Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $400 on Amazon (2026)

The best electric bike under $400 on Amazon is the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), a 26-inch step-through that states a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 certification with SGS named as the lab. Six picks at our checked prices, chosen mostly for what the 14-inch minis that top Amazon sales under $300 do not offer: full-size and fat-tire frames, step-throughs with racks, and packs up to 624 Wh. For the lightest bike, the Gotrax Nano weighs 31 lb, and for the biggest battery among the picks, the ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20 carries 624 Wh on 20 x 3 inch fat tires.

By John WeeksUpdated Oct 30, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.6/10
Funhang City Cruiser 26

Funhang City Cruiser 26

$369.99

Price as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Best overall under $400, and the cleanest paperwork on the page.

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Funhang EB-C2— Best step-through with the battery built into the frame, and #4 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (September 2026).
  • Budget pick:Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter— Best full-size hardtail with a stated rated motor: 500 W rated and a 20 mph cap, so a clean Class 2…

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $400 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Funhang City Cruiser 26Class 220 mph500 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStep-through
#2Funhang EB-C2Class 220 mph500 W374 Wh300 lb63 lbStep-through
#3Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail CommuterClass 220 mph500 W360 Wh330 lb49.6 lbStandard
#4Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-BikeClass 115.5 mph350 W281 Wh220 lb31 lbFolding
#5Misodo Mountain 26Not statedNot stated1500 W499 Wh350 lbNot statedStandard
#6ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20Not statedNot statedNot stated624 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Funhang City Cruiser 26
Amazon
Pick #18.6/10

Funhang City Cruiser 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $400, and the cleanest paperwork on the page. A 500 W RATED motor (1000 W peak), a stated 20 mph cap with a throttle, which is a textbook Class 2 with nothing to reconfigure, and UL 2271 for the battery plus UL 2849 for the complete bike, both recognised by SGS. A 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and seat, and an IPX5 removable 374 Wh pack whose 25 to 30 mile claim is optimistic but achievable. No published weight or payload, and mechanical disc brakes, are the trades.

Funhang EB-C2
Amazon
Pick #28.2/10

Funhang EB-C2

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best step-through with the battery built into the frame, and #4 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (September 2026). The City Cruiser's 500 W rated motor, 374.4 Wh pack and SGS-recognised UL 2271 and UL 2849, with the battery inside the down tube and a published 62.83 lb weight, 300 lb load and 62 N·m. Rack, fenders and front suspension included. The Amazon listing says 20 mph (Class 2) while Funhang's own store says 21.7 mph, so read the display at full throttle on the first ride. Plan on about 20 miles.

Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best full-size hardtail with a stated rated motor: 500 W rated and a 20 mph cap, so a clean Class 2, on a 26-inch hardtail with 7 speeds and a front fork, at $199.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It publishes a 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and it was #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes in October 2026 with over 2,200 reviews. The listing states no UL certification, and the 360 Wh pack means about 16 miles per charge.

Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best lightweight folder, and #1 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes (September 2026). 31 lb, with a folding handlebar (about 46 x 19 x 27 inches folded, per the listing), a 350 W rated motor (450 W peak) and assist capped at 15.5 mph, which is Class 1. Gotrax is a US company with phone support and Target, Walmart and Best Buy distribution. The listing states a 36 V 7.8 Ah (281 Wh) battery, there is no suspension, the listing claims UL 2849 with no lab named, and the 14-inch frame suits smaller riders.

Misodo Mountain 26
AmazonSave $30
Pick #57.7/10

Misodo Mountain 26

Misodo
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for bigger and taller riders, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (September 2026). A stated 350 lb capacity and a 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 6 in fit range on a 26-inch hardtail, with a 499 Wh battery, 7 speeds, front suspension and walk assist. It states no top speed, no rated wattage (1500 W peak only) and no UL certification, so its class cannot be determined from the listing: set a 20 mph limit before riding. The 65 mile claim is impossible from 499 Wh; plan on 20 to 25.

ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20
Amazon
Pick #66.6/10

ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20

ESKUTE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best fat-tire folder, with the biggest battery among the picks: 624 Wh on a tool-free folding step-through with 20 x 3 inch tires, a front basket and rear rack included, 7 speeds and NFC unlock. Plan on about 25 miles, not the 55 claimed. The listing gives 1200 W peak with no rated figure, "20+ MPH" with no committed cap, and no UL 2849 or UL 2271 claim at all, so buy it only if you charge somewhere nobody asks for a certificate.

TL;DR: six picks under $400

  1. Funhang City Cruiser 26, $369.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. A 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph cap that makes it a clean Class 2, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS named as the lab, on a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds and an adjustable stem.
  2. Funhang EB-C2, $369.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best step-through with the battery built into the frame, and #4 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (September 2026). The same motor, pack size and SGS paperwork as the City Cruiser, plus a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb load. Funhang's own store says 21.7 mph, so check the display.
  3. Jasion EB5, $199.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best full-size hardtail with a stated rated motor. 500 W rated, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7 speeds, a published 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026). The listing states no UL certification.
  4. Gotrax Nano, $379.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best lightweight folder, and #1 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes (September 2026). 31 lb, a 350 W rated motor (450 W peak) and assist capped at 15.5 mph (Class 1), from a US brand with phone support. The 281 Wh battery is small, the wheels are 14-inch, and the listing claims UL 2849 with no lab named.
  5. Misodo Mountain 26, $249.98 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best for bigger and taller riders, and #2 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (September 2026). A stated 350 lb capacity, a 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 6 in fit range and a 499 Wh battery. No top speed, rated wattage or UL claim is stated.
  6. ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20, $349.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best fat-tire folder, with the biggest battery among the picks: 624 Wh, 20 x 3 inch tires, and a front basket and rear rack included. Peak-only wattage, a "20+ MPH" speed that commits to nothing, and no UL claim.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, a hard $400 ceiling at our checked prices, every pick in stock on its live Amazon US listing when this guide was written in September 2026, and every pick has a full review on this site. We have not ridden these bikes. Each entry restates its own review, which works from the Amazon listing, the manufacturer's spec sheet where one exists, and the arithmetic on the battery. The ranking weights what a listing is willing to state: a rated motor figure, a top speed, a UL standard with the certifying lab named, and a weight. A bike that advertises a speed outside every US e-bike class is named with the reason rather than ranked. Bikes priced within about 3% of $400 appear as mentions, because a normal daily price move would push them in and out of the list. Amazon prices move constantly, so the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

What does $300 to $400 buy that $300 does not?

Under $300, Amazon's best-selling e-bikes lean small. The top four bikes in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes chart in September 2026 are all 14-inch minis priced under $300. The next $100 mostly changes the shape of the bike: 26-inch frames with 7-speed gearing, 20 x 3 inch fat tires, step-through frames with racks and fenders, and batteries of 499 to 624 Wh. On two Funhang commuters it also buys a complete set of disclosures, a rated motor, a stated 20 mph cap and both UL safety standards with the lab named. Prices move, though: the Jasion EB5 below is a full-size hardtail whose price has moved on both sides of $300, so trust the figure on each card.

That is why this list ranks on what each listing states rather than on headline wattage. US e-bike rules are built on two numbers. The federal consumer-product definition of a low-speed electric bicycle, 15 U.S.C. §2085, covers a bike with working pedals, a motor under 750 W, and a top speed under 20 mph on motor power alone. State three-class laws then sort bikes by speed and throttle: Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle and still stops at 20 mph, and Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, usually with no throttle. A peak wattage figure is not a rated figure, and a listing with no rated wattage or no top speed cannot be placed in a class from the page. Each entry below says which case it is.

On safety paperwork, UL 2271 covers the battery pack and UL 2849 covers the complete electrical system, battery, charger, controller and motor together. New York City's Local Law 39 of 2023 bars selling e-bikes there without UL 2849 or an equivalent, and landlords well beyond New York ask for the certificate before allowing indoor charging. A claim that names the lab behind it, as both Funhang picks do with SGS, can be checked. A claim with no lab named is only a claim.

Which e-bike under $400 should you buy?

1. Funhang City Cruiser 26: best overall

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 has the cleanest legal and safety paperwork of any bike on this page: a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak), a stated 20 mph cap with a throttle, which is a textbook Class 2, and UL 2271 for the battery plus UL 2849 for the complete bike, both recognised by SGS, for $369.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Nothing in that sentence needs a caveat, and there is no display setting to change before the first ride.

The range claim is honest too. Funhang quotes 25 to 30 miles in pure electric mode from a 48 V 374 Wh pack, which works out to about 13 Wh per mile: the optimistic end of what is achievable, not an impossible figure like the 55 to 80 mile claims elsewhere on this page. Around that sits a low step-through frame, 7-speed gearing, an adjustable stem and seat that fit different riders in one household, five riding modes, and an IPX5 removable battery for charging indoors. The trades are a modest pack for a day out, no published weight or payload, mechanical disc brakes, and 26-inch city tires that ride harder over broken pavement than a fat tire. Read the full Funhang City Cruiser 26 review.

2. Funhang EB-C2: best step-through with the battery built in

The Funhang EB-C2 pairs the City Cruiser's 500 W rated motor, 374.4 Wh battery and SGS-recognised UL 2271 and UL 2849 documentation with a pack hidden inside the down tube, for $369.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is #4 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (September 2026), and it publishes three numbers most budget listings leave out: a 62.83 lb weight, a 300 lb maximum load and 62 N·m of torque. A rear rack, full fenders, a front suspension fork, a horn, a stated 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 1 in rider range and a 1-year warranty complete the sheet.

It ranks below the City Cruiser for one conflict. The Amazon listing states 20 mph, which makes it Class 2, while both EB-C2 pages on Funhang's own store state 21.7 mph (35 km/h), and a throttle bike above 20 mph fits no class. Hold full throttle on flat ground on your first ride and read the display; if it passes 20, lower the limit in the settings menu before using bike lanes or paths. Plan on about 20 miles per charge, because the 40 to 50 mile pedal-assist claim needs 7.5 to 9.4 Wh per mile. Read the full Funhang EB-C2 review.

3. Jasion EB5: best full-size hardtail with a stated rated motor

The Jasion EB5 states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap for $199.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), the two numbers US e-bike law is written around, on a plain 26-inch hardtail that was #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes in October 2026, with over 2,200 reviews. That makes it a Class 2. It adds 7-speed gearing, a front suspension fork, a published 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, which is more than most bikes at this price will tell you.

The trades are battery and paperwork. The 360 Wh pack is small, so our review plans on about 16 miles per charge. Its Amazon listings state no UL standard at all, which puts it a step below the two Funhangs on paperwork. Assist is cadence-based, and Jasion gives a 1-year warranty on motor and battery and 6 months on the frame. It took this slot in October 2026 from the HopCycle EB3L, which was discontinued on Amazon. Read the full Jasion EB5 review.

4. Gotrax Nano: best lightweight folder

The Gotrax Nano weighs 31 lb, the lightest bike in this guide by a wide margin, for $379.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), which makes it the pick for anyone who has to carry an e-bike up stairs or onto a train. Its listing gives the folded size as 46.4 x 19.3 x 26.8 inches from a folding handlebar, so it saves weight more than floor space. It is #1 in Amazon's Electric Compact Bikes (September 2026). The listing states a 350 W rated motor (450 W peak) and a 15.5 mph assist cap, well inside the US limits of 750 W rated and 20 mph. Gotrax is a US company with a Dallas-based service team, phone support and distribution through Target, Walmart and Best Buy, and the warranty is 1 year on motor and battery and 90 days on components.

The cost of that weight is everything else. The listing states a 36 V 7.8 Ah (281 Wh) battery, which Gotrax rates for 15.5 miles on the motor alone and 25 with pedal assist. There is no suspension fork, the 14-inch wheels suit riders of roughly 5 ft 0 in to 5 ft 7 in, the stated payload is 220 lb, a 350 W rated motor is not a hill bike, and the listing states UL 2849 without naming a lab. Buy it for short flat hops where carrying the bike is the hard part. Read the full Gotrax Nano review.

5. Misodo Mountain 26: best for bigger and taller riders

The Misodo Mountain 26 states who it is built for, a 350 lb maximum capacity and a fit range of 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 6 in, on a 26-inch hardtail for $249.98 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), and it is #2 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (September 2026). Most listings at this price publish neither figure, which leaves larger and taller riders guessing. It also carries a 499 Wh battery (48 V x 10.4 Ah), a 7-speed drivetrain, front suspension, a reinforced high-carbon steel frame, a headlight and five riding modes including walk assist, which helps on a heavy bike pushed up a ramp.

What it will not state is its legal class. Misodo gives no top speed and no rated wattage, only a 1500 W peak figure with a throttle, so assume it exceeds the 20 mph Class 2 cap until you have checked. Most controllers of this type expose a speed limit in the display, and setting 20 mph is the step that brings it into Class 2 behaviour. No UL certification is named and no weight is published. The 65 mile range claim needs 7.7 Wh per mile from 499 Wh, which no e-bike achieves; plan on 20 to 25 miles. Read the full Misodo Mountain 26 review.

6. ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20: best fat-tire folder

The ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20 puts a 624 Wh removable battery (48 V x 13 Ah), 20 x 3 inch fat tires, a front basket and a rear rack on a tool-free folding step-through frame for $349.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), the biggest battery among the picks on this page. It adds a 7-speed cluster and NFC-card unlock instead of a key, and the step-through stays easy to mount with the basket loaded. For one bike that folds into a car and still carries the groceries, no other pick does both.

The listing leaves three important blanks. It gives 1200 W peak and no rated figure, it says "20+ MPH" rather than committing to a cap, and it claims no UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification anywhere, which is the wrong omission on a bike designed to have its battery carried indoors. Two of its feature bullets are also identical, word for word. The 55 mile claim needs about 11.3 Wh per mile; plan on about 25 miles, since a 20 x 3 tire in mixed riding draws roughly 20 to 28 Wh per mile. Buy it if you charge in a house or garage where nobody asks for a certificate. Read the full ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20 review.

Can you get a 30 mph e-bike for under $400?

You can buy one, and we do not recommend it. The YUCHETX Moped 20 advertises 30 to 35 mph for $299 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change), on an 88 lb moped-style frame with 20 x 4 inch tires, cable-actuated disc brakes, no rated wattage, no UL certification and five different battery sizes on one listing. The URLIFE E20 is quieter about it: its Amazon bullets give no top speed, while URLIFE's own store says the US version reaches 28 mph with a working throttle. The LELEKUAI T5, #1 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026), says 24 mph in its title with a throttle.

None of the three fits a US e-bike class as described. Class 1 and Class 2 stop at 20 mph, and Class 3 allows 28 mph with pedal assist but usually no throttle, so a throttle bike above 20 mph falls outside all three, and 30 mph is above even the Class 3 ceiling. It also fails the 20 mph motor-only line in the federal definition at 15 U.S.C. §2085. In most states a machine like that is a moped or motor vehicle on public roads, which can bring registration, insurance and licensing rules. The brakes matter as much as the law: cable discs on an 88 lb bike at 35 mph have a lot of work to do. If a listing lets you set a 20 mph limit in the display, that is the change to make before riding in bike lanes or on paths. If you want real speed legally, a compliant Class 3 costs more than this budget; see where Class 3 e-bikes are legal first.

Bikes under $400 that we cover but do not rank

The URLIFE E20 for $359.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) is a lot of hardware: a 624 Wh battery, a 500 W rated motor per URLIFE's spec table, 20 x 3 inch tires, a low step-through frame with rack and fenders, and UL 2849 in the Amazon title (no lab named, and absent from URLIFE's own page). It is not ranked because of the 28 mph throttle described above. Capping it at 20 mph would make it Class 2, though URLIFE does not document how to set that.

The Vivi Gopina for $356.39 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) is a certified folder with SGS-tested UL 2849, a step-thru frame, 16 x 3.0 inch tires and a lockable fork. Two things keep it off the list: it weighs 69 lb with the battery, which defeats much of the point of a mini folder, and Vivi's spec table gives 21.7 mph pedal assist alongside a throttle capped at 15.5 mph. That assist speed is above the Class 2 limit, and Class 3 usually excludes a throttle, so its class depends on how your state words the rule.

The DTTZH A12 for $278.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) carries a 720 Wh battery, more than any pick on this page, with a stated 750 W rated motor and a UL 2849 claim that names no lab. It is a 14-inch single-speed with no published top speed or weight, and it is already the battery-per-dollar pick in our under-$500 guide.

The HopCycle EB3L, our #3 pick until October 2026, stated a 750 W rated motor and a 20 mph top mode on a 26-inch hardtail; its Amazon listing was discontinued that month. Its review stays up and points to the closest in-stock match.

What if your budget is exactly $400, or under $300?

Vivi's bikes are the ones whose prices move most around this ceiling. Both Vivi step-throughs that sat at the $400 line in September 2026, the MT26GUL and the C26UL, are no longer sold on Amazon. The Vivi still on sale here is listed as a mention rather than a pick that a price move would push off the list: the Vivi 26-inch Folding ($369.89 as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) is a 55 lb folding hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap with no Class 3 mode, 21 speeds, a front spring fork, a 330 lb payload and a 374 Wh pack. It states no UL certification.

One rung down, Best Electric Bikes Under $300 covers the 14-inch minis and the cheapest full-size hardtails. One rung up, Best Electric Bikes Under $500 is where UL 2849 with a stated 750 W rated motor and a 365-day warranty appears on a single bike. If folding is the whole brief, the best folding e-bikes under $1,000 compares folders further up the price range; if rider weight is, the heavy-rider guide ranks on load ratings; and if indoor charging is the constraint, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone. Check your own state's rules in our state-by-state law table.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Funhang Fat 26 product photo

    Worth stretching for if $400 is a soft limit. The Funhang Fat 26 ($529.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) sits over this page's ceiling, so it is a mention rather than a pick. It names its labs the way the Funhang picks do, SGS for UL 2271 and TÜV for UL 2849, and adds 26 x 4 inch fat tires, a 624 Wh battery (about two thirds more than the City Cruiser's 374 Wh), a 500 W rated motor with a 20 mph cap for a clean Class 2, a 330 lb payload and built-in turn signals. Its weight is unpublished. Plan on about 30 miles on the throttle. It is the #2 pick in the under-$500 guide.

  • Vivi 26" Folding Mountain Electric Bike product photo

    The only folder on this page with full-size 26-inch wheels, for $369.89 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change). Vivi's prices move more than most around this ceiling, so it is a mention until its price settles. A 500 W rated motor, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap with no Class 3 mode, 21 speeds, a front spring fork, a 330 lb payload and a 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 1 in rider range. The trades are 55 lb, a 374 Wh pack, cadence-sensor assist and no UL certification. It took this card from the Vivi MT26GUL, which is no longer sold on Amazon.

  • sixblues EB3S 26" Electric Mountain Bike product photo

    The certified alternative to our #3 pick: $309.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) buys a 26-inch hardtail that states UL 2849 for the whole bike and UL 2271 for the battery, both with SGS named, a 20 mph top speed and a 540 Wh pack, half again the Jasion EB5's 360 Wh. Not ranked because the motor is quoted only as 1500 W peak, with no rated figure, and its 80-mile claim needs 6.75 Wh per mile. Plan on about 30 miles.

  • ESKUTE V100 16" Mini Moped-Style E-Bike product photo

    A 16 x 4.0 moped-style mini with a 624 Wh pack, suspension at both ends and a published 70.5 lb and 360 lb payload, for $319.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), about $210 less than ESKUTE's own store. Not ranked because ESKUTE calls it a 28 mph Class 3 bike while marketing it to teens, and most states set 16 as the Class 3 minimum age; it also quotes only a 1500 W peak and names no UL standard. Set a 20 mph limit for a younger rider.

  • URLIFE E20 product photo

    A 624 Wh battery, a 500 W rated motor per URLIFE's spec table, 20 x 3 inch tires and a step-through frame with rack and fenders for $359.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change). Not ranked because URLIFE's own store says the US version reaches 28 mph with a throttle, which fits no US e-bike class as delivered. Its UL 2849 claim appears in the Amazon title with no lab named. Plan on about 30 miles, not 80, and on 66 lb.

  • Vivi Gopina 350W Fat-Tire Folding Mini E-Bike product photo

    SGS-tested UL 2849, a 350 W rated motor on Vivi's spec sheet, a step-thru folding frame and 16 x 3.0 inch tires for $356.39 (as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change). Not ranked for two reasons: 69 lb with the battery is heavy for a mini folder, and 21.7 mph pedal assist with a throttle fitted is neither a clean Class 2 nor a clean Class 3, so check your state's wording. Plan on 18 to 24 miles from 374 Wh.

  • DTTZH A12 product photo

    More battery than any pick on this page, 720 Wh, with a stated 750 W rated motor and a UL 2849 claim that names no lab, for $278.99 (as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a 14-inch single-speed folder with no published top speed or weight, and it is already the battery-per-dollar pick in the under-$500 guide. Plan on 25 to 35 miles.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike under $400?

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best electric bike under $400 on Amazon. It states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap with a throttle, which makes it a clean Class 2 e-bike with no setting to change, and it documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike, both recognised by SGS. It is a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds and a removable 374 Wh battery. If you want the battery hidden in the frame and a published weight, the Funhang EB-C2 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) has the same motor and paperwork, with a speed conflict to check on delivery.

What is the cheapest but best e-bike on Amazon?

The Jasion EB5 ($199.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best value among the picks here: a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap on a 26-inch hardtail, a clean Class 2, with a published 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, from a listing with over 2,200 reviews. Its listing states no UL certification, so for charging indoors spend a little more on the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change), which names SGS for both UL standards. If $300 is a hard limit, start with the under-$300 guide.

What is the best folding electric bike under $400?

The ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20 ($349.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best folding e-bike under $400 for range and carrying: a 624 Wh battery, 20 x 3 inch fat tires, and a basket and rack included, though it states no rated wattage, no firm top speed and no UL certification. If you have to carry the bike, the Gotrax Nano ($379.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) weighs 31 lb, caps assist at 15.5 mph (Class 1) and comes from a US brand with phone support, on a small battery. For a certified folder, the Vivi Gopina has SGS UL 2849 paperwork, at 69 lb and with a speed setup that sits awkwardly between classes. For full-size 26-inch wheels on a folder, the Vivi 26-inch Folding ($369.89 as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) states a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph Class 2 cap, at 55 lb with no UL claim.

Is there a good 30 mph e-bike under $500?

The YUCHETX Moped 20 ($299 as of Oct 31, 8:11 PM EDT, subject to change) advertises 30 to 35 mph, and we do not recommend it or any 30 mph e-bike at this price. URLIFE says its URLIFE E20 reaches 28 mph with a throttle, but no US e-bike class covers either. Class 1 and Class 2 stop at 20 mph, and Class 3 allows 28 mph with pedal assist and usually no throttle. A 30 mph throttle bike is closer to a moped in most states, which can mean registration, insurance and a license, and the YUCHETX stops 88 lb on cable disc brakes. A compliant Class 3 costs more than $500 on Amazon; check where Class 3 is legal before shopping for one.

Are e-bikes under $400 street legal?

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 is, as listed: a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph cap make it Class 2. On this page the Funhang EB-C2 is Class 2 on Amazon (its maker's store says 21.7 mph), the Jasion EB5 is Class 2 on stated specs, and the Gotrax Nano is Class 1. The Misodo Mountain 26 and ESKUTE Folding Cargo 20 do not state a firm top speed, so cap them at 20 mph in the display before riding in bike lanes. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration; New Jersey and Hawaii require it. Check your state in our law table.

What is the best electric bike under $400 for heavier or taller adults?

The Misodo Mountain 26 ($249.98 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the best e-bike under $400 for heavier and taller adults, because it states a 350 lb maximum capacity and a 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 6 in fit range on a reinforced steel 26-inch frame with a 499 Wh battery. It states no top speed or rated wattage, so set a 20 mph limit before riding. If you would rather have a bike whose class and UL paperwork are both stated, the Funhang EB-C2 publishes a 300 lb maximum load and a 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 1 in rider range. Avoid the 14-inch minis: the Gotrax Nano's payload is 220 lb.

Which e-bike under $400 is UL certified for charging indoors?

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) and the Funhang EB-C2 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) both document UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike, recognised by SGS. Naming the lab is what makes a claim checkable when a landlord or building manager asks, and New York City's Local Law 39 of 2023 requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold there. The Vivi Gopina also carries SGS UL 2849. The URLIFE E20 and DTTZH A12 claim UL 2849 with no lab named, and the Jasion EB5, Misodo and ESKUTE picks and the Vivi 26-inch Folding document none.

Is it worth spending $400 instead of $300 on an electric bike?

Usually yes, if you want a full-size bike: the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 as of Oct 31, 8:10 PM EDT, subject to change) shows what the extra money buys, a 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds, a rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and both UL standards with SGS named. Under $300 the best sellers are mostly 14-inch minis. Among the picks here you also find 499 to 624 Wh batteries, 20 x 3 inch fat tires and published payload ratings. What does not change much is the brakes: the picks whose listings specify them use mechanical discs. If a 14-inch folder suits you, the under-$300 guide saves the difference.

Our pick

Funhang City Cruiser 26

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Funhang City Cruiser 26

Best overall under $400, and the cleanest paperwork on the page.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor