Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Long-Range Electric Scooters (2026)

The NIU KQi 300X ($899 at our last check) is the best long-range electric scooter for most riders: its 608.4 Wh battery, the biggest of our seven picks, works out to about 23 to 28 miles at full speed by our estimate, with disc brakes at both ends, IP55 and a 265 lb rider limit. NIU advertises 37.3 miles, measured at a steady 9.3 mph with a 165 lb rider, which is why we rank on full-speed range, our estimate or the maker's own fastest published figure, and never on the number on the box. The Segway Ninebot Max G2 is the runner-up at about 20 to 25 miles. We have not ridden them.

By John WeeksUpdated Oct 30, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.2/10

Best long-range electric scooter overall. The biggest battery of our picks, 608.4 Wh…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Compare the picks

Best Long-Range Electric Scooters (2026): key specs, our range estimate and UL 2272 status for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceTop speedMotor (rated / peak)BatteryRange (claimed / our estimate)Max riderWeightTiresUL 2272
#1NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter20 mph500 / 1000 W608 Wh37 mi / ~23 to 28 mi265 lb48.7 lb10.5" TubelessSeller states it
#2Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter20 mph450 / 1000 W551 Wh43 mi / ~20 to 25 mi265 lb53.5 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#3Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter20 mph850 / 2000 W597 Wh50 mi / Not stated286 lb54.2 lb11" TubelessSeller states it
#4NIU KQi 300P Electric Scooter20 mph450 / 900 W487 Wh30 mi / ~18 to 22 mi265 lb46 lb10.5" TubelessSeller states it
#5Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter20 mph450 / 1000 W477 Wh44 mi / ~18 to 22 mi265 lb42.3 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#6NAVEE ST3 Electric Scooter24.9 mph500 / 1000 W477 Wh37.3 mi / Not stated265 lb54.7 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#7Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter
$422.95Save $47Check price at Amazon
19 mph500 / 600 W418 Wh25 mi / ~15 to 19 mi220 lb39.7 lb10" HoneycombSeller states it

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Claimed range is the maker’s figure; our estimate divides the battery by the energy a 175 to 180 lb rider uses at full speed in published range tests, so lighter riders and slower speeds go further. “Seller states it” means the Amazon listing or the maker’s own site claims UL 2272 and we could not verify it in the certifier’s directory. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor the maker gives a figure.

Detailed picks

NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best long-range electric scooter overall. The biggest battery of our picks, 608.4 Wh, which we estimate covers about 23 to 28 miles at full speed against NIU's 37.3-mile claim at 9.3 mph. Disc brakes at both ends, a hydraulic front fork, IP55, a 25% climb rating, a 265 lb limit and a 2-year warranty that covers the battery. 48.7 lb, 20 mph in the US.

Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #28.4/10

Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for long rides on rough streets. 551 Wh, which we estimate covers about 20 to 25 miles; Segway's own figures are 28 miles at 20 mph and 25 at 22 mph. Suspension at both ends, self-sealing tubeless tires, IPX5 and a built-in 5-hour charger. The trades are 53.5 lb and a drum brake rather than discs.

Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #37.7/10

Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for heavier riders and hills: a 286 lb limit, a 30% climb rating, discs and hydraulic suspension at both ends and IPX6, on a 597 Wh battery. Segway quotes 25 miles in SPORT+, its fastest mode; we give no estimate because an app unlock reaches 28 mph. Segway's store marks it end of life, and the battery has a 1-year warranty.

NIU KQi 300P Electric Scooter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The KQi 300X's frame, disc brakes and IP55 with a smaller 486.7 Wh battery: about 18 to 22 miles by our estimate, and ERideHero recorded 17.8 at full speed with a 175 lb rider. A 5-hour charge, a 2-year warranty that covers the battery, a 265 lb limit and 45.97 lb. No rear suspension.

Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #58.0/10

Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best lighter long-range scooter: 42.3 lb, the lightest pick with an estimated 18 miles or more (477 Wh, 18 to 22 miles; Segway says 25 at 20 mph). IPX6 with an IPX7 battery, a front disc, suspension at both ends and a 265 lb limit. It takes about 8 hours to charge.

NAVEE ST3 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #67.5/10

NAVEE ST3 Electric Scooter

NAVEE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best value, if you cap its speed: a 477 Wh battery, about 18 to 22 miles at 20 mph by our estimate (NAVEE says 22 at 20 mph), a rear disc brake, damping arms front and rear, 10-inch tubeless air tires and IPX5. NAVEE lists it at up to 24.9 mph, so we give no full-speed estimate. 54.7 lb, an 8-hour charge, and only the Amazon listing claims UL 2272.

Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $47
Pick #77.4/10

Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter

Hiboy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best budget pick, on tires that cannot go flat. 417.6 Wh for about 15 to 19 miles by our estimate (Hiboy claims 25 at 11.4 mph), the lightest pick at 39.7 lb, a rear disc brake and rear shocks. Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates. The limits are 220 lb and IPX4.

TL;DR: 7 long-range electric scooters

  1. NIU KQi 300X, $899 at our last check. Best overall. 608.4 Wh and an estimated 23 to 28 miles at full speed (NIU claims 37.3 at 9.3 mph), disc brakes at both ends, IP55 and a 265 lb limit. 48.7 lb.
  2. Segway Ninebot Max G2, $999.99 at our last check. Best for long rides on rough streets. 551 Wh and an estimated 20 to 25 miles (Segway: 28 at 20 mph), suspension at both ends, self-sealing tires and IPX5. 53.5 lb.
  3. Segway Ninebot Max G3, $999.99 at our last check. Best for heavier riders and hills. 597 Wh, 25 miles in its fastest mode by Segway's figure, a 286 lb limit, a 30% climb rating and discs at both ends. Marked end of life at Segway's store.
  4. NIU KQi 300P, $749 at our last check. The 300X's disc brakes and IP55 with a smaller 486.7 Wh battery: an estimated 18 to 22 miles, a 5-hour charge and a 2-year battery warranty. 45.97 lb.
  5. Segway Ninebot F3, $849.99 at our last check. Best lighter long-range scooter. 477 Wh and an estimated 18 to 22 miles at 42.3 lb, with IPX6 and a front disc. About 8 hours to charge.
  6. NAVEE ST3, $499.99 at our last check. Best value, if you cap its speed. 477 Wh, 22 miles at 20 mph by NAVEE's figure, a rear disc and suspension at both ends. Up to 24.9 mph and 54.7 lb.
  7. Hiboy S2 Pro, $422.95 at our last check. Best budget pick. 417.6 Wh, an estimated 15 to 19 miles, tires that cannot go flat and published UL certificates. 39.7 lb, 220 lb limit.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Seven long-range electric scooters sold on Amazon US, chosen on October 30, 2026 from the eleven stand-up scooters we cover with a battery over 400 Wh, all in stock that day. We ranked them on range at full speed, not on advertised range. Where a scooter tops out at 24 mph or less in every setting, that is our estimate: battery watt-hours divided by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile, for a 175 to 180 lb rider. Where it can go faster, our method does not apply at full speed, so we quote the maker's own fastest published figure and its conditions. Specs come from each maker's spec sheet or manual; where the Amazon listing differs, we say so and use the maker's figure. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated, and none could be confirmed in a certifier's directory. We searched CPSC recalls for every model in October 2026. We have not ridden these scooters.

1. NIU KQi 300X: best long-range electric scooter overall

The NIU KQi 300X is the best long-range electric scooter for most riders because it carries the biggest battery of our seven picks and pairs it with disc brakes at both ends. NIU's US store gives it a 48 V, 13 Ah battery (608.4 Wh), more than the Segway Max G2 (551 Wh) or Max G3 (597 Wh), and a 500 W rated motor with a 1,000 W peak. NIU claims 37.3 miles, measured with a 165 lb rider at a constant 9.3 mph on flat ground at 77°F; we estimate about 23 to 28 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider, the highest estimate of any pick. It has disc brakes at both ends plus regenerative braking, a hydraulic front fork with 45 mm of travel, 10.5-inch self-healing tubeless tires, IP55, a 25% climb rating, turn signals and a halo headlight. It carries 265 lb, is rated for riders 14 and up, and charges in about 6 hours. NIU's warranty covers the main body, battery and motor included, for 2 years.

Three cautions. Amazon sells it as the "NIU K300X" with a 23.6 mph title; that is NIU's global figure, and NIU's US store says 20 mph on the road. It weighs 48.7 lb and has no rear suspension. And the brake discs, levers, cables and throttle get only 6 months of warranty. A "(Renewed)" KQi 300X listed under the brand "Generic" is a refurbished unit from a reseller, and we do not link it. NIU states UL 2272; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory. No CPSC recall found for the NIU KQi 300X as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb with a round trip of up to about 23 miles, hills or wet roads. Skip if you carry the scooter up stairs every day, or want suspension at both ends: the Max G2 has it. Read the KQi 300X review.

2. Segway Ninebot Max G2: best for long rides on rough streets

The Segway Ninebot Max G2 is the long-range pick for broken pavement, and Segway prints its range at top speed as well as its headline. Segway rates the motor at 450 W with a 1,000 W peak and the battery at 551 Wh (36 V, 15.3 Ah). Its 43-mile headline is for a 165 lb rider averaging 9.9 mph at 77°F; under the same conditions Segway gives 28 miles at the 20 mph it ships at and 25 miles at its 22 mph app setting. We estimate about 20 to 25 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider, so Segway's own fast figures land at and above the top of our band. The ride suits rough streets: 10-inch self-sealing tubeless tires (Segway says they seal punctures up to 4 mm), a hydraulic damper up front and dual springs at the rear, IPX5, turn signals and a 22% climb rating. The charger is built in and takes about 5 hours (the listing says 6), so topping up at work needs only a cable.

The costs are weight and brakes. At 53.5 lb it is a two-handed lift, and it stops with a front drum and a rear electronic brake, with no disc; the KQi 300X and Max G3 have discs at both ends. The Amazon title's "1000W" is the peak, and its "22MPH" needs the app. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. Segway's March 2025 recall of about 220,000 Max G30P and G30LP scooters, over their folding mechanism, does not cover the Max G2 (CPSC notice); G30P and G30LP owners can find the remedy on Segway's recall page. No CPSC recall found for the Max G2 as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb with a round trip of up to about 20 miles on patched or potholed streets, who park at ground level. Skip if you lift the scooter every day: the F3 is 11.2 lb lighter. Weighing it against the KQi 300X? See Segway Max G2 vs NIU KQi 300X. Read the Max G2 review.

3. Segway Ninebot Max G3: best for heavier riders and hills

The Segway Ninebot Max G3 has the highest rider limit on this page, 286 lb, and the best hardware of the adult Segways we cover: an 850 W rated motor (2,000 W peak), a 30% climb rating, disc brakes front and rear, hydraulic suspension at both ends, 11-inch self-sealing tubeless tires, and an IPX6 body with an IPX7 battery pack, per Segway's US spec page. Its battery is 597 Wh (46.8 V, 12.75 Ah). Segway rates range in each mode at that mode's top speed, with a 165 lb rider (give or take 11 lb) at about 77°F: about 50 miles in ECO (the headline, quoted at 10 mph), 40 in DRIVE, 34 in SPORT and 25 in SPORT+, its fastest mode. We give no estimate of our own, because an app unlock takes it to 28 mph, above the 24 mph limit of our method. Plan on Segway's 25 miles as the full-speed best case, and less for a heavier rider. It ships at 20 mph and weighs 54.2 lb.

Two things hold it back. Segway's US store marks the G3 end of life and sells the Max G3 Plus in its place, though Amazon still had the G3 in stock on October 30, 2026. And Segway markets a two-year warranty, yet its warranty document gives the battery, charger, stem, folding mechanism and brake parts one year. Charging takes about 3.5 hours on the built-in charger, measured on 220 V; Segway publishes no figure for US 120 V outlets, and the listing's 2.5 hours needs a second charger sold separately. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. The 2025 Max G30P and G30LP recall does not cover the G3. No CPSC recall found for the Segway Ninebot Max G3 as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders between 265 and 286 lb, or anyone with steep hills, who wants discs and hydraulic suspension at both ends. Skip if you want a model Segway still sells new, or if 28 mph is the draw: that unlock is above every state line we cite below. Read the Max G3 review.

4. NIU KQi 300P: the 300X's disc brakes with a smaller battery

The NIU KQi 300P is the KQi 300X with a smaller battery and motor, on the same frame with the same brakes and water rating. NIU rates it at 450 W (900 W peak) with a 486.7 Wh battery (46.8 V, 10.4 Ah, marketed as 48 V), and claims 30 miles under the same test as the 300X: a 165 lb rider at a constant 9.3 mph on flat ground at 77°F. We estimate about 18 to 22 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider. That estimate has an outside check: the review site ERideHero, with a 175 lb rider, recorded 17.8 miles at the 300P's fastest setting and 24.3 at its slowest. It keeps the 300X's disc brakes at both ends with regenerative braking, the 45 mm hydraulic front fork, 10.5-inch tubeless tires, IP55, turn signals and a 265 lb limit, at 45.97 lb, 2.7 lb lighter. It charges in about 5 hours, and NIU's warranty covers the main body, battery and motor included, for 2 years.

At our last check the 300P was $749 and the 300X $899. The cautions match the 300X's: no rear suspension, and the Amazon listing's "All-Terrain" and dirt-and-gravel claims contradict NIU's own manual, which limits it to flat pavement. It tops out at 20 mph in every NIU listing we found, so there is no faster version to unlock. NIU states UL 2272 on its US store and shows a UL mark in its manual, with no certificate number or lab named; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory. No CPSC recall found for the NIU KQi 300P as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb with a round trip of up to about 18 miles who want discs at both ends and air tires. Skip if your round trip is longer: the 300X adds about 25% more battery on the same frame. See KQi 300P vs 300X. Read the KQi 300P review.

5. Segway Ninebot F3: best lighter long-range scooter

The Segway Ninebot F3 is the lightest pick with an estimated range of 18 miles or more, at 42.3 lb. Segway gives it a 450 W rated motor (1,000 W peak), a 477 Wh battery (46.8 V, 10.2 Ah) and a range for each mode: about 44 miles in E at 9 mph, 31 in D and 25 in S at the full 20 mph. We estimate about 18 to 22 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider, a little under Segway's own S figure. It is built for wet commutes: IPX6 for the scooter and IPX7 for the battery pack, matched only by the Max G3 among the scooters we cover. It has a front disc brake with a rear electronic brake, a front hydraulic shock and a rear elastomer one, 10-inch self-sealing tubeless tires, a 20% climb rating, a 265 lb limit and turn-by-turn navigation on the display.

The trade is charging: about 8 hours, the longest of the Segways we cover, so it is an overnight charger. The Amazon listing also sells an optional external 460 Wh battery and claims 81 miles with it fitted; Segway's own F3 spec table does not print that figure. By the Amazon warranty text, the frame and main parts get 2 years, while the battery, charger, stem and folding mechanism, brake parts and lights get 1. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. The 2025 Max G30P and G30LP recall does not cover the F3. No CPSC recall found for the F3 as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb with a round trip of up to about 18 miles who carry the scooter up a flight of stairs or ride in the rain. Skip if you cannot charge overnight. Read the F3 review.

6. NAVEE ST3: best value, if you cap its speed

The NAVEE ST3 has the same size battery as the Segway F3, 477 Wh, with brakes and suspension above its price; at our last check the ST3 was $499.99 and the F3 $849.99. NAVEE's US product page and manual give it a 500 W rated rear motor (1,000 W peak), polymer damping arms front and rear, a rear mechanical disc with a front drum and rear electronic braking, 10-inch tubeless air tires, IPX5, turn signals, a 24% climb rating and a 265 lb limit. NAVEE claims 37.3 miles, tested with a 165 lb load at a constant 9.3 mph (15 km/h) on flat ground at 77°F, and 22 miles at 20 mph. We give no full-speed estimate, because NAVEE lists a top speed of up to 24.9 mph, above the 24 mph limit of our method. At 20 mph we estimate about 18 to 22 miles for a 175 to 180 lb rider, in line with NAVEE's own 22 miles at that speed; flat out, expect less. The NAVEE listing family that sells it was #33 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026.

The catches are speed, weight and paperwork. NAVEE's own page lists the top speed as both 20 mph and up to 24.9 mph; at 24.9 it is over New York's 20 mph e-scooter line and New Jersey's 19 mph line, so cap it in the app where those apply. It weighs 54.7 lb (the listing says 52), the handlebar does not fold, and a full charge takes about 8 hours. The Amazon listing also calls its tires solid and the scooter "Off Road"; NAVEE's spec table and manual say tubeless air tires, and its manual limits riding to cement or asphalt. The listing states UL 2272; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory, and NAVEE's own ST3 pages make no UL 2272 claim. No CPSC recall found for NAVEE or its maker Spacewalker as of October 25, 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb on rough city pavement who roll the scooter in rather than carry it, and will cap its speed. Skip if you need proof of UL 2272 for a New York City building, or you carry it up stairs. The same listing family sells the GT3 and ST3 Pro, so check the model name before you buy. Read the NAVEE ST3 review.

7. Hiboy S2 Pro: best budget pick, on tires that cannot go flat

The Hiboy S2 Pro is the budget way into long range, and the lightest pick at 39.7 lb by Hiboy's manual. Hiboy rates it at 500 W (600 W peak) with a 36 V, 11.6 Ah battery (417.6 Wh) and claims 25 miles at a steady 11.4 mph with a 165 lb rider on flat ground at 77°F; we estimate about 15 to 19 miles at full speed, the least of the seven picks. It rides on 10-inch honeycomb tires that cannot go flat, with two rear spring shocks, a rear disc brake plus an electronic regenerative brake, and a 19 mph top speed. Hiboy publishes the paperwork: UL LLC certificates for UL 2272 (the scooter's electrical system) and UL 2271 (the battery pack), linked from its product page; we could not check them in UL's directory, which needs a login. It was #32 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026.

Hiboy's own documents disagree on its weight (37.4 lb on the product page, 39.7 lb in the manual, 35.9 lb on Amazon) and its charge time (4 to 6 hours on the page, 6 to 7 in the manual, 8 on Amazon). The limits are the trade for the price: a 220 lb rider limit, IPX4 (splash resistance only), solid tires that ride firmer than air-filled ones, and a one-year warranty. No CPSC recall found for the Hiboy S2 Pro as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders under 220 lb with a round trip of up to about 15 miles who never want to fix a flat. Skip if you weigh more than 220 lb or ride in regular rain. The Hiboy KS4 Pro is the same scooter underneath with wider handlebars. Read the Hiboy S2 Pro review.

Long-range electric scooters compared: the box against our numbers

Ranked as above, with three of the mentions below the line. The advertised figure is the maker's headline and its test speed; the next column gives the battery and the range we would plan on.

Scooter Price at our last check Advertised range Battery, and the range to plan on Top speed Weight, rider limit UL 2272
NIU KQi 300X $899 37.3 mi at 9.3 mph 608.4 Wh: we estimate 23 to 28 mi 20 mph (US) 48.7 lb, 265 lb limit NIU states UL 2272
Segway Max G2 $999.99 43 mi at 9.9 mph 551 Wh: we estimate 20 to 25 mi (Segway: 28 at 20 mph) 20 mph, 22 by app 53.5 lb, 265 lb limit Segway states UL 2272 (TÜV Rheinland)
Segway Max G3 $999.99 50 mi at 10 mph 597 Wh: Segway says 25 mi in SPORT+ 20 mph, 28 by app 54.2 lb, 286 lb limit Segway states UL 2272 (TÜV Rheinland)
NIU KQi 300P $749 30 mi at 9.3 mph 486.7 Wh: we estimate 18 to 22 mi 20 mph 45.97 lb, 265 lb limit NIU states UL 2272
Segway F3 $849.99 44 mi at 9 mph 477 Wh: we estimate 18 to 22 mi (Segway: 25 at 20 mph) 20 mph 42.3 lb, 265 lb limit Segway states UL 2272 (TÜV Rheinland)
NAVEE ST3 $499.99 37.3 mi at 9.3 mph 477 Wh: NAVEE says 22 mi at 20 mph (we estimate 18 to 22 at 20 mph) up to 24.9 mph 54.7 lb, 265 lb limit the listing states UL 2272
Hiboy S2 Pro $422.95 25 mi at 11.4 mph 417.6 Wh: we estimate 15 to 19 mi 19 mph 39.7 lb, 220 lb limit Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates
Segway ZT3 Pro (mention) $999.99 43.5 mi at 9.3 mph 597 Wh: Segway says 18.6 mi at 24.9 mph 24.9 mph 65.5 lb, 265 lb limit Segway states UL 2272 (TÜV Rheinland)
KuKirin G2 (mention) $599 about 34 mi at medium speed 748.8 Wh: no full-speed figure published (we estimate 28 to 34 mi at 21.7 mph) 28 mph 57 lb, 264 lb limit the listing states UL 2272
OOTD T10 (mention) $499.99 46 mi (listing); 28 to 37 mi (OOTD) 864 Wh: OOTD says 28 mi unlocked, 176 lb rider (we estimate 32 to 39 at 21.5 mph) 15.5 mph, 31 unlocked 62 lb, 265 lb limit no certification stated

Our estimate assumes a 175 to 180 lb rider at full speed (at 20 mph for the NAVEE ST3, and in the 21.7 and 21.5 mph modes for the KuKirin G2 and OOTD T10); the maker figures in that column use the maker's own rider, usually 165 lb, so they run a little high against ours.

Why our range numbers are lower than the box

Because makers measure range for a lighter rider going slower than most people ride. Makers that publish their test conditions rate range for a 150 to 165 lb rider at about 9 to 11 mph on flat pavement at 77°F: NIU tests the KQi 300X at a steady 9.3 mph, Segway the Max G2 at a 9.9 mph average and Hiboy the S2 Pro at a steady 11.4 mph, all with a 165 lb rider. We estimate range at full speed instead, by dividing the battery's watt-hours by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile. That band is the middle half of 32 full-speed range tests that eRideHero and RiderGuide published for 26 commuter scooters, adjusted to a rider of about 175 to 180 lb on city streets with stops and small hills. In those tests, scooters covered a median 59% of their advertised range, and our estimates for the picks come to about 40 to 75% of the makers' figures. We have not ridden these scooters ourselves.

Two published figures sit at the edges of our band. Segway prints the Max G2's range at top speed as well as its headline: 25 miles at 22 mph with a 165 lb rider, the top of our 20 to 25-mile estimate. And ERideHero recorded 17.8 miles for the NIU KQi 300P at its fastest setting with a 175 lb rider, the bottom of our 18 to 22.

The box can also put scooters in the wrong order. Segway advertises 44 miles for the F3 and NIU 37.3 for the KQi 300X, yet the 300X carries about 28% more battery (608.4 Wh against 477). Divide each advertised range into its battery and the claims imply anything from about 11 watt-hours per mile (the F3) to about 17 (the Hiboy S2 Pro), so the headline says as much about the maker's test as about the scooter. Battery watt-hours are the number to compare.

Above 24 mph we give no estimate. Dual-motor and 28 mph scooters used about 30 to 35 watt-hours per mile at speed in published tests, so our band would flatter them. Segway's own ZT3 Pro figures show the same thing: 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph from 597 Wh is about 32 watt-hours per mile. For those scooters we quote the maker's own fastest figure, with its conditions.

Which long-range scooter carries the most battery for its weight?

The NIU KQi 300X, among the picks: about 12.5 Wh per pound of scooter (608.4 Wh, 48.7 lb). Then come the Segway F3 at 11.3 (477 Wh, 42.3 lb) and the Segway Max G3 at 11.0. The NIU KQi 300P (10.6), Hiboy S2 Pro (10.5) and Segway Max G2 (10.3) sit close together, and the NAVEE ST3 carries the least battery for its weight, 8.7 Wh per pound at 54.7 lb. Two mentions carry more, the OOTD T10 at about 13.9 and the KuKirin G2 at 13.1, and both go well past 20 mph. If you lift your scooter every day, the F3 is the lightest pick with an estimated 18 miles or more; if you only roll it, the 300X gives the most range for its weight.

How to get more range from a long-range scooter

  • Ride slower. Speed costs more range than anything else you control, and the makers' own figures show it: Segway rates the F3 for 44 miles in its E mode at 9 mph and 25 in S at 20 mph, and the Max G2 for 43 miles at a 9.9 mph average and 28 at 20 mph. An eco mode on a long day out is the cheapest extra battery there is.
  • Keep air tires at the maker's pressure. Segway lists 42 to 48 psi for the Max G2 and NIU 45 to 50 psi for the KQi 300P. A soft tire drags. Honeycomb tires, like the Hiboy S2 Pro's, cannot be pumped up.
  • Allow for the cold. Makers rate range at 77°F, and a battery gives less in cold weather, so a winter ride needs a bigger margin than a summer one.
  • Count your weight, your bag and your hills. Makers test with a 150 to 165 lb rider and our estimates assume about 175 to 180 lb. A heavier load and steep climbs both cut range below our figures.
  • Charge for the ride you have. Start a long ride from a full charge. NIU's app has a setting that stops charging at 80%, which leaves less range that day. A battery also holds less charge as it ages, so an old scooter will fall short of its first-year range.

How fast are long-range scooters, and where can you ride them?

Big batteries often come with big speeds, and the speed is where the law bites. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the US e-bike classes do not apply. California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph (Vehicle Code §22411) and requires a driver's license or instruction permit and a helmet under 18 (§21235). New York defines an e-scooter as under 100 lb and no faster than 20 mph (VTL §114-e). New Jersey's legal e-scooter is stand-up, under 19 mph and 750 W or less (NJ chart). Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads (report).

Against those lines: the NIU KQi 300X and 300P, Segway F3, and Segway Max G2 and G3 as shipped top out at 20 mph, at New York's line, and the Hiboy S2 Pro at 19 mph. None is under New Jersey's 19 mph line, and all are faster than California's 15 mph limit. The Max G2's app setting reaches about 22 mph and the Max G3's 28, both past New York's line, and NAVEE lists the ST3 at up to 24.9 mph, so it needs capping where the limit is 20 mph or lower. In August 2026 New York City sent cease-and-desist orders to 42 online retailers, Amazon among them, over stand-up scooters that can exceed 20 mph.

Are big scooter batteries safe to charge at home?

Look for a UL 2272 claim you can trace, and treat any claim as unverified until you check it. UL 2272 is the fire and electrical safety standard for the whole scooter; it does not test folding stems, forks or brakes. Hiboy publishes UL certificates by number for the S2 Pro; NIU and Segway state UL 2272 on their own sites, Segway naming TÜV Rheinland as the tester; the NAVEE ST3's claim appears only on its Amazon listing. We could not verify any of them in a certifier's directory; you can search UL Product iQ for a brand or the file number on the label. New York City has required UL 2272 certification for scooters sold there since September 16, 2023 (Local Law 39), California has required UL 2272 battery testing for motorized scooters sold there since January 1, 2026 (SB 1271), and the CPSC proposed a national rule in June 2026 (Federal Register). We found no CPSC recall for any scooter on this page as of October 2026. Wear a helmet: the CPSC estimates 79,300 emergency-room visits involving e-scooters in 2024, and only 18% of the injured riders it followed up were wearing one. Our electric scooter safety guide covers charging and checks.

The long-range listings we skip, and why

Amazon's electric scooter chart is full of listings that promise 40, 50 or 60 miles. We leave out four kinds:

  • A range with no battery size behind it, or amp-hours with no voltage. With nothing to divide, there is no way to check the claim.
  • Family listings whose title range belongs to another model. Some listings put three or four ranges in one title and sell a different scooter under each color option, so the long-range figure may not be the scooter you pick.
  • Fast scooters with no range we can check. Dual-motor and 28 mph-plus listings make the biggest range claims. We skip the ones with no maker range figure at speed and no slower mode we can estimate, since that leaves nothing to set the claim against, and the state lines above would hold any of them to 20 mph or less on public roads.
  • Sellers with no maker website, manual or warranty address. When a listing disappears, the warranty contact and the spare tires, chargers and brake parts usually go with it, and they do disappear: of the 14 best-selling scooter listings we recorded on October 4, 2026, 5 were gone by October 18.

We are not calling any of them bad; we have no evidence either way about how they ride, and that is the problem with buying one. Before you buy any long-range scooter, check that the listing gives a battery size in watt-hours (or volts and amp-hours you can multiply), a rated motor figure as well as the peak, a rider limit, a brake description, and a range figure with its test speed.

How we chose

We started from every stand-up scooter we cover with a battery over 400 Wh, eleven in all, each in stock on Amazon US on October 30, 2026, and each with a full page on this site. We ranked them on range at full speed. Where a scooter tops out at 24 mph or less in every setting we know of, that is our estimate; where it can go faster, it is the maker's own fastest published figure, quoted with its conditions. Where two scooters came out close, we ranked on the evidence we could check: battery size, brakes, suspension, water rating, rider limit, battery warranty, charge time, and whether the maker publishes its specs, its range test conditions and a UL 2272 claim. Specs come from each maker's spec sheet or manual, checked against the Amazon listing; where they disagree, the entry says so. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated, never upgraded to "certified". We searched CPSC recalls for every model in October 2026. We have not ridden these scooters, and we do not take free samples.

More electric scooter guides

For the all-round list, see best electric scooters for adults, and for range matched to commute length, best electric scooters for commuting. On a budget, start with best electric scooters under $500 or under $300; if you carry your scooter, read best lightweight electric scooters; if you would rather sit, best electric scooters with a seat. How much does an electric scooter cost? explains what each price band buys. If no scooter covers your round trip, electric scooter vs e-bike sets out when an e-bike makes more sense. Everything we cover is on the electric scooters hub.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter product photo

    Segway's all-terrain scooter ($999.99 at our last check) has the Max G3's 597 Wh battery size, and Segway's own figures show what speed costs: 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph and 18.6 at its full 24.9 mph. It is the pick for gravel paths, not for range: it ships at 24.9 mph, above New York's 20 mph e-scooter line, and weighs 65.5 lb.

  • KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter product photo

    The second-biggest battery we cover, 748.8 Wh, with an 800 W rated motor and disc brakes and spring suspension at both ends, for $599 at our last check. KuKirin claims about 34 miles at medium speed and publishes no full-speed figure. We estimate about 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode, above the 23 to 28 of our #1 pick, but give no full-speed estimate because its top mode is 28 mph. It is a mention for that speed, IP54 (its US warranty excludes rain riding), 57 lb, and a UL 2272 claim that appears only on the Amazon listing, with no lab named.

  • OOTD T10 Electric Scooter product photo

    The biggest battery of any scooter we cover, 864 Wh, on 11-inch tubeless tires with suspension and disc brakes at both ends ($499.99 at our last check). We estimate about 32 to 39 miles in its 21.5 mph mode, and OOTD's own figure is 28 miles unlocked with a 176 lb rider; it ships limited to 15.5 mph and unlocks to 31. It is a mention because the listing makes no UL 2272 claim, OOTD sells only in Europe so its written warranty does not cover US Amazon buyers, and it weighs 62 lb.

  • Hiboy KS4 Pro Electric Scooter product photo

    The S2 Pro (our #7 pick) with wider 18.9-inch handlebars ($399.98 at our last check). Hiboy sells the same front motor wheel, replacement battery and charger for both, so the 417.6 Wh battery, estimated 15 to 19 miles, 19 mph and IPX4 match, and Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates for each. It has a rigid front end and weighs 40.6 lb. Buy whichever is cheaper; see KS4 Pro vs S2 Pro.

Frequently asked questions

What electric scooter has the longest range?

Of the scooters we cover, the OOTD T10, with the biggest battery at 864 Wh: we estimate about 32 to 39 miles in its 21.5 mph mode, and OOTD's own figure is 28 miles unlocked to 31 mph with a 176 lb rider. The KuKirin G2 (748.8 Wh) comes next, at about 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode by our estimate; it tops out at 28 mph, and KuKirin publishes no full-speed figure. In those modes both go further than any of our picks, and both are mentions rather than picks: the OOTD's listing makes no UL 2272 claim and OOTD's written warranty does not cover US Amazon buyers, while the KuKirin's UL 2272 claim appears only on its Amazon listing, it is rated IP54, and its top mode is past New York's 20 mph line. Of our picks, the NIU KQi 300X goes furthest: 608.4 Wh, about 23 to 28 miles at full speed by our estimate, at a 20 mph US top speed, with disc brakes at both ends.

How far can an electric scooter go on one charge?

For the long-range scooters in this guide, about 15 to 28 miles at full speed by our estimate, for a 175 to 180 lb rider: about 15 to 19 for the Hiboy S2 Pro (417.6 Wh) up to 23 to 28 for the NIU KQi 300X (608.4 Wh). Advertised figures for the same picks run 25 to 50 miles, because makers test with a 150 to 165 lb rider at about 9 to 11 mph on flat ground at 77°F. To estimate any scooter yourself, divide its battery watt-hours by 22 to 27.

Is 40 miles of range realistic on an electric scooter?

Only at low speed with a light rider. A 40-mile claim usually comes from a test like Segway's for the Max G2: 43 miles for a 165 lb rider averaging 9.9 mph, against Segway's own 28 miles at 20 mph. At full speed, 40 miles would take roughly 880 to 1,080 Wh of battery by our method, more than any scooter we cover (the biggest, the OOTD T10, has 864 Wh). Riding in an eco mode is how you get close to the figure on the box.

What is a good range for an electric scooter?

Enough for your longest regular round trip, with a margin. Plan on the low end of our estimate as the round trip you can count on, since cold weather, hills and a heavier load all cut range: about 15 miles for the Hiboy S2 Pro, 18 for the NIU KQi 300P and Segway F3, 20 for the Segway Max G2 and 23 for the NIU KQi 300X. If you can charge at your destination, each leg can be about that long.

Which long-range electric scooter is best for heavy riders?

The Segway Ninebot Max G3, rated for 286 lb, the highest limit on this page, with a 30% climb rating and discs and hydraulic suspension at both ends; Segway's store marks it end of life, so buy it while Amazon has stock. The NIU KQi 300X and 300P, Segway Max G2 and F3, and NAVEE ST3 carry 265 lb, and the Hiboy S2 Pro 220 lb. Heavier riders get less range: our estimates assume about 175 to 180 lb, and makers test at 150 to 165 lb.

How long does a long-range electric scooter take to charge?

About 5 to 8 hours for six of our seven picks by the makers' figures, so plan on charging overnight. The Segway Max G2 takes about 5 hours from its built-in charger and the NIU KQi 300P about 5; the NIU KQi 300X takes about 6, the Hiboy S2 Pro 6 to 7 by its manual, and the Segway F3 and NAVEE ST3 about 8. Segway quotes about 3.5 hours for the Max G3, measured on 220 V, and publishes no figure for US 120 V outlets.

NIU KQi 300X or Segway Max G2 for long range?

The KQi 300X goes further on paper: 608.4 Wh against 551, or about 23 to 28 miles against 20 to 25 by our estimate, with disc brakes at both ends, a 25% climb rating and IP55, at 48.7 lb. The Max G2 has suspension at both ends where the NIU has a front fork only, a built-in charger, and range figures Segway publishes at top speed. Both have self-sealing tubeless tires, carry 265 lb and run 20 mph in the US. See our Max G2 vs KQi 300X comparison.

Our pick

NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter

Best long-range electric scooter overall. The biggest battery of our picks, 608.4 Wh…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor