Review · SmileCity
Electric scooter6.5/10SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter
Specs read from the live Amazon listing and the maker's own sheet where one exists

Our verdict
The SmileCity off-road scooter is a budget all-terrain scooter for adults up to 330 lb, with 10-inch air tires and shocks at both ends. Its listing was #34 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, at $359.98 at our last check, and states a 48 V, 15 Ah battery (720 Wh by our arithmetic), disc brakes and up to 35 to 40 miles. It also contradicts itself on the motor (1,600 W or 1,800 W peak) and top speed (27 or 30 mph), and gives no weight, water rating or certification. Either speed is above the scooter limits in California, New Jersey and New York. We found no SmileCity website.
- Best for
- Budget buyers who want a big battery, air tires and shocks for dirt and gravel
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on links to other retailers. Full disclosure.
Free 30-day returns via Amazon
Not sold on this one? See every ranked pick in our guide to the best electric scooters under $500 on Amazon.
Ranked #5 in Best Off-Road Electric Scooters (2026).

At a glance
The numbers
SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter is a folding electric scooter that scores 6.5/10 on our editorial rubric, last verified on November 1, 2026. Amazon lists it at $359.98 right now. On Amazon it currently ranks #38 Best Seller in Electric Scooters. It pairs a 720 Wh battery, rated for a claimed range of up to 35 miles and a top speed of 30 mph. Its 30 mph top speed as shipped is above California's 15 mph scooter limit, so California riders must hold it to 15. New Jersey's legal e-scooter must be under 19 mph, so it is not a legal e-scooter there. It is above the 20 mph line New York uses to define an e-scooter, so check your state and city rules before buying. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the US e-bike classes do not apply. The scooter is rated for riders up to 330 lb. It rides on 10-inch air-filled tires, with dual suspension and disc brakes ("Dual Disc Brake" in the title) plus an electronic brake. Neither the listing nor the maker states UL 2272 certification. It best suits budget buyers who want a big battery, air tires and shocks for dirt and gravel.
Pros
- + 720 Wh battery (48 V, 15 Ah) at a budget price
- + 10-inch air-filled off-road tires with suspension front and rear
- + Disc brakes plus an electronic brake, with "Dual Disc Brake" in the title
- + 330 lb rider limit, the highest settled figure among the off-road scooters we cover
- + Headlight, brake lights and side lights; folds and arrives 90% assembled
Cons
- - The listing gives two motor figures (1,600 W and 1,800 W peak) and two top speeds (27 and 30 mph)
- - No scooter weight, water rating, folded size or warranty term stated
- - No certification stated, and no SmileCity website to check anything against
- - 27 to 30 mph is above the New York, New Jersey and California scooter limits
- - Air tires can puncture off-road, so carry a pump and a spare tube
Who is this for?
- Budget buyers who want a big battery, air tires and shocks for dirt and gravel
- Riders up to 330 lb on private land or trails where motorized scooters are allowed
What the SmileCity off-road scooter is
This is a folding stand-up scooter sold for dirt, gravel and grass: 10-inch inflatable off-road tires, suspension at the front and rear, disc brakes with an electronic brake, a brushless hub motor and a 48 V, 15 Ah battery, which works out to 720 Wh. Its Amazon listing was #34 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026, the same place it held on October 28. The listing also describes a headlight, brake lights and side lights, three speed modes, a 4 to 6 hour charge, a 330 lb rider limit, and a scooter that arrives 90% assembled and folds for a car trunk.
SmileCity is an Amazon brand that also sells budget e-bikes. We found no SmileCity website and no coverage of the brand outside Amazon, so every figure on this page is the listing's claim or our arithmetic on it. That matters more than usual here, because the listing disagrees with itself.
The full review, section by section. Tap any section to read it.
Where the listing contradicts itself
Where the listing contradicts itself
The title and the bullet points underneath it give different numbers for the motor, the top speed and the range. Side by side, as the listing read on November 1, 2026:
| The title says | The bullets say | |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 1,600 W peak | 1,800 W peak, brushless hub |
| Top speed | 30 mph | 27 mph |
| Range | "35/45 Miles" | 35 to 40 miles |
| Brakes | "Dual Disc Brake" | electronic and disc brakes combined |
| Climb | not stated | "35° inclines" |
We publish the lower motor figure, 1,600 W, and the higher speed, 30 mph, because the speed is what decides where you can ride it. Both motor figures are peaks, the output a motor reaches for a few seconds. Neither is a rated (continuous) figure, which is the one that tells you how hard the motor can work up a long dirt climb, so we cannot compare its sustained power with scooters whose makers publish one. The "35/45 Miles" in the title reads like two battery sizes; this listing sells one, the 48 V, 15 Ah pack, and Amazon shows no other option in its family.
The climb claim is the one we set aside. A 35° slope is a 70% grade, far steeper than the 25% Segway gives its all-terrain ZT3 Pro or the 20° (about a 36% grade) KuKirin gives its G2. We do not repeat it as a rating.
The listing also leaves things out: the scooter's weight, its folded size, a water (IP) rating, a warranty term and any safety certification. Ask the seller through Amazon for all five before you order.
Speed, power and where you can ride it
Speed, power and where you can ride it
At 27 or 30 mph this scooter is past every state line we track. It is above the 20 mph line in New York's e-scooter definition (VTL §114-e), too fast for New Jersey's legal e-scooter, which must be under 19 mph, and about double California's 15 mph limit for motorized scooters (Vehicle Code §22411). California also requires a driver's license or instruction permit and keeps scooters off sidewalks (§21235), and Pennsylvania does not allow e-scooters on public roads. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the US e-bike classes do not apply. In August 2026 New York City sent cease-and-desist orders to 42 online retailers, Amazon among them, over stand-up scooters that can exceed 20 mph.
The listing names three speed modes without saying how fast each one goes, so ask the seller whether a lower mode holds 15 or 20 mph before you plan to ride it on public roads.
Off-road does not mean anywhere. On national forest land a self-propelled vehicle counts as a motor vehicle (36 CFR 212.1) and may go only where the forest's motor vehicle use map allows motor vehicles (36 CFR 261.13). In national parks, a rule published in August 2026 bars powered scooters under 150 lb except in locations a park designates, and dirt that has never been surfaced needs a Federal Register rulemaking first (36 CFR 4.32). City and state parks set their own rules. Private land, with the owner's permission, is where a 30 mph scooter belongs.
Battery and real range
Battery and real range
The battery is 48 V and 15 Ah, which is 720 Wh by our arithmetic; the listing gives no watt-hour figure. It claims 35 to 40 miles in one place and "35/45 Miles" in another, with no rider weight, speed or terrain attached.
Dividing the battery by the claims shows what they assume. 720 Wh over 35 miles is about 20.6 Wh per mile, and over 40 miles 18 Wh per mile. Both are lighter use than the 22 to 27 Wh per mile that published full-speed tests of commuter scooters measured for a 175 to 180 lb rider, so read the claims as figures for a light rider going slowly on flat ground.
If you hold it to 24 mph or less, our method (battery watt-hours divided by 22 to 27) gives about 27 to 33 miles. We cannot say which mode that is, because the listing gives no mode speeds, and we give no estimate at 27 or 30 mph, above the speeds our band comes from. For a sense of what speed costs, Segway's own figures for its ZT3 Pro are 18.6 miles at 24.9 mph from 597 Wh, about 32 Wh per mile. Off-road riding uses more energy than pavement too, so on dirt, on climbs or at full speed, plan well under our figure. Charging takes 4 to 6 hours by the listing.
Ride, brakes and build
Ride, brakes and build
The chassis is the reason to look at this scooter. Ten-inch air-filled tires with an off-road tread grip loose ground and soak up small bumps far better than the 8.5-inch solid tires on most budget scooters, and suspension at both ends takes the edge off ruts and roots. The listing does not describe the suspension type or travel. The trade with air tires is punctures, so carry a pump and a spare tube.
The brakes need checking on arrival. The title promises dual disc brakes; the bullet describes a combined electronic and disc system. Look for a rotor and caliper at both wheels before your first ride on loose ground, where a single rear disc is not enough.
The 330 lb rider limit is the highest settled figure of the off-road scooters we cover, above the Segway ZT3 Pro (265 lb), the KuKirin G2 (264 lb) and the Joyful Rider (300 lb). The missing weight is the catch. Off-road scooters with batteries this size weigh 53 to 65.5 lb among those we cover (the Joyful Rider is 53 lb with 648 Wh, the KuKirin G2 57 lb with 748.8 Wh), so plan on a heavy scooter until the seller says otherwise. With no water rating stated, treat it as a dry-weather scooter and keep it out of puddles and wet grass. The listing promises a reply from customer service within 24 hours and states no warranty term.
Safety: UL 2272 and recalls
Safety: UL 2272 and recalls
No certification stated. The listing makes no UL 2272 claim and names no lab. UL 2272 is the fire and electrical safety standard for a scooter's whole electrical system. New York City's Local Law 39 requires e-scooters sold, leased or rented in the city to be certified to it (since September 16, 2023), and California's SB 1271 bars the sale of motorized scooters whose battery was not tested to it (since January 1, 2026). If either applies to you, or your building asks for proof, this scooter is the wrong choice. No CPSC recall found for SmileCity as of November 1, 2026 (CPSC recalls). Our electric scooter safety guide covers charging and the checks to make on any listing, and at 30 mph a helmet is not optional.
How it compares
How it compares
- OZIVELT Off-Road ($399.99 at our last check): the best-selling budget off-road listing we track (#14 in Amazon's Electric Scooters on November 1, 2026), also on 10-inch air tires with shocks at both ends, but its listing states no motor, battery, top speed, brakes or weight. The SmileCity at least gives you a battery size and a brake type.
- Joyful Rider Off-Road ($509.99 at our last check): states what this listing leaves out, with a 53 lb weight, IP65, mode speeds of 17, 24 and 32 mph and disc brakes front and rear. It has less battery (648 Wh), a smaller 1,200 W peak motor and a 300 lb limit.
- KuKirin G2 ($599 at our last check): an 800 W rated motor and 748.8 Wh on 10-inch tubeless off-road tires, with suspension and disc brakes at both ends, IP54 and 57 lb, from a maker with an authorized US store and a 12-month warranty. Its top mode is 28 mph.
- Segway ZT3 Pro ($999.99 at our last check): Segway's all-terrain scooter, with everything written down: 650 W rated (1,600 W peak), 597 Wh, 11-inch off-road tubeless tires, suspension and discs at both ends, IPX5 and a 265 lb limit, at 24.9 mph and 65.5 lb. Segway states UL 2272 testing by TÜV Rheinland.
Who should buy it, and who should skip it
Who should buy it, and who should skip it
Buy it if you want a big battery, air tires and shocks for dirt and gravel at a budget price, you weigh up to 330 lb, and you will ride where a 30 mph scooter is allowed, such as private land. Ask the seller for its weight, mode speeds, brake layout and water rating before you order, and use Amazon's return window to check the brakes.
Skip it if you need a UL 2272 claim for New York City, California or your building, ride in the wet, carry your scooter upstairs, or want a maker you can reach outside Amazon. The KuKirin G2 and Segway ZT3 Pro cost more and document what they sell; our best off-road electric scooters guide ranks them against this one.

Ready to buy?
See current pricing at Amazon
We update prices as the listing changes, and the final price is set by the retailer at checkout.
Frequently asked questions
How fast does the SmileCity electric scooter go?
30 mph by the listing's title, 27 mph by its bullet points; the listing gives both and does not say what speed its three modes reach. Either figure is above California's 15 mph scooter limit, New Jersey's under-19 mph line and New York's 20 mph e-scooter definition, so keep full speed for private land and ask the seller whether a lower mode holds 15 or 20 mph. Scooters are not e-bikes, so the e-bike classes do not apply.
How far can the SmileCity off-road scooter go on one charge?
The listing claims 35 to 40 miles, with no rider weight or speed attached. Its 48 V, 15 Ah battery is 720 Wh by our arithmetic, and if you hold it to 24 mph or less we estimate about 27 to 33 miles for a 175 to 180 lb rider, by dividing the battery by 22 to 27 watt-hours per mile. We give no estimate at 27 or 30 mph. Dirt, climbs and full speed all cut range, so plan under these figures off-road. A full charge takes 4 to 6 hours.
What is the weight limit of the SmileCity scooter?
330 lb, by the listing. That is more than the Segway ZT3 Pro (265 lb), the KuKirin G2 (264 lb) or the Joyful Rider (300 lb). The listing does not state the scooter's own weight, so ask the seller before you buy if you need to lift it into a car or up steps. A heavier rider also gets less range than any claim.
Is the SmileCity electric scooter UL certified?
No certification stated. The listing makes no UL 2272 claim and names no lab. New York City requires UL 2272 certification for e-scooters sold there, and California has required UL 2272 battery testing for motorized scooters sold there since January 1, 2026. No CPSC recall found for SmileCity as of November 1, 2026.
Can the SmileCity scooter really go off-road?
On paper it has the parts that matter: 10-inch air-filled off-road tires, suspension front and rear and disc brakes, sold for dirt, gravel and grass. The listing does not describe the suspension travel, give a water rating or state the weight, and its 35° climb claim (a 70% grade) is not believable, so treat it as a scooter for gravel paths and dry dirt rather than rocky trails. On national forest land and in national parks, scooters may ride only where motor vehicles or powered scooters are allowed, so check the rules for the land you ride.
Wear a helmet on every scooter ride. US emergency rooms saw an estimated 79,300 e-scooter injuries in 2024, and only 18% of injured riders in CPSC's data were wearing one.
Retrospec Silas adult bike helmet
CPSC-certified — the standard US state helmet statutes reference — with 24 vents and an adjustable dial fit.

Bottom line
Is the SmileCity Off-Road Electric Scooter for you?
Check the live price + availability before deciding.
If this isn't the one
8.4
Segway Ninebot Max G2 Electric Scooter
Save $370
The Segway Ninebot Max G2 is the pick for adults who want range first: a 551 Wh battery,...
Read the review 8.2
NIU KQi 300X Electric Scooter
Buy the NIU KQi 300X if you want long range and strong brakes and can live with 48.7...
Read the review 8.0
Segway Ninebot F3 Electric Scooter
Save $200
The Segway Ninebot F3 is the Segway commuter for riders who carry their scooter: 42.3 lb, a 477...
Read the review