Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Scooters Under $500 (2026)

The Hiboy S2 Pro ($422.95 at our last check) is the best electric scooter under $500 for most adults: a 417.6 Wh battery that we estimate covers about 15 to 19 miles at full speed, the most of our five picks, with a 500 W rated motor, 10-inch tires that cannot go flat and UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates that Hiboy publishes by number. For a softer ride on wet streets, the NAVEE GT3 ($449.99 at our last check) has suspension at both ends, tubeless air tires and IPX5, with less range. Five picks and five honorable mentions, checked against maker spec sheets, UL claims and CPSC recalls. We have not ridden them.

By John WeeksUpdated Oct 30, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.4/10

Best electric scooter under $500. The most battery of the five picks, 417.6 Wh, about 15 to 19 miles by our estimate…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:NAVEE GT3 Electric Scooter— Best ride: the only pick with suspension at both ends on air-filled tires (10-inch tubeless), plus IPX5…
  • Budget pick:Hiboy S2 Electric Scooter— Best for less money: #5 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026, and the lightest pick at 35.5 lb.

Compare the picks

Best Electric Scooters Under $500 (2026): key specs, our range estimate and UL 2272 status for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceTop speedMotor (rated / peak)BatteryRange (claimed / our estimate)Max riderWeightTiresUL 2272
#1Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter
$422.95Save $47Check price at Amazon
19 mph500 / 600 W418 Wh25 mi / ~15 to 19 mi220 lb39.7 lb10" HoneycombSeller states it
#2NAVEE GT3 Electric Scooter20 mph350 / 700 W358 Wh31 mi / ~13 to 16 mi243 lb46.3 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#3Hiboy S2 Electric Scooter
$299.98Save $53Check price at Amazon
19 mph350 / 500 W281 Wh17 mi / ~10 to 13 mi220 lb35.5 lb8.5" HoneycombSeller states it
#4NIU KQi 100F Electric Scooter17.4 mph300 / 600 W243 Wh18 mi / ~9 to 11 mi265 lb38.8 lb9.5" Air-filledSeller states it
#5Gotrax A5 Electric Scooter with Seat15.5 mph400 / 550 WNot stated15.5 mi / Not stated220 lb50.7 lb12" Air-filledSeller states it

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Claimed range is the maker’s figure; our estimate divides the battery by the energy a 175 to 180 lb rider uses at full speed in published range tests, so lighter riders and slower speeds go further. “Seller states it” means the Amazon listing or the maker’s own site claims UL 2272 and we could not verify it in the certifier’s directory. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor the maker gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $47
Pick #17.4/10

Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter

Hiboy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best electric scooter under $500. The most battery of the five picks, 417.6 Wh, about 15 to 19 miles by our estimate, with a 500 W rated motor, 10-inch tires that cannot go flat, rear shocks and a rear disc brake. Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates for it. The trade-offs are a 220 lb limit, IPX4 and 39.7 lb by Hiboy's manual.

NAVEE GT3 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

NAVEE GT3 Electric Scooter

NAVEE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best ride: the only pick with suspension at both ends on air-filled tires (10-inch tubeless), plus IPX5, front turn signals and a 24-month warranty on most parts. NAVEE rates it 350 W and 20 mph with 358 Wh, about 13 to 16 miles by our estimate. Use NAVEE's figures over the listing's: no disc brake, 243 lb and an 8-hour charge.

Hiboy S2 Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $53
Pick #37.3/10

Hiboy S2 Electric Scooter

Hiboy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for less money: #5 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026, and the lightest pick at 35.5 lb. 350 W rated, 19 mph, honeycomb tires with rear shocks, a rear disc brake and IPX4, with about 10 to 13 miles by our estimate. Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates for it; the limit is 220 lb.

NIU KQi 100F Electric Scooter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for small homes: handlebars that fold to 7.2 inches wide, a front spring fork, air tires, turn signals, IPX5, a 265 lb limit and a 2-year warranty that covers the battery, at 38.8 lb. The catch is its 243 Wh battery, about 9 to 11 miles by our estimate, and weak hill climbing. Check that the Amazon title says 100F.

Gotrax A5 Electric Scooter with Seat
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best with a seat: 12-inch air tires, rear shocks, drum brakes front and rear, a basket rated for 40 lb or more and 15.5 mph, from a brand with US support. Gotrax publishes no battery size, so we give no range estimate, and the A5 is not on gotrax.com, so every figure is the listing's. 50.7 lb and a 220 lb limit.

TL;DR: 5 picks for electric scooters under $500

  1. Hiboy S2 Pro, $422.95 at our last check. Best overall. 417.6 Wh (an estimated 15 to 19 miles), 500 W rated, 10-inch tires that cannot go flat, a rear disc brake and UL certificates Hiboy publishes by number. A 220 lb limit and IPX4.
  2. NAVEE GT3, $449.99 at our last check. Best ride. Suspension at both ends on 10-inch tubeless air tires, IPX5, front turn signals and a 24-month warranty on most parts. An estimated 13 to 16 miles, and no mechanical rear brake.
  3. Hiboy S2, $299.98 at our last check. Best for less money. #5 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026, the lightest pick at 35.5 lb, with an estimated 10 to 13 miles and the same UL paperwork as the S2 Pro.
  4. NIU KQi 100F, $449 at our last check. Best for small homes. Handlebars that fold to 7.2 inches wide, a front fork, turn signals, IPX5, a 265 lb limit and a 2-year warranty that covers the battery. Short range: an estimated 9 to 11 miles.
  5. Gotrax A5, $379.99 at our last check. Best with a seat. 12-inch air tires, rear shocks, drum brakes front and rear and a rear basket, at 15.5 mph. 50.7 lb, and no battery size published.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Five electric scooters under $500 on Amazon US at our last check, chosen on October 30, 2026, plus five honorable mentions. Every ranked pick sold for at least 3% under $500 that day and ships at 20 mph or less; three scooters that sat at the $500 line are mentions, because a small price rise would take them over it. Specs come from the maker's spec sheet or manual where one exists (Hiboy, NAVEE and NIU publish both); Gotrax does not list the A5 on its own site, so its figures are the listing's, and the entry says so. Where the listing and the maker disagree, we print both and use the maker's figure. Range is our estimate (battery watt-hours divided by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile, for a 175 to 180 lb rider at full speed), never a measurement. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated; we could not confirm any in a certifier's directory. We searched CPSC recalls for every model between October 18 and 25, 2026. We have not ridden these scooters.

1. Hiboy S2 Pro: best electric scooter under $500

The Hiboy S2 Pro is the best electric scooter under $500 because it carries the most battery of our five picks and its maker publishes more safety paperwork than any other maker on this page. Hiboy rates it at 500 W (600 W peak) on a 36 V, 11.6 Ah battery, 417.6 Wh, and claims 25 miles for a 165 lb rider at a steady 11.4 mph on flat ground at 77°F; we estimate about 15 to 19 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider. It tops out at 19 mph, rides on 10-inch honeycomb tires that cannot go flat with two rear spring shocks, and stops with a rear disc plus an electronic regenerative brake. Hiboy's manual rates the climb at about 17%. The UL badge on Hiboy's product page links UL LLC certificates of compliance: UL 2272 for the scooter's electrical system and UL 2271 for the battery pack. We could not check the numbers in UL's directory, which needs a login. It sat #32 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026.

The costs are comfort and carrying. Solid tires and rear-only springs ride firmer than air tires with suspension at both ends, the water rating is IPX4 (splashes only), the limit is 220 lb, and Hiboy gives three weights: 39.7 lb in its manual, 37.4 lb on its product page and 35.9 lb on Amazon. The product page also calls the motor a rear hub, while the manual and Hiboy's own spare part put it in the front wheel. Charging takes 6 to 7 hours by the manual, and the warranty is one year. The Hiboy KS4 Pro shares its motor wheel, battery and charger and adds wider handlebars, and it was the cheaper of the two on October 30, 2026. No CPSC recall found for the Hiboy S2 Pro as of October 2026. Its 19 mph top speed is under New York's 20 mph e-scooter limit, and its Drive mode, about 13 mph, stays under California's 15 mph limit.

Who it suits: riders under 220 lb with a round trip of up to about 15 miles who never want to fix a flat. Skip if you ride in regular rain, weigh over 220 lb or carry the scooter up stairs every day. Read the Hiboy S2 Pro review.

2. NAVEE GT3: best ride under $500

The NAVEE GT3 is the most comfortable scooter under $500 on paper, because it is the only pick with suspension at both ends on air-filled tires: a front fork and a rear damping cylinder on 10-inch tubeless tires. NAVEE rates it at 350 W (700 W peak) and 20 mph with a 358 Wh battery, and adds an IPX5 rating, an automatic 2 W headlight, front turn signals, a tail light, traction control and Apple Find My in the app, and a 24-month limited warranty on most parts, including the motor and frame. NAVEE claims 31 miles at 9 mph and 19 miles at 20 mph; we estimate about 13 to 16 miles at full speed. It weighs 46.3 lb, folds to about 46.5 by 23.0 by 21.3 inches and carries 243 lb. NAVEE's listing family, the ST3 included, sat #33 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026.

Braking is the weak side: a front drum and a rear electronic brake, with no disc, although the Amazon listing claims a rear disc. The listing also says 265 lb, a 20% climb and 6-hour charging, where NAVEE's US page says 243 lb, 18% and 8 hours; we use NAVEE's figures. The listing states UL 2272; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory, and NAVEE's own page makes no UL claim (it cites ASTM F2641 brake tests). No CPSC recall found for the NAVEE GT3 as of October 2026. At 20 mph it sits at New York's e-scooter limit and above New Jersey's under-19 mph line. The same listing family sells the GT3 Pro and GT3 Max, which are different scooters, so check the model name before you pay.

Who it suits: riders under 243 lb on cracked or wet streets, with up to about 6 miles each way. Skip if you want a disc brake, need UL 2272 paperwork from the maker itself, or weigh more than 243 lb. Read the NAVEE GT3 review.

3. Hiboy S2: best for less money

The Hiboy S2 is the scooter to buy if you want a brand with published specs and do not need the S2 Pro's range. It was #5 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026, and it is the lightest pick here at 35.5 lb. Hiboy rates it at 350 W (500 W peak) and 19 mph, on 8.5-inch honeycomb tires with two rear spring shocks, a rear disc brake plus an electronic brake, and IPX4. Hiboy's manual gives a 36 V, 7.8 Ah battery, 280.8 Wh (its product page says 7.5 Ah, which would be 270 Wh), and Hiboy claims 17 miles under the same 165 lb, 11.4 mph test as the S2 Pro; we estimate about 10 to 13 miles at full speed. Like the S2 Pro, its product page links UL LLC certificates for UL 2272 and UL 2271, which we could not check in UL's directory. It has a headlight, side lights and a taillight, and an app with a lock, cruise control and speed settings.

Against the S2 Pro you give up about a third of the battery (280.8 Wh against 417.6), 150 W of rated power and the 10-inch tires, for about 4 lb less weight and less money. The 220 lb limit, IPX4, 19 mph top speed and one-year warranty stay the same, and the warranty excludes battery capacity loss. Hiboy's documents disagree on charge time (5 to 6 hours in the manual, 3 to 5 on the product page). No CPSC recall found for the Hiboy S2 as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders under 220 lb with a round trip under about 10 miles on paved streets. Skip if your route is long or hilly. More scooters at this price are in best electric scooters under $300. Read the Hiboy S2 review.

4. NIU KQi 100F: best for small homes

The NIU KQi 100F is the scooter under $500 that packs away smallest: its handlebars fold down, so the whole scooter folds to 45.4 by 7.2 by 19.9 inches, narrow enough for a hallway or a car trunk, at 38.8 lb. NIU rates it at 300 W (600 W peak) and 17.4 mph, with a 36 mm front spring fork, 9.5-inch air-filled tires with inner tubes, a front drum plus a regenerative brake, bar-end turn signals with a hazard mode, IPX5, a 265 lb limit and riders 14 and up. NIU's 2-year warranty covers the battery, motor, frame and controller, the only warranty among our picks that names the battery for two years. The battery itself is the catch, at 243 Wh. NIU claims 18 miles at a constant 9.3 mph with a 165 lb rider; we estimate about 9 to 11 miles at full speed, and ERideHero's 175 lb tester measured 9.98 to 13.87 miles, depending on speed.

Hills are its weak point. NIU's 15% climb rating is for a 165 lb rider at a constant 5 mph, and ERideHero's tester averaged 6 mph up an 8% grade and could not climb its 17% test hill. NIU markets it for off-road riding, while its own manual limits riding to flat pavement, and tubed tires can puncture. On Amazon, a listing priced far below the 100F is the KQi 100P, with a fixed handlebar and no turn signals, so check that the title says 100F and the weight 38.8 lb. The listing states UL 2272; NIU states it too and its manual shows a UL mark, but no certificate or file number is published, and we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. No CPSC or SaferProducts recall found for the NIU KQi 100F or any NIU kick scooter as of October 25, 2026. At 17.4 mph it is under New York's and New Jersey's lines and above California's 15 mph limit.

Who it suits: riders with a flat trip of under about 10 miles round trip who store the scooter in a small apartment or a car. Skip if your route has steep hills. Read the NIU KQi 100F review.

5. Gotrax A5: best electric scooter under $500 with a seat

The Gotrax A5 is the pick under $500 for riders who want to sit: a padded seat, 12-inch air-filled tires, rear dual shocks, drum brakes front and rear, a rear basket rated for 40 lb or more and an 11 lb handlebar hook, with a deck you can still stand on. Its 15.5 mph top speed is half a mile an hour over California's 15 mph limit and well under New York's 20 mph line, and New York's e-scooter definition counts a scooter with a seat. The listing gives 400 W rated in its title, a 550 W peak in a bullet and a 500 W peak in a feature field, with a headlight, a rear brake light and a range claim of 15.5 miles. Gotrax backs it with a 365-day parts warranty and customer support. Its listing family, shared with other Gotrax models, sat #30 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026.

It sits last because its paperwork is the thinnest of the five. Gotrax publishes no battery voltage, amp-hours or watt-hours, so we give no range estimate. The A5 is sold on Amazon and not on gotrax.com, which lists only A5 spare parts, so every figure is the listing's. It weighs 50.7 lb, carries 220 lb and states no water rating. New Jersey's legal e-scooter is a stand-up scooter, so a seated model is not one there. The listing states UL 2272; we could not verify it in the certifier's directory. No CPSC recall found for the Gotrax A5 as of October 2026.

Who it suits: riders under 220 lb who want to sit for short trips and errands and can park at ground level. Skip if you weigh over 220 lb, need to carry it, or want a known battery size. More seated scooters, including cheaper ones, are in best electric scooters with a seat. Read the Gotrax A5 review.

Electric scooters under $500 compared

Scooter Price at our last check Rated motor Battery Our range estimate Top speed Weight Rider limit Tires Water rating UL 2272
Hiboy S2 Pro $422.95 500 W 417.6 Wh 15 to 19 mi 19 mph 39.7 lb 220 lb 10 in honeycomb IPX4 the listing states UL 2272; Hiboy publishes certificates
NAVEE GT3 $449.99 350 W 358 Wh 13 to 16 mi 20 mph 46.3 lb 243 lb 10 in tubeless air IPX5 the listing states UL 2272; NAVEE's page makes no claim
Hiboy S2 $299.98 350 W 280.8 Wh 10 to 13 mi 19 mph 35.5 lb 220 lb 8.5 in honeycomb IPX4 the listing states UL 2272; Hiboy publishes certificates
NIU KQi 100F $449 300 W 243 Wh 9 to 11 mi 17.4 mph 38.8 lb 265 lb 9.5 in air, tubed IPX5 the listing states UL 2272; no certificate number published
Gotrax A5 $379.99 400 W (listing) not stated none possible 15.5 mph 50.7 lb 220 lb 12 in air not stated the listing states UL 2272

Suspension: the NAVEE GT3 at both ends, the NIU KQi 100F at the front, and the two Hiboys and the Gotrax A5 at the rear. Weights and limits are the maker's figures where one exists. Range is our estimate at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider.

What does $500 buy over a $300 electric scooter?

Mostly paperwork, comfort and a maker behind the scooter, and less extra range than you might expect. The clearest comparison is inside one brand. The Hiboy S2 Pro against the Hiboy S2 adds about half again the battery (417.6 Wh against 280.8, so an estimated 15 to 19 miles against 10 to 13), 500 W rated against 350 W, 10-inch tires against 8.5-inch and a climb rating of about 17% against 15%, for about 4 lb more. The rider limit (220 lb), water rating (IPX4), top speed (19 mph) and brakes stay the same.

Against Amazon's no-name best sellers under $300, the brand names in this band add things you can check before you buy: a maker's spec sheet and manual (Hiboy, NAVEE and NIU publish both), published range test conditions (Hiboy tests with a 165 lb rider at 11.4 mph, NIU at 9.3 mph), IP ratings of IPX4 or IPX5, suspension at both ends on tubeless air tires (the NAVEE GT3) and longer warranties (24 months on most parts from NAVEE, 2 years including the battery from NIU). What the extra money does not reliably buy is a bigger battery or a higher rider limit. The MAXSHOT V1 SPRO, a no-name listing that cost less than any of our picks at our last check, carries about 378 Wh by our arithmetic (its listing says 42 V and 10.5 Ah, which we read as a 36 V pack) and lists 265 lb, where both Hiboys list 220 lb. The difference is that every MAXSHOT figure is the listing's, with no maker website to check it against. If your trips are short and flat, a cheaper scooter does the job: our under-$300 guide ranks them, and how much does an electric scooter cost sets out what each price tier gets you.

Which electric scooter under $500 goes the farthest?

Among our five picks, the Hiboy S2 Pro: we estimate about 15 to 19 miles at full speed from its 417.6 Wh battery, and the Hiboy KS4 Pro, which takes the same replacement battery, matches it. The NAVEE GT3 follows at about 13 to 16 miles, the Hiboy S2 at 10 to 13 and the NIU KQi 100F at 9 to 11. Bigger batteries sit right at the $500 line. The NAVEE ST3 ($499.99 at our last check) carries 477 Wh, and NAVEE claims 22 miles at 20 mph; we estimate about 18 to 22 miles at that speed, and give no figure for its top speed of up to 24.9 mph, which is faster than the tests our method comes from. The OOTD T10 ($499.99 at our last check) carries 864 Wh, the most of any scooter we cover, with the cautions in its note below.

If you can stretch your budget for range, the NIU KQi 300P ($749 at our last check) carries 486.7 Wh, about 18 to 22 miles by our estimate, with disc brakes front and rear and IP55. The Segway Ninebot E3 Pro ($599.99 at our last check) does not go further than the S2 Pro: its 368 Wh gives an estimated 14 to 17 miles. What it adds over the S2 Pro is suspension at both ends, 10-inch tubeless air tires, IPX5 and a 265 lb limit, at 40.1 lb. Our long-range electric scooter guide ranks the scooters that go further.

How we estimate: battery watt-hours divided by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile, the middle half of 32 published full-speed range tests of commuter scooters, adjusted to a rider of about 175 to 180 lb on city streets with stops and small hills. In those tests scooters covered a median 59% of their advertised range. Advertised figures assume gentler riding: Hiboy, NIU and NAVEE rate range for a 165 lb rider at a steady 9.3 to 11.4 mph at 77°F. Riding slower adds range; cold weather, hills and a heavier rider cut it. We have not measured any of these scooters ourselves.

Are electric scooters under $500 safe?

The ones with a maker behind them and a UL 2272 claim are the safer bet, and the paperwork varies more than the prices do. UL 2272 is the fire and electrical safety standard for the whole scooter. Hiboy links UL LLC certificates for the S2 Pro and S2 from its product pages; NIU states UL 2272 for the KQi 100F without publishing a certificate number; for the NAVEE GT3 and Gotrax A5, the claim appears on the Amazon listing only. We could not verify any of them in a certifier's directory; you can search UL Product iQ for a brand or the file number on the label. UL 2272 does not test folding stems, forks or brakes, which is where most recent scooter recalls came from.

The rules are tightening. New York City has required UL 2272 certification for scooters sold there since September 16, 2023 (Local Law 39), California has required UL 2272 battery testing for motorized scooters sold there since January 1, 2026 (SB 1271), and the CPSC proposed a national rule in June 2026 (Federal Register). We found no CPSC recall for any scooter on this page, checked between October 18 and 25, 2026; Segway's 2025 recall of Max G30P and G30LP scooters does not cover the E2 Pro mentioned below. Wear a helmet: the CPSC estimates 79,300 emergency-room visits involving e-scooters in 2024, and only 18% of the injured riders it followed up were wearing one. Our electric scooter safety guide covers charging and the checks to make.

How fast are electric scooters under $500, and is that legal?

All five picks ship at 20 mph or less: 15.5 mph for the Gotrax A5, 17.4 for the NIU KQi 100F, 19 for both Hiboys and 20 for the NAVEE GT3. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the US e-bike classes do not apply. California caps motorized scooters at 15 mph (Vehicle Code §22411) and requires a driver's license or instruction permit, a helmet under 18 and no sidewalk riding (§21235), so every pick must be ridden below its top speed there; the Hiboys' Drive mode (about 13 mph) and the NIU's E-Save mode (9.3 mph) do that for you. New York defines an e-scooter as under 100 lb and no faster than 20 mph (VTL §114-e), which every pick meets as shipped.

New Jersey's legal e-scooter is stand-up, under 19 mph and 750 W or less (NJ chart). Of our picks only the NIU KQi 100F is under that line; the 19 mph Hiboys fall outside it, because the line is under 19 mph, the 20 mph GT3 is over it, and the seated A5 is not a stand-up scooter. Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads (report). Three of the mentions go faster than New York's line: the MAXSHOT V1 SPRO reaches 22 mph, NAVEE lists the ST3 at up to 24.9 mph, and the OOTD T10 unlocks to 31 mph. Check your city's rules too.

The listings we skip, and why

Between $300 and $500, Amazon's electric scooter chart still carries plenty of listings with nothing behind them to check, and we leave those out: no maker website or manual, no battery size, or specs that change from one color option to the next. Many listing families sell several models under one title, so the title's top speed, range and wattage describe the most expensive option and the star rating is pooled across all of them. Several brand names on Amazon also share one manufacturer of record, so two listings can be the same scooter under different names. Near $500, some listings advertise top speeds of 28 mph or more, above every state line we cite and above the speeds our range method covers.

The reason is support. When a listing disappears, the seller's warranty address and the spare tires, chargers and brake parts usually go with it, and they do disappear: of the 14 best-selling scooter listings we recorded on October 4, 2026, 5 were gone by October 18. We are not calling any of them bad; we have no evidence either way about how they ride, and that is the problem with buying one. Before you buy any scooter at this price, check five things on the listing: that the option you pick names the model you want; a battery size in watt-hours, or volts and amp-hours you can multiply; a rated motor figure as well as the peak; a UL 2272 claim, ideally with the lab or certificate named; and a maker page you can compare the listing against.

How we chose

We started from Amazon US prices on October 30, 2026 and kept scooters sold under $500 that day that have a page on this site, ship at 20 mph or less, and come with a maker spec sheet or, for the seated Gotrax A5, a brand with US customer support. A scooter within about 3% of $500 became a mention rather than a pick, because a small price move would take it over the line; that is why the Segway Ninebot E2 Pro, NAVEE ST3 and OOTD T10, all of which sat at the $500 line at our last check, are mentions. We ranked on the evidence we could check: battery size and our range estimate, tires, suspension and brakes, the rider limit, the water rating, the warranty and the UL 2272 paperwork. Specs come from each maker's spec sheet or manual, checked against the listing; where they disagree we print both and use the maker's. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated. We searched CPSC recalls for every model between October 18 and 25, 2026. We have not ridden these scooters, and we do not take free samples.

More electric scooter guides

Spending less? Best electric scooters under $200 and under $300 cover the budget best sellers. For range, see best long-range electric scooters; to carry your scooter, best lightweight electric scooters; for the whole field, best electric scooters for adults and for commuting. Weighing a scooter against an e-bike? Read electric scooter vs e-bike and e-bikes under $500. Everything we cover is on the electric scooters hub.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Hiboy KS4 Pro Electric Scooter product photo

    The S2 Pro (our #1) with wider 18.9-inch handlebars, at $399.98 at our last check, and the cheaper of the two on October 30, 2026. Hiboy sells one motor wheel, one replacement battery and one charger for both, so the estimated 15 to 19 miles, 19 mph, honeycomb tires, rear shocks, IPX4 and 220 lb limit match, and Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates for each. It weighs 40.6 lb, and the shared battery and motor wheel showed sold out at Hiboy's own store on October 21, 2026. No CPSC recall found as of October 2026. See KS4 Pro vs S2 Pro.

  • MAXSHOT V1 SPRO Electric Scooter product photo

    Shocks front and rear for less ($265.99 at our last check), on 10-inch honeycomb tires, with a 500 W motor (not labelled rated or peak) and about 378 Wh by our arithmetic (the listing says 42 V and 10.5 Ah, which we read as a 36 V pack), more than the NAVEE GT3 but less than our #1, the Hiboy S2 Pro. We estimate 14 to 17 miles, and it lists a 265 lb limit. Its listing family sat #4 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 30, 2026. It missed the picks because every figure is the listing's (we found no maker website), it reaches 22 mph, over New York's 20 mph line, it states no water rating or brake type, and its UL 2272 claim names no lab. No CPSC recall found for MAXSHOT as of October 2026.

  • Segway Ninebot E2 Pro Electric Scooter product photo

    At the $500 line at our last check ($499.99), so a mention rather than a pick. It ships at 15.5 mph and reaches 18.6 mph after a firmware update, both under New Jersey's 19 mph line, on 10-inch tubeless air tires, with a 265 lb limit and a two-year limited warranty. Segway rates it 350 W (750 W peak) with 275 Wh; we estimate about 10 to 13 miles, which likely runs low for this slower scooter. No suspension, and 41.4 lb. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it. No CPSC recall found for the E2 Pro as of October 2026.

  • NAVEE ST3 Electric Scooter product photo

    More battery than any pick, from a maker with a US store, at the $500 line at our last check ($499.99): 477 Wh, a 500 W rated (1,000 W peak) motor, damping arms front and rear, a real rear disc brake, 10-inch tubeless air tires, IPX5 and a 265 lb limit. NAVEE claims 22 miles at 20 mph, and we estimate about 18 to 22 miles at that speed; NAVEE lists its top speed as both 20 mph and up to 24.9 mph, and flat out it will go less far. It weighs 54.7 lb, and only the Amazon listing claims UL 2272. No CPSC recall found for NAVEE as of October 25, 2026.

  • OOTD T10 Electric Scooter product photo

    The most battery of any scooter we cover, 864 Wh, with 11-inch tubeless tires and spring suspension and disc brakes at both ends, at the $500 line at our last check ($499.99). It ships limited to 15.5 mph and unlocks to 31. A mention only: OOTD sells only in Europe and the UK, so its written 2-year warranty does not cover US Amazon buyers; for UL 2272 there is no certification stated; its motor is quoted as 900 W, 745 W and 500 W peak in different places; and it weighs 62 lb. No CPSC recall found for OOTD as of October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric scooter under $500?

The Hiboy S2 Pro, which cost $422.95 at our last check. It has the most battery of our five picks, 417.6 Wh, which we estimate covers about 15 to 19 miles at full speed for a 175 to 180 lb rider, plus a 500 W rated motor, 10-inch tires that cannot go flat, a rear disc brake and a 19 mph top speed. Hiboy publishes UL 2272 and UL 2271 certificates for it, which we could not check in UL's directory. The trade-offs are a 220 lb limit, IPX4 and 39.7 lb. For a softer ride, the NAVEE GT3 has suspension at both ends and IPX5.

Is a $500 electric scooter worth it?

Yes, if you ride more than about 5 miles each way, ride on wet or broken streets, or want a maker you can hold to a warranty. Against a $300 scooter, the extra money buys more battery within a brand (the Hiboy S2 Pro's 417.6 Wh against the S2's 280.8 Wh, about 15 to 19 miles against 10 to 13 by our estimate), suspension at both ends with tubeless air tires (the NAVEE GT3), IPX5 ratings and longer warranties: 24 months on most parts from NAVEE, 2 years including the battery from NIU. It does not reliably buy a higher rider limit; both Hiboys list 220 lb. For short, flat trips, a cheaper scooter does the job.

How far can a $500 electric scooter go?

About 9 to 19 miles at full speed for our picks, by our estimate, against advertised figures of 15.5 to 31 miles. We divide battery watt-hours by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile for a 175 to 180 lb rider: the Hiboy S2 Pro's 417.6 Wh gives about 15 to 19 miles, the NAVEE GT3's 358 Wh about 13 to 16, the Hiboy S2's 280.8 Wh about 10 to 13 and the NIU KQi 100F's 243 Wh about 9 to 11. Hiboy, NIU and NAVEE rate range for a 165 lb rider at a steady 9.3 to 11.4 mph, so riding slower gets you closer to their figures. Gotrax publishes no battery size for the A5.

What is the best long-range electric scooter under $500?

The Hiboy S2 Pro or its twin, the Hiboy KS4 Pro, among scooters clearly under $500: both carry 417.6 Wh, about 15 to 19 miles at full speed by our estimate. Two scooters at the $500 line at our last check carry more. The NAVEE ST3 has 477 Wh, and NAVEE claims 22 miles at 20 mph, but it weighs 54.7 lb. The OOTD T10 has 864 Wh, but OOTD sells only in Europe and the UK, so its written warranty does not cover US buyers, and for UL 2272 there is no certification stated. Our long-range guide covers scooters above $500.

Hiboy or NAVEE: which is better under $500?

Hiboy for range and paperwork, NAVEE for ride and rain. The Hiboy S2 Pro carries 417.6 Wh (about 15 to 19 miles by our estimate) against the NAVEE GT3's 358 Wh (13 to 16), has a rear disc brake where the GT3 has a front drum and a rear electronic brake, and Hiboy publishes UL certificates, while NAVEE's own page makes no UL claim. The GT3 answers with suspension at both ends on 10-inch tubeless air tires, IPX5 against IPX4, a 24-month warranty on most parts against one year, and a 243 lb limit against 220 lb. It also weighs more: 46.3 lb against 39.7.

Hiboy S2 Pro or KS4 Pro: which should I buy?

Whichever is cheaper when you buy, unless you want wider handlebars. Hiboy sells one motor wheel, one replacement battery and one charger for both, so the 417.6 Wh battery, 19 mph top speed, 10-inch honeycomb tires, rear shocks, rear disc brake, IPX4 and 220 lb limit match. The KS4 Pro has 18.9-inch bars against 16.5, weighs 40.6 lb against 39.7 by the manuals, and Hiboy rates it at 750 W peak against 600 W. On October 30, 2026, the KS4 Pro was the cheaper of the two. See our KS4 Pro vs S2 Pro comparison.

What is the best electric scooter under $500 with suspension?

The NAVEE GT3, the only one of our picks with suspension at both ends on air-filled tires: a front fork and a rear damping cylinder on 10-inch tubeless tires, with IPX5. The NIU KQi 100F has a front spring fork on 9.5-inch air tires, and the two Hiboys and the Gotrax A5 have rear shocks only. For less money, the MAXSHOT V1 SPRO lists shocks front and rear on 10-inch honeycomb tires, with every figure from the listing. At the $500 line, the NAVEE ST3 has damping arms at both ends and a rear disc brake.

Our pick

Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter
Save $47

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Hiboy S2 Pro Electric Scooter

Best electric scooter under $500. The most battery of the five picks, 417.6 Wh, about 15 to 19 miles by our estimate…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor