Ebike Oracle

Review · Xathquia

mountain7.1/10

Xathquia V8 Max

By John WeeksUpdated Nov 7, 2026How we score

Spec-verified against the manufacturer listing

Xathquia V8 Max

Our verdict

7.1
/ 10

The Xathquia V8 Max is a moped-style 20-inch fat bike with a 960 Wh removable battery, a coil rear shock and a motor the listing rates at 750 W continuous (2500 W peak), for $370.49 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). That is far more battery than most bikes at this price carry, and the rated figure is a disclosure most rivals skip. The catch is the 28 mph in the title: the listing never says whether a throttle reaches it, which decides whether this is a Class 3 e-bike or no class at all. Plan on about 38 miles a charge, and on capping it at 20 mph.

Best for
Riders on gravel, sand, trails and private land who want full suspension and a 960 Wh pack on a budget

Save $30down from a typical price of $400 at Amazon

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on links to other retailers. Full disclosure.

See today's price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Not sold on this one? See every ranked pick in our guide to the best e-bikes under $400 on Amazon.

Xathquia V8 Max
Motor
750W
Battery
960Wh
Range
38mi
Top speed
28mph

The numbers

Xathquia V8 Max is a electric mountain bike that scores 7.1/10 on our editorial rubric, last verified on November 7, 2026. Amazon listed it at $370.49 as of November 7, 2026. Prices change often, so treat that as a snapshot. On Amazon it currently ranks #22 Best Seller in Electric Fat Bikes. It pairs a 750 W hub motor and a 960 Wh battery, good for a claimed range of up to 38 miles and assisted speeds up to 28 mph. It best suits riders on gravel, sand, trails and private land who want full suspension and a 960 Wh pack on a budget.

Pros

  • + States 750 W rated beside the 2500 W peak, inside the wattage limit in every state
  • + 48 V 20 Ah (960 Wh) removable battery, about 38 realistic miles per charge
  • + Real rear suspension: a coil shock at the rear wheel plus a hydraulic front fork
  • + 20 x 4.0 fat tires and keyless start by NFC card or password
  • + The 60-mile claim needs 16 Wh per mile: optimistic, but not impossible

Cons

  • - Advertises 28 mph without saying whether a throttle reaches it; if one does, it fits no US class
  • - No UL 2849 or UL 2271 claim anywhere on the listing
  • - No weight, load limit, rider-height range or warranty term stated
  • - Brake type not stated; the "hydraulic" in the listing refers to the fork
  • - A V8 MAX listing with identical bullets at over twice the price shows two bikes; buy the single
  • - No maker website and no independent review to check the listing against

Who is this for?

  • Riders on gravel, sand, trails and private land who want full suspension and a 960 Wh pack on a budget
  • Buyers who will set a 20 mph limit before riding roads, bike lanes or paths
  • Shoppers comparing 960 Wh moped-style fat bikes such as the FLIWIN Fat 20 and the DEEPOWER QS7

The 30-second verdict

The Xathquia V8 Max sells for $370.49 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), and the specification is strong for the money. The Amazon listing we read on November 7, 2026 states a 48 V 20 Ah (960 Wh) removable battery, a hub motor rated at 750 W continuous with a 2500 W peak, 20 x 4.0 fat tires, a hydraulic front fork with a coil-sprung rear shock, disc brakes front and rear, and keyless start by NFC card or password. The rated figure matters: it puts the motor inside the 750 W limit in the federal definition at 15 U.S.C. § 2085 and in every state's e-bike law. Three things hold it back. The title advertises 28 mph, and the listing never says whether a throttle reaches that speed, which is the difference between a Class 3 e-bike and a bike that fits no class. The bullets name no UL certification, no warranty term, no weight and no load limit. And the 60-mile range claim is optimistic, so plan on about 38 miles. Buy it as a lot of fat bike for the price that you will cap at 20 mph; do not buy it for the 28 mph.

We have not ridden it, and we found no independent review of it. Xathquia has no manufacturer website we could find: the brand sells through Amazon and Walmart, and Walmart carries only its 26-inch bikes. Every figure on this page is the listing's claim or our arithmetic on it.

The full review, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Which bike this is, and the listing to avoid

The listing we link names no model, but the seat panel in its main photo reads V8Max, and a second Xathquia listing with word-for-word identical bullets is titled "Xathquia V8 MAX". That second listing costs more than twice as much, and its main photo shows two bikes and two phone bags. It looks like a two-bike pack. If you want one bike, check the photo and the quantity before you pay.

It is also not the Xathquia Dirt 20, the faster sibling in the same Amazon family. That listing claims 36 mph and carries a bigger 48 V 23 Ah (1,104 Wh) pack for $529.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), and it publishes no rated wattage. OUXI sells an unrelated bike under the same V8 Max name, so check the brand on the listing too.

Is the Xathquia V8 Max street legal? The throttle decides

Most states use the three-class system. Class 1 assists to 20 mph only while you pedal. Class 2 adds a throttle, still capped at 20 mph. Class 3 assists to 28 mph, again only while you pedal, and a throttle that keeps pushing past 20 mph takes a bike out of every class. Every state caps the motor at 750 W rated, except Oregon, which allows 1,000 W.

On power, this bike passes: the first bullet says "Rated continuous power 750W". On speed, the listing leaves the question open. It says the bike "hits 28 MPH on flat terrain" and quotes its range "on pedal-assist mode", which implies another mode, but none of the five bullets mentions a throttle, and the listing photos are too small to show one on the bars. That leaves two readings:

  • Pedal assist only above 20 mph. With a 750 W rated motor, that is a Class 3 e-bike, though Xathquia never claims a class.
  • A throttle that reaches 28 mph. That is how most moped-style fat bikes at this price are sold, and it fits no class: too fast for Class 2 and outside the Class 3 definition. Many states would treat it as a moped, with registration, license and insurance questions attached.

We have not assigned a class, and you should not assume one. Seven jurisdictions do not recognize Class 3 at all today: the District of Columbia, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and South Carolina. There, 20 mph is the ceiling for anything ridden as a bicycle. North Carolina adds Class 3 on December 1, 2026.

Many controllers on bikes like this let you set a speed limit in the display menu. The listing does not say whether this one does, so ask the seller before you buy, and set 20 mph before the first ride on roads, bike lanes or paths. At 20 mph with a 750 W rated motor the bike has the Class 2 shape, which is a bicycle in most states, though New Jersey requires registration and a license for every e-bike and Hawaii requires registration. Check your state on street legal by state and path access on Class 3 laws by state. The class explainer covers the background, and our throttle versus pedal assist guide explains why the throttle is the deciding detail.

How powerful is it? 750 W rated, 2500 W peak

The title leads with 2500 W peak, a burst figure the motor reaches on hard starts and climbs. Statutes regulate the rated continuous figure, and this listing prints it: 750 W. That puts the motor exactly at the federal line and inside every state's limit. Plenty of 20-inch fat bikes on Amazon quote peak power alone, including the FLIWIN Fat 20 and the ESKUTE V300, so on this point the V8 Max discloses more than its rivals.

No torque figure is given. The listing also claims climbing on a 30% grade, a 30-foot rise every 100 feet, which is far steeper than ordinary roads. Treat it as a claim: nobody has measured it independently. The motor is a rear hub, visible in the listing photo.

How far does the Xathquia V8 Max go? The 60-mile claim, checked

The pack is 48 V x 20 Ah = 960 Wh, and it is removable. The listing claims up to 60 miles in pedal-assist mode. The arithmetic:

  • 960 Wh / 60 miles = 16 Wh per mile, which is what the claim needs. That is a light rider in low assist on flat ground: optimistic, but possible.
  • 960 Wh / 25 Wh per mile = 38 miles, our planning figure for mixed assisted riding on a heavy fat bike.
  • 960 Wh / 20 Wh per mile = 48 miles for gentle riding around 15 mph.
  • 960 Wh / 40 Wh per mile = 24 miles for sustained throttle riding near 28 mph, where air resistance climbs fast.

Charging is quoted at 5 to 6 hours. Putting 960 Wh back in that time takes roughly 160 to 190 W, about a 3 to 3.5 A charger at a 48 V pack's 54.6 V charging voltage. The listing does not state the charger's output, and a 2 A charger would take nearer nine hours, so check the label. Our range guide covers what moves these numbers.

Suspension, brakes, and what the listing leaves out

The suspension is real at both ends. The main photo shows a coil shock with a red spring running from the seat frame down to the rear wheel, so the rear wheel moves. That is not the sprung seatpost that some "full suspension" listings, such as the ASKGO S9, turn out to mean. The front fork is described as hydraulic. No travel figures are given.

Read the brake line closely. The word "hydraulic" in the listing belongs to the fork; the brakes are simply "disc brakes front and rear", with no type stated. On a bike that claims 28 mph, brakes are the part we would most want named, so ask whether they are mechanical or hydraulic.

Then there is what the five bullets leave out: no weight, no maximum load, no rider-height range, no gear count and no warranty term. For scale, the DEEPOWER QS7, a moped-style bike with the same 960 Wh battery size, lists about 75 lb in its manual, so do not plan on carrying this one up stairs. The long bench is not rated for a passenger; treat it as a one-seater. The photos show a large round headlight and a red tail light, and the main photo puts a phone app screen beside the bike, but no bullet mentions lights or an app, so do not count on the app.

Nor does the listing name UL 2849 (the complete e-bike electrical system) or UL 2271 (the battery pack) anywhere. That is a disclosure gap rather than proof of a failure, but it matters if you charge indoors, and in New York City, where Local Law 39 bans the sale of e-bikes and batteries not certified to those standards. Ask Xathquia for a certificate before you rely on one. The battery fire safety guide covers charging habits that matter whatever the label says, and our UL-certified shortlist lists bikes whose paperwork is documented.

How it compares

Against 20-inch fat bikes we already review:

  • The Xathquia Dirt 20 ($529.99 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the faster sibling: 36 mph claimed, 1,104 Wh and cruise control, but no rated wattage, and at 36 mph it is not an e-bike in any state.
  • The Pescroa Fat 20 ($439.99 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) has the same legal shape, 750 W rated and 28 mph with no throttle stated, on a smaller 720 Wh pack. It adds a 90 Nm torque figure and a UL 2849 claim that names no lab.
  • The FLIWIN Fat 20 ($498 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) carries the same 960 Wh with a coil rear shock and ships limited to 20 mph, but publishes only a peak wattage and advertises unlocking to 34 mph.
  • The ESKUTE V300 ($369.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) has a slightly bigger 998 Wh pack, a hydraulic rear brake and seven gears, but states only a 1500 W peak and "30+ mph".
  • The DEEPOWER QS7 ($679 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the one to look at if paperwork matters: 960 Wh, 750 W rated in its manual, and shipped limited to a legal speed.

Our fat-tire e-bikes under $1,000 guide ranks the wider field, and best moped-style e-bikes says which bikes in this shape are legal as sold.

Who should buy it, and who should skip

Buy the V8 Max if you want a moped-style fat bike with real rear suspension and a 960 Wh battery for $370.49 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), you ride gravel, sand, trails or private land, and you will set it to 20 mph on public roads and paths unless the seller confirms in writing that the throttle stops at 20 mph.

Skip it if you need the class printed on the listing, a named UL certificate for indoor charging, a stated warranty, or the weight and load limit before you buy. If speed is the point and the riding is off road anyway, the Dirt 20 is the faster Xathquia. If legality is the point, start from the street-legal shortlist.

Xathquia V8 Max

Ready to buy?

Save $30 at Amazon right now

We update prices as the listing changes, and the final price is set by the retailer at checkout.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Xathquia V8 Max street legal?

On power, yes: the listing states 750 W rated (2500 W peak), the limit in the federal definition at 15 U.S.C. § 2085 and in state e-bike law. On speed, it depends on something the listing does not say. It advertises 28 mph and never mentions a throttle. Pedal assist only above 20 mph would make it Class 3, which seven jurisdictions do not recognize today. A throttle that works above 20 mph puts it in no class at all, and many states would treat it as a moped. Set a 20 mph limit and check your state's rules.

How fast does the Xathquia V8 Max go?

The listing says it "hits 28 MPH on flat terrain". No independent outlet has measured it, and we have not ridden it. 28 mph is the Class 3 ceiling, which applies only to pedal assistance; Class 1 and Class 2 bikes stop assisting at 20 mph. The listing does not say whether a throttle is limited to 20 mph, so ask the seller and plan to set a 20 mph limit for roads and paths. Its sibling, the Xathquia Dirt 20, claims 36 mph, which is outside every class.

How far can the Xathquia V8 Max go on one charge?

Plan on about 38 miles. The battery is 48 V x 20 Ah = 960 Wh. The listing claims up to 60 miles in pedal-assist mode, which needs 16 Wh per mile: possible for a light rider in low assist on flat ground, not typical. At 25 Wh per mile, a fair figure for a heavy fat bike in mixed riding, 960 Wh gives 38 miles. Ridden hard on a throttle near 28 mph, expect nearer 24 miles. A full charge takes 5 to 6 hours, per the listing.

Is the Xathquia V8 Max UL certified?

The listing does not say so. None of its five bullets names UL 2849 (the complete e-bike electrical system) or UL 2271 (the battery pack), and no lab or certificate number appears. That is a disclosure gap, not proof of a failure. If your building, landlord or city requires certification for indoor charging, ask Xathquia for the certificate first, or choose from our UL-certified shortlist.

What is the difference between the Xathquia V8 Max and the Xathquia Dirt 20?

Speed, battery and the motor rating. The Dirt 20 claims 36 mph with a 1,104 Wh pack and cruise control at $529.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change); the V8 Max claims 28 mph with 960 Wh at $370.49 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), and it is the one that states a 750 W rated motor. At 36 mph the Dirt 20 is not an e-bike in any state. The V8 Max can fit a class if it is limited to 20 mph, or to pedal assist only above that. Both are 20-inch, 2500 W peak bikes with NFC and password unlock, sold in the same Amazon family.

Why is there a Xathquia V8 Max listing at more than twice the price?

It looks like two bikes. A second Xathquia listing carries the same five bullets under the title "Xathquia V8 MAX", but its main photo shows two bikes and two phone bags, and it costs more than twice as much. If you want one bike, buy the single listing, and check the photo and the quantity on any Xathquia listing before you pay.

Xathquia V8 Max
Save $30

Bottom line

Is the Xathquia V8 Max for you?

Check the live price + availability before deciding.

If this isn't the one

All reviews →