Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Step-Through Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026)

The best step-through electric bike on Amazon for most riders is the Funhang EB-C2 ($309.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). It is a 26-inch step-through with a 500 W rated motor and a 20 mph Class 2 cap on its Amazon listing, UL 2271 and UL 2849 both recognised by SGS, a rear rack and full fenders, and a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb load. Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph, so check the display on your first ride. For longer rides and rough roads, choose the Vivi ACE07 ($703.61 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change), a Class 2 fat-tire step-through with a 720 Wh battery and UL 2849 certified by SGS, at 75 lb. If you are under 5'2", the Heybike Ranger ($699.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the only bike here sized from 4'11". Seven picks, all two-wheelers.

By John WeeksUpdated Nov 7, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.2/10
Funhang EB-C2

Funhang EB-C2

$309.99Save $30

Price as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST · subject to change

Best overall, and the best-selling step-through here that passes all three of our checks.

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Vivi ACE07 750W Fat-Tire Step-Through— Best for range and rough roads. A step-through on 26 x 4 fat tires with a 750 W rated motor capped at 19.8 mph (Class 2)…
  • Budget pick:Funhang City Cruiser 26— Our readers' favorite, with the cleanest paperwork on the page: a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap with a throttle (Class 2…
Early deals are liveEarlyBlack FridayEvery e-bike and electric scooter deal we have verified on Amazon, best sellers first, at Amazon’s own prices.
  • 59deals live
  • 42%top saving
  • 20days to go
See all 59 deals

Compare the picks

Best Step-Through Electric Bikes on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Funhang EB-C2Class 220 mph500 W374 Wh300 lb63 lbStep-through
#2Vivi ACE07 750W Fat-Tire Step-Through
$703.61Limited-time deal · Save $78as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM ESTCheck price at Amazon
Class 220 mph750 W720 Wh330 lb75 lbStep-through
#3Funhang City Cruiser 26Class 220 mph500 W374 WhNot statedNot statedStep-through
#4Askmy Mini 14Class 220 mph740 W480 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#5Heybike Ranger
$699.99Limited-time deal · Save $100as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM ESTCheck price at Amazon
Class 328 mph1400 W600 Wh400 lb70 lbFolding, step-through
#6Jasion Roamer ST 1200W Step-Through CommuterClass 328 mph750 W528 Wh330 lb60 lbStep-through
#7Gotrax Dolphin 26" Step-Through CommuterClass 220 mph350 W281 Wh264 lb50 lbStep-through

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Funhang EB-C2
AmazonSave $30
Pick #18.2/10

Funhang EB-C2

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall, and the best-selling step-through here that passes all three of our checks. A 26-inch step-through that is Class 2 on its Amazon listing (500 W rated, 20 mph, throttle), with UL 2271 and UL 2849 recognised by SGS and a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb load. A rear rack, full fenders, front suspension, a headlight and an adjustable stem come fitted, and Funhang sizes it for riders from 5'3" to 6'1". The trades: Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph, so confirm the 20 mph cap; the disc brakes are of unstated type; and the 374.4 Wh pack plans out at about 20 miles.

Vivi ACE07 750W Fat-Tire Step-Through
AmazonSave $78

Limited time deal · ends Sun, Nov 15

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for range and rough roads. A step-through on 26 x 4 fat tires with a 750 W rated motor capped at 19.8 mph (Class 2), a 720 Wh battery good for about 30 real miles, UL 2849 certified by SGS, a published 75 lb weight and 330 lb payload, and a rack, fenders and lights included. Its review records about 16 inches of top-tube clearance and a 5'2" to 6'3" fit. The trades: the heaviest pick, fat tires that cost range on pavement, cadence-sensor assist, and an Amazon price that moves often.

Funhang City Cruiser 26
AmazonSave $20
Pick #38.6/10

Funhang City Cruiser 26

Funhang
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Our readers' favorite, with the cleanest paperwork on the page: a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph cap with a throttle (Class 2, nothing to change), and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 both certified by SGS. A 26-inch step-through with 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and seat, five riding modes and an IPX5 removable 374 Wh battery that plans out at about 20 miles. It ranks below the EB-C2 because Funhang publishes no weight or load limit for it, and it stops on mechanical disc brakes.

Askmy Mini 14
AmazonSave $16
Pick #48.1/10

Askmy Mini 14

Askmy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best mini step-through, and the cheapest pick. A 14-inch folder capped at 20 mph with a throttle (Class 2, 740 W peak), a stated 480 Wh battery whose 20 to 25 mile claim holds up, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 with SGS named as the lab. Tubeless tires, a spring fork and dual disc brakes. The trades: no published weight, load limit or rider height range, a single speed, and small wheels that suit smooth pavement and short trips.

Heybike Ranger
AmazonSave $100
Pick #57.5/10

Heybike Ranger

Heybike

Limited time deal · ends Sun, Nov 15

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for shorter riders, and it folds: Heybike sizes it from 4'11" to 6'3", the lowest published fit on this page, with a standover of about 17 inches. Hydraulic disc brakes, 20 x 4 fat tires, a 400 lb load limit and a 150 lb rear rack, with UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed and no lab named. Ships as Class 2 (750 W rated, 20 mph) and switches to Class 3 or Class 1 in the display. The trades: 70 lb, cadence-sensor assist, and about 25 to 35 miles from the 600 Wh battery.

Jasion Roamer ST 1200W Step-Through Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best Class 3 step-through: pedal assist to 28 mph from a 750 W rated motor, hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors, a rack, fenders, lights and cruise control, a published 60 lb weight and 330 lb payload, and "UL2849 Certified" in its Amazon title with no lab named. The trades: Class 3 is restricted or banned in some states, Jasion publishes no frame-stiffness data for a step-through at 28 mph, assist is cadence-sensed, the frame warranty is six months, and it is a modest Amazon seller.

Gotrax Dolphin 26" Step-Through Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Lightest full-size step-through we rank, at 49.6 lb, with a throttle, a walk-assist mode, a front suspension fork and a 5'2" to 6'4" fit, capped at 20 mph from a 350 W rated motor (Class 2). Gotrax is an established US company with phone support and 365-day parts assurance. The trades: its UL 2849 certification is reported by GoEBikeLife, not stated on the listing; the 280.8 Wh battery gives 10 to 15 real miles; mechanical brakes; and no rack or fenders in the box.

TL;DR: seven picks

  1. Funhang EB-C2, $309.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Best overall. The best-selling step-through here that passes all three of our checks: Class 2 on its Amazon listing (500 W rated, 20 mph, throttle), UL 2271 and UL 2849 recognised by SGS, and a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb load. A rear rack, full fenders and front suspension come fitted. Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph, so confirm the cap.
  2. Vivi ACE07, $703.61 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Best for range and rough roads. A fat-tire step-through with a 750 W rated motor capped at 19.8 mph (Class 2), a 720 Wh battery good for about 30 real miles, UL 2849 certified by SGS, and a rack, fenders and lights included. At 75 lb it is the heaviest pick.
  3. Funhang City Cruiser 26, $299.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Our readers' favorite. The EB-C2's sibling, with the same 500 W rated motor, 374 Wh battery and SGS-certified UL 2271 and UL 2849, and a 20 mph Class 2 cap its review found no reason to qualify. It ranks third because Funhang publishes no weight or load limit for it.
  4. Askmy Mini 14, $149.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Best mini, and the cheapest pick. A 14-inch folding step-through capped at 20 mph (Class 2) with a stated 480 Wh battery and SGS named for both UL standards. No weight, load limit or rider height range is published, and the small wheels suit smooth pavement.
  5. Heybike Ranger, $699.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Best for shorter riders, and it folds. Sized from 4'11" to 6'3" with a standover of about 17 inches, hydraulic disc brakes, a 400 lb load limit, and UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed with no lab named. It ships as Class 2 and switches to Class 3 in the display. It weighs 70 lb.
  6. Jasion Roamer ST, $594 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Best Class 3 step-through. Pedal assist to 28 mph from a 750 W rated motor, hydraulic disc brakes, a rack, fenders, lights and cruise control, a published 60 lb weight and 330 lb payload, and "UL2849 Certified" in its Amazon title with no lab named.
  7. Gotrax Dolphin, $549.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Lightest full-size step-through. 49.6 lb, a 350 W rated motor capped at 20 mph (Class 2), a 5'2" to 6'4" fit range and a walk-assist mode, from a US brand with phone support. Its UL 2849 certification comes from a third-party review, not the listing, and the 280.8 Wh battery gives 10 to 15 real miles.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only. Every pick was in stock in our production catalog on November 7, 2026, and every pick has a full review on this site. Three-wheelers are not ranked here. We ranked on what each listing discloses, in this order: a legal class you can read off the listing (Class 1, 2 or 3) with a motor rated at 750 W or less; a UL 2849 or UL 2271 certification with the testing laboratory named; and a published bike weight and load limit. Bikes level on those checks are ordered by sales evidence: Amazon sales rank, and which listings our own readers click through to. We have not ridden these bikes. Every figure is the listing's claim or our arithmetic on it, as recorded in each review, and we print a rider height range or a step height only where one is published. Prices move daily, so the buy buttons fetch the live number.

How we ranked them

A step-through frame drops the top tube, so you step into the bike instead of swinging a leg over it. That helps shorter riders, riders with stiff knees or hips, anyone riding in a skirt or work clothes, and anyone with a loaded rear rack, where a leg swing has to clear the bags as well as the saddle. The frame tells you nothing about whether the bike is legal, safe to charge indoors or light enough to manage, so we ranked on three things a listing can show, in this order:

  1. A legal class you can read off the listing. The listing's own top speed and motor figure have to put the bike in Class 1, 2 or 3, with a motor rated at 750 W or less. A bike sold at 24 or 25 mph with a throttle fits no class, so it is not ranked here however well it sells.
  2. A UL certification with the laboratory named. UL 2849 covers the whole electrical system and UL 2271 the battery pack. A named lab, such as SGS, gives you something to check. A bare "UL certified" does not.
  3. A published weight and load limit. People often buy a step-through because getting on and off is hard, and the same rider usually has to move the bike as well. A listing that hides the weight leaves you guessing.

Bikes level on those checks are ordered by sales evidence: their Amazon sales rank, and which listings our own readers click through to. Three-wheelers are left out of this ranking; if balance is the worry, our electric trike guide compares them.

We have not ridden these bikes. Where a maker publishes a rider height range or a step height we print it, and where none is published we say so rather than estimate one.

Which step-through electric bike is best?

1. Funhang EB-C2: best overall

The Funhang EB-C2 ($309.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the step-through we would point most buyers at first, because it is the best-selling bike here that passes all three of our checks. It is a 26-inch step-through with a 500 W rated motor (1,000 W peak), a throttle and a 20 mph top speed on its Amazon listing, which makes it Class 2. The listing documents UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the whole bike, both recognised by SGS, and it publishes a 62.83 lb weight and a 300 lb maximum load. It was #5 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes on November 7, 2026.

It also arrives with the parts a step-through buyer tends to want: a rear rack, full fenders, a front suspension fork, a headlight, a horn and an adjustable stem, on a frame Funhang sizes for riders from 5'3" to 6'1". The battery sits inside the down tube, out of the weather, and still comes out for charging indoors. Its five riding modes include cruise and a walk mode.

Legal class: Class 2 on the Amazon listing, with one check. Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph for the same model, and a throttle bike above 20 mph fits no class. On your first ride, hold full throttle on flat ground and read the display; if it passes 20, lower the limit in the display menu. The 374.4 Wh battery gives about 20 real miles, against the 40 to 50 Funhang quotes for pedal assist. The listing says only "dual disc brakes" without naming the type, and at 62.83 lb it is a bike to keep at ground level rather than carry upstairs. Read the full Funhang EB-C2 review.

2. Vivi ACE07: best for range and rough roads

The Vivi ACE07 ($703.61 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) is the other bike here that passes all three checks, and the one to choose if your rides are long or your roads are rough. It is a step-through on 26 x 4 fat tires with a 750 W rated motor (1,500 W peak) and a 19.8 mph cap, so it is Class 2. Its 720 Wh battery is the largest of our picks, good for about 30 real miles by its review's estimate. The UL 2849 certification is issued by SGS, the bike publishes a 75 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, and a rear rack, full fenders and front and rear lights come fitted. Its review records a top-tube clearance of about 16 inches and a fit from 5'2" to 6'3".

Legal class: Class 2, from stated figures. Weight is the price of the fat tires and the big battery: at 75 lb it is the heaviest pick, and on smooth pavement fat tires cost range, about 20 to 30% against a narrower tire by its review's estimate. Pedal assist uses a cadence sensor, the warranty is one year on the motor and battery, and the brakes were hydraulic on the version Amazon described in May 2026, so check the current listing if that matters to you. It is a modest seller (#21 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes, November 2026), and its Amazon price moves often. Choose it over the EB-C2 for snow, sand, gravel or broken pavement, or for rides longer than about 20 miles. Read the full Vivi ACE07 review.

3. Funhang City Cruiser 26: our readers' favorite

The Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($299.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the EB-C2's sibling and the step-through our readers click through to Amazon most often. It shares the EB-C2's 500 W rated motor (1,000 W peak) and 374 Wh battery, and its paperwork is the cleanest on this page: a 20 mph cap with a throttle, which makes it Class 2 with no setting to change, and UL 2271 plus UL 2849, both certified by SGS. Its review found nothing in its legal position that needed a caveat. It has 7 speeds, an adjustable stem and seat for riders of different heights, five riding modes and an IPX5 removable battery.

Legal class: Class 2, from stated figures. It ranks third because Funhang publishes no weight or load limit for it, where the EB-C2 publishes both. It stops on mechanical disc brakes, it arrives 85% assembled, and the 374 Wh pack plans out at about 20 miles against Funhang's 25 to 30. Choose it over the EB-C2 if you want a 20 mph cap with nothing to confirm and can live without a published weight. Read the full Funhang City Cruiser 26 review.

4. Askmy Mini 14: best mini step-through

The Askmy Mini 14 ($149.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the cheapest pick and the smallest: a 14-inch folding step-through that caps at 20 mph with a throttle, so it is Class 2, and that names SGS as the lab for both UL 2271 and UL 2849. It states its battery plainly, 48 V x 10 Ah (480 Wh), and its 20 to 25 mile range claim is one our review's arithmetic supports. Tubeless tires, a spring suspension fork and dual disc brakes come fitted, and it folds, so it can be carried indoors to charge.

Legal class: Class 2, from stated figures. Askmy gives only a 740 W peak figure, which keeps the rated output under 750 W. It ranks fourth because it publishes no weight, no load limit and no rider height range, and it is a single-speed. Fourteen-inch wheels drop into potholes that larger wheels roll over, so it suits smooth pavement and short trips, such as the last two miles from a train or bus. Read the full Askmy Mini 14 review, or compare it with every 14- and 16-inch mini in best mini electric bikes.

5. Heybike Ranger: best for shorter riders, and it folds

The Heybike Ranger ($699.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the pick for riders under 5'2". Heybike sizes it from 4'11" to 6'3", the lowest published fit on this page, and its step-through frame has a standover of about 17 inches at the center. It folds to 40 x 20 x 31 inches, rides on 20 x 4 fat tires, stops on hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors, and carries more than any other pick: a 400 lb total load and a 150 lb rear rack. The Amazon page lists UL 2849 for the system and UL 2271 for the battery, with no lab named.

Legal class: Class 2 as shipped, Class 3 if you switch it. The 750 W rated motor (1,400 W peak) ships limited to 20 mph and switches to Class 3 pedal assist to 28 mph, or to Class 1, in the display, so it can stay legal in a state that restricts Class 3. The cost is weight: at 70 lb it is heavy for a folder, and its review calls a single-handed lift onto a car rack a stretch. Pedal assist uses a cadence sensor, and its review estimates 25 to 35 miles from the 600 Wh battery. Read the full Heybike Ranger review.

6. Jasion Roamer ST: best Class 3 step-through

The Jasion Roamer ST ($594 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the step-through for riders who want to keep pace with traffic. It is a Class 3 bike: pedal assist to 28 mph from a 750 W rated motor (1,200 W peak, 75 Nm). It carries the equipment that speed asks for, hydraulic disc brakes with 180 mm rotors, plus a rear rack, full fenders, front and rear lights and cruise control, and it publishes a 60 lb weight and a 330 lb payload. Its Amazon title states "UL2849 Certified", with no lab named.

Legal class: Class 3, from stated figures. That is the catch for a step-through buyer. A few states restrict or ban Class 3, and several keep it off shared-use paths by default, so check your state first. Its review also notes that Jasion publishes no frame-stiffness data for a step-through ridden at 28 mph. Pedal assist is cadence-sensed, Jasion's warranty is one year on the motor and battery and six months on the frame, and the 528 Wh battery plans out at about 30 miles. It is a modest Amazon seller (#99 in Electric City Bikes, November 2026). Read the full Jasion Roamer ST review.

7. Gotrax Dolphin: lightest full-size step-through

The Gotrax Dolphin ($549.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the lightest full-size step-through we rank, at 49.6 lb, and the one to choose if you will lift or push the bike often. It is a 26-inch city bike with a 350 W rated motor (500 W peak), a throttle and five assist levels, all capped at 20 mph, plus a front suspension fork, a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain, a headlight and a walk-assist mode that moves the bike at about 3.7 mph while you walk beside it. Gotrax fits it from 5'2" to 6'4" and rates it for riders up to 264 lb, and behind it is an established US company with phone support and 365-day parts assurance.

Legal class: Class 2, from stated figures. It ranks seventh because its certification evidence is the weakest here: its UL 2849 certification comes from GoEBikeLife's review, not the listing, so look for the mark in the listing photos if your building has charging rules. The 280.8 Wh battery is the smallest on this page, good for 10 to 15 real miles, the brakes are mechanical discs, and no rack or fenders come in the box. Our guide to the best electric bikes for seniors ranks on fit first and puts it at #1. Read the full Gotrax Dolphin review.

Fit at a glance

Rider height ranges and step heights as published for each pick, recorded in its review. "Not published" means we found no figure, not that the bike is a poor fit.

Pick Rider height Step or standover height Bike weight Load limit
Funhang EB-C2 5'3" to 6'1" Not published 62.83 lb 300 lb
Vivi ACE07 5'2" to 6'3" About 16 in 75 lb 330 lb
Funhang City Cruiser 26 Not published (adjustable stem and seat) Not published Not published Not published
Askmy Mini 14 Not published Not published Not published Not published
Heybike Ranger 4'11" to 6'3" About 17 in 70 lb 400 lb
Jasion Roamer ST Not published Not published 60 lb 330 lb
Gotrax Dolphin 5'2" to 6'4" Not published 49.6 lb 264 lb rider

Two things stand out. Only the Heybike Ranger publishes a fit below 5'2", and only two picks publish a step height at all. If one inch of step height decides it for you, ask the seller for the figure before you order.

What the Amazon bikes give up

ChatGPT's answer to "best step through electric bike" in November 2026 named brand-store bikes such as the Aventon Pace 4 and the Lectric XP4 Step-Thru, which sell for over $1,000 at their makers' own stores. We do not review those bikes, so we cannot compare them line by line. What we can say is what our picks give up, because their own listings say so:

  • Assist feel. None of the seven states a torque sensor. The Vivi ACE07, the Heybike Ranger and the Jasion Roamer ST state a cadence sensor, which switches assist on and off instead of matching your pedal force.
  • Brakes. The Funhang City Cruiser 26 and the Gotrax Dolphin stop on mechanical discs, which need periodic cable adjustment. The Ranger and the Roamer ST have hydraulic discs.
  • Battery. The two Funhangs and the Dolphin carry 281 to 374 Wh, about 10 to 20 real miles a charge.
  • Warranty. Where our picks state one, it is about a year: Funhang gives the EB-C2 one year, Vivi covers the ACE07's motor and battery for one year, and Jasion covers the Roamer ST's motor and battery for one year and its frame for six months. Gotrax backs the Dolphin with a US phone line and 365-day parts assurance.

What you keep is a legal, documented step-through at a much lower price, and Amazon's return window if it does not suit you.

What we left out

  • Bikes sold faster than any class allows. Amazon's #1 folding e-bike in November 2026, the LELEKUAI T5, is a 14-inch step-through advertised at 24 mph with a throttle in its title and on its maker's site, and the ASKGO City 26 is a basket-and-rack step-through advertised at 25 mph. Neither fits a US e-bike class as sold.
  • The Heybike Cityscape 2.0, now a mention below. It switches between Class 3 and Class 2 in its display, but the Ranger does the same with hydraulic brakes, and the Roamer ST covers Class 3 with hydraulic brakes and a bigger battery.
  • Listings that hide the numbers. A peak-only motor with no stated top speed, or no battery capacity, leaves the legal class or the range unknowable before you buy. Our guide to e-bikes to avoid goes through the warning signs.

Related guides

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0 product photo

    A step-through that switches from Class 3 to Class 2 or Class 1 in its display, at $499 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change): a 750 W rated motor, a 468 Wh battery, UL 2849 and UL 2271 listed with no lab named, a published 62 lb weight and 330 lb payload, and a fit from 5'2" to 6'2". It is a mention because it stops on mechanical disc brakes, and two picks do its jobs with hydraulics: the Heybike Ranger switches classes the same way, and the Jasion Roamer ST covers Class 3 with a bigger battery.

  • Razor Rambler 16 product photo

    The slowest step-through we review, at $606.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change): throttle and pedal assist both stop at 15.5 mph from a 350 W rated motor (Class 2), at 56 lb, from a US brand with a US-based service team. Our seniors guide ranks it for riders who want the lowest speed. It is a mention here because its review names no UL certification, its 16-inch wheels have no suspension, the payload limit is 220 lb, and it sells weakly on Amazon.

  • Cyrusher Kommoda 3.0 product photo

    What more money buys, at $1,599 (as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change): an air fork and a coil rear shock, hydraulic disc brakes, a 960 Wh battery and a 750 W rated Class 3 motor, on a step-through Cyrusher sizes from 5'2" to 6'4" with about 17 inches of standover. UL 2849 and UL 2271 are on Cyrusher's spec sheet, with no lab named. It is a mention because it costs far more than any pick, weighs about 83 lb as independent reviewers measured it, and rarely sells on Amazon.

  • Qlife Cityone Plus Step-Through Commuter product photo

    A declared Class 3 step-through with a 720 Wh battery, more than the Ranger or the Roamer ST, at $589 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). Qlife publishes a 70.55 lb weight and a 350 lb payload, and the battery plans out at 36 to 40 miles. It is a mention because neither the listing nor Qlife names UL 2849 or UL 2271, and its only rated motor figure, 500 W, appears in one marketing sentence beside two different peak figures.

  • URLIFE Mini 14 product photo

    The best Amazon seller among the step-through minis that fit a US class: #4 in Electric Folding Bikes (November 2026), at $239.99 (as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change). It caps at 20 mph with a 500 W peak motor (Class 2) and states UL 2849 in its title. It is a mention because it names no lab, never states its battery capacity, and publishes no weight, so the Askmy Mini 14 is the better-documented mini.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best step-through electric bike?

On Amazon, the Funhang EB-C2 ($309.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). It is the best-selling step-through we review that passes all three of our checks: Class 2 on its listing (500 W rated, 20 mph, throttle), UL 2271 and UL 2849 recognised by SGS, and a published 62.83 lb weight and 300 lb load. It comes with a rear rack, full fenders and front suspension, and Funhang sizes it for riders from 5'3" to 6'1". Its one caveat is speed: Funhang's own store quotes 21.7 mph, so read the display at full throttle on your first ride and lower the limit if it passes 20.

Are step-through e-bikes good for men too?

Yes. A step-through is a frame shape, and it suits anyone who wants to get on and off without swinging a leg over a crossbar, including riders with stiff hips or knees and anyone carrying a loaded rear rack. Check the fit range and the load limit, as you would on any bike. Among our picks, the Gotrax Dolphin is sized up to 6'4", the Heybike Ranger and the Vivi ACE07 up to 6'3", and the Ranger carries the most, with a 400 lb load limit. The trade-off is frame stiffness at speed: the Jasion Roamer ST review notes that Jasion publishes no stiffness data for its 28 mph step-through.

What is the best electric bike for women?

Choose on fit. Nothing about a step-through is specific to women, and the frames often sold that way suit any rider who wants an easy mount. Check three numbers on the listing: the rider height range, the step or standover height, and the bike's weight. Our top pick, the Funhang EB-C2 ($309.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change), fits riders from 5'3" to 6'1" and comes with a rack and fenders. The Gotrax Dolphin ($549.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) fits from 5'2" and weighs 49.6 lb, the lightest full-size pick here. For riders under 5'2", the Heybike Ranger ($699.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is sized from 4'11".

What is the best electric bike for a 5-foot rider?

The Heybike Ranger ($699.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change). Heybike sizes it for riders from 4'11" to 6'3", the only bike on this page with a published fit below 5'2", and its step-through frame has a standover of about 17 inches. It rides on 20-inch fat tires, folds, and ships as a 20 mph Class 2. The catch is weight: 70 lb. Every other published fit range here starts at 5'2" or 5'3". The 14-inch Askmy Mini 14 is the smallest pick, but Askmy publishes no rider height range, so ask the seller for the lowest seat height before you buy. If balance is a concern as well, our guide for older riders includes a trike sized from 4'9".

Step-through or step-over: which is better?

A step-through is easier to get on and off, and a step-over (a frame with a top tube) is easier to make stiff. Three differences matter. Stiffness: without a top tube the frame needs more careful tubing to limit flex, so many faster bikes use a step-over, and the Jasion Roamer ST review notes that Jasion publishes no stiffness data for its 28 mph step-through. Class 1 or Class 2 speeds suit the frame best. Weight: on our shelf, step-through does not mean light. Our picks run from 49.6 lb (Gotrax Dolphin) to 75 lb (Vivi ACE07), and the heaviest carry the biggest batteries and fat tires. Carrying and theft: a car rack that hangs a bike by its top tube needs an adapter bar for a step-through, and whichever frame you choose, lock the frame and rear wheel and take a removable battery inside with you.

What is the best step-through electric bike under $500 or under $1,000?

Under $500, choose between two Funhangs, both Class 2 with a 500 W rated motor and UL 2271 plus UL 2849 recognised by SGS: the Funhang EB-C2 ($309.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) for the rack, fenders and published weight, or the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($299.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) for a 20 mph cap with nothing to confirm. The Askmy Mini 14 ($149.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the cheapest certified option if a 14-inch folder suits you. Under $1,000, add the Heybike Ranger ($699.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) for folding and the lowest published fit, the Jasion Roamer ST ($594 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) for Class 3 speed with hydraulic brakes, and the Vivi ACE07 ($703.61 as of Nov 7, 4:11 PM EST, subject to change) for a 720 Wh battery, though its price moves often, so check it is still under $1,000.

Are step-through e-bikes good for seniors?

Usually, yes. The low frame removes the leg swing over a crossbar, which is the hardest part of getting on a bicycle with stiff hips or knees. For an older rider, weight and speed matter as much as the frame. The Gotrax Dolphin ($549.99 as of Nov 7, 4:10 PM EST, subject to change) is the lightest full-size step-through here at 49.6 lb, with a throttle, a walk-assist mode and a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and it is the top pick in our guide to the best electric bikes for seniors, which ranks on fit first. If balance is the concern, a trike may suit better, and that guide covers both. Talk to your doctor about balance and whether you are fit to ride before buying any bike.

Is a step-through e-bike street legal?

The frame shape does not decide it; the class does. A step-through is an e-bike under US law when its motor is rated at 750 W or less and its assistance stops at 20 mph (Class 1, or Class 2 with a throttle) or at 28 mph on pedal assist (Class 3). All seven of our picks fit a class on their listings' own figures, and the Funhang EB-C2 needs one check, because Funhang's store quotes 21.7 mph against the listing's 20. Most states treat a Class 1 or Class 2 bike like a bicycle. New Jersey requires a license and registration for every e-bike, Hawaii requires a one-time registration, and a few states restrict or ban Class 3, so check your state before you buy a Class 3 such as the Jasion Roamer ST.

Are Amazon step-through e-bikes as good as Aventon or Lectric?

Not on every count. We do not review the brand-store step-throughs ChatGPT names first for this question, such as the Aventon Pace 4 and the Lectric XP4 Step-Thru, which sell for over $1,000 at their makers' own stores, so we cannot compare them line by line. What our Amazon picks give up is on their own listings: none of the seven states a torque sensor, and three state a cadence sensor, which switches assist on and off instead of matching your pedal force. The Funhang City Cruiser 26 and the Gotrax Dolphin stop on mechanical discs, those two and the EB-C2 carry 281 to 374 Wh (about 10 to 20 real miles), and stated warranties run about a year. What you keep is a legal, documented step-through at a much lower price, and Amazon's return window.

Our pick

Funhang EB-C2
Save $30

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Funhang EB-C2

Best overall, and the best-selling step-through here that passes all three of our checks.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor