Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Fastest Electric Scooters on Amazon (2026), Ranked by Speed

The fastest electric scooter we track on Amazon is the Joyful Rider Off-Road ($509.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change), whose listing claims 32 mph in its top mode for a 139 lb rider, from a 1,200 W peak motor with disc brakes at both wheels. Next come the KuKirin G2 ($599 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) at 28 mph and, under $300, the HiQiS V10 ($249 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) at 25 mph. All three are faster than every state scooter limit we cite: California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph, New Jersey's legal e-scooter must be under 19 mph, and New York's e-scooter definition stops at 20. At 20 mph, the NIU KQi 300X ($749 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the best equipped by our rule, with disc brakes at both wheels and a 608.4 Wh battery. Every speed on this page is the seller's claim, which we have not measured.

By John WeeksUpdated Nov 7, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

6.6/10
Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

$509.99

Price as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST · subject to change

Fastest claim we track: 32 mph in the top of four modes (17, 24 and 32 mph plus a walking mode), quoted for a 139 lb rider…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter— 28 mph under a 143 lb test load, with the most hardware of the fast group: an 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery…
  • Budget pick:HiQiS V10 Electric Scooter— The fastest scooter we rank under $300: 25 mph on both the listing and HiQiS's US store, from a 500 W motor…
Early deals are liveEarlyBlack FridayEvery e-bike and electric scooter deal we have verified on Amazon, best sellers first, at Amazon’s own prices.
  • 59deals live
  • 42%top saving
  • 20days to go
See all 59 deals

Compare the picks

Fastest Electric Scooters on Amazon (2026), Ranked by Speed: key specs, our range estimate and UL 2272 status for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceTop speedMotor (rated / peak)BatteryRange (claimed / our estimate)Max riderWeightTiresUL 2272
#1Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter32 mphNot stated648 Wh28 mi / Not stated300 lb53 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#2KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter28 mph800 W749 Wh34 mi / Not stated264 lb57 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#3HiQiS V10 Electric Scooter25 mph500 W288 Wh22 mi / Not stated265 lb36.4 lb10" HoneycombNot stated
#4Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter24.9 mph650 / 1600 W597 Wh43.5 mi / Not stated265 lb65.5 lb11" TubelessSeller states it
#5MAXSHOT V1 SPRO Electric Scooter22 mph500 W378 Wh22 mi / ~14 to 17 mi265 lb37 lb10" HoneycombSeller states it
#6HopCycle N3 DS Electric Scooter21 mph500 W281 Wh23 mi / ~10 to 13 mi264 lb36.5 lb8.5" Air-filledNot stated
#7Oslich W3C Electric Scooter21 mph500 W281 Wh21 mi / ~10 to 13 mi264 lb31.5 lb8.5" SolidSeller states it
#8NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter20 mph500 / 1000 W608 Wh37 mi / ~23 to 28 mi265 lb48.7 lb10.5" TubelessSeller states it
#9Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter20 mph850 / 2000 W597 Wh50 mi / Not stated286 lb54.2 lb11" TubelessSeller states it
#10NIU KQi 300P Electric Scooter20 mph450 / 900 W487 Wh30 mi / ~18 to 22 mi265 lb46 lb10.5" TubelessSeller states it
#11Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter20 mph450 / 1000 W477 Wh44 mi / ~18 to 22 mi265 lb42.3 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#12Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter
$629.98Limited-time deal · Save $370as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM ESTCheck price at Amazon
20 mph450 / 1000 W551 Wh43 mi / ~20 to 25 mi265 lb53.5 lb10" TubelessSeller states it

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Claimed range is the maker’s figure; our estimate divides the battery by the energy a 175 to 180 lb rider uses at full speed in published range tests, so lighter riders and slower speeds go further. “Seller states it” means the Amazon listing or the maker’s own site claims UL 2272 and we could not verify it in the certifier’s directory. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor the maker gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #16.6/10

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

Joyful Rider
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Fastest claim we track: 32 mph in the top of four modes (17, 24 and 32 mph plus a walking mode), quoted for a 139 lb rider, from a 1,200 W peak motor with no rated figure. Disc brakes front and rear plus an electronic brake, a fork and rear spring on 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, IP65, 53 lb and a 300 lb limit. We estimate 24 to 29 miles in the 17 or 24 mph mode, none at 32. No maker website, and its UL 2272 line names no lab. At 24 or 32 mph it is over every state scooter line we cite; keep full speed for private land.

KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #27.5/10

KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter

KuKirin
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

28 mph under a 143 lb test load, with the most hardware of the fast group: an 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery, disc brakes at both wheels and spring suspension front and rear on 10-inch tubeless tires, from a maker with an authorized US store and a 12-month warranty. We estimate 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode. The trades: IP54 with a warranty that excludes rain riding, 57 lb, and a UL 2272 claim only on the Amazon listing. Use the 15.5 mph mode on public roads in New York and California.

HiQiS V10 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #36.5/10

HiQiS V10 Electric Scooter

HiQiS
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The fastest scooter we rank under $300: 25 mph on both the listing and HiQiS's US store, from a 500 W motor, on 10-inch honeycomb tires with an app lock, cruise control and a 265 lb limit. About 288 Wh, so we estimate 11 to 13 miles at up to about 20 mph. The trades: an electronic brake and a drum with no disc, no stated suspension or water rating, and no UL 2272 claim for the V10. 25 mph is over the New York, New Jersey and California scooter lines.

Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #47.6/10

Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best documented of the fast scooters: 24.9 mph as shipped, a 650 W rated (1,600 W peak) motor, disc brakes at both wheels, 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, suspension at both ends, IPX5 and traction control. Segway prints range at top speed, 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph against 43.5 in Eco, and names TÜV Rheinland for its UL 2272 testing, which we could not verify. 65.5 lb, ages 16 to 60. Above New York's 20 mph line as shipped.

MAXSHOT V1 SPRO Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $14
Pick #57.1/10

MAXSHOT V1 SPRO Electric Scooter

MAXSHOT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The best seller of the fast group, #8 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026 (a family listing): 22 mph from a 500 W motor, shock absorbers at both ends on 10-inch honeycomb tires, about 378 Wh (14 to 17 miles at full speed by our estimate), 37 lb and a 265 lb limit. The trades: brake types not stated, no water rating, a UL 2272 claim with no lab, and no maker website. Ride a lower mode where the limit is 20 mph or less.

HopCycle N3 DS Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #66.5/10

HopCycle N3 DS Electric Scooter

HopCycle
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Ties the Oslich W3C at 21 mph and ranks above it on brakes: a rear disc that cuts the motor, against a rear drum, on the same 280.8 Wh battery (10 to 13 miles at full speed by our estimate). Suspension at both ends on 8.5-inch air tires, turn signals and cruise control, at 36.5 lb. The trades: no UL 2272 claim, no water rating, a 180-day warranty and no HopCycle website. Just over New York's 20 mph line.

Oslich W3C Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #76.8/10

Oslich W3C Electric Scooter

Oslich
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The fastest scooter we track under $200: 21 mph on its listing from a 500 W motor, with a 280.8 Wh battery (10 to 13 miles by our estimate), IPX4, a 264 lb limit and a UL 2272 line naming TÜV Rheinland. Its second W3C option and the same model sold by WAWSCOTE say 20 mph. A power cut-off lever and a rear drum, solid tires with no suspension, and a 180-day warranty.

NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $150
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best equipped at 20 mph: disc brakes at both wheels plus regenerative braking and a 608.4 Wh battery, the biggest of the 20 mph picks, with a 500 W rated motor, a 25% climb, 10.5-inch self-healing tubeless tires, a hydraulic front fork and IP55. We estimate 23 to 28 miles at full speed. NIU's US store lists 20 mph; the 23.6 mph in the Amazon title is NIU's global figure. 48.7 lb, no rear suspension, 265 lb limit.

Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #97.7/10

Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for heavier riders at 20 mph: a 286 lb limit, an 850 W rated motor, a 30% climb, disc brakes at both wheels, hydraulic suspension at both ends and IPX6, on a 597 Wh battery. Segway gives about 25 miles in SPORT+. It ships at 20 mph; the listing's 28 mph needs an app unlock that takes it past New York's line. Segway's store marks it end of life, and the battery has a 1-year warranty.

NIU KQi 300P Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #107.9/10

NIU KQi 300P Electric Scooter

NIU
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The 300X's frame, disc brakes at both wheels and IP55 with a smaller 486.7 Wh battery: about 18 to 22 miles by our estimate, and ERideHero recorded 17.8 at full speed with a 175 lb rider. NIU lists it at about 20 mph everywhere, so there is no faster setting to unlock. 45.97 lb, a 5-hour charge, a 2-year warranty that covers the battery, and a 265 lb limit. No rear suspension.

Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $201
Pick #118.0/10

Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The lightest 20 mph pick at 42.3 lb: a front disc and rear electronic brake, a 477 Wh battery (18 to 22 miles by our estimate; Segway says 25 at 20 mph), suspension at both ends, 10-inch self-sealing tubeless tires and IPX6 with an IPX7 battery. The trade is an 8-hour charge. One disc puts it below the three scooters with two.

Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $370
Pick #128.4/10

Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot

Limited time deal · ends Wed, Nov 18

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The best seller of the 20 mph picks, #30 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026: 551 Wh, with Segway's own 28 miles at 20 mph and 25 at 22 (we estimate 20 to 25), self-sealing tubeless tires, suspension at both ends, IPX5 and a built-in 5-hour charger. Last of the five by our rule because it has no disc brake: a front drum and rear electronic. 53.5 lb; the listing's 22 mph needs the app.

TL;DR: 12 picks in two groups

Fastest on Amazon. Ranked by the top speed each Amazon listing states. All seven are faster than New York's 20 mph e-scooter line and California's 15 mph limit, so on public roads there each one has to be held below its top speed.

  1. Joyful Rider Off-Road, $509.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Fastest claim we track. 32 mph in the top of four modes, quoted for a 139 lb rider, from a 1,200 W peak motor, with disc brakes at both wheels, suspension at both ends, IP65 and a 300 lb limit. No maker website.
  2. KuKirin G2, $599 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Most motor and battery at speed. 28 mph under a 143 lb test load, from an 800 W rated motor, with a 748.8 Wh battery and disc brakes at both wheels. IP54 and 57 lb.
  3. HiQiS V10, $249 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Fastest under $300. 25 mph from a 500 W motor on 10-inch honeycomb tires, with an electronic brake and a drum. About 288 Wh, and no UL 2272 claim for this model.
  4. Segway ZT3 Pro, $999.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Best documented of the fast scooters. 24.9 mph as shipped, discs at both wheels, 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, IPX5, and Segway's own range at top speed: 18.6 miles.
  5. MAXSHOT V1 SPRO, $265.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Best seller of the seven. 22 mph from a 500 W motor, suspension at both ends on 10-inch honeycomb tires, about 378 Wh, and #8 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026.
  6. HopCycle N3 DS, $239.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Ties at 21 mph and wins on brakes. 21 mph, a rear disc brake, suspension at both ends on 8.5-inch air tires and about 281 Wh. No UL 2272 claim.
  7. Oslich W3C, $159.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Fastest under $200. 21 mph on its listing, a 500 W motor, IPX4 and a UL 2272 line naming TÜV Rheinland, with a rear drum brake and a 180-day warranty.

Fastest at 20 mph. All five ship at 20 mph, the most New York's e-scooter definition allows. At the same speed the money buys brakes and battery, so that is how they are ordered. Each is still faster than California's 15 mph limit and not under New Jersey's 19 mph line.

  1. NIU KQi 300X, $749 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Best equipped at 20 mph. Disc brakes at both wheels plus regenerative braking, a 608.4 Wh battery (about 23 to 28 miles by our estimate), IP55 and a 265 lb limit. The Amazon title's 23.6 mph is NIU's non-US figure.
  2. Segway Ninebot Max G3, $999 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Best for heavier riders at 20 mph. Discs at both wheels, hydraulic suspension at both ends, 597 Wh and a 286 lb limit. The listing's 28 mph needs an app unlock, and Segway's store marks it end of life.
  3. NIU KQi 300P, $649 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). The 300X's brakes on a smaller battery. Discs at both wheels, 486.7 Wh (about 18 to 22 miles), IP55 and 45.97 lb, with no faster setting to unlock.
  4. Segway Ninebot F3, $649 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Lightest of the five. A front disc, 477 Wh, IPX6 and 42.3 lb, and Segway rates 25 miles at 20 mph.
  5. Segway Ninebot Max G2, $629.98 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Best seller of the five. #30 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026, with 551 Wh and Segway's 28 miles at 20 mph. A front drum and a rear electronic brake, no disc.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only. Every ranked scooter was in stock on its Amazon listing on November 7, 2026, and every one has a full review on this site. We have not ridden or speed-tested any of these scooters. Each top speed is the figure the seller or maker states, restated from that scooter's review. The fastest group is ranked strictly by the top speed printed on the Amazon listing we link, for the scooter as sold. Scooters that tie are split on brakes (discs at both wheels first, then one disc, then none) and then on battery size. A listing that states no speed, gives two different top speeds, or reaches its figure only through an unlock or an app setting keeps a scooter out of that ranking, and so does a maker whose own pages disagree; those scooters are near misses at the foot of the page. The second group ships at 20 mph, the top of New York's e-scooter definition, so its scooters tie on speed and are ordered on brakes and then battery. Range figures are the maker's own or our estimate (battery watt-hours divided by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile), and we give no estimate above 24 mph. Amazon prices and listings change daily, so the buy buttons always fetch the live figure.

How we ranked them

Top speed is the number every fast scooter listing leads with, and the one a buyer cannot check before the scooter arrives. We have not measured any of these speeds. What we can check is what each Amazon listing states, whether that speed is legal where you ride, and whether the rest of the scooter is built for it. Four checks, in this order:

  1. What top speed does the Amazon listing state? For the fastest group, that figure is the ranking, and scooters that tie on it are split on checks 3 and 4. A listing that states no speed, one that gives two different top speeds, a maker whose own pages disagree, or a speed that needs an unlock or an app setting cannot be ranked, so those scooters are near misses at the foot of the page.
  2. Is that speed legal where you ride? Scooters are not e-bikes, so the US e-bike classes do not apply to any scooter here. Each state sets its own scooter rules. California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph (Vehicle Code §22411). New Jersey's legal e-scooter is stand-up, under 19 mph and 750 W or less (NJ chart). New York defines an e-scooter as under 100 lb and no faster than 20 mph (VTL §114-e). Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads (report). Across the country, NCSL counts 17 states that cap a scooter's built-in speed at 20 mph and 12 that set a 15 mph riding limit (September 2024).
  3. Does it have the brakes for the speed? We record what each listing or maker names and rank disc brakes at both wheels first, then one disc, then drum and electronic brakes. We say so where a listing names no brake type.
  4. Can the battery hold the speed? Riding flat out drains a pack fastest. Segway's own figures for the ZT3 Pro show how much: 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph and 18.6 miles at its full 24.9 mph, from the same 597 Wh battery.

The second group all ships at 20 mph, so it is ordered on checks 3 and 4. It stops at five because every other 20 mph scooter we track has no disc brake and a smaller battery than the fifth.

What is the fastest electric scooter on Amazon?

The fastest electric scooter we track on Amazon is the Joyful Rider Off-Road, at a claimed 32 mph in its top mode. The KuKirin G2 follows at 28 mph, the HiQiS V10 at 25 and the Segway ZT3 Pro at 24.9. Two of the three fastest quote their top speed for a light rider: the Joyful Rider's 32 mph is "under 63kg load", a 139 lb rider, and the KuKirin's 28 mph is "under a 143-lb test load", so a heavier rider should expect less. All seven scooters in this group are faster than New York's 20 mph e-scooter line, New Jersey's 19 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, and none of those states' scooter rules lets you ride them at full speed on a public road.

Faster scooters exist. KuKirin's own US store lists its G2 Master at 37 mph and its G4 at 43 mph, and specialist dual-motor scooters go faster still. We have not reviewed any of them, none is in the Amazon catalogue we track, and at those speeds they are far past every state scooter line we cite, so this page does not rank them.

1. Joyful Rider Off-Road: fastest claim we track

The Joyful Rider Off-Road at $509.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the fastest scooter we track on Amazon. Its listing gives four modes, a walking mode of about 3.7 mph and then 17, 24 and 32 mph, and it quotes the 32 mph for a 63 kg (139 lb) rider. The motor is 1,200 W peak, with no rated figure, and the battery is 48 V and 13.5 Ah, 648 Wh by our arithmetic. For a scooter sold at this speed, the rest of the listing reads well: disc brakes front and rear plus an electronic brake, a front fork and a rear spring on 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, IP65, a headlight, a brake light and turn signals, a 53 lb weight and a 300 lb rider limit. Its price has sat on both sides of $500 (under it in October 2026, over it in November), so check the live figure.

Read the paperwork before the speed. We found no Joyful Rider website, so every figure is the listing's. Its one UL line attaches UL 2272, the standard for a whole scooter's electrical system, to the battery and names no lab. The listing calls the scooter street-legal; at 24 or 32 mph it is over New York's 20 mph e-scooter line, New Jersey's 19 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, and only its 17 mph mode is under the first two. It states no warranty term, charge time or climb rating. We estimate 24 to 29 miles in the 17 or 24 mph mode for a 175 to 180 lb rider and give no figure at 32. No CPSC recall found for Joyful Rider as of November 1, 2026. Read the full Joyful Rider review.

2. KuKirin G2: 28 mph with the most motor and battery

The KuKirin G2 at $599 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) claims 28 mph (45 km/h) in the top of three modes of about 15.5, 21.7 and 28 mph, and its Amazon listing says it reaches that under a 143 lb test load. It carries the most hardware of the seven: an 800 W rated rear motor, the highest rated figure in this group, a 48 V, 15.6 Ah (748.8 Wh) battery, the biggest here, and disc brakes at both wheels plus an electronic brake, with spring suspension on swing arms front and rear and 10-inch tubeless tires. KuKirin rates the climb at 20 degrees, about a 36% grade. Its listing family, shared with other KuKirin models, was #31 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026, and KuKirin sells through an authorized US store with a 12-month warranty.

The trades are weather and paperwork. It is rated IP54, and KuKirin's US warranty excludes riding in rain or through water deeper than 4 cm. Its only UL 2272 claim sits on the Amazon listing, in a bullet shared across the G2 family, with no lab named. KuKirin's US store prints 27 mph and an older 15 Ah battery. It weighs 57 lb, and KuKirin's US FAQ suggests riders of 220 lb or less for the best performance, under the 264 lb limit. At 28 mph it is past New York's line and nearly double California's limit, so on public roads there use the 15.5 mph mode. We estimate 28 to 34 miles in the 21.7 mph mode and give no figure at 28. No CPSC recall found for KuKirin as of November 1, 2026. Read the full KuKirin G2 review.

3. HiQiS V10: 25 mph, the fastest under $300

The HiQiS V10 at $249 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) lists 25 mph (40 km/h) on both its Amazon listing and HiQiS's own US store, from a 500 W motor that neither labels as rated or peak; HiQiS's European store files the figure under "Maximum Power". It rides on 10-inch honeycomb tires that cannot go flat, carries 265 lb, weighs a listed 36.4 lb, and has an app with a lock and cruise control. It was #44 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026, and it is the fastest scooter we rank under $300.

It is also the least equipped for its speed. It stops with an electronic anti-lock brake and a drum, with no disc, and neither the listing nor HiQiS mentions any suspension or water rating. Neither claims UL 2272 for the V10; the UL badge on HiQiS's US store belongs to the V10 Pro, a different model that shares the Amazon title, so check that the item details say V10. The battery is 36 V and 8 Ah, about 288 Wh, which we estimate covers 11 to 13 miles at up to about 20 mph; we give no figure at 25. HiQiS gives a 12-month warranty. No CPSC recall found for HiQiS as of November 2026. Read the full HiQiS V10 review.

4. Segway ZT3 Pro: best documented of the fast scooters

The Segway ZT3 Pro at $999.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) ships at 24.9 mph, the figure in its Amazon title and on Segway's US spec table, from a 650 W rated rear motor (1,600 W peak). It has disc brakes at both wheels plus a rear electronic brake, a dual telescopic fork and a rear spring on 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, traction control, IPX5 and a 597 Wh battery. Segway is the one maker in this group that prints range at top speed: 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph, against 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph, which works out to about 32 Wh per mile flat out.

It ranks below the HiQiS V10 by a tenth of a mile an hour on the listings' own figures; on brakes, tires and paperwork it is far better equipped. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. The costs are weight and price: at 65.5 lb it is the heaviest scooter here, and its Amazon price went from well under $1,000 in October 2026 to the $1,000 line in November. Segway recommends it for riders aged 16 to 60, and the Amazon warranty text gives 2 years on the frame, motor and controller and 1 year on the stem, folding mechanism, battery, charger and throttle. As shipped it is over New York's, New Jersey's and California's lines. Segway's 2025 recall of the Max G30P and G30LP does not cover it, and we found no CPSC recall for the ZT3 Pro as of October 2026. Read the full Segway ZT3 Pro review.

5. MAXSHOT V1 SPRO: 22 mph, the best seller here

The MAXSHOT V1 SPRO at $265.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) claims 22 mph in its own bullets, from a 500 W brushless motor the listing does not label rated or peak, and it is the best seller of the seven: its listing, shared with other MAXSHOT models, was #8 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026. It has shock absorbers at both ends on 10-inch honeycomb tires and a 10.5 Ah battery the listing calls 42 V; 42 V is the full-charge voltage of a 36 V pack, so we count about 378 Wh, which we estimate covers 14 to 17 miles at full speed. It carries 265 lb and weighs about 37 lb.

The family title's 16, 19 and 22 mph cover other MAXSHOT models; the V1 SPRO's own bullets say 22. The listing names a dual braking system without the types, states no water rating, and makes a UL 2272 claim with no lab named. We found no MAXSHOT website, so every figure is the listing's. At 22 mph it is over New York's 20 mph line, New Jersey's 19 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, so ride a lower mode there. The warranty is 1 year. No CPSC recall found for MAXSHOT as of October 2026. Read the full MAXSHOT V1 SPRO review.

6. HopCycle N3 DS: 21 mph with a rear disc

The HopCycle N3 DS at $239.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) lists 21 mph in its top mode and ties the Oslich W3C on speed. It ranks first of the two because it stops with a rear disc brake that cuts the motor, where the Oslich uses a rear drum, and the two carry the same 280.8 Wh battery, about 10 to 13 miles at full speed by our estimate. It adds a front swing arm and a rear shock on 8.5-inch air-filled tires (a spare tube comes in the box), turn signals, cruise control and an app, at 36.5 lb with a 264 lb limit. It was #20 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026.

The listing makes no UL 2272 claim and states no water rating, the warranty is 180 days, and HopCycle has no website. Its title's 10-inch tires and 28-mile range describe other scooters in the family, and a second N3 DS listing describes a different scooter in its bullets, so check that the photos show a swing-arm front end and a rear disc. At 21 mph it is just over New York's line and over New Jersey's and California's. No CPSC recall found for HopCycle as of October 2026. Read the full HopCycle N3 DS review.

7. Oslich W3C: 21 mph, the fastest under $200

The Oslich W3C at $159.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the fastest scooter we track under $200: its listing title and bullets say 21 mph, from a 500 W motor with three modes and cruise control. It is the same W3C model WAWSCOTE sells, and both list a 280.8 Wh battery (about 10 to 13 miles at full speed by our estimate), 8.5-inch solid tires, IPX4, a 264 lb limit and a UL 2272 line naming TÜV Rheinland, which we could not verify in TÜV Rheinland's directory. It was #22 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026.

Expect about 20 to 21 mph: WAWSCOTE lists the same model at 20 mph, and Oslich's own second W3C option is titled 20 MPH. We rank it on the 21 mph of the listing we link, as we do every scooter here. It stops with a brake lever that cuts motor power and a rear drum, with no disc, which is why it sits below the HopCycle at the same speed. There is no suspension, the warranty is a 180-day repair warranty, and we found no Oslich website. The listing gives its weight as both 31.5 and 28.4 lb. At 21 mph it is just over New York's line and over New Jersey's and California's. No CPSC recall found for Oslich as of October 2026. Read the full Oslich W3C review.

What is the fastest scooter you can ride at 20 mph?

Most of the scooter lines we can source sit at or below 20 mph. New York defines an e-scooter as one that weighs under 100 lb and goes no faster than 20 mph, and NCSL counts 17 states that cap a scooter's built-in speed at 20 mph. Every scooter in this group ships at 20 mph, so each fits New York's definition as delivered. Each is still faster than California's 15 mph limit, where you hold it to 15 or ride a slower mode, and none is under New Jersey's 19 mph line for a legal e-scooter. Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads at all.

At a shared speed, the money buys stopping and range, so this group is ordered on brakes first and battery second. Two of the five can be set faster in an app, the Max G3 to 28 mph and the Max G2 to 22, and at those settings both are past New York's line; we rank them at the 20 mph they ship at. Below these five, every 20 mph scooter we track has no disc brake and a smaller battery than the Max G2: the seated Gotrax Flex Ultra, the Segway Ninebot E3 Pro, the NAVEE GT3, the WAWSCOTE W3C and the HopCycle N3.

8. NIU KQi 300X: best equipped at 20 mph

The NIU KQi 300X at $749 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) leads this group on both counts: disc brakes at both wheels plus regenerative braking, and a 608.4 Wh battery (48 V, 13 Ah), the biggest of the five and a little more than the Max G3's 597 Wh. NIU rates the motor at 500 W (1,000 W peak) and the climb at 25%, and fits 10.5-inch self-healing tubeless tires, a hydraulic front fork with 45 mm of travel, IP55, turn signals and a 265 lb limit. We estimate about 23 to 28 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider, against NIU's 37.3 miles at a constant 9.3 mph with a 165 lb rider.

Read the speed on Amazon carefully. Amazon sells it as the "NIU K300X" with "Top 23.6 MPH" in the title, which is NIU's global figure (38 km/h); NIU's US store lists it at 20 mph on the road, and that is the figure we rank. It has no rear suspension and weighs 48.7 lb. NIU's US warranty covers the main body, battery and motor included, for 2 years, while the brake discs, levers, cables and throttle get 6 months. NIU states UL 2272 on its US store; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory. A "(Renewed)" unit listed under the brand "Generic" is a reseller's refurbished scooter, a different purchase. No CPSC recall found for the NIU KQi 300X as of October 2026. Read the full NIU KQi 300X review.

9. Segway Ninebot Max G3: best for heavier riders at 20 mph

The Segway Ninebot Max G3 at $999 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) has disc brakes at both wheels, like the 300X, and ranks just below it on battery, 597 Wh against 608.4. It has the most motor and the highest rider limit of the five: 850 W rated (2,000 W peak), a 30% climb rating and a 286 lb limit, with hydraulic suspension at both ends, 11-inch self-sealing tubeless tires and an IPX6 body with an IPX7 battery. Segway rates range in each mode at that mode's top speed with a 165 lb rider, and gives about 25 miles in SPORT+, its fastest mode.

The Amazon title leads with "Up to 28 MPH". The scooter ships at about 20 mph and reaches 28 only after you enable High Speed in the Segway app, which takes it 8 mph past New York's line, and Segway's own page warns that several states cap on-road scooter speed. Segway's US store marks the G3 end of life, and its warranty document gives the battery, charger, stem, folding mechanism and brake parts one year. It weighs 54.2 lb. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. The 2025 recall of the Max G30P and G30LP does not cover the G3, and we found no CPSC recall for it as of October 2026. Read the full Segway Max G3 review.

10. NIU KQi 300P: the 300X's brakes on a smaller battery

The NIU KQi 300P at $649 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) shares the 300X's frame, 45 mm hydraulic fork, 10.5-inch tubeless tire size, disc brakes at both wheels with regenerative braking, IP55 and 265 lb limit, with a smaller 486.7 Wh battery and a 450 W rated (900 W peak) motor. We estimate about 18 to 22 miles at full speed, and the review site ERideHero recorded 17.8 miles at the 300P's fastest setting with a 175 lb rider. NIU lists it at 32 km/h, about 20 mph, in every listing we found, so there is no faster setting to unlock. It weighs 45.97 lb and charges in about 5 hours.

It ranks below the Max G3 on battery alone. It has no rear suspension, and the Amazon listing's "All-Terrain" contradicts NIU's own manual, which limits it to flat pavement. NIU's warranty covers the main body, battery and motor included, for 2 years. NIU states UL 2272 with no certificate number or lab named; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory. No CPSC recall found for the NIU KQi 300P as of October 2026. Read the full NIU KQi 300P review.

11. Segway Ninebot F3: lightest of the five

The Segway Ninebot F3 at $649 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) has one disc brake, at the front, with a rear electronic brake, so it ranks below the three scooters with discs at both wheels and above the Max G2, which has none. It is the lightest of the five at 42.3 lb, with a 450 W rated (1,000 W peak) motor, a 477 Wh battery, a front hydraulic shock and a rear elastomer one, 10-inch self-sealing tubeless tires, a 265 lb limit and IPX6 with an IPX7 battery pack. Segway prints range per mode: about 44 miles in E at 9 mph, 31 in D and 25 in S at the full 20 mph. We estimate 18 to 22 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider.

The trade is charging: about 8 hours, the longest of the Segways we cover. By the Amazon warranty text the frame and main parts get 2 years, and the battery, charger, stem, folding mechanism, brake parts and lights get 1. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. The 2025 Max G30P and G30LP recall does not cover the F3, and we found no CPSC recall for it as of October 2026. Read the full Segway F3 review.

12. Segway Ninebot Max G2: the best seller at 20 mph

The Segway Ninebot Max G2 at $629.98 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the best seller of the five, #30 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 7, 2026, and it ranks last by our rule because it has no disc brake: a front drum and a rear electronic brake. Its 551 Wh battery is the third biggest of the five, and Segway prints range at speed: 28 miles at 20 mph and 25 at 22 mph, with a 165 lb rider. We estimate 20 to 25 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider. It has a hydraulic front damper and dual rear springs on 10-inch self-sealing tubeless tires, IPX5, a built-in charger that takes about 5 hours and a 265 lb limit.

The Amazon title says 22 mph and 1000 W. The 22 mph needs a setting in the Segway app, which takes it past New York's line, and 1,000 W is the peak against a 450 W rating. It weighs 53.5 lb. The Max G2 is a different model from the Max G30P and G30LP that Segway recalled in March 2025 over their folding mechanism, and that recall does not cover it. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. No CPSC recall found for the Max G2 as of October 2026. Read the full Segway Max G2 review.

Is a 30 mph electric scooter street legal?

Not under any state scooter rule we can source. California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph and requires a driver's license or instruction permit to ride one (§21235). New Jersey's legal e-scooter must be under 19 mph, New York's e-scooter definition stops at 20 mph, and Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads at all. NCSL counts 17 states that cap a scooter's built-in speed at 20 mph and 12 that set a 15 mph riding limit. A scooter faster than a state's definition does not fit it, so that state's e-scooter rules do not cover it; check with your state's motor vehicle agency before you ride one on a road. In August 2026 New York City sent cease-and-desist orders to 42 online retailers, Amazon among them, over stand-up scooters that can exceed 20 mph.

That leaves private land, with the owner's permission, as the place for a 28 or 32 mph scooter. Public land has its own rules. On national forest land a self-propelled vehicle counts as a motor vehicle (36 CFR 212.1) and may go only where the forest's motor vehicle use map allows motor vehicles (36 CFR 261.13). In national parks, a rule published in August 2026 bars powered scooters under 150 lb except in locations a park designates (36 CFR 4.32). City and state parks set their own rules.

What is the fastest electric scooter under $200, $300 and $500?

Under $200, the fastest scooter we track is the Oslich W3C at $159.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), at 21 mph from a 500 W motor. Nothing we track under $200 lists more than 21 mph, so there is no 30 mph scooter at that price we can point to, and most scooters at this price stop at 19 or 20 mph on 350 to 500 W. Treat a listing under $200 that claims 30 mph with suspicion.

Under $300, the HiQiS V10 at $249 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the fastest we rank, at 25 mph. The MAXSHOT V1 SPRO at $265.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) gives up 3 mph for suspension at both ends and a bigger battery, about 378 Wh against 288, and the HopCycle N3 DS at $239.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) pairs 21 mph with a rear disc and air tires.

Under $500, the HiQiS V10 is still the fastest scooter we rank clearly under the line. Three listings on or under the $500 line claim more, and each comes with a reason it is not the answer. The Joyful Rider Off-Road, our #1 at 32 mph, sits on the $500 line at $509.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) and has been on both sides of it. The SmileCity Off-Road at $359.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) says 30 mph in its title and 27 in its bullets. And the OOTD T10 at $499.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) ships limited to 15.5 mph and unlocks to 31. Above $500, the KuKirin G2 at $599 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) reaches 28 mph with the most motor and battery we rank. Our under-$200, under-$300 and under-$500 guides rank each bracket beyond speed.

How far does a fast scooter go at top speed?

Less than the box says, and the gap grows with speed. Segway's own figures show it: the ZT3 Pro goes 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph and 18.6 at its full 24.9 mph from the same 597 Wh battery, the Max G2 28 miles at 20 mph and 25 at 22, and the F3 44 miles at 9 mph and 25 at 20. We estimate range by dividing a battery's watt-hours by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile, a band from the middle half of 32 published full-speed range tests of commuter scooters, adjusted to a 175 to 180 lb rider. That band comes from scooters that top out at about 24 mph. The ZT3 Pro's flat-out figure works out at about 32 watt-hours per mile, so above 24 mph we give no estimate of our own.

For the fastest scooters we estimate a slower mode instead: about 24 to 29 miles for the Joyful Rider in its 17 or 24 mph mode, 28 to 34 for the KuKirin G2 in its 21.7 mph mode, and 11 to 13 for the HiQiS V10 at up to about 20 mph. At their top speeds, expect less. The 22 mph MAXSHOT V1 SPRO is inside our band at full speed, at about 14 to 17 miles, and the two 21 mph scooters at about 10 to 13. In the 20 mph group, our estimates run from 18 to 22 miles for the NIU KQi 300P and Segway F3 to 23 to 28 for the NIU KQi 300X. Cold weather, hills and a heavier rider all cut these figures. We have not measured any of them.

What stops a 25 to 32 mph scooter?

Brakes and tires, and the load on them grows faster than the speed. The energy a moving scooter carries rises with the square of its speed, so at the same braking force the stopping distance does too. At 25 mph a scooter carries about 1.6 times the energy it has at 20 mph; at 28 mph, about twice; at 32 mph, about 2.6 times. That is our arithmetic, and it applies to every scooter on this page in proportion to its speed.

Here is what each ranked scooter's listing or maker states about the hardware that has to absorb it:

Scooter Top speed, as stated Brakes, as stated Tires Weight Rider limit
Joyful Rider Off-Road 32 mph (139 lb rider) Front and rear disc, plus electronic 10-inch tubeless off-road 53 lb 300 lb
KuKirin G2 28 mph (143 lb test load) Front and rear disc, plus electronic 10-inch tubeless 57 lb 264 lb
HiQiS V10 25 mph Electronic anti-lock and a drum 10-inch honeycomb 36.4 lb 265 lb
Segway ZT3 Pro 24.9 mph Front and rear disc, plus rear electronic 11-inch tubeless off-road 65.5 lb 265 lb
MAXSHOT V1 SPRO 22 mph Dual braking, types not stated 10-inch honeycomb 37 lb 265 lb
HopCycle N3 DS 21 mph Rear disc with motor cut-off 8.5-inch air, inner tube 36.5 lb 264 lb
Oslich W3C 21 mph Power cut-off front lever and rear drum 8.5-inch solid 31.5 lb 264 lb
NIU KQi 300X 20 mph (US) Front and rear disc, plus regenerative 10.5-inch tubeless 48.7 lb 265 lb
Segway Max G3 20 mph, 28 by app Front and rear disc 11-inch tubeless, self-sealing 54.2 lb 286 lb
NIU KQi 300P 20 mph Front and rear disc, plus regenerative 10.5-inch tubeless 45.97 lb 265 lb
Segway F3 20 mph Front disc and rear electronic 10-inch tubeless, self-sealing 42.3 lb 265 lb
Segway Max G2 20 mph, 22 by app Front drum and rear electronic 10-inch tubeless, self-sealing 53.5 lb 265 lb

Only three of the seven fastest have disc brakes at both wheels: the Joyful Rider, the KuKirin G2 and the Segway ZT3 Pro. The HiQiS V10 reaches 25 mph with an electronic brake and a drum, and the Oslich W3C 21 mph with a rear drum. Three rules follow from the reviews. Buy the brakes before the speed: at 25 mph and up, look for discs at both wheels. Check the rider limit against your weight with your bag, and remember that the two fastest listings quote their top speed for a rider of about 140 lb. And wear a helmet on every ride: the CPSC estimates 79,300 emergency-room visits involving e-scooters in 2024, and only 18% of the injured riders it followed up were wearing one. California requires one for scooter riders under 18.

If you charge indoors, check the UL 2272 line too. The Segway scooters name TÜV Rheinland as their tester, and so does the Oslich W3C's listing; NIU states UL 2272 on its US store; the KuKirin G2, MAXSHOT V1 SPRO and Joyful Rider listings make a claim with no lab named; and the HiQiS V10 and HopCycle N3 DS state none. We could not verify any of these in a certifier's directory. New York City has required UL 2272 certification for scooters sold there since September 16, 2023, and California has required UL 2272 battery testing for motorized scooters sold there since January 1, 2026. Our electric scooter safety guide covers what each standard tests and how to check a claim.

Fast scooters we did not rank

Three more fast scooters on Amazon missed the ranking, each for a reason worth knowing before you buy one. They appear as near misses at the foot of this page.

  • SmileCity Off-Road says 30 mph in its title and 27 mph in its bullets, and gives two motor figures, 1,600 W and 1,800 W peak. With two top speeds on one listing there is no single figure to rank. It has a 720 Wh battery, disc brakes, air tires and shocks at both ends and a 330 lb limit, and its listing gives no weight, water rating or certification.
  • OOTD T10 ships limited to 15.5 mph, and its 21.5 and 31 mph modes need an unlock the seller explains in a video. We do not rank a speed reached by removing a limiter. It carries the biggest battery we cover, 864 Wh, on 11-inch tubeless tires with discs at both wheels.
  • NAVEE ST3 states no top speed on its Amazon listing, and NAVEE's own US page gives two: 24.9 mph in its spec table, with copy about unlocking it, and "20 MPH Max. Speed" in its highlights. It has a rear disc, suspension at both ends and a 477 Wh battery.

One best-selling off-road listing, the OZIVELT Off-Road, states no top speed at all, so it has no place in a ranking by stated speed.

Where to look next

If you came for speed because you ride rough ground, our best off-road electric scooters guide ranks the KuKirin G2, Segway ZT3 Pro, Joyful Rider and the rest on tires, suspension and water rating. For distance, best long-range electric scooters ranks on range at full speed. For a 20 mph commute, see best electric scooters for commuting and best electric scooters for adults. If no scooter is fast enough or legal enough for your trip, electric scooter vs e-bike explains when an e-bike fits better, and our fastest electric bikes on Amazon guide ranks those by speed with the legal status beside each. Everything we cover is on the electric scooters hub.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

Frequently asked questions

What's the fastest electric scooter on Amazon?

The fastest electric scooter we track on Amazon is the Joyful Rider Off-Road ($509.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change), whose listing claims 32 mph in its top mode for a 139 lb rider, with disc brakes at both wheels. Next come the KuKirin G2 at 28 mph, the HiQiS V10 at 25 and the Segway ZT3 Pro at 24.9. All four are faster than New York's 20 mph e-scooter line, New Jersey's 19 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, so their top speeds belong on private land. We have not measured any of these speeds; each is the listing's claim.

What is the fastest electric scooter under $200?

The Oslich W3C ($159.99 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), at 21 mph from a 500 W motor, with a 280.8 Wh battery, IPX4 and a UL 2272 line naming TÜV Rheinland. No scooter we track under $200 lists more than 21 mph, so we know of no 30 mph scooter at that price, and most scooters there stop at 19 or 20 mph. The next step up is the HiQiS V10 ($249 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) at 25 mph. At 21 mph the Oslich is just over New York's 20 mph e-scooter line.

What is the fastest electric scooter under $500?

The fastest we rank clearly under $500 is the HiQiS V10 ($249 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change), at 25 mph, which is also the fastest under $300. The Joyful Rider Off-Road, our fastest at 32 mph, sits right on the $500 line at $509.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). The SmileCity Off-Road claims 30 mph in its title and 27 in its bullets, and the OOTD T10 ships at 15.5 mph and unlocks to 31, so neither is ranked on speed. Above $500, the KuKirin G2 ($599 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) reaches 28 mph with an 800 W rated motor.

Is a 30 mph electric scooter street legal?

Not under any state scooter rule we can source. California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph (Vehicle Code §22411), New Jersey's legal e-scooter must be under 19 mph, New York's e-scooter definition stops at 20 mph (VTL §114-e), and Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads. NCSL counts 17 states that cap a scooter's built-in speed at 20 mph and 12 that set a 15 mph riding limit. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the e-bike classes do not apply. Ride a 30 mph scooter at full speed only on private land with the owner's permission.

Do you need a license for a fast electric scooter?

In California, yes, at any speed: Vehicle Code §21235 requires a driver's license or instruction permit to ride a motorized scooter, plus a helmet under 18, and §22411 caps it at 15 mph. Elsewhere the license rules sit in each state's scooter law, and those laws cover scooters inside their definitions, such as New York's 20 mph and New Jersey's under 19 mph. A 28 or 32 mph scooter does not fit those definitions, so check with your state's motor vehicle agency before riding one on a public road. Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads at all.

What is the fastest electric scooter legal in New York?

New York defines an e-scooter as under 100 lb and no faster than 20 mph, so the fastest scooter that fits the definition as shipped is a 20 mph one. Of those, the NIU KQi 300X ($749 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the best equipped by our rule: disc brakes at both wheels, a 608.4 Wh battery and IP55, and NIU's US store lists it at 20 mph. The Segway Ninebot Max G3 and Max G2 also ship at 20 mph, and their app settings to 28 and 22 mph take them past New York's line. New York City also requires UL 2272 certification for scooters sold there.

Do heavier riders reach the listed top speed?

Usually not, and the two fastest listings say so. The Joyful Rider Off-Road quotes its 32 mph for a 139 lb rider, and the KuKirin G2 its 28 mph under a 143 lb test load; KuKirin's US FAQ suggests riders of 220 lb or less for the best performance, under its 264 lb limit. Range falls with weight too: makers that publish their test conditions rate range for a 150 to 165 lb rider. The highest rider limits among our picks are the Joyful Rider's 300 lb and the Segway Max G3's 286 lb.

How far does a fast electric scooter go at top speed?

Much less than the box. Segway's own figures for the Segway ZT3 Pro are 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph and 18.6 miles at its full 24.9 mph, from the same 597 Wh battery, about 32 watt-hours per mile flat out. Segway rates the Max G2 at 28 miles at 20 mph and 25 at 22. We estimate range by dividing battery watt-hours by 22 to 27 per mile and give no estimate above 24 mph, because faster scooters use more energy per mile than that band assumes.

Is there a 40 or 50 mph electric scooter on Amazon?

Not among the scooters we track: the fastest is the Joyful Rider Off-Road at a claimed 32 mph. KuKirin's US store lists its G4 at 43 mph and its G2 Master at 37, and specialist dual-motor scooters go faster still; we have not reviewed any of them. At 40 or 50 mph a scooter is more than double New York's 20 mph e-scooter line and California's 15 mph limit, so there is nowhere in the states we cite to ride one legally at that speed on a public road.

Our pick

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

Fastest claim we track: 32 mph in the top of four modes (17, 24 and 32 mph plus a walking mode), quoted for a 139 lb rider…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor