Review · FLIWIN
mountain7.1/10FLIWIN Fat 20
Spec-verified against the manufacturer listing

Our verdict
The FLIWIN Fat 20 was #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes on October 28, 2026, a moped-style 20-inch fat bike with a 960 Wh removable battery, a 2000 W peak motor and front and rear suspension for $498 (as of Oct 30, 8:10 AM EDT, subject to change). It ships limited to 20 mph, but the listing publishes no rated wattage and openly advertises unlocking it to 34 mph, which fits no US e-bike class. Its UL claim names no lab and lists a cable-assembly standard for the battery and motor. Strong hardware for the money, thin paperwork: plan on about 38 miles a charge, not 80.
- Best for
- Riders who want a big-battery, moped-style fat bike and will keep the 20 mph limiter in place
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on links to other retailers. Full disclosure.
Free 30-day returns via Amazon
Not sold on this one? See every ranked pick in our guide to the best e-bikes under $500 on Amazon.

At a glance
Run this in our range calculator →The numbers
FLIWIN Fat 20 is a electric mountain bike that scores 7.1/10 on our editorial rubric, last verified on October 28, 2026. Amazon listed it at $498 as of October 30, 2026. Prices change often, so treat that as a snapshot. On Amazon it currently ranks #2 Best Seller in Electric Fat Bikes. It pairs a 960 Wh battery, good for a claimed range of up to 38 miles and assisted speeds up to 34 mph. It best suits riders who want a big-battery, moped-style fat bike and will keep the 20 mph limiter in place.
Pros
- + 48 V 20 Ah (960 Wh) removable battery, about 38 realistic miles per charge
- + Ships with a 20 mph limiter, so out of the box its speed fits the Class 2 limit
- + Front fork plus a coil rear shock visible in FLIWIN's own render, real rear suspension rather than a sprung seatpost
- + 20 x 4.0 fat tires, seven gears, and throttle, pedal-assist and pedal-only modes
- + 90% pre-assembled, 12-month warranty, support replies promised within 24 hours
Cons
- - Only a 2000 W peak figure is published; with no rated wattage, the 750 W legal limit cannot be shown on paper
- - The listing advertises unlocking to 34 mph, above Class 3 and outside the federal e-bike definition
- - UL claim names no lab or certificate, and lists UL 2238, a cable-assembly standard, for the battery, motor and controller
- - The 80-mile claim needs 12 Wh per mile from 960 Wh; plan on about 38
- - Mechanical disc brakes on a bike the listing sells as capable of 34 mph
- - No weight, payload or rider-height range published for a carbon-steel frame
Who is this for?
- Riders who want a big-battery, moped-style fat bike and will keep the 20 mph limiter in place
- Private land, farms and campgrounds where class rules do not apply
- Buyers comparing 960 Wh moped-style bikes such as the DEEPOWER QS7 and the HQYEX 20-inch
The 30-second verdict
The FLIWIN Fat 20 was #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes on October 28, 2026, and the hardware explains why. For $498 (as of Oct 30, 8:10 AM EDT, subject to change) the listing states a 2000 W peak hub motor, a 48 V 20 Ah (960 Wh) removable battery, 20 x 4.0 fat tires, front and rear suspension, seven gears and a throttle, in the moped-style frame with a bench seat and a tank-shaped battery that fills this chart. It ships with a 20 mph speed limiter, which on speed alone puts it inside Class 2. Two things stop us calling it street legal. FLIWIN publishes only a peak wattage, so nobody can show it meets the 750 W limit in 15 U.S.C. § 2085 and in state law. And the listing says the limiter can be "easily unlocked" to 34 mph with a video guide, which takes the bike outside every US e-bike class. Its UL claim lists three standards for "all core components" without naming a lab, and one of them, UL 2238, covers cable assemblies rather than batteries or motors. Plan on about 38 miles per charge, not the 80 in the listing.
If you want a big battery and real rear suspension in this format and will leave the limiter alone, it is a lot of bike for the price. If you need paperwork that proves compliance, for a building manager, an HOA or a state that enforces the class system, look at a rival that publishes a rated figure.
The full review, section by section. Tap any section to read it.
Who makes it, and which model this is
Who makes it, and which model this is
FLIWIN sells through Amazon and through its own Shopify store at fliwinebike.com, which lists four bikes: the FX20, FX20 Pro, FG10 and V800. The store's banner calls this frame the FX20: the tank-shaped battery housing, the caged round headlight, the perforated panel under the bench seat, a red coil shock behind the seat tube, a wire cage in the frame triangle and full fenders. The FX20 Pro's product card uses the same studio render, the Amazon listing names neither model, and we could not read the specification on either product page, so we cannot say which of the two this listing sells. We use a descriptive name until FLIWIN's own sheet settles it. The store was plainly unfinished when we checked on October 28, 2026: its page titles name a sister mobility-scooter brand, HAVLO, and several blocks still carry template placeholder text. That says nothing about the bike, but it means the Amazon listing is the document you are buying against. We could find no independent review of this bike.
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 street legal?
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 street legal?
The US three-class system works like this. Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle to 20 mph, and Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, usually without a throttle. Every state caps the motor at 750 W rated except Oregon, which allows 1,000 W. The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle at 15 U.S.C. § 2085 requires a motor under 750 W and a top speed under 20 mph on motor power alone.
This bike can be read two ways, and the listing describes both.
- As shipped, limited to 20 mph. The speed fits Class 2. The power does not have a number we can check: the listing gives a 2000 W peak and no rated figure. A 2000 W peak motor might be rated at 750 W, or at 1,000 W or more, and the peak figure alone cannot tell you which. That is why we leave the class field empty rather than call it Class 2. Where a compliant Class 2 bike is treated as a bicycle, New Jersey still requires registration and a license, and Hawaii requires registration.
- Unlocked, 34 mph. That is above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, with a throttle, and well past the federal 20 mph line. At that setting it is not an e-bike in any state. Most states would treat it as a moped or motor vehicle, with registration, a license and insurance to match. In California a modified e-bike that exceeds 28 mph falls outside Vehicle Code §312.5 and needs registration and an M1 or M2 license, and since 2025 CVC §24016(e), added by AB 1774, bars selling any product or device that changes an e-bike's speed beyond that definition.
The listing calls the limiter a safety measure and, in the same sentence, points you to a video that removes it. Our advice is the boring one: leave it in place for roads, bike lanes and paths. Check your state on the street-legal-by-state guide, Californians should read the California page, and the class explainer covers the rules in more depth.
How far does the FLIWIN Fat 20 go on one charge?
How far does the FLIWIN Fat 20 go on one charge?
The listing claims 40-80 miles, with the 80 in pedal-assist mode. The battery is 48 V x 20 Ah = 960 Wh. A heavy steel moped-style fat bike uses roughly 20-30 Wh per mile at legal speeds, more when ridden hard on the throttle. The arithmetic:
- 960 Wh / 80 miles = 12 Wh per mile, which is what the top of the claim needs. That is light-rider, lowest-assist, flat-ground territory.
- 960 Wh / 40 miles = 24 Wh per mile, so the bottom of the claimed range is realistic.
- 960 Wh / 25 Wh per mile = 38 miles, our planning figure for mixed assisted riding.
- 960 Wh / 40 Wh per mile = 24 miles, a fair guess for sustained throttle riding above 25 mph if you unlock it.
FLIWIN also claims a full charge in 5 hours. Putting 960 Wh back in five hours needs about 192 W, roughly a 3.5 A charger at a 48 V pack's 54.6 V charging voltage. The listing does not state the charger's output, so check the label: a 2 A charger would take closer to nine hours. Our guide to how far an e-bike can go explains what moves these numbers.
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 UL certified?
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 UL certified?
The listing says that "all core components of this electric bike for adults, including the battery pack, motor, and controller, have passed (UL 2849/2271/2238) certification". Read it closely, because the three standards do different jobs:
- UL 2849 certifies the electrical system of a complete e-bike, tested as a system. A motor or controller does not pass UL 2849 on its own.
- UL 2271 covers battery packs for light electric vehicles. It is the standard that matters most for indoor charging.
- UL 2238 is the standard for cable assemblies and fittings for industrial control and signal distribution. It does not test batteries, motors or controllers at all.
No testing lab, certificate number or file number is given on the listing. A real certification can be looked up in the certifier's public directory, and that is the step to ask FLIWIN for. If your building or city requires UL 2849 or UL 2271 before you charge indoors, get the certificate and the lab's name in writing before you buy. Our battery fire safety guide covers charging habits that matter whatever the label says.
Brakes, frame and the rest of the sheet
Brakes, frame and the rest of the sheet
The brakes are dual mechanical disc, cable-operated. That is normal at this price and adequate at 20 mph. On a bike the listing itself sells as capable of 34 mph, hydraulic discs would be the safer match, and it is one more reason to keep the limiter on. The frame is carbon steel. FLIWIN publishes no weight, no payload rating and no rider-height range. For a sense of scale, the DEEPOWER QS7, a steel moped-style bike with the same size battery, lists about 75 lbs in its manual, so do not plan on carrying this one up stairs.
The suspension is real at both ends. FLIWIN's own render shows a coil shock under the seat as well as the front fork, which is better than the sprung seatposts some "dual suspension" listings turn out to mean. Travel and damping are not stated. Riding modes are throttle only, pedal assist, and pedal only, across seven gears, with an LCD that shows speed, battery level, assist level and mileage. The bike arrives 90% pre-assembled with a video guide, and FLIWIN offers a 12-month warranty with support replies promised within 24 hours. The bench seat is long, but the listing never mentions carrying a passenger and gives no load limit, so treat it as a one-rider bike.
How it compares
How it compares
Against bikes we have already reviewed in this format:
- The HQYEX 20-inch fat tire has the same 960 Wh pack, a 1500 W peak motor and a stated 31 mph, with no rated figure either.
- The DEEPOWER QS7 is the same moped silhouette with 960 Wh, and its manual states 750 W rated, which is the disclosure this FLIWIN lacks. Its linked UL report names a different model, so neither bike wins outright on certification.
- The Jasion RetroVolt 330 carries a smaller 720 Wh pack but publishes a 330 lb payload and markets its bench for short passenger trips.
- The TST Fat 20 is a 20-inch fat bike outside the moped styling that states 750 W rated alongside its peak figure.
Our fat-tire e-bikes under $1,000 guide ranks the wider field.
Who should buy it, and who should skip
Who should buy it, and who should skip
Buy it if you want the moped look, a 960 Wh battery and real rear suspension at $498 (as of Oct 30, 8:10 AM EDT, subject to change), and you will ride with the 20 mph limiter in place, or on private land where the class rules do not reach. Skip it if you need written proof of a 750 W rated motor or a named UL certificate, if you are tempted by the 34 mph setting on public roads, or if the bike has to be carried up stairs.

Ready to buy?
See current pricing at Amazon
We update prices as the listing changes, and the final price is set by the retailer at checkout.
Frequently asked questions
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 street legal?
Not in a way you can prove. It ships limited to 20 mph, which fits the Class 2 speed limit, but the listing gives only a 2000 W peak motor figure and no rated wattage, so you cannot show it meets the 750 W limit in 15 U.S.C. § 2085 and state law. The listing also says the limiter can be unlocked to 34 mph; at that setting, with a throttle, it fits no US e-bike class and most states would treat it as a moped or motor vehicle. Keep the limiter in place and check the street-legal-by-state guide.
How fast does the FLIWIN Fat 20 go?
The listing says it ships with a 20 mph speed limiter and reaches "up to 34 MPH" once the limiter is unlocked by following a video guide. 20 mph is the Class 1 and Class 2 ceiling. 34 mph is above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, and with a throttle it is outside every US e-bike class. We have not measured either figure.
How far does the FLIWIN Fat 20 go on one charge?
Plan on about 38 miles. The battery is 48 V x 20 Ah = 960 Wh. The listing claims 40-80 miles; 80 miles needs 12 Wh per mile, which a heavy steel fat bike will not manage outside the lowest assist level on flat ground. At a realistic 25 Wh per mile, 960 Wh gives 38 miles. The 40-mile end of the claim is reachable. Ridden hard on the throttle with the limiter removed, expect nearer 24 miles.
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 UL certified?
The listing says its battery pack, motor and controller "have passed (UL 2849/2271/2238) certification", but it names no lab and gives no certificate number. UL 2849 applies to a complete e-bike electrical system rather than to single parts, UL 2271 covers battery packs, and UL 2238 is a standard for cable assemblies and fittings, not batteries or motors. If your building requires UL 2849 or UL 2271, ask FLIWIN for the certificate and the lab before buying.
Should you unlock the FLIWIN Fat 20 speed limiter?
Not if you ride on public roads, bike lanes or paths. The listing points to a video for removing the 20 mph limiter, but at 34 mph the bike is no longer an e-bike under any state's class system, so registration, licensing and insurance rules for mopeds or motor vehicles can apply. In California, a modified e-bike that exceeds 28 mph needs registration and an M1 or M2 license. The bike's mechanical disc brakes are another reason to stay at 20 mph. See our California page and the class explainer.
An e-bike this heavy is a theft target, and most bike insurance won't pay out without a rated lock.

Sportneer heavy-duty bike U-lock
Amazon's #1 best-selling U-lock. Hardened steel with a frame mount and a cable for the front wheel.

Bottom line
Is the FLIWIN Fat 20 for you?
Check the live price + availability before deciding.
If this isn't the one
8.4
mountain
ASKGO GT50
ASKGO's flagship: the only bike in its range with genuine rear suspension, 120 N.m of claimed torque, a...
Read the review 8.3
mountain
Likebike UM1
Save $50
A 20x4 fat-tyre e-bike with a 960 Wh battery, full suspension and, unusually at this price, hydraulic disc...
Read the review 8.2
mountain
ASKGO S9
The ASKGO S9 is a high-volume fat-tire e-bike that carries a 960 Wh battery, which is roughly double...
Read the review