Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Off-Road Electric Scooters (2026)

The KuKirin G2 ($599 at our last check) is the best off-road electric scooter for most riders: 800 W rated, 748.8 Wh, and discs at both ends. It rides on 10-inch tubeless off-road tires with shocks front and rear, weighs 57 lb, and was #28 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, against #98 for the Segway ZT3 Pro. Its trade-offs are an IP54 rating, a US warranty that excludes rain riding, and a UL 2272 claim that appears only on Amazon. For wet weather and the safest paperwork, the Segway ZT3 Pro ($999.99 at our last check) has IPX5, traction control, Segway's own terrain rating and a UL 2272 claim Segway attributes to TÜV Rheinland, at 65.5 lb. Both go faster than New York's 20 mph e-scooter line. Six picks in all, each checked against its maker's spec sheet where one exists, its UL 2272 claim and the CPSC recall list. We have not ridden them.

By John WeeksUpdated Nov 1, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

7.5/10

Best off-road electric scooter for most riders. An 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery (about 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode by our…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Runner-up:Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter— Best for wet weather and the safest paperwork. A 650 W rated (1,600 W peak) motor, a 597 Wh battery, 11-inch off-road tubeless tires…
  • Budget pick:OOTD T10 Electric Scooter— The biggest battery we cover, 864 Wh (about 32 to 39 miles in its 21.5 mph mode by our estimate)…

Compare the picks

Best Off-Road Electric Scooters (2026): key specs, our range estimate and UL 2272 status for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceTop speedMotor (rated / peak)BatteryRange (claimed / our estimate)Max riderWeightTiresUL 2272
#1KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter28 mph800 W749 Wh34 mi / Not stated264 lb57 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#2Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter24.9 mph650 / 1600 W597 Wh43.5 mi / Not stated265 lb65.5 lb11" TubelessSeller states it
#3OOTD T10 Electric Scooter
$499.99Save $149Check price at Amazon
15.5 mphNot stated864 Wh28 mi / Not stated265 lb62 lb11" TubelessNot stated
#4Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter32 mphNot stated648 Wh28 mi / Not stated300 lb53 lb10" TubelessSeller states it
#5SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter30 mphNot stated720 Wh35 mi / Not stated330 lbNot stated10" Air-filledNot stated
#6OZIVELT Off-Road Electric ScooterNot statedNot statedNot stated25 mi / Not statedNot statedNot stated10" Air-filledNot stated

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Claimed range is the maker’s figure; our estimate divides the battery by the energy a 175 to 180 lb rider uses at full speed in published range tests, so lighter riders and slower speeds go further. “Seller states it” means the Amazon listing or the maker’s own site claims UL 2272 and we could not verify it in the certifier’s directory. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor the maker gives a figure.

Detailed picks

KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #17.5/10

KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter

KuKirin
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best off-road electric scooter for most riders. An 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery (about 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode by our estimate), 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, swing-arm springs and discs at both ends, and a 20° climb rating, at 57 lb and for much less than the ZT3 Pro. The trade-offs: IP54 (its US warranty excludes rain riding), a 28 mph top mode and a UL 2272 claim on the Amazon listing only.

Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #27.6/10

Segway ZT3 Pro Electric Scooter

Segway-Ninebot
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best for wet weather and the safest paperwork. A 650 W rated (1,600 W peak) motor, a 597 Wh battery, 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, a telescopic front fork with a rear spring, discs at both ends, IPX5, traction control, Segway's own rating for partial unpaved roads and a UL 2272 claim Segway attributes to TÜV Rheinland. Segway quotes 43.5 miles in Eco at 9.3 mph and 18.6 at its full 24.9 mph. 65.5 lb, 265 lb limit.

OOTD T10 Electric Scooter
AmazonSave $149
Pick #36.6/10

OOTD T10 Electric Scooter

OOTD
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The biggest battery we cover, 864 Wh (about 32 to 39 miles in its 21.5 mph mode by our estimate), on 11-inch tubeless off-road tires with swing-arm springs and 140 mm discs at both ends and about 20 cm of ground clearance. Ships limited to 15.5 mph. OOTD's written warranty does not cover US Amazon buyers, and the listing makes no UL 2272 claim. 62 lb.

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #46.6/10

Joyful Rider Off-Road Electric Scooter

Joyful Rider
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The lightest pick with a stated weight, 53 lb, and rated IP65, with 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, a front fork and rear spring, discs at both ends and a 300 lb limit. 648 Wh, about 24 to 29 miles in its 17 or 24 mph mode by our estimate. The motor is 1,200 W peak with no rating, the top mode is 32 mph, and there is no maker website.

SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #56.5/10

SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter

SmileCity
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best budget pick for heavier riders: a 330 lb limit and a 720 Wh battery on 10-inch off-road air tires with suspension front and rear and disc brakes. Its listing gives two motor figures (1,600 and 1,800 W peak) and two top speeds (27 and 30 mph), and states no weight, water rating or certification. No SmileCity website.

OZIVELT Off-Road Electric Scooter
Amazon
Pick #66.4/10

OZIVELT Off-Road Electric Scooter

OZIVELT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The best-selling off-road listing we found on Amazon (#14 in Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026), on 10-inch all-terrain air tires with shocks at both ends. Its listing states no motor, battery, top speed, brakes or weight, and its rider limit moved from 330 to 400 lb in a month, so get the specs from the seller in writing before you buy.

TL;DR: 6 off-road electric scooters

  1. KuKirin G2, $599 at our last check. Best overall for most riders. An 800 W rated motor, 748.8 Wh, 10-inch tubeless off-road tires and shocks and discs at both ends, at 57 lb. The trade-offs: IP54, a warranty that excludes rain riding, and a 28 mph top mode.
  2. Segway ZT3 Pro, $999.99 at our last check. Best for wet weather and the safest paperwork. 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, a telescopic fork and rear spring, discs at both ends, IPX5, traction control and a 1,600 W peak motor. 24.9 mph and 65.5 lb.
  3. OOTD T10, $499.99 at our last check. Biggest battery. 864 Wh on 11-inch tubeless off-road tires with swing-arm springs and discs at both ends. Ships limited to 15.5 mph. US support runs through the Amazon seller.
  4. Joyful Rider Off-Road, $509.99 at our last check. The lightest pick, rated IP65. 53 lb, discs at both ends, a 300 lb limit and a 17 mph mode. No maker website.
  5. SmileCity Off-Road, $359.98 at our last check. Best budget pick for heavier riders. 720 Wh, a 330 lb limit, air tires and shocks at both ends. Its listing gives two motor figures and two top speeds.
  6. OZIVELT Off-Road, $399.99 at our last check. The best-selling off-road listing we found on Amazon, if the seller confirms the specs. Air tires and shocks at both ends; no motor, battery, speed or brakes stated.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Six off-road electric scooters sold on Amazon US, chosen on November 1, 2026 from every scooter we cover. To qualify, a scooter needed 10-inch or larger air-filled tires sold with an off-road tread and suspension at both ends; we explain below why scooters that miss either test, or whose maker limits them to pavement, are left out. We ranked on fitness for rough ground (tires, suspension, brakes, rated motor and climb, water rating, and what the maker says about terrain) together with value, and used Amazon's Electric Scooters placements to settle close calls. The top two show that trade: the KuKirin G2 gives more motor, battery and climb for much less money and sells far better, and the Segway ZT3 Pro has the better water rating and paperwork. Specs come from each maker's spec sheet or manual where one exists; three picks (Joyful Rider, SmileCity and OZIVELT) have no maker website, so their figures are the listing's, and each entry says so. Range is our estimate, never a measurement. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated, and none could be confirmed in a certifier's directory. We searched CPSC recalls for every model on November 1, 2026. We have not ridden these scooters.

1. KuKirin G2: best off-road electric scooter for most riders

The KuKirin G2 has an 800 W rated rear hub motor (KuKirin publishes no peak figure), a 748.8 Wh battery (48 V, 15.6 Ah), 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, spring suspension on swing arms front and rear, and disc brakes at both wheels plus an electronic brake, per its maker Shenzhen KuKirin Technology. Its top speed is 28 mph (45 km/h), with modes of about 15.5, 21.7 and 28 mph. It weighs 57 lb, carries riders up to 264 lb, climbs 20° (about a 36% grade) and is rated IP54. Read the KuKirin G2 review.

It ranks first because it out-muscles the ZT3 Pro for much less money: more rated power (800 W against 650 W), more battery (748.8 Wh against 597), a steeper climb rating and 8.5 lb less weight. It is also the scooter people buy: it was #28 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, a placement its listing family shares with the G2 Max, Ultra, Master and G4, against #98 for the ZT3 Pro. KuKirin is a Chinese brand based in Shenzhen, sold in the US through an authorized store, kukirinusa.com, with a 12-month warranty. KuKirin claims about 34 miles at medium speed; we estimate 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode, and KuKirin publishes no full-speed figure.

Know the trade-offs before you buy, because they are why the ZT3 Pro is the pick for wet weather. The G2 is rated IP54, which covers splashes, and KuKirin's US warranty excludes riding in the rain or through water deeper than 4 cm, a real limit on muddy trails. Its only UL 2272 claim is on the Amazon listing, in a bullet shared across the G2 family, with no lab named; KuKirin's own site and US store make none. And its 28 mph top mode is above New York's 20 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, so on public roads there use the 15.5 mph mode and hold it to 15 mph or below in California. KuKirin's US store still prints an older spec, a 15 Ah battery and 27 mph. No CPSC recall found for KuKirin as of November 1, 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to about 220 lb (KuKirin's own suggestion for best performance, under the 264 lb limit) on hilly dirt and gravel in dry weather. Skip if you ride through puddles or rain (the ZT3 Pro below is IPX5), or need a UL 2272 certificate for a New York City building. Choosing within the family? The G2 Max adds a 1,000 W motor, a 20.8 Ah battery, 34 mph and a seat at 68 lb. Read the KuKirin G2 review.

2. Segway ZT3 Pro: best for wet weather and the safest paperwork

The Segway ZT3 Pro is Segway's all-terrain scooter: a 650 W rated rear hub motor with a 1,600 W peak, a 597 Wh battery (46.8 V, 12.75 Ah), 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, a dual telescopic front fork with a rear spring, and disc brakes front and rear plus a rear electronic brake, per Segway's US spec table. Its top speed is 24.9 mph. Segway quotes 43.5 miles of range, measured in Eco mode at 9.3 mph, and 18.6 miles at the full 24.9 mph. It weighs 65.5 lb, carries riders up to 265 lb, is rated IPX5, has traction control and climbs a 25% grade. Read the Segway ZT3 Pro review.

It is the pick for wet ground and for buyers who want the paperwork: it has every part an off-road scooter needs and a maker that writes down what it is for. Segway's spec table describes its terrain as "partial unpaved roads, and mostly smooth roads or normal asphalt": gravel paths, park trails and broken pavement, not rocky singletrack. Its 11-inch tires are the largest of the picks, tied with the OOTD T10, and its IPX5 rating covers jets of water from any direction, so wet grass and rain are within it. Segway states its scooters are tested to UL 2272 by TÜV Rheinland; we could not verify it in a certifier's directory. By the Amazon warranty text, the frame, motor, controller and suspension get 2 years, and the stem and folding mechanism, battery, charger and throttle 1 year. Charging takes about 4 hours. Segway recommends it for riders aged 16 to 60 and 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 7 in tall.

The costs are weight, speed and price. At 65.5 lb it is the heaviest pick, a scooter to roll, not carry. Its 24.9 mph is above New York's 20 mph e-scooter line, New Jersey's under-19 mph line and California's 15 mph limit, so ride it in a slower mode on public roads there. Segway's own figures show what speed costs: 18.6 miles flat out, against 43.5 in Eco. And it is the weakest seller of the six: #98 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, against #28 for the KuKirin G2. Segway's 2025 recall of the Max G30P and G30LP does not cover the ZT3 Pro, and we found no CPSC recall for it as of November 1, 2026. If you ride only pavement, the best Segway for you is a different one: the Max G2 tops our best electric scooters for adults guide. For rough ground, the ZT3 Pro is the Segway to buy.

Who it suits: riders up to 265 lb on gravel paths, park trails and broken pavement who park at ground level and want a maker with US support. Skip if you carry your scooter upstairs, or the price is the limit: the KuKirin G2 above has more motor and battery for much less. Read the ZT3 Pro review.

3. OOTD T10: biggest battery, on 11-inch tires

The OOTD T10 carries the biggest battery of any scooter we cover, 864 Wh (48 V, 18 Ah), on 11-inch tubeless hybrid off-road tires with spring suspension on aluminum swing arms front and rear and 140 mm mechanical disc brakes at both wheels, per the maker's store and manual. Ground clearance is about 20 cm, the only clearance figure any pick publishes. It ships limited to 15.5 mph, with 21.5 and 31 mph modes the rider unlocks, weighs 62 lb and carries 265 lb. We estimate 32 to 39 miles in its 21.5 mph mode; OOTD's own figure is 28 miles unlocked with a 176 lb rider. It was #48 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 28, 2026.

As shipped, it sits under New York's 20 mph and New Jersey's 19 mph lines and just over California's 15 mph limit, the most road-friendly setting of any pick. The paperwork holds it at third. OOTD sells only in Europe, so its written 2-year warranty covers buyers from its own website, not US Amazon buyers; the listing's "2-year frame protection plus 1-year coverage on key electrical components" comes from the seller. The listing makes no UL 2272 claim. The motor is quoted as 900 W, 745 W and 500 W peak in different places, none labelled rated, and the rating is IP54 on OOTD's store and IPX5 in its manual. No CPSC recall found for OOTD as of November 1, 2026.

Who it suits: adults 5 ft 3 in or taller who want the most battery and the biggest tires for the money and can roll a 62 lb scooter. Skip if you want a maker that sells and supports in the US, or a UL 2272 claim. Read the OOTD T10 review.

4. Joyful Rider Off-Road: the lightest pick, rated IP65

The Joyful Rider off-road scooter is the lightest pick with a stated weight, 53 lb, and the only one rated IP65, dust-tight and protected against water jets. Its listing gives 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, a front suspension fork and a rear spring, disc brakes at both wheels plus an electronic brake, a 1,200 W peak motor, a 48 V, 13.5 Ah battery (648 Wh by our arithmetic), a 300 lb rider limit and turn signals that show front and rear. It has four modes, a walking mode and then 17, 24 and 32 mph. We estimate 24 to 29 miles in the 17 or 24 mph mode, which makes the listing's 28-mile claim plausible at those speeds. It climbed from #72 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on October 18 to #43 on November 1, 2026.

Every figure is the listing's; we found no Joyful Rider website. The motor is the weak point: 1,200 W is a peak, with no rated figure or climb rating, so expect it to slow on long dirt climbs sooner than the ZT3 Pro or KuKirin G2. The listing calls it street-legal; its 24 and 32 mph modes are over every state line we cite, so ride in the 17 mph mode on public roads with a 20 mph limit. Its one UL line says the battery is "UL2272 certified", although UL 2272 is the whole-scooter standard, and it names no lab. No warranty term or charge time is stated. No CPSC recall found for Joyful Rider as of November 1, 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 300 lb on wet grass and gravel paths who lift the scooter into a car now and then. Skip if you have long, steep dirt climbs, or need a documented UL 2272 certificate. Read the Joyful Rider review.

5. SmileCity Off-Road: best budget pick for heavier riders

The SmileCity off-road scooter puts a 720 Wh battery (48 V, 15 Ah) and the highest settled rider limit of the picks, 330 lb, on 10-inch air-filled off-road tires with suspension front and rear and disc brakes plus an electronic brake. It was #34 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, at $359.98 at our last check, against $399.99 for the OZIVELT. If you hold it to 24 mph or less, we estimate about 27 to 33 miles; the listing claims 35 to 40.

Its listing contradicts itself. The title says 1,600 W peak and 30 mph, a bullet says 1,800 W peak and 27 mph, neither motor figure is rated, and the "35° inclines" claim would be a 70% grade, which we do not believe. It states no weight, no water rating, no warranty term and no certification, and we found no SmileCity website. At 27 or 30 mph it is over every state line we cite, and the listing does not say what its three modes reach. No CPSC recall found for SmileCity as of November 1, 2026.

Who it suits: riders up to 330 lb on a budget who ride dry dirt and gravel on private land or permitted trails. Skip if you ride in the wet, need a UL 2272 claim, or want to know the weight before it arrives. Read the SmileCity review.

6. OZIVELT Off-Road: the best seller we found, once the specs are confirmed

The OZIVELT off-road scooter is the highest-placed off-road listing we found on Amazon, #14 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, on 10-inch pneumatic all-terrain tires with front and rear suspension, side lights, a signal light, a built-in speaker and a 25-mile range claim. That is nearly all its listing says. It states no motor power, battery size, top speed, brakes or scooter weight, and its rider limit read 330 lb in early October and 400 lb now.

A pricier OZIVELT listing in the same Amazon family states 1,200 W peak, a 48 V, 13 Ah battery, 31 mph, disc brakes front and rear and a 300 lb limit, and its title says "UL Certified" without naming a standard. We cannot confirm the two are the same scooter, so we do not carry those figures over. We found no OZIVELT website and no certification on this listing. No CPSC recall found for OZIVELT as of November 1, 2026.

Who it suits: buyers set on the best seller who will get the motor, battery, top speed, brakes and rider limit from the seller in writing first. Skip if you want to know what you are buying from the page itself; the SmileCity ($359.98 at our last check) states a battery and brakes. Read the OZIVELT review.

Off-road electric scooters compared

The six picks in rank order, with the Segway Max G3 mention below them. Figures are the maker's where one publishes a spec sheet and the listing's for the Joyful Rider, SmileCity and OZIVELT.

Scooter Tires and suspension Motor Top speed Battery Weight, rider limit Brakes Water rating
KuKirin G2 10 in off-road tubeless; swing-arm springs front and rear 800 W rated 28 mph (15.5 and 21.7 mph modes) 748.8 Wh 57 lb, 264 lb discs front and rear, electronic IP54
Segway ZT3 Pro 11 in off-road tubeless; telescopic fork, rear spring 650 W rated, 1,600 W peak 24.9 mph 597 Wh 65.5 lb, 265 lb discs front and rear, rear electronic IPX5
OOTD T10 11 in off-road tubeless; swing-arm springs front and rear 900, 745 or 500 W peak, none rated 15.5 mph shipped, 31 unlocked 864 Wh 62 lb, 265 lb 140 mm discs front and rear IP54 (IPX5 in the manual)
Joyful Rider 10 in off-road tubeless; front fork, rear spring 1,200 W peak 32 mph (17 and 24 mph modes) 648 Wh (computed) 53 lb, 300 lb discs front and rear, electronic IP65
SmileCity 10 in off-road air; front and rear 1,600 W peak (1,800 in a bullet) 30 mph (27 in a bullet) 720 Wh (computed) not stated, 330 lb discs ("dual" in the title), electronic not stated
OZIVELT 10 in all-terrain air; front and rear not stated not stated not stated not stated; 400 lb listed (330 lb on Oct 4) not described not stated
Segway Max G3 (mention) 11 in self-sealing tubeless (a road model); hydraulic front and rear 850 W rated, 2,000 W peak 20 mph shipped, 28 by app 597 Wh 54.2 lb, 286 lb discs front and rear IPX6

What makes an electric scooter off-road capable?

Plenty of Amazon titles say "off-road" or "all-terrain", and two scooters we cover with those words on their listings, the NAVEE ST3 and NIU KQi 300P, are limited to pavement by their own manuals. These are the thresholds we used, and the numbers to check on any listing:

  • Tires of 10 inches or more, air-filled, with an off-road tread. Air tires grip loose ground and soak up stones; solid and honeycomb tires ride harder and grip less, which is why the Hiboy S2 Pro and MAXSHOT V1 SPRO are out. Size matters too: smaller wheels catch on ruts and roots that a bigger one rolls over, so the 8.5-inch air tires on the HopCycle N3 DS miss the cut. The ZT3 Pro and OOTD T10 run 11 inches; the other four picks run 10.
  • Suspension at both ends. A front fork alone, as on the NIU KQi 300X, or rear springs alone, as on the Hiboys and the seated Gotrax A5, leaves one end taking every root. Every pick has suspension front and rear: swing-arm springs on the KuKirin G2 and OOTD T10, and a fork with a rear spring on the ZT3 Pro and Joyful Rider; the SmileCity and OZIVELT listings do not say what type.
  • Disc brakes at both wheels. On loose gravel and downhill, a front drum and rear electronic brake, the setup on the Segway Max G2 and E3 Pro and the NAVEE GT3, is road braking. Four picks have discs at both ends by their maker or listing; SmileCity's title says dual discs, and OZIVELT's listing does not say.
  • A rated motor of 500 W or more, or about 1,000 W peak where no rating is given, and a climb rating of 20% or more. Dirt climbs ask more of a motor than pavement. Peak watts are a few seconds of output, so a rated figure tells you more: the ZT3 Pro is 650 W rated with a 25% climb, the KuKirin G2 800 W rated with 20° (about 36%).
  • A water rating of IPX5 or better. Wet grass and puddles are part of riding off pavement. IPX5 (ZT3 Pro) and IP65 (Joyful Rider) cover water jets; IP54 (KuKirin G2, OOTD T10) covers splashes only, and KuKirin's US warranty excludes water deeper than 4 cm.
  • A battery of about 600 Wh or more. Loose ground and climbs use more energy than pavement, so off-road range falls short of any claim. The picks that state a battery run 597 to 864 Wh.
  • What the maker says about terrain. Read the manual, not the title. Segway rates the ZT3 Pro for "partial unpaved roads". NAVEE's manual limits the ST3 to cement or asphalt with bumps under 1 cm, though its Amazon listing says "Off Road", and NIU's manual limits the KQi 300P to flat pavement despite an "All-Terrain" listing.

Expect weight to come with all of this. The four picks that state a weight run 53 to 65.5 lb, so plan to roll them more than carry them, and rider limits run 264 to 330 lb.

Scooters sold for rough ground that we left out

  • NAVEE ST3: suspension at both ends and 10-inch tubeless air tires, and its Amazon listing says "Off Road, All Terrain". NAVEE's own manual limits it to cement or asphalt, and its store calls it a smooth city scooter. It is a rough-pavement commuter with a front drum and rear disc.
  • NIU KQi 300X and KQi 300P: discs at both ends and 10.5-inch tubeless tires, with a front fork only; the 300P's "All-Terrain" listing contradicts NIU's manual, which limits it to flat pavement.
  • Segway Max G2, E3 Pro and F3, and the NAVEE GT3: suspension at both ends on 10-inch tubeless tires, with no disc at the rear (the F3 has a front disc; the others a front drum), so they miss our brake threshold.
  • Hiboy S2 Pro, MAXSHOT V1 SPRO and Aovowheel Y01: solid or honeycomb tires, even where there are shocks at both ends.
  • HopCycle N3 DS: air tires and suspension at both ends, on 8.5-inch wheels with a rear disc only.

We also do not cover dual-motor off-road scooters yet. They are faster and heavier again: KuKirin's own dual-motor G2 Ultra is 31 mph and 67 lb, and the G2 Master 37 mph and 72 lb.

How far does an off-road scooter go on a charge?

Less than the box says, and less again on dirt. We estimate range by dividing battery watt-hours by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile, the middle half of published full-speed tests of commuter scooters with a 175 to 180 lb rider. That band holds up to about 24 mph, and every pick can go faster, so each estimate below is for a slower mode: about 28 to 34 miles for the KuKirin G2 in its 21.7 mph mode, 32 to 39 for the OOTD T10 at 21.5 mph, 24 to 29 for the Joyful Rider at 17 or 24 mph, and 27 to 33 for the SmileCity if held to 24 mph or less. For the ZT3 Pro we use Segway's own figure, 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph, which is about 32 Wh per mile. The OZIVELT states no battery, so there is nothing to divide. Loose ground, climbs and heavier riders all push consumption up, so on a trail plan well under these numbers. We have not measured any of this ourselves.

Where you can ride an off-road scooter, and how to stay safe

Off-road does not mean anywhere. On national forest land a self-propelled vehicle is a motor vehicle (36 CFR 212.1), allowed only on the roads, trails and areas that the forest's motor vehicle use map opens to motor vehicles (36 CFR 261.13). In national parks, a rule published in August 2026 bars powered micromobility devices, a class of self-propelled devices under 150 lb that takes in these scooters, except in locations a park designates; ground that has never been surfaced with gravel, asphalt or similar needs a Federal Register rulemaking first, and wilderness areas are closed to them (36 CFR 4.32). State and city parks set their own rules, so check before you ride a trail. Private land, with the owner's permission, is the one place every pick's top speed is fine.

Streets and sidewalks follow state scooter law. California keeps scooters off sidewalks and requires a driver's license or instruction permit (Vehicle Code §21235) and caps motorized scooters at 15 mph (§22411); New York defines an e-scooter as no faster than 20 mph (VTL §114-e); New Jersey's must be under 19 mph; and Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads. Every pick that states a top speed is past all three lines at full speed; only the OOTD T10 as shipped (15.5 mph) sits under New York's and New Jersey's, so ride the slower modes on public roads, and check your city's rules too. Scooters are not e-bikes, and the e-bike classes do not apply.

On safety, Segway is the only maker of a pick that names a lab for its UL 2272 claim (TÜV Rheinland); the KuKirin G2's claim is on its Amazon listing only, the Joyful Rider's is attached to its battery, and the OOTD T10, SmileCity and OZIVELT state none. We could not verify any of them in a certifier's directory. That matters in New York City and California, which both require UL 2272 for scooters sold there. We found no CPSC recall for any scooter on this page as of November 1, 2026. Wear a helmet: the CPSC estimates 79,300 emergency-room visits involving e-scooters in 2024, and only 18% of the injured riders it followed up were wearing one. Our electric scooter safety guide covers charging and the checks to make before every ride.

How we chose

We started from every scooter we cover, kept those with 10-inch or larger air-filled tires sold with an off-road tread and suspension at both ends, and dropped any whose maker limits it to pavement. That left six, each in stock on Amazon US and each with a full review on this site. We ranked them on fitness for rough ground (tires, suspension, brakes, rated motor and climb, water rating and the maker's terrain statement) together with value, and used Amazon's Electric Scooters placements (October 28 to November 1, 2026) to settle close calls. That is why the KuKirin G2, with more motor and battery for much less money and far stronger sales, ranks above the better-documented Segway ZT3 Pro. Specs come from each maker's spec sheet or manual, checked against the listing; where they disagree, the entry says so. Three picks have no maker website, so their figures are the listing's. UL 2272 status is the claim as stated, never upgraded to "certified". We searched CPSC recalls for every model on November 1, 2026. We have not ridden these scooters, and we do not take free samples.

More electric scooter guides

For the all-round list, see best electric scooters for adults. For the most miles a charge, best long-range electric scooters ranks by our range estimate. On a budget, start with best electric scooters under $500; if you would rather sit, best electric scooters with a seat. How much does an electric scooter cost? explains what each price band buys, and electric scooter vs e-bike covers when an e-bike suits rough ground better. Everything we cover is on the electric scooters hub.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • Segway Ninebot Max G3 Electric Scooter product photo

    For rough pavement more than dirt, at 20 mph as shipped, New York's e-scooter line ($999.99 at our last check). It is a road scooter: Segway sells the ZT3 Pro as its all-terrain model and rates the G3's range on pavement, on 11-inch self-sealing tubeless tires. It does have hydraulic suspension and disc brakes at both ends, an 850 W rated (2,000 W peak) motor, a 30% climb, IPX6 and a 286 lb limit, at 54.2 lb. Its 28 mph app unlock is above every state line we cite, and Segway's US store marks it end of life.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electric scooter for off-road?

The KuKirin G2, for most riders: an 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery, 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, and suspension and disc brakes at both ends, at 57 lb and $599 at our last check. Its trade-offs are an IP54 rating, a US warranty that excludes rain riding and a UL 2272 claim that appears only on Amazon. If you ride in the wet or want the best paperwork, the Segway ZT3 Pro ($999.99 at our last check) has 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, IPX5, traction control, a 650 W rated (1,600 W peak) motor and Segway's own rating for partial unpaved roads; it weighs 65.5 lb and reaches 24.9 mph.

What are some good electric scooters with off-road tires?

Of the scooters we cover: the Segway ZT3 Pro and OOTD T10 on 11-inch off-road tubeless tires; the KuKirin G2 and Joyful Rider on 10-inch tubeless off-road tires; and the SmileCity and OZIVELT on 10-inch air-filled all-terrain tires. All six also have suspension at both ends. Look for tires of 10 inches or more that hold air; solid and honeycomb tires suit pavement.

What are some good off-road scooters for adults?

All six picks are adult scooters over 50 lb. For heavier riders, the SmileCity lists 330 lb and the Joyful Rider 300 lb; the Segway ZT3 Pro and OOTD T10 carry 265 lb and the KuKirin G2 264 lb, though KuKirin suggests 220 lb or less for best performance. Segway recommends the ZT3 Pro for ages 16 to 60 and heights of 5 ft 3 in to 6 ft 7 in, and the OOTD T10's listing is for adults 5 ft 3 in and taller.

Is a dual motor electric scooter better for off-road?

Two motors drive both wheels, so the scooter keeps pulling when one wheel slips on loose dirt, and they add power for climbs. They also add weight and speed. KuKirin's own range shows the trade: the single-motor G2 is 28 mph and 57 lb, the dual-motor G2 Ultra 31 mph and 67 lb, and the G2 Master 37 mph and 72 lb, all past every state scooter limit we cite. None of our six picks is dual-motor, and we do not cover dual-motor scooters yet.

Can you ride an electric scooter on trails?

Only where the land manager allows it. On national forest land a scooter is a motor vehicle and may use only the routes the forest's motor vehicle use map opens to motor vehicles (36 CFR 261.13). In national parks, a rule published in August 2026 bars powered scooters except where a park designates them, and wilderness areas are closed (36 CFR 4.32). State and city parks set their own rules. In national parks e-bikes and scooters fall under different rules, so a path open to e-bikes is not automatically open to a scooter. Private land with the owner's permission is the safe choice.

How long do electric scooters last?

No maker of a scooter on this page publishes a lifespan in years or charge cycles, so the warranty is the best guide to what each will stand behind. Segway covers the ZT3 Pro's frame, motor, controller and suspension for 2 years and its battery, charger, stem and folding mechanism for 1. KuKirin gives the G2 12 months and excludes rain riding. The OOTD T10's Amazon seller promises 2 years on the frame and 1 on key electrical parts. The Joyful Rider, SmileCity and OZIVELT listings state no warranty term. Off-road riding is harder on a scooter than pavement, so check the tires, brakes and folding latch often and keep water away from the deck.

KuKirin G2 or Segway ZT3 Pro: which is better off-road?

The KuKirin G2 for most riders, and the ZT3 Pro for wet ground and the safest paperwork. The G2 has more rated power (800 W against 650 W), more battery (748.8 Wh against 597), a steeper climb rating and 8.5 lb less weight (57 lb against 65.5) for much less money, and tops out at 28 mph; it is IP54, and KuKirin's US warranty excludes rain riding. The ZT3 Pro has bigger 11-inch tires, IPX5, traction control, a 2-year frame and motor warranty and a UL 2272 claim Segway attributes to TÜV Rheinland, and tops out at 24.9 mph. Both have discs and suspension at both ends.

How far can an off-road electric scooter go on one charge?

About 24 to 39 miles in a mid-speed mode for the picks that state a battery, by our estimate for a 175 to 180 lb rider, and less on dirt. That is about 28 to 34 miles for the KuKirin G2 at 21.7 mph, 32 to 39 for the OOTD T10 at 21.5 mph, 24 to 29 for the Joyful Rider at 17 or 24 mph, and 27 to 33 for the SmileCity at 24 mph or less. At full speed it drops: Segway's own figure for the ZT3 Pro is 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph, against 43.5 in Eco at 9.3 mph.

Our pick

KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: KuKirin G2 Electric Scooter

Best off-road electric scooter for most riders. An 800 W rated motor, a 748.8 Wh battery (about 28 to 34 miles in its 21.7 mph mode by our…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor