits no e-bike class, so ride it with the cap set where your state's law needs it.

  • Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike product photo

    Vivi ACE01 750W Torque-Sensor Fat-Tire E-Bike

    $569.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT

    On Amazon since August 2026, when Vivi moved its whole catalogue there. It was a mention because Vivi sold direct and this guide ranks Amazon listings; that reason is gone, and it is a pick candidate for the next editorial pass. At $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) it is the only sub-$1,000 bike we cover with a torque sensor (the assist upgrade that makes $1,500+ bikes feel natural) plus hydraulic disc brakes and SGS UL 2849 + UL 2271 certification. If ride feel outranks Amazon's return path for you, read the full review before spending in this band.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $1,000 on Amazon right now?

The TST City Commuter at $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change): one of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, with a stated 750 W rated motor rather than a peak-only marketing figure, a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing, at well under half this guide's ceiling. The one thing it does not have is a named certification, so if you charge indoors, or you are buying in New York City or California, take the Funhang Fat 26 at $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) instead: UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TUV, with the certifying body named against each. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 held this answer until September 2026 and still has our highest editorial score; it is in the mentions below.

Are $1,000 e-bikes good enough for daily commuting?

Yes, and mid-2026 pricing has made the case stronger than ever, with genuinely commute-grade bikes (Class 3 speeds, UL certification, 600+ Wh batteries) now selling inside this band. What you still give up versus a $1,500-2,000 bike is refinement: torque-sensor assist, hydraulic brakes on some picks, app integration, lighter frames, and brand-name drivetrain components.

Should I buy a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike under $1,000?

Class 3 (28 mph pedal-assist) if you ride in traffic. Matching traffic flow is a real safety factor on 25-35 mph streets. Class 2 (20 mph) if you mostly ride paths and greenways, many of which restrict Class 3 anyway. Note that path rules vary sharply by state. Michigan, for example, bars both Class 2 AND Class 3 from paths by default. Check your state in our e-bike laws hub before deciding the class question by spec sheet alone.

Why do prices in this guide say "at our last check"?

Because Amazon reprices e-bikes constantly, and mid-2026 has been extreme, with some listings falling 50% below list while others sold out entirely after Prime Day. Every price here was verified against the live listing on publish day, and every buy button fetches the live listing, so you always see the current number before anything is charged. If a pick sells out, its button disappears from our pages automatically until stock returns.

Is it still worth stretching from $1,000 to $1,500?

Less than it used to be. Our $1,500 guide is led by the same TST City Commuter that leads this one, at the same price. Stretch to $1,500 mainly for a format this band lacks: a true cargo bike, which on Amazon means the UL 2849-certified AddMotor GAROOTAN M-81 at $1,199 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The tier above is led by hauling capability rather than raw spec.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor