Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Lightweight Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026), by Weight

Of the bikes we list on Amazon that publish a weight, the lightest is the Gotrax Nano, a 31 lb 14-inch folder ($379.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) with a 15.5 mph assist cap and a small battery good for about 12 to 15 miles. If you want a 20 mph throttle, the Bodywel 14"...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

6.5/10
Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-Bike

Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-Bike

$379.99

Price as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT · subject to change

Lightest published weight at 31 lb, and the only in-stock bike we list under 40 lb...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Compare the picks

Best Lightweight Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026), by Weight: US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-Bike
$379.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 116 mph250 W230 Wh220 lb31 lbFolding
#2Bodywel 14" Mini Foldable Electric Bike
$199.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph400 W360 Wh220 lb45 lbFolding
#3Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
$659.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph350 W374 Wh250 lb48 lbFolding
#4Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter
$199as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W360 Wh330 lb50 lbStandard
#5Gotrax Dolphin 26" Step-Through Commuter
$549.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph350 W281 Wh264 lb50 lbStep-through
#6Vivi MT26GUL 26" Step-Through Electric Commuter Bike
$369.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W374 Wh300 lb50 lbStep-through
#7RPINT Mini 14
$199as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Gotrax Nano 14" Mini Folding E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Lightest published weight at 31 lb, and the only in-stock bike we list under 40 lb that publishes a weight. A 14-inch folder that folds to about 30 x 14 x 22 inches, with a 250 W rated motor and pedal assist capped at 15.5 mph (25 km/h), well inside the US Class 1 limit. The trade is range and comfort: Gotrax publishes no battery size, our review estimates about 230 Wh and 12 to 15 miles, there is no suspension, and the frame suits riders of about 5 ft 0 in to 5 ft 7 in. US support through Gotrax.

Bodywel 14" Mini Foldable Electric Bike
AmazonSave $79
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Lightest in-stock bike with a 20 mph throttle that publishes a weight, at 45 lb. A Class 2 14-inch folder with a 400 W peak motor, a removable 360 Wh battery and a fold to about 28 x 22 x 14 inches, and its review rates it light enough for most adults to carry up a flight of stairs. Amazon reviewers cluster around 17 to 21 miles. The trades: single speed, no suspension, twitchy 14-inch wheels at 20 mph, a 220 lb payload that includes the bike, and no UL claim recorded in its review.

Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Lightest 20-inch folder that publishes a weight, at 48 lb, and #14 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026). A 350 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed Shimano gearing (some runs ship with 6), lights, a rack platform and a fold to about 34 x 17 x 26 inches that fits a sedan trunk. The 374 Wh pack means about 20 miles, not the 40 claimed. No front suspension and mechanical brakes. Sold at Amazon, Target, Walmart and Best Buy with US phone support.

Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Joint-lightest full-size bike with a 20 mph cap that publishes a weight, at 49.6 lb on its live listing, and #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026); the 48 lb Qlife Racer is lighter but sold at 22 mph with a throttle. A 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed Shimano gearing and a 330 lb payload, the highest of the seven picks. The 360 Wh battery means about 16 miles against the 25 to 40 claimed, and its UL 2849 claim names no certifier. Amazon showed it as low in stock at our October 2026 check.

Gotrax Dolphin 26" Step-Through Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for seniors: the lightest in-stock step-through we list that publishes a weight, at 49.6 lb (GoEBikeLife's figure, as recorded in our review). A 26-inch frame with a throttle, five assist levels, walk assist, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 7-speed drivetrain and a fit range of 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 4 in, from a US brand with phone support. The 280.8 Wh battery is the smallest published battery among the picks (only the Nano's estimated 230 Wh is smaller), so plan on 10 to 15 miles. UL 2849 is reported by GoEBikeLife; check the listing photos.

Vivi MT26GUL 26" Step-Through Electric Commuter Bike
AmazonSave $36
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The lightest in-stock bike we list whose UL claim names a lab, at 50 lb: SGS certifies it to UL 2849. A 26-inch step-through with a 500 W rated motor, cruise control, 7-speed Shimano gearing and a removable 374 Wh battery (about 5 lb) good for about 20 miles, not the 50 claimed. Its review records the top speed as 20 to 21.7 mph with a throttle, and over 20 is outside Class 2, so confirm the limit before riding where class matters. Fits about 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 1 in.

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #77.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Most battery for the weight of the seven picks: 480 Wh on a 55 lb bike, 8.7 Wh per pound, good for about 20 to 28 miles. It also has the strongest paperwork here, UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named for both, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and a 700 to 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line. #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026). The trade is the weight itself, which its review calls awkward for two flights of stairs every day, plus front-only suspension on 14-inch wheels.

TL;DR: seven picks, lightest first

  1. Gotrax Nano, $379.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Lightest published weight, at 31 lb, and the only in-stock bike we list under 40 lb that publishes a weight. A 14-inch folder with a 250 W rated motor and pedal assist that stops at 15.5 mph. The trade is range: about 12 to 15 miles from a battery our review estimates at 230 Wh.
  2. Bodywel 14" Mini, $199.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Lightest in-stock bike with a 20 mph throttle that publishes a weight, at 45 lb. A Class 2 folder with a 360 Wh removable battery that folds to about 28 x 22 x 14 inches. Its 220 lb payload includes the bike.
  3. Gotrax R1, $659.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Lightest 20-inch folder that publishes a weight, at 48 lb. Class 2, 7 speeds, a 374 Wh pack good for about 20 miles, and US phone support. #14 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026).
  4. Jasion EB5, $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Joint-lightest full-size bike with a 20 mph cap that publishes a weight, at 49.6 lb on its listing. A 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap, 7 speeds and a 330 lb payload, the highest of the seven. #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026).
  5. Gotrax Dolphin, $549.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Best for seniors, at 49.6 lb (GoEBikeLife's figure). A 26-inch step-through with a throttle, walk assist, a 20 mph cap and a fit range of 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 4 in. Its 281 Wh battery means 10 to 15 miles.
  6. Vivi MT26GUL, $369.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Lightest in-stock bike with a named lab behind its UL claim, at 50 lb: SGS certifies it to UL 2849. A 26-inch step-through with cruise control and a 374 Wh pack good for about 20 miles. Confirm its 20 mph limit before you ride (see below).
  7. RPINT Mini 14, $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Most battery for the weight of the seven picks, at 55 lb. A 480 Wh pack good for 20 to 28 miles, and both UL 2271 and UL 2849 with SGS named, on a 14-inch Class 2 folder. #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026).

The seven, side by side

Bike Stated weight Battery Plan on Top speed, class Price (last check)
Gotrax Nano 31 lb about 230 Wh (our estimate) 12 to 15 mi 15.5 mph, Class 1 $379.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
Bodywel 14" Mini 45 lb 360 Wh 17 to 21 mi (owner reports) 20 mph, Class 2 $199.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
Gotrax R1 48 lb 374 Wh about 20 mi 20 mph, Class 2 $659.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
Jasion EB5 49.6 lb 360 Wh 14 to 20 mi 20 mph, Class 2 $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
Gotrax Dolphin 49.6 lb (GoEBikeLife) 281 Wh 10 to 15 mi 20 mph, Class 2 $549.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
Vivi MT26GUL 50 lb 374 Wh about 20 mi 20 to 21.7 mph, confirm $369.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)
RPINT Mini 14 55 lb 480 Wh 20 to 28 mi 20 mph, Class 2 $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change)

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only. Every pick was in stock on its live Amazon listing at our October 2026 check, and every pick has a full review on this site. We have not ridden or weighed any of these bikes. Each weight is the figure recorded in the bike's own review, taken from its Amazon listing or the maker's spec sheet. Two figures come from elsewhere: the Jasion EB5's 49.6 lb is from its live Amazon listing, checked October 2026 (its review rounds it to 50 lb), and the Gotrax Dolphin's 49.6 lb comes from GoEBikeLife's review, which we note at its pick. A bike that publishes no weight is not ranked. Bikes sold at 22 mph with a throttle are left out of the picks; the Vivi MT26GUL, whose review records 20 to 21.7 mph, stays in with a warning to confirm its limit. Picks are ordered by stated weight, lightest first; at a tie, a weight from the bike's own listing goes ahead of a third-party figure. Range figures are the review's planning figure or the battery's watt-hours divided by a realistic 15 to 25 Wh per mile. Amazon prices move daily, so the buy buttons always fetch the live number.

How we picked

Weight is the one spec on an e-bike listing that most buyers can test against their own life: the stairs up to the apartment, the trunk of the car, the rack on the back. So this page ranks on it and nothing else, lightest first. Four rules decide which bikes get a place.

  1. The weight has to be published. Every figure here is the one recorded in the bike's own review on this site, taken from its Amazon listing or the maker's spec sheet. Two exceptions: the Jasion EB5's 49.6 lb is from its live Amazon listing, checked October 2026 (its review rounds it to 50 lb), and the Gotrax Dolphin's 49.6 lb comes from GoEBikeLife's review, which we note at its pick. A bike that publishes no weight cannot be ranked, however light it looks.
  2. It has to fit a legal class on its own numbers. Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle and still stops at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph. The federal definition in 15 U.S.C. 2085 is written around a 750 W rated motor and 20 mph on motor power alone, and a peak figure is not a rated one. A bike whose throttle takes it past 20 mph fits no class, so the two light bikes sold at 22 mph with a throttle are left out below. The Vivi MT26GUL, whose review records 20 to 21.7 mph, stays as a pick with a warning to confirm its limit.
  3. The range has to survive division. Divide the battery's watt-hours by a realistic 15 to 25 Wh per mile. Light bikes save weight in the battery first, so this is where the cost of a low number shows up.
  4. It has to be buyable. Amazon US only, in stock at our October 2026 check, with a full review on this site.

Where two bikes weigh the same, the one whose figure comes from its own listing goes first. We have not ridden or weighed any of these bikes: every figure is the seller's claim, a figure from a named review, or our arithmetic on it.

Which lightweight electric bike should you buy?

1. Gotrax Nano (31 lb): lightest published weight

The Gotrax Nano weighs 31 lb, the lowest weight any in-stock bike in our Amazon catalogue publishes, and costs $379.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a 14-inch folder that collapses on a single hinge to about 30 x 14 x 22 inches, small enough to slide under a desk or a transit-system bench, and its review calls 31 lb "genuinely manageable" for the carry up the stairs. Gotrax built it to European rules: a 250 W rated motor with about 30 Nm of torque, and pedal assist that stops at 15.5 mph (25 km/h), well inside the 20 mph US Class 1 limit. It is sold through Amazon, Target, Walmart and Best Buy, with a Dallas-based service team behind it.

Everything that makes it light also limits it. Gotrax does not publish the battery size; our review estimates about 230 Wh from the 25-mile claim and plans on 12 to 15 miles at mid assist. There is no suspension at all, and the 250 W motor is the smallest class sold as an e-bike, so hills are mostly your legs. The frame suits riders of about 5 ft 0 in to 5 ft 7 in (the seatpost tops out near 33 inches of saddle height), and the review steers riders over about 175 lb elsewhere. The warranty is 1 year on the motor and battery and 90 days on other parts. Buy it when the carry matters more than the ride: a walk-up apartment, a train connection, a campus. Read the full Gotrax Nano review.

2. Bodywel 14" Mini (45 lb): lightest bike with a 20 mph throttle

The Bodywel 14" Mini weighs 45 lb and is the lightest bike on this page with a throttle and a 20 mph cap, a Class 2 e-bike for $199.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It runs a 400 W peak rear hub (the listing gives no rated figure, and a 400 W peak cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line), a removable 36 V x 10 Ah (360 Wh) battery, 14-inch tires and mechanical disc brakes, and it folds at the frame and the stem to about 28 x 22 x 14 inches. Its review rates 45 lb as light enough for most adults to lift into a car trunk or carry up a flight of stairs.

The 14 lb it adds over the Nano buys 4.5 mph and a bigger battery. Amazon reviewers cluster around 17 to 21 miles at pedal-assist levels 2 and 3, which works out at about 17 to 21 Wh per mile and holds up. The trades are a single-speed drivetrain that makes climbs over about 5% slow work, no suspension anywhere, and 14-inch wheels that feel twitchy at 20 mph. Watch the payload: 220 lb includes the 45 lb bike, which leaves about 175 lb for the rider. Its review records no UL 2271 or UL 2849 claim. Buy it for the last two to five miles of a car or train commute. Read the full Bodywel 14" Mini review.

3. Gotrax R1 (48 lb): lightest 20-inch folder

The Gotrax R1 weighs 48 lb, the lightest 20-inch folder we list that publishes a weight, and costs $659.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change); it is #14 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026). Bigger wheels than the two 14-inch picks above mean steadier handling at 20 mph, and the R1 adds a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain (some production runs ship with 6 speeds, so check the listing), front and rear lights and a rear rack platform. The motor is a 350 W rated (500 W peak) rear hub with 40 Nm, the cap is 20 mph with a throttle, which is Class 2, and the single-hinge fold comes down to about 34 x 17 x 26 inches, which fits a sedan trunk.

Its review describes 48 lb as carryable up one flight of stairs by a moderately strong adult and awkward for three. Gotrax claims 40 miles from the 374 Wh pack at the lowest assist level, which would need 9.4 Wh per mile, so plan on about 20. There is no front suspension, the brakes are mechanical discs, and the cadence sensor and 350 W motor leave you working on grades of 5% or more. What the R1 has over the import brands here is the support path: it is stocked at Amazon, Target, Walmart and Best Buy, with US phone support and parts sold by Gotrax direct. The warranty is 1 year on motor and battery and 90 days on components. Read the full Gotrax R1 review.

4. Jasion EB5 (49.6 lb): lightest full-size bike with a 20 mph cap

The Jasion EB5 weighs 49.6 lb on its live listing and is the lightest full-size 26-inch bike with a 20 mph cap that we list (tied with two others), for $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The 48 lb Qlife Racer is lighter, but it is sold at 22 mph with a throttle. It is #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026) and had 2,283 reviews averaging 4.1 stars when we reviewed it in May 2026. It is a conventional hardtail with a front suspension fork, 7-speed Shimano gearing and mechanical disc brakes, and Jasion states a 500 W rated motor (1000 W peak, 65 Nm) and a 20 mph cap, a Class 2 e-bike on its own numbers. Its 330 lb payload is the highest of the seven picks. Amazon showed it as low in stock at our October 2026 check.

Light for a full-size bike still means a small battery: 36 V x 10 Ah, 360 Wh. Jasion claims 25 to 40 miles, and 40 miles from 360 Wh needs 9 Wh per mile, so our review plans on 14 to 20, about 16. The listing claims UL 2849 and names no certifier, so ask for the certificate through Amazon if your building requires one. The warranty is 1 year on the motor and battery and 6 months on the frame. Buy it if you want a bike that looks like a normal bicycle and weighs within 2 lb of the 20-inch folder above. Read the full Jasion EB5 review.

5. Gotrax Dolphin (49.6 lb): best for seniors

The Gotrax Dolphin weighs 49.6 lb, a figure our review takes from GoEBikeLife's review rather than the listing, and is the lightest in-stock step-through in our catalogue that publishes a weight, for $549.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). The low frame means no leg swing over a top tube, and the rest of the bike points at the same rider: a throttle for pulling away from a stop, five pedal-assist levels, a walk-assist mode of about 3.7 mph that GoEBikeLife's reviewer singled out, a front suspension fork, a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain, and an adjustable stem that fits riders from 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 4 in, rated for riders up to 264 lb. The 350 W rated (500 W peak) motor and 20 mph cap make it Class 2. It is #20 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (October 2026) and the top pick in our seniors guide.

The cost of the light frame is the smallest published battery among the picks, 280.8 Wh (only the Nano's estimated 230 Wh is smaller). Gotrax claims 30 miles at the lowest assist and about 15.5 on the throttle alone, and our review plans on 10 to 15 real miles. The pack comes out to charge, and at about 6 lb it is far easier to carry indoors than the bike. The brakes are mechanical discs, and the box has no rack or fenders. UL 2849 certification is reported by GoEBikeLife, so check for the mark on the current listing photos if your building asks. Gotrax backs it with 365-day parts assurance and US phone support. Read the full Gotrax Dolphin review.

6. Vivi MT26GUL (50 lb): lightest in-stock bike with a named-lab UL claim

The Vivi MT26GUL weighs 50 lb and is the lightest in-stock bike we list whose UL claim names a lab: it is certified to UL 2849 by SGS, for $369.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). Like the Dolphin it is a 26-inch step-through, here with a 500 W rated (750 W peak) rear hub, a removable 48 V x 7.8 Ah (374 Wh) battery on a key lock, 7-speed Shimano gearing, mechanical disc brakes, a front fork and cruise control, which holds your speed without a thumb on the throttle. Vivi fits riders from about 5 ft 1 in to 6 ft 1 in, and the payload is 300 lb.

Two things to check. Its review records the top speed as 20 to 21.7 mph with a throttle, and anything over 20 mph on the throttle is outside Class 2, so confirm the limit on the display or with Vivi before riding where class matters. And Vivi claims 50 miles at the lowest assist; at a typical 15 to 20 Wh per mile, 374 Wh gives 19 to 25 miles, so plan on about 20. The battery itself weighs about 5 lb, which is what you carry upstairs to charge. A named lab matters because NYC Local Law 39 requires e-bikes sold, leased or rented in New York City to be certified to UL 2849, and many apartment buildings ask for the same paperwork before indoor charging. Read the full Vivi MT26GUL review.

7. RPINT Mini 14 (55 lb): most battery for the weight of the seven picks

The RPINT Mini 14 weighs 55 lb, the most of the seven, and earns its place with the most battery for its weight of the seven picks, 480 Wh, plus the strongest paperwork here, for $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike with SGS named as the lab for both, states a 20 mph cap with a throttle (Class 2), and is #3 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (October 2026). Its motor is sold as 740 W peak in the title and 700 W peak in the bullets, with no rated figure, and a motor's rated output cannot exceed its peak, so it sits under the 750 W federal line.

The 480 Wh pack (48 V x 10 Ah) comes with a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim that works out at about 19 Wh per mile, which is realistic; plan on 20 to 28 miles. That is roughly double the Nano's estimated battery for 24 lb more bike. The weight is its own review's main warning: 55 lb is fine for a car trunk or a train, genuinely awkward for two flights of stairs every day, and the folded dimensions are not published. The frame is high-carbon steel with front suspension only, on 14-inch wheels with 3 speeds and a 260 lb payload. Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review.

Are there e-bikes under 30, 40 or 50 pounds?

Under 30 lb: none that publishes a weight. The lightest bike in our Amazon catalogue that publishes a weight is the Gotrax Nano at 31 lb. The carbon-frame Eahora Urace is sold as lightweight, but its listing gives no weight at all, so it cannot be placed. Sub-30 lb e-bikes do exist, but the ones other review sites rank use carbon-fiber frames and small batteries, cost over $1,000, and are mostly sold direct by their makers.

Under 40 lb: one in-stock bike that publishes a weight. The Gotrax Nano is the only in-stock bike we list with a published weight below 40 lb. The next lightest, the Bodywel 14" Mini, is 45 lb.

Under 50 lb: seven in-stock bikes that publish a weight, and six of them fit a legal class. In weight order: the Gotrax Nano (31 lb), the Bodywel 14" Mini (45 lb), the Gotrax R1 (48 lb), the Qlife Racer (48 lb), and three bikes at 49.6 lb: the Jasion EB5, the Gotrax Dolphin and the HopCycle EB3L. The Qlife Racer is sold at 22 mph with a throttle, which puts it outside Class 2 (more below). The Vivi MT26GUL sits just over the line at 50 lb.

What makes an e-bike heavy?

Four things: the battery, the frame, the wheels and suspension, and the motor. You can see all four inside one format, because the 14-inch folders we review run from 31 lb to 62 lb:

  • Gotrax Nano, 31 lb: about 230 Wh (estimated), 250 W rated motor, no suspension.
  • Bodywel 14" Mini, 45 lb: 360 Wh, 400 W peak motor, no suspension.
  • RPINT Mini 14, 55 lb: 480 Wh, 700 to 740 W peak motor, high-carbon steel frame with a suspension fork.
  • HLOIE Folding 14, 62 lb: 576 Wh, 750 W peak motor.

The battery. More watt-hours means more cells, and a bike built around a bigger battery usually gets a sturdier frame and a bigger motor to match, so total weight climbs faster than the pack alone. The pack itself is lighter than most people expect: our reviews put a removable 281 to 374 Wh pack at 5 to 7 lb. Fat-tire bikes with 720 Wh packs are a different class of heavy. The TST City Commuter lists 66 lb with a 720 Wh battery, front and rear suspension and 20 x 4 inch tires.

The frame. Aluminum is lighter than steel for the same job. The Vivi 20-inch folder's review notes a 6061 aluminum frame where most folders near its price use heavier mild steel, and the RPINT Mini 14, built on high-carbon steel, lands at 55 lb on 14-inch wheels.

Wheels, tires and suspension. The three lightest picks have no suspension at all, and none of the seven runs fat tires. The Dolphin's review puts many budget fat-tire bikes at 65 to 77 lb.

The motor. Bigger hub motors weigh more. The Nano's review credits its 250 W motor and small battery for cutting both weight and price; the other picks run 350 to 500 W rated, or up to 740 W peak.

Does a lighter e-bike mean less range?

Usually, yes, because the battery is the first place a light bike saves weight. Every pick under 50 lb carries 374 Wh or less, and the pick with the most range, the RPINT Mini 14, is also the heaviest. One fair comparison is watt-hours of battery per pound of bike, from the figures above:

Bike Battery / weight Wh per lb
RPINT Mini 14 480 Wh / 55 lb 8.7
Bodywel 14" Mini 360 Wh / 45 lb 8.0
Gotrax R1 374 Wh / 48 lb 7.8
Vivi MT26GUL 374 Wh / 50 lb 7.5
Gotrax Nano about 230 Wh (estimated) / 31 lb about 7.4
Jasion EB5 360 Wh / 49.6 lb 7.3
Gotrax Dolphin 280.8 Wh / 49.6 lb 5.7

By that measure the RPINT and the Bodywel give up the least range for their weight, and the Dolphin carries the least battery for its weight. To turn watt-hours into miles, divide by 15 to 25 Wh per mile: about 230 Wh is roughly 9 to 15 miles, 360 to 374 Wh roughly 14 to 25, and 480 Wh roughly 19 to 32. Each pick above gives its own review's planning figure. Our range guide and range calculator run the same arithmetic for your route.

How heavy an e-bike can you carry up stairs or lift onto a car rack?

The reviews of these bikes draw the line in about the same place: 31 lb is an easy carry, 45 to 48 lb is one flight of stairs, and 52 to 55 lb is awkward any further up. Weight by weight:

  • 31 lb (Gotrax Nano): "genuinely manageable" for the carry up the stairs.
  • 45 lb (Bodywel 14" Mini): light enough for most adults to lift into a car trunk or carry up a flight of stairs.
  • 48 lb (Gotrax R1): carryable up one flight by a moderately strong adult, awkward for three.
  • 52 lb (Vivi H7UL): impractical to carry up more than one flight.
  • 55 lb (RPINT Mini 14, Vivi 26-inch folder): fine for a car trunk or a train, awkward or tiring for two flights every day.

Take the battery out first. Most of these packs lift out of the frame, and our reviews put a 281 to 374 Wh pack at 5 to 7 lb. The Vivi 20-inch folder's review is the only one in this group that gives both weights: 55 lb with the battery, 48 lb without. Every other weight in this list is a single number; assume it includes the pack.

Check your rack's per-bike rating. Trunk-mounted and hanging hitch racks built for pedal bikes are often rated around 35 lb per bike, which is less than every bike on this page except the Nano. Platform hitch racks sold for e-bikes are commonly rated for 60 lb or more per bike. Look up your rack's figure before you buy, and remember that a platform tray still means lifting the whole bike to bumper height. A folder can skip the rack: the Bodywel folds small enough for most car trunks, the R1 fits a sedan trunk upright, and the Vivi 26-inch folder lies diagonally across one.

What is the best lightweight electric bike for seniors?

For most older riders the Gotrax Dolphin is the pick: a 49.6 lb 26-inch step-through with a throttle for pulling away from a stop, a walk-assist mode, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a fit range of 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 4 in, and a US brand with phone support behind it. The Vivi MT26GUL is the alternative at 50 lb, with cruise control, a bigger 374 Wh battery and SGS-certified UL 2849, once you have confirmed its 20 mph limit. Both frames let you stand at a stop with both feet down instead of swinging a leg over a crossbar, and both batteries lift out (about 5 to 6 lb), so the frame is lighter for the lift onto a rack.

Three more options suit particular riders. The HopCycle EB3L is 49.6 lb with five speed caps at 10, 12, 15, 18 and 20 mph, and its review suggests the 10 and 12 mph modes for a nervous first ride; it is a hardtail, not a step-through. The Razor Rambler 16 is a 56 lb step-through from a household-name brand, capped at 15.5 mph on 16-inch wheels. And if balance worries you more than weight, look at three wheels: Best Electric Trikes for Adults. The full ranking for this reader, trikes included, is Best Electric Bikes for Seniors. Talk to your doctor about balance and fitness before buying any bike.

What is the lightest folding electric bike?

The Gotrax Nano is the lightest folding e-bike we list that publishes a weight, at 31 lb, and it folds to about 30 x 14 x 22 inches. Five more in-stock folders at 55 lb or less publish a weight:

Folder Stated weight Wheels Folded size Top speed
Gotrax Nano 31 lb 14 in 30 x 14 x 22 in 15.5 mph
Bodywel 14" Mini 45 lb 14 in 28 x 22 x 14 in 20 mph
Gotrax R1 48 lb 20 in 34 x 17 x 26 in 20 mph
RPINT Mini 14 55 lb 14 in not published 20 mph
Vivi 20-inch Folding 55 lb (48 lb without battery) 20 in 32 x 17 x 27 in 20 mph
Vivi 26-inch Folding 55 lb 26 in 36 x 17 x 28 in 20 mph

Wheel size is the real choice. A 14-inch folder packs smallest and lifts easiest, and it is twitchy at 20 mph and harsh over potholes. A 20-inch folder like the R1 handles more like a full-size bike in exchange for a bigger fold, and the Vivi 26-inch folder rides like a normal mountain bike once open, with 21 speeds, at the cost of the tallest fold here. For the full folding ranking, with certification and range, see Best Folding Electric Bikes Under $1,000.

Which light e-bikes did we leave out?

Qlife Racer, 48 lb. On weight alone it would tie the Gotrax R1 for third, and it is a 21-speed aluminum mountain bike with a 750 W rated motor. Qlife sells it with a throttle and a 22 mph top speed, unlockable to 25, and the listing does not say which mode reaches 22. If the throttle does, it fits no US e-bike class and can be treated as a moped or motor vehicle on public roads; if only pedal assist does, it is a Class 3 bike that several states restrict. Its review names no lab for its UL 2849 claim.

Vivi H7UL, 52 lb. A 27.5-inch hardtail with 21 speeds, a 499 Wh battery and UL 2849 certified by SGS, it would otherwise sit between the MT26GUL and the RPINT. Its review records a 22 mph top speed beside a thumb throttle without saying which mode reaches 22, so its class cannot be read from its review. Ask Vivi to confirm a 20 mph throttle limit before riding where class matters.

Bikes that publish no weight. Several popular light-looking bikes, including the Askmy Mini 14, the Furider 14, the HQYEX Mini 14 and the DTTZH A12, publish no weight at all, so they cannot be ranked here. If weight decides your purchase, ask the seller through the listing before you buy.

Where to look next

Most light bikes here are also cheap: the Bodywel 14" Mini, Jasion EB5, RPINT Mini 14 and HopCycle EB3L all sat under $300 at our October 2026 check, and Best Electric Bikes Under $300 ranks that bracket on safety paperwork instead of weight. Best Electric Bikes Under $500 is the next rung up. For folders of every size, see Best Folding Electric Bikes Under $1,000; for older riders, Best Electric Bikes for Seniors; for indoor charging, the UL-certified shortlist. The class explainer covers why rated and peak wattage are different numbers, and our state-by-state law pages show where each class may ride. If weight is not the deciding spec, start with Best Budget Electric Bikes or Best Commuter Electric Bikes.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • HopCycle EB3L product photo

    HopCycle EB3L

    $299.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    Ties the Jasion EB5 at 49.6 lb, for $299.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), and is one of the few Amazon listings to state a 750 W rated motor, with five selectable caps at 10, 12, 15, 18 and 20 mph, the lowest two suited to a nervous first ride. It is a mention because no UL standard is documented, its listing contradicts itself on peak power, maximum load (264 or 330 lb) and warranty (180 days or 12 months), and it never mentions a throttle, so it is Class 1 or Class 2 depending on what arrives. The 374 Wh pack means about 20 miles, not the 55 or 80 claimed.

  • Vivi 20" 500W Folding Electric Bike product photo

    Vivi 20" 500W Folding Electric Bike

    $479.95as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    The only bike with a card here whose review gives two weights: 55 lb with the battery and 48 lb with it removed, for $479.95 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). A 20-inch 6061 aluminum folder with a 500 W rated motor, a 374 Wh pack, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a fold to 32 x 17 x 27 inches; its review records UL 2849 and UL 2271 claims with no lab named. It is a mention because the review's 30 to 35 mile owner reports would need about 11 to 12.5 Wh per mile, so by our arithmetic plan on about 20 (its review says 25), and the 285 lb payload and 6 ft 1 in fit limit rule out larger riders.

  • Vivi 26" Folding Mountain Electric Bike product photo

    Vivi 26" Folding Mountain Electric Bike

    $441.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    A 26-inch folder at 55 lb, for $441.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), with a 21-speed Shimano drivetrain, a front spring fork, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 374 Wh pack and a 330 lb payload, the highest of any folder here. It folds to 36 x 17 x 28 inches, which lies diagonally across a sedan trunk rather than standing upright, and its review calls 55 lb tiring for two flights of stairs. Owner reports cluster at 18 to 25 miles; plan on about 20. No UL claim is recorded in its review. For riders over about 5 ft 8 in who find small-wheel folders cramped.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    Razor Rambler 16

    $588.99as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT

    A 56 lb step-through on 16-inch wheels, for $588.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), from Razor, with a throttle and pedal assist both capped at 15.5 mph, which keeps it inside Class 2 with room to spare. Its 350 W motor and 360 Wh battery give about 12 miles by Razor's own figure (10 to 14 in Amazon reviews), on a single gear with no suspension and a 220 lb payload. It is a mention because it is the heaviest bike with a card on this page and does not fold; the case for it is the Razor name, front and rear lights and US-based service.

Frequently asked questions

What is the lightest electric bike?

The Gotrax Nano is the lightest electric bike we list on Amazon that publishes a weight, at 31 lb for $379.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change). It is a 14-inch folder with a 250 W rated motor and pedal assist capped at 15.5 mph, and its battery, about 230 Wh by our estimate, gives roughly 12 to 15 miles. If you want a 20 mph throttle, the Bodywel 14" Mini is the lightest Class 2 bike here at 45 lb. On full-size 26-inch wheels with a 20 mph cap, the Jasion EB5 is 49.6 lb. Every weight is a published figure; we have not weighed the bikes.

Are there any e-bikes that weigh less than 30 pounds?

Not among the bikes we list on Amazon that publish a weight: the lightest, the Gotrax Nano, weighs 31 lb. Sub-30 lb e-bikes do exist, but the ones other review sites rank use carbon-fiber frames and small batteries, cost over $1,000 and are mostly sold direct by their makers. Under 40 lb, the Nano is our only in-stock bike with a published weight. Under 50 lb, six in-stock bikes fit a legal class: the Nano, the Bodywel 14" Mini (45 lb), the Gotrax R1 (48 lb), and the Jasion EB5, Gotrax Dolphin and HopCycle EB3L at 49.6 lb each. Lighter almost always means a smaller battery, so check the range before you buy.

What is the best lightweight electric bike for seniors?

The Gotrax Dolphin ($549.99 as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change) is the pick for most older riders: a 26-inch step-through at 49.6 lb (GoEBikeLife's figure) with a throttle for starting from a stop, a walk-assist mode, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a fit range of 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 4 in, from a US brand with phone support. Its 281 Wh battery means 10 to 15 miles. The Vivi MT26GUL at 50 lb adds cruise control, a bigger 374 Wh pack and SGS-certified UL 2849; confirm its 20 mph limit first. If balance is the worry, see our trike guide.

What is the lightest folding electric bike?

The Gotrax Nano is the lightest folding e-bike we list that publishes a weight, at 31 lb, and it folds to about 30 x 14 x 22 inches; the trade is a 15.5 mph assist cap and roughly 12 to 15 miles of range. The Bodywel 14" Mini is the lightest in-stock folder with a 20 mph throttle, at 45 lb, folding to about 28 x 22 x 14 inches. For bigger wheels, the Gotrax R1 is the lightest 20-inch folder that publishes a weight, at 48 lb, with 7 speeds. Our folding guide ranks folders of every size on certification and range as well.

What is the lightest budget electric bike?

The Bodywel 14" Mini is the lightest bike we list under $300 that publishes a weight, at 45 lb for $199.99 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change): a Class 2 folder with a 20 mph throttle and a 360 Wh battery. The Jasion EB5, at $199 (as of Oct 4, 2:10 PM EDT, subject to change), ties the HopCycle EB3L as the lightest full-size bike with a 20 mph cap in the same bracket, at 49.6 lb, with 7 speeds, a 500 W rated motor and a 330 lb payload. The RPINT Mini 14, also under $300 at our check, weighs 55 lb and in return carries a 480 Wh pack and both UL standards with SGS named. Prices move daily, so check the live figure on each button.

Do lightweight e-bikes have less range?

Usually, yes: the Gotrax Nano gets to 31 lb with a small motor and a battery of about 230 Wh by our estimate, which means 12 to 15 miles at mid assist. The RPINT Mini 14 weighs 55 lb and carries 480 Wh, good for about 20 to 28 miles. Every pick under 50 lb carries 374 Wh or less. A fair comparison is watt-hours per pound of bike: the RPINT carries 8.7, the Bodywel 14" Mini 8.0 and the Gotrax Dolphin 5.7. To turn watt-hours into miles, divide by a realistic 15 to 25 Wh per mile.

How much does an electric bike weigh?

Under about 50 lb is light for an e-bike: the Jasion EB5, a full-size 26-inch hardtail, weighs 49.6 lb, and only the Gotrax Nano comes in under 40 lb among the in-stock bikes we list that publish a weight. Bigger batteries weigh more: the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 is 62 lb and the TST City Commuter, with a 720 Wh pack and fat tires, 66 lb. A 281 to 374 Wh battery is about 5 to 7 lb of the total and a 624 Wh pack about 10 lb (the Heybike Mars 3.0 drops from 75 to 65 lb without it), so lift it out before any carry.

What is the lightest electric bike for women or shorter riders?

For a shorter rider, the Gotrax Nano is the lightest bike we list that publishes a weight, at 31 lb, and its review sizes it for riders of about 5 ft 0 in to 5 ft 7 in. Fit comes down to height and frame shape rather than gender. If you want a step-through frame you can stand over with both feet down, the Vivi MT26GUL (50 lb) fits from about 5 ft 1 in and the Gotrax Dolphin (49.6 lb) from 5 ft 2 in. The Bodywel 14" Mini (45 lb) lists 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 1 in. If you are under 5 ft, check the minimum seat height on the listing.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor