Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $500 on Amazon (2026)

The Hoverfly OUREA ($499.99 as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best electric bike under $500 on Amazon US, the top of five in-stock picks from $199 to $499.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change), one for each archetype: best overall, best certification paperwork, best value, best battery per dollar, best...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.4/10
Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly OUREA

$499.99

Price as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall under $500. UL 2849 certified with every number stated and none inflated: 750 W...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Funhang Fat 26— Best certification paperwork, and the biggest battery on this page documenting both UL standards with the...
  • Budget pick:RPINT Mini 14— Best value, and the best-documented bike on this page at any price. At $199 (as of...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $500 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Hoverfly OUREA
$499.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#2Funhang Fat 26
$439.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#3RPINT Mini 14
$199as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding
#4DTTZH A12
$278.99Save $20as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 WhNot statedNot statedFolding
#5Funhang City Cruiser 26
$309.99Save $20as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStep-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Hoverfly OUREA
Amazon
Pick #17.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $500. UL 2849 certified with every number stated and none inflated: 750 W rated, 20 mph Class 2 cap (street-legal in all 51 US jurisdictions we track), 374.4 Wh battery, and a 20–40 mile honest range split, plus a 365-day warranty, the longest on this list. The small battery is the trade; ideal under ~10 miles per ride with indoor charging.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best certification paperwork, and the biggest battery on this page documenting both UL standards with the certifying bodies named: UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV, at $439.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is also one of the few budget listings whose range claim survives division. 624 Wh across a stated 30 to 35 throttle miles works out at about 19 Wh per mile, which is what a 26x4 fat tire actually drinks. The catch is in its own headline: the advertised "1000 W Peak" is the peak, and the rated motor is 500 W, stated further down the same bullet.

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #37.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best value, and the best-documented bike on this page at any price. At $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it claims UL 2271 for the battery AND UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS NAMED as validator. That specificity makes a certification claim checkable. A clean Class 2 at 20 mph, a published 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload, 413 ratings at 4.1★, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). Peak-only wattage (its own two figures disagree) and 14-inch wheels with front suspension only are the trades. The 14-inch wheels are why it sits below the Funhang rather than above it: it is the better-documented bike, and the narrower recommendation.

DTTZH A12
AmazonSave $20
Pick #47.4/10

DTTZH A12

DTTZH
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best battery per dollar. A 720 Wh pack at $278.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the largest battery on this page and about double the top pick's 374 Wh, alongside a stated 750 W rated motor next to the 1000 W peak and a UL 2849 claim for the complete bike. Single-speed on 14-inch wheels is the trade, the listing names no certifying body, and no weight is published anywhere on it. Buy it when capacity per dollar matters more than gearing.

Funhang City Cruiser 26
AmazonSave $20
Pick #58.6/10

Funhang City Cruiser 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best step-through, and the cleanest legal position on the page. At $309.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it states a 500 W rated motor inside the 750 W federal line, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS named as the lab, on a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds and an IPX5 removable battery. The 374 Wh pack is the trade: Funhang quotes 25 to 30 miles, so plan on about 20. No weight or payload is published.

TL;DR: five picks across archetypes

  1. Hoverfly OUREA, $499.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. UL 2849 certified, a single 750 W motor figure at the federal cap, a textbook Class 2 20 mph cap, and a 365-day warranty. The cleanest legal-and-honest package on the floor tier.
  2. Funhang Fat 26, $439.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best certification paperwork. It documents both UL 2271 (via SGS) and UL 2849 (via TÜV) with the certifying bodies named, on the biggest battery of any bike here with that paperwork. A 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap make it a clean Class 2, on a 624 Wh removable pack with integrated lights and turn signals. The headline "1000 W Peak" is the peak; the rated figure is 500 W.
  3. RPINT Mini 14, $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best value, and the best-documented bike on this page at any price. UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named as the validating lab, a clean Class 2 20 mph cap, a published 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload, 413 ratings, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). 14-inch wheels are the trade, and the reason it sits a place below the Funhang.
  4. DTTZH A12, $278.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best battery per dollar. A 720 Wh pack, the largest on this page, with a stated 750 W rated motor beside the 1000 W peak and a UL 2849 claim. Single-speed on 14-inch wheels is the trade.
  5. Funhang City Cruiser 26, $309.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best step-through. A 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph cap that makes it a clean Class 2, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS named, on a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds and an IPX5 removable battery.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $500 ceiling at our checked-at-publish prices, every pick verified in stock against the live listing via the Amazon Creators API on publish day, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. Cheap electric bikes on Amazon are mostly grey-market listings that vanish when a warranty claim arrives, so this guide weights survivability above spec sheets: UL certification where it exists and the lab that granted it where the seller names one, stated (not peak-only) motor ratings, removable batteries, and warranty terms in writing. Bikes inside the price ceiling that advertise a speed fitting no US e-bike class, such as the ASKGO Mountain 26 at 25 mph with a throttle, are named below with the reason rather than recommended. Amazon prices move constantly. Bikes over the line at our last check appear as honourable mentions, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we built this list

Under $500 is where Amazon's e-bike catalog gets dangerous. Most listings at this price are grey-market imports with inflated range claims, launch-month review spikes, and no one behind the warranty email. The picks here are the exceptions. Each has a full review on this site and a live in-stock Amazon US listing verified on publish day through Amazon's own product API. The thing we weight hardest at this tier is evidence a buyer can trust: UL marks stated on the listing, rated wattage disclosed rather than peak-only marketing, removable batteries, and warranty terms that exist in writing.

This pass added a distinction that matters more than we first credited: whether the seller names the laboratory behind a UL claim. Several bikes on this page assert UL 2849. The RPINT Mini 14 and the Funhang bikes name a body; the Hoverfly and the DTTZH A12 do not, and a claim you can take to a building manager is worth more than one you cannot. Where a listing asserts a standard without naming a lab, the entry says so.

Set expectations honestly: these are budget bikes with budget components. Every one involves real compromises: cadence sensors, mechanical brakes on most, smaller batteries, and in one case a single-speed drivetrain. What this list promises is that the compromises are the acceptable kind, not the dangerous kind.

Which e-bike under $500 should you buy?

1. Hoverfly OUREA: best overall

The OUREA is what a budget e-bike looks like when the seller states everything: 750 W at the federal cap, 20 mph cap (a textbook Class 2, street-legal in all 51 US jurisdictions we track), UL 2849 certification, a 374.4 Wh battery, and a 20–40 mile range split honestly by mode. The battery is now the smallest on this list. That is the trade for certification and a 365-day warranty, the longest coverage here, and at $499.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it sits comfortably inside this guide's line. For a sub-10-mile commute with indoor charging, it's still the cleanest full-size package on the shelf. Read the full OUREA review.

2. Funhang Fat 26: best certification paperwork

Both UL standards, with the labs named, at $439.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). That is the argument for this pick: UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV. Almost nothing under $500 names a certifying body at all, and a certification you cannot check is worth nothing to a landlord or a building manager. The rest of the sheet is honest in the same way: a 500 W rated motor at 66.6 N·m, a 20 mph cap (a clean Class 2, street-legal in all 51 US jurisdictions we track), a 48 V 13 Ah (624 Wh) removable IPX5 pack, dual 180 mm discs, a 7-speed cluster, a 60 lb rear rack, and integrated lighting with turn signals, which is genuinely rare below $500.

Two honest cautions. The headline "1000 W Peak" is not the rated figure: the real number is 500 W, stated further down the same bullet, and 500 W is genuinely modest if you are a heavier rider facing hills. And the listing never publishes a weight, so assume the mid-60s lb that every bike in this bracket lands on. What it gets right is the arithmetic: 624 Wh across a stated 30 to 35 throttle miles is about 19 Wh per mile, which is what a 26x4 fat tire actually drinks, so the range claim survives division. It also ships 85% assembled, leaving bars, pedals and the front wheel to you. If the budget is tighter, the Funhang EB-M1 documents the same two standards from the same two labs at $219.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change), on a 26-inch hardtail with a 374.4 Wh pack and no stated top speed. Read the full Funhang review.

3. RPINT Mini 14: best value, and the best paperwork at any price here

At $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) this is the cheapest bike on the page and, unexpectedly, the best documented. It claims UL 2271 for the battery pack and UL 2849 for the complete bike, and it names SGS as the lab that validated both. That specificity turns a sticker into something you can hand a landlord. It states 20 mph with a throttle, making it a clean Class 2 and the only bike here whose class is unambiguous on the listing. It publishes a real 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload where most rivals publish neither. And with 413 ratings at 4.1★ it has the deepest field record on this page, at #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026).

What you give up is power and wheel size. It quotes peak wattage only (740 W in the title, 700 W in the bullets, its own two figures disagreeing), publishes no rated figure, and rolls on 14-inch wheels with front suspension only. Expect steady assistance rather than punch, and a firm ride over broken pavement. That last point is why it sits below the Funhang rather than above it: as documentation per dollar it is unbeaten here, but a 14-inch mini is a narrower recommendation than a 26-inch fat bike for most people shopping this page. As a certified, compliant, genuinely cheap first e-bike, or a cheap folding electric bike for the last mile from a station, it is hard to argue with. Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review.

4. DTTZH A12: best battery per dollar

At $278.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) the A12 carries a 48 V 15 Ah pack, 720 Wh, the largest battery on this page and roughly double the 374 Wh in the bike at the top of it. It states its motor the way the statutes read it, 750 W rated alongside the 1000 W peak, and claims UL 2849 for the complete bike. The trades are real. The drivetrain is single-speed, so a flat battery leaves you pedalling one motor-geared ratio on 14-inch wheels; no weight is published anywhere on the listing; and unlike the Mini 14 above, the UL claim names no certifying body, which makes it a claim rather than a checkable certificate. Ignore the "60 miles with PAS" headline too, because its own battery arithmetic cannot support it: plan on 25 to 35 mixed-mode miles. Buy it when capacity per dollar is the brief. Read the full DTTZH A12 review.

5. Funhang City Cruiser 26: best step-through

The City Cruiser is the most honestly specified bike on our Amazon budget shelf, at $309.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It states a 500 W rated motor rather than a peak-only figure, which puts it inside the 750 W federal line; a 20 mph cap, which makes it an unambiguous Class 2 with no settings change; and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS named as the laboratory. Its legal position needs no caveat, which is rare at this price: most states treat it as a bicycle, with New Jersey (registration and a license) and Hawaii (registration) the exceptions to check.

The trade is the battery. 374 Wh is a modest pack; Funhang quotes 25 to 30 miles, which is optimistic rather than impossible at about 13 Wh per mile, so plan on about 20 miles. It is a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and an IPX5 removable battery, on mechanical disc brakes, and it publishes no weight or payload. If you want the same paperwork on a bigger battery and fat tires, the Funhang Fat 26 above is the step up. Read the full Funhang City Cruiser 26 review.

Bikes inside the budget that we will not recommend

The ASKGO Mountain 26 was one of Amazon's best-selling electric mountain bikes in summer 2026, with 26-inch wheels, a 7-speed drivetrain, a 365 lb payload rating and a 36-month warranty. On hardware per dollar it was one of the strongest things in this price band, and plenty of readers found it before they found us. The listing we originally reviewed was delisted in August 2026, and the relisting that replaced it had also stopped being buyable by September 2026. We would not recommend it even when it is in stock, for a reason that applies to every bike sold on this specification.

It is not on the list because it advertises 25 mph and has a throttle. In the US three-class framework, Class 1 and Class 2 cap at 20 mph and Class 3 permits 28 mph but bans throttles, so a 25 mph throttle bike fits no class in any state, and in the seven where Class 3 is banned outright (DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina) it is not legal on public roads or paths as delivered. It also names no UL certification anywhere. Most controllers of this type expose a speed limit in the display menu, and capping it at 20 mph brings it inside Class 2. That is a change you make before the first ride, not a detail to discover later. The full reasoning is in the ASKGO review; check your own state on the street-legal-by-state guide.

The same pattern sits near the top of Amazon's charts in this price band. The LELEKUAI T5, Amazon's #1 best-selling folding e-bike (September 2026), carries a 480 Wh battery at $159.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change), but its title and its maker both say 24 mph with a throttle. The URLIFE E20 at $359 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) states a 500 W rated motor, a 624 Wh pack and a UL 2849 claim, and URLIFE says the US version reaches 28 mph with a throttle. The YUCHETX Moped 20 at $299 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) advertises 30 to 35 mph. None of the three fits a US e-bike class as described, so none is a pick or a mention card here; each review sets out the detail.

The Hopepeak Z10 at $469 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) was this page's best utility folder until October 2026: a stated 400 lb total load rating with front and rear racks included, a 648 Wh pack and a 36 by 29 inch fold, a combination nothing else at this price offers. Its listing then changed from "20+MPH" to 28 mph ("easily reaches speeds up to 28MPH") on a 1200 W peak motor with no rated figure. A 28 mph bike is over the 20 mph Class 1 and Class 2 limit, so it left the picks. If you need the racks, ask the seller whether it can be limited to 20 mph before you ride it on public roads; the full Z10 review has the detail.

What if your budget stretches past $500?

The price ladder runs in $100 steps either side of this page: if $500 is already a stretch, Best Electric Bikes Under $400 is the rung below, and one rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $600 is where 700 Wh batteries and stated rated wattage start to become normal. Best Electric Bikes Under $800 is where a certified battery, a real watt-hour figure and disc brakes stop being a gamble, and it covers the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 ($599 as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) and the household-name Razor Rambler 16 ($606.99 as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Past that, Best Electric Bikes Under $1,000 adds hydraulic brakes and heavier frames. If this is your first e-bike, the beginner's guide ranks by first-timer profile instead of price, and if indoor charging is the constraint, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone. For one value pick per budget, see Best Budget Electric Bikes, and for a daily ride to work, Best Commuter Electric Bikes.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Bodywel 14" Mini Foldable Electric Bike product photo

    Held the ultra-compact slot until this pass and lost it to the RPINT Mini 14 on price, battery, certification and review depth, but it keeps two distinctions the RPINT does not have: it weighs 45 lb against the RPINT's 55, and it publishes its folded dimensions (roughly 28×22×14 inches). It also states a 350 W rated motor where the RPINT quotes peak only. If the bike has to go up stairs daily or fit a measured space, buy this one.

    No longer sold at Amazon

    Our closest in-stock match: HQYEX Mini 14

  • Funhang EB-M1 product photo

    Funhang EB-M1

    $219.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    The cheapest bike we list that pairs a stated 500 W rated motor with both UL 2271 (via SGS) and UL 2849 (via TUV), at $219.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change), on a 26-inch hardtail with a removable 374.4 Wh pack and a 12-month warranty. It is a mention rather than a pick because neither the Amazon listing nor Funhang's own store states a top speed, and with a throttle fitted that is the number that decides its class. Plan on about 20 miles, not the 40 to 50 quoted for pedal assist.

  • Funhang EB-C2 product photo

    Funhang EB-C2

    $319.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    A 26-inch step-through at $319.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap on the Amazon listing, UL 2271 and UL 2849 recognised by SGS, and a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb maximum load, two numbers most budget listings leave out. It is a mention because Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph for the same model, which with a throttle would sit outside Class 2, so read the display at full throttle on the first ride. The 374.4 Wh pack means about 20 miles, not the 40 to 50 claimed.

  • HLOIE Folding 14 product photo

    HLOIE Folding 14

    $150as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    The cheapest bike we list, at $150 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 14-inch folder with a 576 Wh battery (48 V x 12 Ah), a 20 mph cap and a 750 W peak motor, which makes it Class 2 as currently listed, and #4 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes chart in September 2026. It is a mention because it fails this page's paperwork screen: UL 2849 is claimed with no lab named, there is no UL 2271 claim or rated wattage, and the warranty is 180 days. This listing's title also once said 23 mph, so check the display on the first ride.

  • DTTZH F6 product photo

    DTTZH F6

    $439.98as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    Held the fat-tire pick on this page and has since been repriced by Amazon above this guide's $500 ceiling. It is a genuinely well-specified budget listing (750 W rated with a 1500 W peak, a 48 V 15.6 Ah battery, hydraulic front shock, NFC-card unlock, and an honestly quoted throttle-only range), so it moves to the under-$600 guide rather than off the site.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    Razor Rambler 16

    $606.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    The household-name pick: a US brand every buyer already knows, in a 16" moto style, at $606.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Over the ceiling here; covered in the under-$600 guide.

  • Vivi Gopina 350W Fat-Tire Folding Mini E-Bike product photo

    Vivi Gopina 350W Fat-Tire Folding Mini E-Bike

    $379.99as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    On Amazon since August 2026, when Vivi moved its whole catalogue there, so the reason this was a mention rather than a pick no longer holds and it is a candidate for the next editorial pass. At $379.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it carries SGS-certified UL 2849 paperwork, it folds, and it offers a step-thru frame at the same price tier. If the certificate or the fold is what you are shopping for, read the full review.

  • Vivi M026SHUL 500W Hardtail Mountain E-Bike product photo

    Vivi M026SHUL 500W Hardtail Mountain E-Bike

    $405.44as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT

    Also on Amazon since that move. A full-size 26" hardtail MTB shape with SGS-certified UL 2849 paperwork at $405.44 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change), the format and certificate this band otherwise cannot buy. The honest trades are a small 374 Wh battery (15–22 real miles) and cable disc brakes; the full review runs the numbers.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $500 on Amazon right now?

The Hoverfly OUREA at $499.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) for the best all-round package: UL 2849 certification (the fire-safety cert NYC Local Law 39 requires for e-bikes sold in the city and many apartment buildings ask for before indoor charging), a single 750 W motor figure at the federal cap, a textbook Class 2 20 mph cap, and a 365-day warranty. On value, the RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the stronger buy and the best-documented bike in this price band at any price: UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named as validator, a clean Class 2 cap, 413 ratings, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). If a landlord or building manager wants certification on paper, the Funhang Fat 26 at $439.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) documents both UL 2271 and UL 2849 with the certifying bodies named on a 624 Wh pack, and the Mini 14 above does it for less on 14-inch wheels.

What is the cheapest electric bike worth buying on Amazon?

The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Cheap normally means the certification and the specs both disappear, and this is the exception: it claims UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike and, unusually at any price, names SGS as the lab that validated them, so the claim is checkable rather than a sticker. It states 20 mph with a throttle, which is a clean Class 2, and publishes a real 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload. The trade is power: peak-only wattage claims that contradict each other (740 W title, 700 W bullets), no rated figure, 14-inch wheels and front suspension only. Go cheaper and the paperwork usually thins out: the HLOIE Folding 14 at $150 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the cheapest bike we list and claims UL 2849, but names no lab, makes no UL 2271 claim and carries a 180-day warranty.

Are e-bikes under $500 safe to buy?

The specific ones on this list, yes. That is largely what the list is for. The under-$500 tier is where grey-market listings with review-farmed ratings, inflated range claims, and absent warranty handlers concentrate. Screen for: UL marks visible on the listing and the certifying lab named (the RPINT Mini 14 names SGS, and the Funhang Fat 26 names SGS for UL 2271 and TÜV for UL 2849; the Hoverfly asserts UL 2849 without naming a body), rated wattage stated rather than peak-only marketing, a removable battery, and a warranty in writing. Every pick here passes that screen; most listings at this price do not, which is why bikes inside the budget such as the ASKGO Mountain 26 and the LELEKUAI T5 are discussed with their reasons rather than ranked.

Are all these e-bikes street legal, and do they need registration?

None of the five picks advertises a speed above the 20 mph Class 2 cap, and four state 20 mph explicitly (Hoverfly OUREA, RPINT Mini 14, Funhang Fat 26, Funhang City Cruiser 26). One of them, the DTTZH A12, publishes no top speed at all, so confirm the limiter in the display menu on arrival. In 49 of 51 US jurisdictions a compliant e-bike is legally a bicycle and needs no registration or licence; the exceptions are New Jersey (registration and a licence) and Hawaii (registration). The ASKGO Mountain 26 is the cautionary case and the reason this answer is worded carefully: it advertises 25 mph with a throttle, which fits no class in any state. Check yours in our state-by-state law table.

What do you give up buying under $500 instead of $800–1,000?

Mostly: brake quality (mechanical rather than hydraulic on most), sensor type (cadence rather than torque), gearing (one pick here is single-speed), wheel size, and brand support depth. Battery is no longer the automatic sacrifice it was. The Funhang Fat 26 carries 624 Wh at $439.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) and the DTTZH A12 carries 720 Wh at $278.99 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change). What you should refuse to give up, and what this list screens for, is fire-safety certification, honest spec disclosure, and a removable battery. A bike at $199 (as of Oct 14, 5:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with UL 2271, UL 2849 and a named lab is a better buy than a $700 bike with none of them.

Are $500 e-bikes any good?

A $500 e-bike is good at one job: flat, short trips of under about ten miles with indoor charging, where a 350 to 750 W hub motor and a 360 to 720 Wh battery are plenty. Where the tier is weak is consistent across every bike here: cadence sensors rather than torque sensors, mechanical disc brakes, a roughly 55 to 70 lb frame, and small brands whose warranty support is only as good as the listing says it is. The five picks on this page are the sub-$500 Amazon listings that state a rated (not just peak) motor figure, claim a UL fire-safety standard, use a removable battery and put a warranty in writing. Judged against those four tests, a good $500 e-bike exists; judged against a $1,200 one, it is slower, heavier and simpler, and this guide says so for every pick.

Is there a 28 mph e-bike under $500?

Not one worth recommending. No pick on this page advertises more than 20 mph, the Class 2 cap (throttle plus pedal assist, treated as a bicycle in 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track; New Jersey and Hawaii add paperwork). A 28 mph e-bike is Class 3 by definition, and a genuine Class 3 needs a motor and battery that push the price well above $500 on Amazon; sub-$500 listings that advertise 28 mph are either quoting a peak number the bike cannot hold, or are unclassified machines that are not legal as bicycles in any state. The Hopepeak Z10 is a current example: it was a pick here until its listing began advertising 28 mph in October 2026, on a 1200 W peak motor with no rated figure. If 28 mph matters to you, start at the best e-bikes under $1,000, where compliant Class 3 bikes begin, and check where Class 3 e-bikes are legal first, because seven US jurisdictions do not recognise Class 3 at all.

Which cheap e-bikes should you avoid on Amazon?

Skip any sub-$500 listing that fails one of four checks. First, no UL 2271 (battery) or UL 2849 (complete e-bike) claim anywhere on the page: uncertified packs are the source of the apartment-fire headlines, and many buildings and landlords now refuse them. Second, only a peak wattage with no rated figure, or a top speed above 20 mph with a throttle: the first hides a weak motor, the second describes a machine that is not a legal bicycle. Third, no removable battery, which means no charging indoors without the whole bike. Fourth, no warranty terms in writing and no reachable seller. The ASKGO Mountain 26 is discussed on this page rather than ranked for exactly the second reason: it advertises 25 mph, which fits no US e-bike class. Two of the biggest batteries in this bracket fail the same check: the ESKUTE V300 (998 Wh, one of Amazon's best sellers, 30+ mph) and the ESKUTE M300F (1,082 Wh, 33 mph), both quoting only a peak wattage. Every ranked pick above passes all four checks.

How were these picks verified as in stock?

Every pick was checked against its live Amazon listing through Amazon's own product API on publish day, and our system re-verifies price and availability every six hours after that. If a listing dies, the buy button is removed automatically and the pick is replaced in the next editorial pass. A recommendation you cannot act on is worth less than no recommendation.

Our pick

Hoverfly OUREA

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Hoverfly OUREA

Best overall under $500. UL 2849 certified with every number stated and none inflated: 750 W...

$499.99 · as of · subject to change

Check price at AmazonRead the full Hoverfly OUREA review

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor