Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026)

The TST City Commuter ($559.99 as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is our pick for the best electric bike on Amazon, the top of seven Amazon US e-bikes from $499.99 to $1,599 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), spanning every budget Amazon actually serves. It is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.0/10
TST City Commuter

TST City Commuter

$559.99Save $40

Price as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT · subject to change

#6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), and on a page about what to buy on...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Budget pick:Funhang Fat 26— Both UL certifications with the certifying body named (UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL...
  • Runner-up:Hoverfly OUREA— The cleanest legal package on the page at $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT,...

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1TST City Commuter
$559.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#2Funhang Fat 26
$459.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#3Hoverfly OUREA
$499.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#4Heybike Cityscape 2.0
$609as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1200 W468 Wh330 lb62 lbStep-through
#5Heybike Ranger
$799.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1400 W600 Wh400 lb70 lbFolding, step-through
#6GAMVIRE V7 PRO 6000W Dual Motor Fat Tire E-Bike
$999as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Not stated47 mph6000 W1664 Wh400 lb110 lbStandard
#7Cyrusher Kommoda 3.0
$1,599as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1500 W960 Wh350 lb83 lbStep-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $40
Pick #18.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

#6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), and on a page about what to buy on Amazon that is the headline, not a footnote: 487 owner ratings at 4.2 stars and the strongest sales rank of the seven picks. The hardware backs it. A 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah for $559.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is more capacity than the pick below it and more than most bikes at twice the price, with 750 W rated stated alongside the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing. 🔴 The trade is certification: the listing names no UL 2849 or UL 2271, which falls short of what NYC Local Law 39 requires for e-bikes sold in the city, puts it on the wrong side of California SB 1271, and leaves nothing to show a building that asks before indoor charging. If your building asks for the paperwork, the Funhang directly below documents both UL standards. The listing now states 66 lb and a 450 lb maximum load and markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply, and plan on about 35 real miles against the 60-mile claim.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Both UL certifications with the certifying body named (UL 2271 for the battery via SGS, UL 2849 for the complete bike via TÜV) at $459.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). That is the paperwork NYC Local Law 39 and California SB 1271 ask for, and it is rarer at this price than anything on the spec sheet. A 624 Wh pack quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah gives about 31 real throttle miles (the seller claims 30-35, and for once the claim survives division) and 55-60 on pedal-assist. Integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals, a 330 lb payload and a 60 lb rear rack. The headline says 1000 W; the rated motor is 500 W, stated in the first bullet, and that is the number the statutes regulate, 250 W under the strictest US cap. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

Hoverfly OUREA
Amazon
Pick #37.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The cleanest legal package on the page at $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): 750 W at the federal cap, a 20 mph cap (a by-the-book Class 2 in every state) and UL 2849 certified, with every number stated and none inflated. The seller splits its range claim by mode, 20 miles on throttle and 40 on pedal-assist, and both survive the arithmetic on a 374 Wh pack. A 365-day warranty is four times the norm in this bracket. The honest trade is capacity: that pack is the smallest here, so this is the bike for a sub-10-mile commute with indoor charging, not for long hauls. Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review.

Heybike Cityscape 2.0
Amazon
Pick #48.3/10

Heybike Cityscape 2.0

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The best-documented bike on Amazon, and the highest editorial score in our catalogue at 8.3/10, for the reader who wants Class 3 speed with the certification paperwork. It is the only pick here that clears all three of our disclosure tests at once: 750 W rated stated alongside the 1200 W peak, a removable 468 Wh pack quoted as 36 V x 13 Ah so you can check the arithmetic, and UL 2849 for the complete bike plus UL 2271 at the cell level. That is the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references and that a growing number of apartment buildings ask to see before allowing indoor charging. Class 3 assist to 28 mph switches down to Class 2 or Class 1 from the display, so it stays legal in the seven Class-3-ban states and on Class-1-only trails. Over 600 Amazon ratings at 4.2 stars. Plan on 25 to 35 real miles against the quoted 50, and note the 62 lb weight if it has to go upstairs.

Heybike Ranger
Amazon
Pick #57.5/10

Heybike Ranger

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best folding fat-tire on Amazon, and at $799.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) the cheapest way into the category we cover. A 750 W rated rear-hub motor (1400 W peak, 80 Nm), 20x4 Kenda fat tires and hydraulic disc brakes on a step-through frame that folds at a single mid-frame pivot in about fifteen seconds. That combination is genuinely hard to get, because most folders give up tire volume to hit the fold. Class 3 to 28 mph with the same step-down behaviour as the Cityscape, and a 400 lb total payload that covers a rider plus a full pannier load. This is the pick if your route includes gravel, sand or snow and the bike still has to fit in a car boot. It scores 7.5 rather than the 8.3 above it for one reason: the 600 Wh pack is the smallest thing on the bike. Heybike quotes 45 miles and that is a flat-ground, pedal-assist-only figure, so plan on well under it if you use the throttle.

GAMVIRE V7 PRO 6000W Dual Motor Fat Tire E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The most powerful bike we cover on Amazon, and the largest battery in this guide by a wide margin: 1,664 Wh, roughly three and a half times the Cityscape's pack. A dual motor quoted at 6000 W peak. Treat this as a specific purchase, not a general recommendation. Dual motors and a pack that size mean weight, and the class question needs answering before you ride it on a road, because power at this level is what pushes a bike out of the e-bike definition and into a moped classification in most states. Read the full review for the class breakdown before buying.

Cyrusher Kommoda 3.0
Amazon
Pick #77.6/10

Cyrusher Kommoda 3.0

Cyrusher
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best premium build on Amazon. At $1,599 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) the money goes into components, not headline numbers. A 960 Wh pack and a 1500 W peak motor are the specs, but the reason to spend here is braking and suspension quality that the sub-$800 picks on this page cannot match in any configuration. If you ride daily, in traffic, or carry weight, this is where the difference stops being a spec-sheet argument and starts being something you feel at every junction. It is the only pick here we would call a long-term bike instead of a first e-bike.

TL;DR: the seven best e-bikes on Amazon right now

  1. TST City Commuter, $559.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best overall. #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), 487 ratings at 4.2 stars. A 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah, 750 W rated alongside the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension. Names no UL certification, which is the trade, and markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph where Class 2 rules apply.
  2. Funhang Fat 26, $459.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best certified. UL 2271 via SGS and UL 2849 via TÜV, the certifying body named for each, a 624 Wh pack quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah, and a 500 W rated motor behind the 1000 W headline.
  3. Hoverfly OUREA, $499.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Budget pick and cheapest of the seven. 750 W at the federal cap, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and UL 2849, with a 365-day warranty. The 374 Wh pack makes it a short-commute bike.
  4. Heybike Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best documented, and the highest editorial score in our catalogue at 8.3/10. UL 2849 and UL 2271 certified, 750 W rated (1200 W peak), a 468 Wh removable battery, Class 3 assist to 28 mph switchable down to Class 2 or Class 1.
  5. Heybike Ranger, $799.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best folding fat-tire. 7.5/10, a 600 Wh pack, 750 W rated (1400 W peak), 20x4 Kenda fat tires on a step-through folding frame, Class 3 capable.
  6. GAMVIRE V7 PRO, $999 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Most power on Amazon that we cover. A claimed 6000 W peak dual motor and a 1,664 Wh battery, by a wide margin the largest pack in this guide. Not street legal in any state: read the review before you buy.
  7. Cyrusher Kommoda 3, $1,599 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best premium build. A 960 Wh pack, 1500 W peak, and the component quality (hydraulic braking, real suspension) that the sub-$800 bikes on this page cannot offer at any configuration.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US listings only, every pick verified in stock against the live listing through the Amazon product API on publish day, and every pick has a full standalone review on this site. This guide spans the whole Amazon price range instead of capping at one bracket. That changes the ranking question. It is no longer "what is cheapest" but "what does each additional $200 actually buy". Three disclosures decide a pick: whether the seller states a RATED motor figure and not just a peak marketing number, because rated wattage is what US state law regulates; whether battery capacity is published in watt-hours you can check against the volts and amp-hours; and whether a fire-safety certification exists with a certifying body named against it. Picks are ordered on what buyers on this page actually buy (Amazon best-seller placement and our own measured click-to-order rate), with our editorial score breaking ties and printed on every card so you can see exactly where we and the crowd disagree. On this page we do: our top pick is one of the best-selling adult e-bikes on Amazon and the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 scores higher with us, and each entry says which one you want and why. Never on commission, and the affiliate disclosure says so without qualification. Two bikes inside the range are deliberately excluded from the picks on the same ground: the EUYBIKE 2-Seater advertises 35 mph, and the Jasion RetroVolt 330 is listed by its maker at 30 mph. Both sit above the 28 mph Class 3 cap, which fits no US e-bike class, so they appear as mentions with the reason attached. Amazon prices move constantly, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number, not the one printed here.

Find your budget first

Price removes more options on Amazon than any other decision, so start there before brand or style. Each of these guides applies the same disclosure screen as this page, capped at its ceiling and with picks verified in stock:

Budget Guide What that money buys
Under $300 Best e-bikes under $300 on Amazon The floor of the market, mostly 14-inch folders. The question here is which listings name a lab for their UL claim and state a top speed at all.
Under $400 Best e-bikes under $400 on Amazon Full-size 26-inch frames, step-throughs with racks and 20-inch fat tires appear, on 374 to 624 Wh batteries.
Under $500 Best e-bikes under $500 on Amazon A working e-bike with compromises you will notice: small batteries, peak-only wattage claims, certification often absent.
Under $600 Best e-bikes under $600 on Amazon Rated wattage starts being published beside peak figures, and 720 Wh batteries become normal.
Under $700 Best e-bikes under $700 on Amazon Certified commuters with a class you can switch from the display, plus folding trikes.
Under $800 Best e-bikes under $800 on Amazon The value sweet spot. Removable battery, disc brakes and a certified pack become available at once.
Under $900 Best e-bikes under $900 on Amazon Size rather than new features: 864 Wh batteries and two-seat benches. Torque sensors and hydraulic brakes already exist under $800.
Under $1,000 Best e-bikes under $1,000 on Amazon Bigger batteries and folding fat-tire frames without dropping disclosure quality.
Under $1,500 Best e-bikes under $1,500 on Amazon Hydraulic brakes, torque sensing, and suspension that is doing a job instead of decorating the frame.

If you know the shape you want but not the budget, we also keep a folding e-bike guide, a family and cargo guide, and a UL-certified shortlist for riders who have to charge indoors.

What Amazon is good at, and what it is not

Amazon is the best place to buy a first e-bike for two reasons that have nothing to do with the bikes. The return window is 30 days and it is enforced, which matters more than any spec when you are buying a 60 lb object you have never ridden. And the review volume is large enough to be informative: a bike with 600 ratings tells you something a direct-to-consumer brand with 12 testimonials cannot.

What Amazon is not good at is disclosure discipline. Sellers compete on the headline number, so peak wattage gets printed and rated wattage does not, battery capacity appears in amp-hours without the voltage that would let you convert it, and "UL certified" shows up with nothing named against it. That is why the screen on this page is built around what a listing states, not what it claims to be.

Support is the third difference. A direct brand answers warranty questions itself; on Amazon the answer depends on the seller, which is why Amazon sales rank appears in our ranking at all. A bike selling well has a seller with an incentive to keep answering.

How much should you spend?

Under $500 buys a working e-bike, and the honest framing is that you are paying for the absence of things. Batteries in this band run 230 to 500 Wh, motor figures are usually peak-only, and certification is the exception. The RPINT Mini 14, at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), is the outlier that makes the band worth shopping, because it names its certifying body.

$500 to $800 is where the answer changes from "with reservations" to "comfortably". Batteries of 720 Wh appear, UL certification shows up with a body named against it, and rated wattage is printed often enough that a listing omitting it starts to look evasive. Both our best-overall and best-value picks sit in this band, which is not a coincidence.

$800 to $1,500 buys component quality, not headline specs. Hydraulic disc brakes instead of mechanical, torque sensing instead of cadence sensing, and suspension with real damping. None of that appears on a spec sheet as dramatically as a bigger battery, and all of it is what you feel on every ride.

Above $1,500 on Amazon is a thin market. We cover it, but the direct-to-consumer brands compete harder at that price and the Amazon selection narrows.

Is it street legal?

In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, an e-bike that meets the three-class definition is legally a bicycle: no licence, no registration, no insurance. The exceptions are New Jersey, which requires registration and a licence, and Hawaii, which requires registration.

The class matters more than the state for most riders. A Class 2 bike (throttle, 20 mph cap) is road-legal everywhere we track. A Class 3 bike (pedal-assist to 28 mph) is banned outright in seven jurisdictions: DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina. Note that North Carolina changes on 1 December 2026, when Class 3 becomes legal there.

Two of the seven picks are clean Class 2 on their listings: the Funhang Fat 26 and the Hoverfly OUREA. The Cityscape 2.0 and the Heybike Ranger have Class 3 modes but switch down from the display, which is what keeps them usable in the ban states. The TST City Commuter markets a 28 mph setting, so cap it at 20 mph, and the GAMVIRE V7 PRO is not street legal in any state. Check your own rules in our state-by-state e-bike law table, or run your bike through the legality checker.

Bikes that did not make the list

A few exclusions are worth stating outright, because a guide that only explains its picks is only half a guide.

The Jasion RetroVolt 330 at $399 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) was the best-selling e-bike we found on Amazon US in September 2026, #1 in Electric Fat Bikes that month. The appeal is real: a 2000 W peak motor, a 720 Wh removable pack, front and rear suspension and a bench long enough for a passenger. It is excluded on compliance. The listing states no rated wattage and no top speed, and Jasion's own store lists 30 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, so as its maker describes it the bike fits no US class.

The EUYBIKE 2-Seater at $799.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) has the most interesting hardware in its band. It is excluded on compliance, not quality: its listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, which fits no US class and can see it reclassified as a moped on public roads.

The LELEKUAI T5 at $159.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) was #1 in Electric Folding Bikes in September 2026, with a 480 Wh pack on a 14-inch folding frame. It stays out for a similar reason: its bullets say 20 mph, but its title and LELEKUAI's own site say 24 mph with a throttle, which fits no class. The folding guide covers it alongside the Class 2 minis.

The Razor Rambler 16 at $588.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the household name here, and the specification is where it falls behind: a 350 W motor, a 360 Wh battery and a 16 mph top speed, all below what the same money buys elsewhere on this page. Buy it for the brand and the support path, not for the numbers.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • RPINT Mini 14 product photo

    RPINT Mini 14

    $199as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    The cheapest certified bike we cover, at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 14-inch folder claiming UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike, with 413 owner ratings and a top-3 placement in Electric Folding Bikes at our last sync. It is in the mentions rather than the picks because it is a last-mile folder, not the full-size commuter most readers of this page are shopping for, and it is not the bike they end up buying.

  • EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo product photo

    EUYBIKE 2-Seater Cargo

    $799.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    The most interesting hardware under $800, at $799.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a true two-up frame with a passenger bench and foot pegs, a 960 Wh battery, 750 W rated (1450 W peak), dual suspension and a 400 lb payload rating. Excluded from the picks on COMPLIANCE, not quality. The listing advertises 35 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 cap, which fits no US e-bike class and can see it reclassified as a moped on public roads, changing licensing and registration. Cap it at 28 mph in the display menu before riding and treat 35 as a private-property figure.

  • Jasion RetroVolt 330 product photo

    Jasion RetroVolt 330

    $399as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    The best-selling e-bike we found on Amazon US in September 2026, at $399 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a moped-style fat bike with a 2000 W peak motor, a 720 Wh removable pack, a coil rear shock and a passenger-length bench with a 330 lb payload. Excluded from the picks on COMPLIANCE, as the EUYBIKE is. The listing states no rated wattage or top speed, and Jasion's own store lists 30 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 cap. Plan on 30-35 miles, not the 70 on the listing.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    Razor Rambler 16

    $588.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    The household name on this list at $588.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), from a US brand most buyers already trust, in a 16-inch moto style. The specification is where it falls behind: a 350 W motor, a 360 Wh battery, a 16 mph top speed and roughly 12 miles of range, all below what the same money buys elsewhere on this page. Buy it for the brand, the styling, and the support path. Not for the numbers.

  • Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter product photo

    Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter

    $199as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    At $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) it is among the cheapest bikes we cover and one of the strongest Amazon sellers in our catalogue. It trails the RPINT Mini 14 on editorial score (7.0 against 7.5) and on disclosure, with no named certifying body. If the RPINT is out of stock, this is the substitute.

  • Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike product photo

    On Amazon US at $949 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a 750 W rated motor (1200 W peak) with 95 N·m, a 720 Wh pack, 26x4 knobby fat tires, hydraulic disc brakes and a 2-year warranty, Class 3 at 28 mph. It is a mention rather than a pick because the Heybike Ranger already holds the Class 3 fat-tire slot on this page. Read the full review if trail riding is the brief.

  • Vivi H7UL 27.5" Electric Mountain Bike product photo

    Vivi H7UL 27.5" Electric Mountain Bike

    $549.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    On Amazon since August 2026, when Vivi moved its whole catalogue there; this note used to say it was direct-only, which stopped being true. A 27.5-inch hardtail with SGS-certified UL 2849 and a 499 Wh pack at $549.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Its review records a 22 mph top speed, above the 20 mph Class 2 line, so set it to 20 where Class 2 rules apply.

  • VEBLUE Folding 20 product photo

    VEBLUE Folding 20

    $769.99as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT

    The largest battery under $800 anywhere on Amazon that we have found: 1,040 Wh, stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah, at $769.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), in a folding 20-inch frame. It misses a pick slot on disclosure, with no rated wattage figure and no stated top speed. But if watt-hours per dollar is the number you are optimising, nothing on this page beats it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric bike on Amazon right now?

The TST City Commuter at $559.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) (our checked price). It is #6 in Amazon's Electric Bicycles (September 2026), and the hardware backs the sales: a 720 Wh battery stated exactly as 48 V x 15 Ah, a 750 W rated motor alongside the 1500 W peak, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing. Its one gap is certification: it names no UL 2849 or UL 2271, so if your building asks for certification or you buy in NYC or California, take the Funhang Fat 26 at $459.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), which documents both UL standards with the certifying body named. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 remains the highest-scoring bike in our catalogue (8.3/10) for a reader who wants Class 3 speed with the paperwork.

How much should I spend on an electric bike from Amazon?

$500 to $800 is the value band, and both our best-overall and best-value picks sit inside it. Below $500 you are mostly paying for the absence of things: batteries of 230 to 500 Wh, peak-only wattage figures, and certification that is usually missing. In the $500 to $800 band, 720 Wh batteries, named certifying bodies and stated rated wattage all become findable at once. Above $800 the money buys component quality, not bigger numbers: hydraulic brakes instead of mechanical, torque sensing instead of cadence sensing. None of that looks as impressive on a spec sheet as a bigger battery, and all of it is what you feel on every ride. Above $1,500 the Amazon selection thins out and the direct-to-consumer brands compete harder.

Are Amazon electric bikes any good, or should I buy direct?

For a first e-bike, Amazon is usually the better route, for two reasons that have nothing to do with the bikes themselves. The 30-day return window is enforced, which matters more than any specification when you are buying a 60 lb object you have never ridden. And the review volume is large enough to be informative. A bike with 600 owner ratings tells you things a direct brand with 12 testimonials cannot. What you give up is disclosure discipline: Amazon sellers compete on headline numbers, so peak wattage gets printed and rated wattage does not. Buying direct makes more sense when you want a longer return window or a single point of warranty contact.

Are these electric bikes street legal in my state?

In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, an e-bike meeting the three-class definition is legally a bicycle: no licence, no registration, no insurance. The exceptions are New Jersey (registration and licence) and Hawaii (registration). Class matters more than state for most riders. A Class 2 bike (throttle, 20 mph cap) is road-legal everywhere we track, while Class 3 (pedal-assist to 28 mph) is banned outright in seven jurisdictions: DC, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina. North Carolina changes on 1 December 2026, when Class 3 becomes legal there. Two of the seven picks, the Funhang Fat 26 and the Hoverfly OUREA, are clean Class 2. The Cityscape 2.0 and the Heybike Ranger have Class 3 modes that switch down from the display. Check your own state in our law table or run the bike through the legality checker.

Which of these has the biggest battery?

The GAMVIRE V7 PRO at 1,664 Wh, roughly three and a half times the Cityscape 2.0's 468 Wh pack. Among the honourable mentions the VEBLUE Folding 20 carries 1,040 Wh stated exactly as 52 V x 20 Ah for $769.99 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), which is the best watt-hours per dollar anywhere in this guide. Watt-hours is the specification worth comparing, because it is the one number a seller cannot make flattering without changing the hardware. Range claims can be: they assume a light rider on flat ground at the lowest assist level, and they run 30 to 50 percent optimistic. If a listing quotes amp-hours without the voltage, it is withholding the number that matters.

Which Amazon e-bikes are UL certified for indoor charging?

The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 is the strongest case: UL 2849 for the complete bike and UL 2271 at the cell level, the pairing NYC Local Law 39 references and that many apartment buildings and workplaces now ask to see before allowing indoor storage. The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 (as of Sep 28, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) claims both standards and, unusually, names SGS as the validating body. That is what makes the claim checkable. Treat an unqualified "UL certified" with no body named as an unverified claim. If indoor charging is the constraint that decides your purchase, our UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone.

How were these picks verified as in stock?

Every pick was checked against its live Amazon listing through Amazon's own product API on publish day, and our system re-verifies price and availability every three hours after that. If a listing dies, the buy button is removed automatically and the pick is replaced in the next editorial pass. Prices printed on this page are our checked prices at publish; Amazon prices move constantly, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number. A recommendation you cannot act on is worth less than no recommendation.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor