Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Street-Legal E-Bikes (2026): 5 Ranked Picks from $200

Five e-bikes that are street-legal under the US three-class framework, ranked from our scored reviews and verified in stock, from $299.99 to $899 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The Hoverfly OUREA is the best overall street-legal pick at $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change): its listing states a 20 mph...

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.4/10
Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly OUREA

$449.98Save $50

Price as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT · subject to change

The by-the-book answer to this page's question, at $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT,...

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Compare the picks

Best Street-Legal E-Bikes (2026): 5 Ranked Picks from $200: US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Hoverfly OUREA
$449.98as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStandard
#2TST City Commuter
$569.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh450 lb66 lbStandard
#5Heybike Cityscape 2.0
$609as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1200 W468 Wh330 lb62 lbStep-through
#3Bodywel 14" Mini Foldable Electric Bike
$299.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph400 W360 Wh220 lb45 lbFolding
#4Funhang Fat 26
$459.99as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph500 W624 Wh330 lbNot statedStandard
#6Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike
$899as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph750 W720 Wh330 lb76 lbStandard
#7Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
$593.98as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph350 W374 Wh250 lb48 lbFolding

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Hoverfly OUREA
AmazonSave $50
Pick #17.4/10

Hoverfly OUREA

Hoverfly
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The by-the-book answer to this page's question, at $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change): a stated 20 mph cap and a single 750 W motor figure — a textbook Class 2 that fits every state's e-bike definition — plus UL 2849 certification. What earns it this slot is what the listing does not do: it advertises one wattage and one speed, with no faster configuration marketed alongside. The listing calls the 750 W a peak figure, and that is the point — 750 W is the federal ceiling, so even read as peak this bike has no setting that puts it outside Class 2. There is nothing here for an officer or an HOA to argue with and nothing you need to configure before your first ride. The seller splits its range claim by mode, 20 miles on throttle and 40 on pedal-assist, and both survive the arithmetic on a 374 Wh pack; a 365-day warranty is four times the norm at this price. The honest trade is capacity — this is a sub-10-mile commuter, not a long-haul bike. Read the full Hoverfly OUREA review.

TST City Commuter
AmazonSave $30
Pick #28.0/10

TST City Commuter

TST
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The one other buyers actually choose, at $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change)one of Amazon's best-selling electric bikes, and comfortably the most-bought bike on this page. The hardware is a lot for the money: a 750 W rated hub motor (the figure the statutes regulate, and TST does publish it), a 720 Wh removable battery stated as 48 V x 15 Ah, front and rear suspension and 7-speed gearing. Read the listing carefully before you buy it as a Class 2: TST markets this frame in a faster configuration, and the listing title advertises up to 28 mph and 2000 W peak. Peak output is not what statutes measure and the rated figure still sits on the federal 750 W ceiling, but 28 mph is Class 3 territory, so confirm the speed limiter in the display's settings menu and check what your state allows before riding somewhere Class 3 is restricted. If you want zero configuration and zero ambiguity, the Hoverfly above is the simpler answer. Read the full TST City Commuter review.

Heybike Cityscape 2.0
Amazon
Pick #58.3/10

Heybike Cityscape 2.0

Heybike
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Street-legal in every state, because it adapts. The Cityscape 2.0's Class 1/2/3 switching is the legality cheat code: cap it at 20 mph pedal-assist where rules are strict, unlock 28 mph Class 3 commuting where they aren't. It pairs that with UL 2849 + UL 2271 certification (the battery-safety combination strict cities like NYC ask for), a step-through frame fitting 5'2"–6'2", and the deepest validation in our catalog: 600+ Amazon owner reviews at 4.2★ behind our highest editorial score (8.3/10). At $609 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change), less than half its $1,299 launch list, the usual budget-tier trade-offs (62 lb, mechanical brakes) stop mattering. Read the full Heybike Cityscape 2.0 review.

Bodywel 14" Mini Foldable Electric Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The cheapest street-legal e-bike we recommend, at $299.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The Bodywel 14" Mini is a Class 2 last-mile folder (400 W peak motor, 20 mph) that folds to roughly 28×22×14 inches (under a desk, in a car trunk, beside an apartment door) with a removable 36V battery. It fits the same 50-state e-bike definition as bikes four times its price. This is the pick when the question is "what's the least I can spend and still be riding something legal?" Read the full Bodywel 14" Mini review.

Funhang Fat 26
Amazon
Pick #47.4/10

Funhang Fat 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The certified Class 2, at $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change): a stated 500 W rated motor (the 1000 W in the title is the peak) and a 20 mph cap put it 250 W under the strictest state ceiling with nothing to argue about, and it documents both UL 2271 (via SGS) and UL 2849 (via TÜV) with the certifying body named — the paperwork NYC Local Law 39 and California SB 1271 ask for. A 624 Wh pack quoted as 48 V x 13 Ah gives about 31 real throttle miles and 55-60 on pedal-assist, with integrated headlight, taillight and turn signals, a 330 lb payload and a 60 lb rear rack. Read the full Funhang Fat 26 review.

Kingbull Hunter 2.0 1200W Fat-Tire Mountain E-Bike
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The fast pick, and as fast as street-legal gets, at $899 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) — the most expensive bike on this page, and the only one you are paying a premium for speed and build rather than for legality. Class 3 tops out at 28 mph on pedal-assist, and the Hunter 2.0 hits that ceiling with a 750 W rated motor (the federal cap), a 720 Wh battery (the biggest on this list), and 26×4" fat tires. It is also the best-built bike on this page: hydraulic disc brakes rather than the mechanical discs everything else here runs, a 2-year warranty, and a real US service team in California instead of an Amazon-only support badge. The honest caveat we put on every Class 3 bike: most states recognize Class 3, some restrict it from bike paths, and a few don't recognize it at all, so check yours on the state-by-state table before buying for speed. Read the full Kingbull Hunter 2.0 review.

Gotrax R1 20" Folding Commuter E-Bike
AmazonSave $66
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The most-validated folder we cover, with 652 Amazon reviews at a 4-star average, and a clean Class 2 (350 W, 20 mph) that's legal in all 50 states. Gotrax built its US brand on scooters and the R1 inherits that distribution-and-support model: big-box availability, US phone support, and a 48 lb single-hinge fold that actually fits a car trunk. $593.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). At the budget tier, the brand behind the bike is a spec, and this is the strongest one in the folder class. Read the full Gotrax R1 review.

TL;DR: five street-legal picks, $200 to $899

Every bike here fits the US three-class framework, so it is a bicycle in law: no licence, no registration, no insurance in 49 states. Prices are what we last verified; the buttons always fetch the live number.

  1. Hoverfly OUREA, $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best overall, and the cleanest legal answer here: a textbook Class 2 with a stated 20 mph cap and a single 750 W motor figure that sits on the federal ceiling either way you read it, plus UL 2849 certification. Nothing to configure, nothing to argue with.
  2. TST City Commuter, $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The best seller — Amazon's #2 in Electric Bicycles at our last sync — and a lot of hardware for the money at a 750 W rated motor and 720 Wh. Its listing also markets a 28 mph / 2000 W peak configuration, so set the limiter for your state.
  3. Bodywel 14" Mini, $299.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The cheapest street-legal bike we are willing to recommend, and it fits the same 50-state definition as bikes four times the price.
  4. Funhang Fat 26, $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). The certified pick: a 500 W rated Class 2 (the 1000 W in the title is peak) documenting both UL 2271 and UL 2849 with the certifying bodies named — the paperwork NYC and California ask for.
  5. Heybike Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Best if you move between states. Switchable Class 1/2/3 so one bike matches whatever the local rules are, UL 2849 and UL 2271, 600+ owner reviews behind our highest catalog score (8.3/10).

The five, side by side

Bike Class Assist cutoff Rated motor Price (last check) Legal where
Hoverfly OUREA 2 20 mph 750 W (listed as peak; at the federal cap either way) $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) All 50 states
TST City Commuter 2 as rated — listing markets 28 mph 20 mph once set; listing advertises 28 mph 750 W (2000 W peak claimed) $569.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) All 50 states in Class 2 — check yours for Class 3
Bodywel 14" Mini 2 20 mph 400 W peak $299.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) All 50 states
Funhang Fat 26 2 20 mph 500 W $459.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) All 50 states
Heybike Cityscape 2.0 1 / 2 / 3, switchable 20 or 28 mph 750 W $609 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change) All 50 states in Class 1/2 mode

Three of these need no thought at all: the Hoverfly OUREA, the Bodywel 14" Mini and the Funhang Fat 26 are plain Class 2 bikes that no state argues with. The Cityscape is the pick if you want one bike that stays compliant whether you ride somewhere strict or somewhere permissive. The TST is the best seller and is rated inside the class, but its listing advertises a faster configuration, so it is the one pick here you should set up deliberately rather than assume.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

What counts as street-legal here: the pick must fit the US three-class e-bike framework: motor 750 W or under, pedal-assist to 20 mph (Class 1), throttle to 20 mph (Class 2), or pedal-assist to 28 mph (Class 3), as defined in the class system explainer. Class 1 and 2 picks fit the e-bike definition in all 50 states; Class 3 picks are legal in most states but not all, so we say so on the pick and link the state-by-state table. Every pick has a full standalone review on this site and was verified in stock at its linked US listing when this guide was published. Prices move constantly on Amazon. Figures below are what we verified at our last check, and the price buttons always fetch the live number. One more honesty note: street-legal describes the bike; a few states add paperwork for the rider (New Jersey now requires a license and registration for every e-bike; see the full NJ rules).

What "street-legal" actually means for an e-bike

In most of the US, an electric bicycle is legally a bicycle, with no license, no registration and no insurance, as long as it fits the three-class framework: a motor of 750 W or less, pedals that work, and assistance that cuts off at 20 mph (Class 1 pedal-assist, Class 2 throttle) or 28 mph (Class 3 pedal-assist). The moment a bike exceeds those numbers, it stops being an e-bike in the eyes of the law and becomes a moped or motorcycle, which means registration, a motorcycle endorsement, insurance, and equipment requirements that no e-bike meets.

Two nuances trip people up:

  • Class 3 is not universal. Most states allow 28 mph pedal-assist bikes on roads, but several restrict them from bike paths, set minimum rider ages, or don't recognize the class at all. Our street-legal by state table shows exactly where each class stands, and the legality checker answers for your specific state and bike in ten seconds.
  • A few states add rider paperwork. New Jersey is the big one: since 2026, every e-bike there needs a license and MVC registration, and throttle-capable bikes additionally need insurance. The bike itself is still legal to buy and ride; you just have paperwork to do. Oregon is the only state with a 1,000 W motor allowance; everywhere else, 750 W is the ceiling.

The bikes in our catalog that are NOT street-legal

Here's the part most affiliate sites won't print: some of the most exciting bikes we've reviewed are not street-legal, and we say so on their review pages. The GAMVIRE V7 PRO, with a claimed 6,000 W peak dual motor and 47 mph, is one of the most powerful consumer e-bikes on Amazon and it is a motorcycle-class machine with no path to street legality as an e-bike in any state. It's a genuinely fun private-land toy. It is not a commuter, and any seller implying otherwise is setting you up for an impound. If you're unsure which side of the line a bike falls on, run it through the legality checker before you buy.

How to choose: the 30-second decision tree

Just want the best street-legal bike?Hoverfly OUREA, $449.98 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). A textbook Class 2 with a stated 20 mph cap and a 750 W motor figure that sits on the federal ceiling, UL 2849 certified, with no faster configuration to set up first.

Move between states, or want one bike that adapts?Cityscape 2.0, $609 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change). Highest score we've given, deepest owner validation, and class-switching that matches whatever the local rules are.

Tightest possible budget?Bodywel 14" Mini. $299.99 (as of Sep 13, 2:10 AM EDT, subject to change), and just as legal as anything else here.

Speed is the point?Kingbull Hunter 2.0, but check your state's Class 3 rules first.

Needs to fold?Gotrax R1. 652 reviews of anti-lemon insurance.

Not sure what your state allows? → Two free tools: the e-bike legality checker and the street-legal by state table. Both take under a minute, and both link straight to your state's full rules page.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

Frequently asked questions

Are electric bikes street legal in the US?

Yes. In every state, an e-bike that fits the three-class framework (motor ≤750 W, assistance capped at 20 mph for Class 1/2 or 28 mph for Class 3) is street-legal. Most states treat it exactly like a bicycle. The exceptions are about paperwork, not legality: New Jersey requires a license and registration for every e-bike (plus insurance for throttle-capable bikes), and Class 3 recognition varies by state, so see the state-by-state table.

Can you ride an electric bike on the road without a license?

In 49 states, yes: a compliant Class 1, 2, or 3 e-bike needs no driver's license. The exception is New Jersey, which since 2026 requires every e-bike rider to hold a driver's license (17+) or a motorized-bicycle license (15–16) and register the bike with the MVC. Some states also set minimum ages for Class 3 bikes, so check your state.

What makes an e-bike NOT street legal?

Exceeding the class limits: a motor over 750 W (Oregon alone allows 1,000 W), a top assisted speed over 28 mph, or a throttle that works above 20 mph. Bikes like the GAMVIRE V7 PRO (a claimed 47 mph) are motorcycle-class vehicles: legal to own and ride on private land, but not street-legal as e-bikes in any state. "Off-road mode" switches don't change the legal analysis if the bike is capable of exceeding the limits on the road.

Are Class 3 e-bikes legal in every state?

No. Most states allow Class 3 (28 mph pedal-assist) on roads, but a number restrict them from multi-use paths, impose minimum rider ages or helmet rules, and a few don't recognize the class at all, where a 28 mph bike may default to moped rules. Before buying for speed, check your state on the street-legal by state table or run the legality checker.

Do I need insurance for a street-legal e-bike?

In every state except New Jersey: no. New Jersey's 2026 law requires insurance only for throttle-capable e-bikes (its "motorized bicycle" tiers). Pedal-assist bikes capped at 20 mph need a license and registration there but not insurance. Standalone e-bike insurance exists and can be worth it for theft coverage on a $1,500+ bike, but it is legally optional everywhere else.

Are there any electric bikes that are street legal?

Yes. The large majority of e-bikes sold in the US are street legal, and every pick on this page is. An e-bike is street legal in all 50 states when it fits the three-class framework: a motor rated 750 W or less, working pedals, and assistance that stops at 20 mph (Class 1 pedal-assist, Class 2 throttle) or 28 mph (Class 3 pedal-assist). What is not street legal is the growing category of 3,000-5,000 W "e-bikes" that exceed those limits. Those are unregistered motorcycles in the eyes of every state DMV. Our top pick, the Hoverfly OUREA, is a plain Class 2 with a stated 20 mph cap and a single 750 W motor figure that sits on the federal ceiling either way you read it, so it fits the definition in all 50 states with nothing to check.

What makes an e-bike street legal?

Three things, all of which have to be true at once: a motor rated at 750 W or less (Oregon alone permits 1,000 W), functional pedals, and a speed cutoff: assistance must stop at 20 mph for Class 1 and Class 2, or 28 mph for Class 3. Miss any one and the bike stops being a bicycle in law and becomes a moped or motorcycle, which brings registration, a motorcycle endorsement, insurance and equipment rules that no e-bike can satisfy. Two traps: listings routinely advertise peak wattage rather than the rated figure the law measures, and an "off-road mode" that unlocks higher speeds does not make the bike compliant, because capability is what counts. The class system explainer walks through each threshold.

Is a 3000W ebike street legal?

No, not in any US state. The e-bike motor ceiling is 750 W everywhere except Oregon, which allows 1,000 W, so a 3,000 W bike is four times the federal-consumer-product threshold and falls outside the e-bike definition nationwide. Legally it is an unregistered motor vehicle: riding one on a public road exposes you to citation and impound, and it cannot be registered as a motorcycle either, because it will not meet FMVSS equipment standards. They are legal to own and ride on private land. If you want genuine speed within the law, Class 3 at 28 mph is the ceiling. See the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 above, or check what your state allows on the state-by-state table.

What is the fastest legal electric bike in the United States?

Any street-legal e-bike tops out at 28 mph, because that is where Class 3 pedal-assist must cut off. There is no legal e-bike class above it, so "fastest" is a tie at the ceiling rather than a spec race. What separates bikes at that ceiling is whether they can hold it: motor rating, battery size and gearing. Our fastest pick is the Kingbull Hunter 2.0, which pairs the full 750 W rated motor with the biggest battery on this list and hydraulic brakes to match the speed. One caveat that matters more than the speed: Class 3 is not recognised everywhere. Several states keep 28 mph bikes off multi-use paths, set minimum rider ages, or don't define the class at all. Check yours on the state-by-state table before buying for speed.

What is the most powerful road legal e-bike?

The most powerful road-legal e-bike is one with a 750 W rated motor. That is the cap in 49 states, and the single exception is Oregon at 1,000 W. Anything advertised above that is not road legal as an e-bike, however it is marketed. Read the numbers carefully: a listing claiming "1500 W" is usually quoting peak output from a 750 W rated motor, which is compliant, while a genuinely 1,500 W-rated bike is not. The rated figure is the one written into the statutes. Among our picks the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 runs the full 750 W rated; for contrast, the GAMVIRE V7 PRO we also review is emphatically not road legal, and we say so on its page.

What is the best road legal e-bike?

The Hoverfly OUREA is our best overall road-legal pick, and it wins on the thing this question is really asking: zero legal ambiguity. It is a textbook Class 2 with a stated 20 mph cap, a single 750 W motor figure that sits on the federal ceiling whether you read it as rated or peak, and UL 2849 certification. Nothing about it needs checking against your state, and nothing needs configuring before your first ride. The TST City Commuter outsells it and is rated inside the class at 750 W, but its listing advertises a 28 mph / 2000 W peak configuration, so it is the pick you set up deliberately rather than the one you buy to stop thinking about the law. If you move between states, the Heybike Cityscape 2.0 is the better buy: switchable Class 1/2/3 keeps one bike compliant whether the local rules are strict or permissive, it carries UL 2849 + UL 2271 certification (the battery-safety pair cities like New York require for indoor charging), and it holds the highest editorial score in our catalog behind the deepest owner-review base. If speed is the point, the Kingbull Hunter 2.0 is the Class 3 pick. Full reasoning for each is above.

Is a 1000W e-bike street legal?

Only in Oregon, which is the single state with a 1,000 W allowance. Everywhere else the e-bike motor ceiling is 750 W. A 1,000 W-rated bike ridden in the other 49 states falls outside the e-bike definition and technically defaults to moped/motorcycle rules. Watch marketing labels carefully: many listings advertise peak wattage (which can be double the rated figure). The rated number is what the law cares about. Details in your state's rules.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor