Ebike Oracle
Buyer guide

Best Electric Bikes Under $200 on Amazon (2026)

Yes, a usable electric bike exists under $200: the best is the Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99), a 20 mph Class 2 folder with SGS-validated UL 2271 and UL 2849. Its 480 Wh battery supports the 20 to 25 miles Askmy claims, and it sat well under $200 at our November 2026 check. For the most battery for the least money, the HLOIE Folding 14 ($150 checked) carries 576 Wh with the same 20 mph cap, though its UL 2849 claim names no lab. Five picks in all, each ranked on what its Amazon listing is willing to put in writing; three of them sat within a dollar of $200 at that same check, so confirm the live price on the button.

By John WeeksUpdated Nov 1, 2026How we score

Ranked from our scored reviews

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.

Best overall

8.1/10

Best overall under $200. It passes all four of this page's checks: UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS…

Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

  • Budget pick:HLOIE Folding 14— Cheapest bike here, with the biggest battery: 576 Wh (48 V x 12 Ah) on a 14-inch folder at $150…
  • Runner-up:RPINT Mini 14— Best documented: the only SGS pick that also publishes its weight (55 lb), payload (260 lb) and gearing (3 speeds)…

Compare the picks

Best Electric Bikes Under $200 on Amazon (2026): US e-bike class and key specs for each pick, with where to buy
PickPriceClassTop speedMotor (listed)BatteryMax loadWeightFrame
#1Askmy Mini 14Class 220 mph740 W480 WhNot statedNot statedFolding, step-through
#2HLOIE Folding 14Class 220 mphNot stated576 WhNot stated62 lbFolding, step-through
#3RPINT Mini 14Class 220 mphNot stated480 Wh260 lb55 lbFolding
#4TRIWHEEL 14-Inch Mini Electric Bike
$199.99Save $100Check price at Amazon
Not stated20 mphNot stated281 Wh264 lb43.9 lbStandard
#5Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail CommuterClass 220 mph500 W360 Wh330 lb49.6 lbStandard

Prices are subject to change, and the buy links always fetch the live price. Motor is the figure the listing quotes, which is often a peak rather than a rated number; US e-bike classes are set on rated output. “Not stated” means neither the listing nor our review gives a figure.

Detailed picks

Askmy Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #18.1/10

Askmy Mini 14

Askmy
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best overall under $200. It passes all four of this page's checks: UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, a 740 W peak motor that cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, a stated 20 mph Class 2 cap, and a 20 to 25 mile claim from 480 Wh that works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile. Tubeless 14-inch tires and a spring fork, at $183.99. It publishes no weight, payload or rated wattage, has no gears, and has the thinnest Amazon sales record of the five picks.

HLOIE Folding 14
Amazon
Pick #27.4/10

HLOIE Folding 14

HLOIE
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Cheapest bike here, with the biggest battery: 576 Wh (48 V x 12 Ah) on a 14-inch folder at $150, with a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 750 W peak motor. Its throttle range claim survives the division, so plan on about 25 miles. It fails one check: UL 2849 is claimed with no lab named, and there is no UL 2271 claim. 62 lb, a 180-day warranty and no working brand website.

RPINT Mini 14
Amazon
Pick #37.5/10

RPINT Mini 14

RPINT
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Best documented: the only SGS pick that also publishes its weight (55 lb), payload (260 lb) and gearing (3 speeds), with UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS, a 20 mph Class 2 cap and a 740 W peak motor, at $199. It passes all four checks and ranks third because it sat just under $200 at our November 2026 check. #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes (September 2026). Front suspension only; plan on 20 to 28 miles from 480 Wh.

TRIWHEEL 14-Inch Mini Electric Bike
AmazonSave $100
Pick #47.1/10

TRIWHEEL 14-Inch Mini Electric Bike

TRIWHEEL
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Lightest pick, for shorter riders: 43.9 lb and sized for 4 ft 11 in to 5 ft 7 in, at $199.99, and #2 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes (November 2026). It names TÜV Rheinland for both UL 2849 and UL 2271 and states 20 mph and a 264 lb load. The motor is quoted only as 1000 W peak, so its class cannot be confirmed, and the 281 Wh pack means 12 to 15 miles. Only the stem folds.

Jasion EB5 26" 500W Hardtail Commuter
Amazon
Check price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

The only full-size pick: a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7-speed Shimano gearing, a 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, at $199.99. #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes (October 2026), with over 2,200 reviews. No UL certification is stated on its listings, and the 360 Wh pack means about 16 miles, against the 25 to 40 claimed.

TL;DR: five picks under $200

  1. Askmy Mini 14, $183.99 at our last check. Best overall. A 14-inch folder that names SGS for both UL 2271 and UL 2849, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and backs a 20 to 25 mile claim with a 480 Wh battery the arithmetic supports. Tubeless tires and a spring fork.
  2. HLOIE Folding 14, $150 at our last check. Cheapest bike here, with the biggest battery. 576 Wh and a 20 mph Class 2 cap on a 14-inch folder. Its UL 2849 claim names no lab, the warranty is 180 days, and it weighs 62 lb.
  3. RPINT Mini 14, $199 at our last check. Best documented. SGS-validated UL 2271 and UL 2849, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and the weight (55 lb), payload (260 lb) and gearing (3 speeds) the Askmy leaves out. It sat just under $200 at our November 2026 check.
  4. TRIWHEEL 14, $199.99 at our last check. Lightest pick, for shorter riders. 43.9 lb, sized for riders 4 ft 11 in to 5 ft 7 in, with TÜV Rheinland named for both UL standards. The motor is quoted only as 1000 W peak, and the 281 Wh pack means 12 to 15 miles.
  5. Jasion EB5, $199.99 at our last check. The only full-size pick. A 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor, a 20 mph Class 2 cap, 7 speeds and a 330 lb payload. Its listings state no UL certification, and 360 Wh means about 16 miles.

All five state a 20 mph top speed, and three of the five name the lab behind both UL standards. Three sat within a dollar of $200 at our November 1, 2026 check, so the price beside each pick is the one to trust.

The full guide, section by section. Tap any section to read it.

Our method in brief

Amazon US only, with a hard $200 ceiling: every pick was in stock at or under $200 on its live Amazon listing at our check on November 1, 2026, and every pick has a full review on this site. We have not ridden any of these bikes. Every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it. Three picks sat within a dollar of $200 that day, so a routine price move can put them over the line, and the buy buttons always fetch the live number. Picks are ranked on four checks: a UL 2271 or UL 2849 claim with the lab named, a motor figure that places the bike under the 750 W rated federal definition, a stated top speed inside a US e-bike class, and a range claim that holds up when battery watt-hours are divided by claimed miles. A bike that sat clearly under $200 ranks above one at the line, because on a page that promises under $200, a bike that can cross it overnight is the weaker answer. Ties go to what else the listing publishes (weight, payload, warranty) and the Amazon sales record behind it.

Is a $200 e-bike worth it?

Yes, for short, mostly flat trips, if the listing states its numbers. Most e-bikes under $200 are 14-inch minis with 281 to 576 Wh batteries, which our reviews plan at about 12 to 25 miles a charge, and six of the eight we review state a 20 mph top speed. Where a maximum load is published it runs 260 to 330 lb, and half of the eight publish none. The best of them, like the Askmy Mini 14, name the lab behind both UL safety standards.

What you give up against a $300 to $500 bike is size, gearing and battery. Only the Jasion EB5 here combines 26-inch wheels, 7 speeds and a stated rated motor, and no bike here carries more than 576 Wh. A rung or two up, the Funhang City Cruiser 26 ($369.99 at our last check) pairs 26-inch wheels and 7 speeds with a 500 W rated motor and SGS named for both UL standards, and the Funhang Fat 26 ($529.99 checked) carries 624 Wh with a stated 330 lb payload. If your trips run past about 10 miles each way, or you want gears for hills, start there instead.

What $200 actually buys

Under $200, Amazon's e-bikes are mostly 14-inch minis. We review eight e-bikes that sat under $200 at our November 1, 2026 check. Six roll on 14-inch wheels, and two, the Jasion EB5 and the VOLTVOGUE City 26, on 26-inch wheels. Here is what their listings state.

  • Battery: 250 to 576 Wh. The VOLTVOGUE carries 250 Wh, the TRIWHEEL 281, the Jasion 360, the HQYEX 432, the Askmy, RPINT and LELEKUAI 480 each, and the HLOIE 576. At a realistic 18 to 25 Wh per mile, that is roughly 10 to 30 miles a charge.
  • Speed: 20 mph is the norm. Six of the eight state a 20 mph top speed. The LELEKUAI T5 (24 mph on its maker's page) and the VOLTVOGUE (22 mph) go faster, which takes them out of Class 1 and Class 2.
  • Motor: almost always a peak figure. Only the Jasion EB5 states a rated figure, 500 W. The others quote peak watts, or, on the HQYEX, 500 W with no label at all.
  • Rider limits: often missing. Four publish a maximum load: the RPINT 260 lb, the TRIWHEEL 264 lb, and the Jasion and LELEKUAI 330 lb each (the LELEKUAI figure is from its maker). The Askmy, HLOIE, HQYEX and VOLTVOGUE publish none. Only the TRIWHEEL states a rider height range, 4 ft 11 in to 5 ft 7 in.
  • Weight: 43.9 to 62 lb, where stated. The TRIWHEEL is 43.9 lb, the Jasion 49.6, the RPINT 55, the LELEKUAI 60.6 (maker figure) and the HLOIE 62. The Askmy, HQYEX and VOLTVOGUE publish no weight.
  • Safety paperwork: half name a lab. The Askmy, RPINT and VOLTVOGUE name SGS for both UL standards, and the TRIWHEEL names TÜV Rheinland for both. The HLOIE and LELEKUAI claim UL 2849 with no lab named. The Jasion EB5 and HQYEX Mini 14 state no UL certification.

What $200 does not buy: none of the eight lists hydraulic brakes or a torque sensor, and three come from brands with no website we could find (HLOIE, HQYEX and TRIWHEEL), so Amazon's return window is your main protection. If you want more range, gears or paperwork on a full-size frame, the under-$300 guide is the next step up.

How to read an Amazon e-bike listing at this price

A listing under $200 can print 1000 W, 45 miles and "UL certified" without any of those words meaning what a buyer assumes. Four questions sort the listings worth trusting from the rest, and they are the checks this list ranks on.

  1. Peak or rated watts? The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle in 15 U.S.C. 2085 is written around a 750 W motor and 20 mph on motor power alone, and the Consumer Product Safety Commission regulates such a bike as a bicycle under 16 CFR 1512. Statutes mean rated (continuous) output, while most listings here quote peak, the short burst a controller allows on a hill start. A peak figure at or under 750 W settles it, because a motor cannot be rated above its own peak: the Askmy's 740 W and the HLOIE's 750 W pass that way. A peak figure above 750 W settles nothing, which is where the TRIWHEEL's 1000 W leaves it. Only the Jasion EB5 states a rated figure, 500 W.
  2. Does the top speed fit a class? Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle and still stops at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, usually with no throttle. A throttle bike that goes faster than 20 mph fits no class, and on public roads it can be treated as a moped or motor vehicle.
  3. Does the range claim survive division? Multiply volts by amp-hours to get watt-hours (48 V x 10 Ah = 480 Wh), then divide by the claimed miles. Real e-bikes use roughly 15 to 30 Wh per mile, so a claim that needs less is marketing. The Askmy's 20 to 25 miles from 480 Wh works out at 19 to 24 Wh per mile, which holds. The VOLTVOGUE City 26's 45 miles from 250 Wh needs 5.5, which no e-bike achieves.
  4. Does the UL claim name a lab?UL 2271 tests the battery pack. UL 2849 tests the complete electrical system: battery, charger, controller and motor together. A claim that names SGS or TÜV Rheinland is one you can ask the seller to back with a certificate. A claim that names nobody gives you nothing to ask about.
Pick Price Motor, as stated UL, lab named Battery Range claimed Plan on
Askmy Mini 14 $183.99 740 W peak Both (SGS) 480 Wh 20 to 25 mi About 22 mi
HLOIE Folding 14 $150 750 W peak UL 2849, no lab 576 Wh 21 to 35+ mi About 25 mi
RPINT Mini 14 $199 740 W peak Both (SGS) 480 Wh 20 to 35 mi 20 to 28 mi
TRIWHEEL 14 $199.99 1000 W peak Both (TÜV Rheinland) 281 Wh 15 to 25 mi 12 to 15 mi
Jasion EB5 $199.99 500 W rated None stated 360 Wh 25 to 40 mi About 16 mi

Two picks pass all four checks, the Askmy Mini 14 and the RPINT Mini 14. The HLOIE Folding 14 fails only the lab check. The TRIWHEEL 14 names its lab and states 20 mph, and fails the motor check and half the range check. The Jasion EB5 states the only rated motor in the bracket and a 20 mph cap, and fails the UL and range checks. Price headroom then sets the order: the Askmy and HLOIE sat well under $200 at our November 1, 2026 check, while the RPINT, TRIWHEEL and Jasion sat within a dollar of it. We have not ridden any of these bikes: every figure is the listing's own claim or our arithmetic on it, restated from each bike's full review.

Which e-bike under $200 should you buy?

1. Askmy Mini 14: best overall

The Askmy Mini 14 at $183.99 is the best electric bike under $200 because it passes all four checks and sits clearly under the line. It names SGS as the lab that validated both UL 2271 for the battery and UL 2849 for the complete bike. It states a 20 mph cap with a throttle, and its 740 W peak motor cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, which makes it a Class 2 e-bike on its own listing. Its 48 V x 10 Ah (480 Wh) battery backs a claim of 20 to 25 miles in pure electric mode, 19 to 24 Wh per mile, inside normal use, and pure electric is the hardest mode on a battery. Tubeless 14-inch tires, a spring suspension fork and dual disc brakes complete the sheet.

The trades are what Askmy leaves out: no weight, no payload rating, no rated wattage and no gears, only assist levels. Tubeless tires are a real plus on 14-inch wheels, where a pinch flat is one of the most common ways these bikes stop being ridden, and small wheels still drop into potholes that larger ones roll over. It also had the weakest Amazon sales rank of our five picks on November 1, 2026, so read the newest reviews before you order. Buy it for smooth streets and the last couple of miles of a longer trip. Read the full Askmy Mini 14 review.

2. HLOIE Folding 14: cheapest, with the biggest battery

The HLOIE Folding 14 at $150 is the cheapest e-bike we review, and it carries the biggest battery in this guide: 576 Wh (48 V x 12 Ah). HLOIE states a 20 mph cap with a throttle and a 750 W peak motor, which cannot be rated above the 750 W federal line, so it is a Class 2 e-bike as listed. Its claim of 21 to 35 miles on the throttle spans 16.5 to 27.4 Wh per mile, and we plan on about 25 miles, which is 23 Wh per mile. It adds disc brakes, lights, a removable battery that charges in 4 to 5 hours, and a frame that arrives 98% assembled.

It ranks second on paperwork and trust. HLOIE claims UL 2849 without naming a lab and makes no UL 2271 claim for the pack. The warranty is 180 days, half the 12 months common at this price, and we could find no working brand website, so Amazon's return window is your main protection. At 62 lb it has the heaviest published weight of the picks, with no payload rating. This listing's title also once said 23 mph, so check the display on your first ride: above 20 mph with a throttle it would fit no class. Read the full HLOIE Folding 14 review.

3. RPINT Mini 14: best documented

The RPINT Mini 14 at $199 passes all four checks, like the Askmy, and publishes what the Askmy leaves out: a 55 lb weight, a 260 lb payload and 3 speeds. It names SGS for UL 2271 and UL 2849 and states a 20 mph cap with a throttle. Its motor is sold as 740 W peak in the title and 700 W peak in the bullets, and either figure keeps the rated output under the 750 W federal line, so it is a Class 2 e-bike. It was #2 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in September 2026 and carried 413 ratings at 4.1 stars when we reviewed it in July 2026.

It ranks third because it sat just under $200 at our November 2026 check, close enough that a small price move puts it over this page's line, while the Askmy and HLOIE sat well under it. The other trades are the format. Front suspension only, on a high-carbon steel frame with 14-inch wheels, rides firm over broken pavement. The 480 Wh pack carries a 20 to 25 mile pure-electric claim (about 19 Wh per mile, realistic) and a 30 to 35 mile pedal-assist claim that needs 13.7 Wh per mile, a little optimistic, so plan on 20 to 28 miles. The title's 30 to 60 miles belongs to a 20 Ah version, and the 10 Ah build is the one our review covers. Read the full RPINT Mini 14 review.

4. TRIWHEEL 14: lightest, for shorter riders

The TRIWHEEL 14 at $199.99 weighs a stated 43.9 lb, the lightest pick here, and it is the only bike in this guide that says who it fits: riders 4 ft 11 in to 5 ft 7 in, with a seat height of 28.7 to 35.4 inches. Its listing names TÜV Rheinland for both UL 2849 and UL 2271, and states a 20 mph top speed with a pure-electric (throttle) mode, a 264 lb maximum load and a 1-year warranty. It was #2 in Amazon's Electric City Bikes on November 1, 2026.

Two checks hold it at fourth. TRIWHEEL quotes only a 1000 W peak motor, so its class cannot be settled from the listing: plenty of 1000 W peak motors are rated under 750 W, and a peak figure cannot show it. The 36 V x 7.8 Ah (281 Wh) battery passes half the range check, because 15 miles on the throttle is 18.7 Wh per mile, which holds, while 25 miles with pedal assist needs 11.2, which does not. Plan on 12 to 15 miles. Only the handlebar stem folds, no suspension or gears are mentioned, and it sat just under $200 at our November 2026 check. We found no TRIWHEEL website and no certificate number, so ask the seller for the TÜV Rheinland certificate if your building needs proof. Read the full TRIWHEEL 14 review.

5. Jasion EB5: the full-size pick

The Jasion EB5 at $199.99 is the only full-size pick: a 26-inch hardtail with 7-speed Shimano gearing, a front suspension fork, and the only rated motor figure under $200, a 500 W hub with 65 Nm of torque. With a 20 mph cap, that makes it a clean Class 2. It publishes a 49.6 lb weight and a 330 lb payload, the highest load rating among the picks, and its listing carried 2,283 reviews at a 4.1-star average in May 2026. It was #3 in Amazon's Electric Mountain Bikes in October 2026.

It ranks fifth because it fails two checks. None of its Amazon listings states any UL certification, so it has nothing to show a landlord. And the 360 Wh battery cannot reach the 25 to 40 miles Jasion claims, which would need 9 to 14.4 Wh per mile; plan on about 16 miles. Assist comes from a cadence sensor, which switches power on and off rather than matching your effort, and the brakes are mechanical discs. Jasion's warranty is 1 year on the motor and battery and 6 months on the frame, and the bike sat just under $200 at our November 2026 check. Buy it if you want a bike that looks and rides like a normal bicycle and your trips are short and flat. Read the full Jasion EB5 review.

Bikes under $200 we cover but do not rank

The LELEKUAI T5 ($159.99 at our last check) is the best seller in this bracket: it had the strongest Amazon sales rank of any e-bike in this guide on November 1, 2026, and was #1 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in September 2026. It is a 14-inch step-through folder with a 480 Wh battery, dual disc brakes, a front suspension fork and a 330 lb maximum load, the maker's figure. It is not ranked because LELEKUAI's own product page says 24 mph with a throttle, while parts of the Amazon listing say 20, and a throttle bike above 20 mph fits no US e-bike class. Ask the seller in writing whether it is limited to 20 mph; if it is, it becomes one of the best buys here. Its UL 2849 claim names no lab. The same Amazon family also sells a different 750 W fat-tire LELEKUAI, so check the title before you add to cart.

The VOLTVOGUE City 26 ($179.99 at our last check) is the other full-size bike we cover under $200, on 26 x 1.95 tires with 3 speeds, and it names SGS for both UL 2849 and UL 2271, paperwork bikes three times the price often lack. It is not ranked because its listing now states 22 mph, over the 20 mph Class 1 and Class 2 limit, and gives only a 1000 W peak figure. The 250 Wh battery is good for 10 to 14 miles, against a 45-mile claim that needs 5.5 Wh per mile.

The HQYEX Mini 14 ($199.97 at our last check) is a Class 2 folder as listed: 20 mph with a throttle, a 500 W motor that sits under 750 W whether HQYEX means rated or peak, and a 432 Wh battery good for about 22 miles. It is not ranked because it claims neither UL standard, publishes no weight or payload, and has no brand website we could find, so it discloses less than any pick. It suits a garage or a car boot better than a building that asks for paperwork.

Are e-bikes under $200 safe?

Some are, and the listing tells you which before you buy. The real risk with a cheap e-bike is a lithium battery fire, and two standards cover it: UL 2271 for the battery pack and UL 2849 for the complete electrical system. Three picks name a lab for both: the Askmy Mini 14 and RPINT Mini 14 via SGS, and the TRIWHEEL 14 via TÜV Rheinland. The HLOIE Folding 14 claims UL 2849 with no lab named, and the Jasion EB5 states no UL certification. None of that proves a bike unsafe. It does mean you have nothing to show a landlord who asks. New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold, leased or rented there, and California's SB 1271 restricts the sale of uncertified e-bikes from January 2026. If you charge indoors, buy one of the three named-lab picks, and read our battery fire safety guide for what each test covers.

Are e-bikes under $200 street legal?

Four of the five picks are, on their own listings. The Askmy Mini 14, HLOIE Folding 14, RPINT Mini 14 and Jasion EB5 each state a 20 mph cap with a throttle and a motor figure under the 750 W rated federal line, which makes each one a Class 2 e-bike. The TRIWHEEL 14 states 20 mph with a throttle and only a 1000 W peak motor, so it is Class 2 only if its rated output is 750 W or less, which TRIWHEEL does not state. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration; New Jersey and Hawaii require it. For where each class may ride, including bike paths and sidewalks, check your state in our state-by-state law pages or the street-legal-by-state guide, and the class explainer covers why rated and peak wattage are different numbers.

Where to look next

This is the bottom rung of our price ladder. One step up, Best Electric Bikes Under $300 ranks the same kind of bike on the same four checks, with more choice at each size, and Best Electric Bikes Under $400 is where full-size frames, fat tires and step-throughs with racks become the norm. If indoor charging decides it, the UL-certified shortlist filters on paperwork alone. Best Folding E-Bikes on Amazon ranks folders of every size, and Best Budget Electric Bikes picks one bike per need on the same disclosure checks. If a scooter would do the job, Best Electric Scooters Under $200 covers that bracket.

Also considered

Near misses, and the reason each one missed. Where a mention is the better buy for a specific rider, it says so.

  • LELEKUAI T5 product photo

    The best seller under $200: on November 1, 2026 it had the strongest Amazon sales rank of any e-bike in this guide, and it was #1 in Amazon's Electric Folding Bikes in September 2026. A 14-inch step-through folder with a 480 Wh battery, dual disc brakes, a front fork and a 330 lb maximum load per its maker, at $159.99. It is a mention because LELEKUAI's own product page says 24 mph with a throttle, which fits no US e-bike class. Get a 20 mph limit confirmed in writing before riding it on public roads.

  • VOLTVOGUE City 26 product photo

    The other full-size bike we cover under $200, at $179.99: 26 x 1.95 tires, 3 speeds, and SGS named for both UL 2849 and UL 2271. It is a mention because its listing states 22 mph, over the 20 mph Class 1 and Class 2 limit, with only a 1000 W peak figure, and its 250 Wh battery is good for 10 to 14 miles, against the 45 claimed. Ask the seller whether it can be limited to 20 mph.

  • HQYEX Mini 14 product photo

    A Class 2 folder as listed, at $199.97: 20 mph with a throttle, a 500 W motor that is under the 750 W federal line whether HQYEX means rated or peak, and a 432 Wh battery good for about 22 miles. It is a mention because it claims no UL 2849 or UL 2271, publishes no weight or payload, and has no brand website we could find, so it discloses less than any pick. Fine for a garage; skip it if your building asks for paperwork.

Frequently asked questions

What are some good electric bikes for under $200?

The best is the Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99 at our last check), a 14-inch folder with a 20 mph Class 2 cap, a 480 Wh battery and UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS. The HLOIE Folding 14 ($150 checked) is the cheapest, with the biggest battery at 576 Wh. The RPINT Mini 14 ($199 checked) adds a published 55 lb weight and 260 lb payload to the same SGS paperwork. The TRIWHEEL 14 ($199.99 checked) is the lightest at 43.9 lb and suits riders 4 ft 11 in to 5 ft 7 in. The Jasion EB5 ($199.99 checked) is the only full-size pick, a 26-inch hardtail with a 500 W rated motor. Three of those five sat within a dollar of $200 at our November 2026 check, so confirm the live price.

What is the cheapest but most reliable e-bike?

We have not ridden these bikes, and reliability cannot be read off a listing, so the honest proxies are sales history, warranty terms and paperwork. Under $200, the Jasion EB5 ($199.99 at our last check) has the deepest record: 2,283 reviews at 4.1 stars in May 2026, a 7-speed Shimano drivetrain any bike shop can service, and a 1-year warranty on the motor and battery, though it states no UL certification. On paperwork, the RPINT Mini 14 ($199 checked) names SGS for both UL standards and carried 413 ratings at 4.1 stars in July 2026. Be wary of a warranty under 12 months from a brand with no website, such as the HLOIE Folding 14's 180 days.

What is the cheapest but good ebike?

The HLOIE Folding 14 ($150 at our last check) is the cheapest e-bike we review that we still rank. It carries a 576 Wh battery, states a 20 mph Class 2 cap, and makes a range claim that survives the arithmetic: plan on about 25 miles. What you give up is paperwork and support: its UL 2849 claim names no lab, the warranty is 180 days, and HLOIE has no working website. For a little more, the Askmy Mini 14 ($183.99 checked) names SGS for both UL standards and passes every check this guide uses.

What's a good cheap electric bike?

One whose listing states four things: a top speed of 20 mph (Class 1 or Class 2), a motor figure under the 750 W federal line, a UL 2849 or UL 2271 claim with the testing lab named, and a range claim that holds up when battery watt-hours are divided by claimed miles. Under $200, the Askmy Mini 14 and the RPINT Mini 14 state all four, and the HLOIE Folding 14 misses only the lab. Real e-bikes use about 15 to 30 Wh per mile, so a 480 Wh battery is good for roughly 20 to 28 miles. If you can spend up to $300, our under-$300 guide adds more choice on the same checks.

How fast is 250W in mph?

A motor's wattage does not fix its top speed: the limit is programmed into the controller, and the law sets it by class. In the EU and UK, 250 W is the legal maximum for an e-bike and assistance must stop at 25 km/h, about 15.5 mph. In the US, a 250 W e-bike sold as Class 1 or Class 2 stops assisting at 20 mph, and on a climb a motor that small leaves more of the work to you. If you meant 250 Wh, as on the VOLTVOGUE City 26, that is battery capacity, not speed: about 10 to 14 miles per charge.

How far does a $200 electric bike go on one charge?

From the bikes we rank, plan on about 12 to 28 miles, depending on the battery. Divide the battery's watt-hours by a realistic 18 to 25 Wh per mile: the TRIWHEEL 14's 281 Wh gives 12 to 15 miles, the Jasion EB5's 360 Wh about 16, the Askmy Mini 14's and RPINT Mini 14's 480 Wh about 20 to 28, and the HLOIE Folding 14's 576 Wh about 25. Claims of 35 to 45 miles from these packs need fewer than 15 Wh per mile, which is marketing. Our range guide works through the arithmetic.

Are electric bikes under $200 street legal?

Most of our picks are, on their own listings. The Askmy Mini 14, HLOIE Folding 14, RPINT Mini 14 and Jasion EB5 each state a 20 mph cap with a throttle and a motor figure under the 750 W rated federal line, which makes them Class 2. The TRIWHEEL 14 states 20 mph with a throttle and only a 1000 W peak motor, so it is Class 2 only if its rated output is 750 W or less, which TRIWHEEL does not state. The LELEKUAI T5 (24 mph on its maker's page) and the VOLTVOGUE City 26 (22 mph) are over the Class 1 and Class 2 limit. In 49 of the 51 US jurisdictions we track, a compliant e-bike needs no registration; New Jersey and Hawaii require it. Check your state in our state-by-state law table.

Are electric bikes under $200 safe?

Some are, and the listing tells you which. The real risk is a lithium battery fire, and two standards cover it: UL 2271 tests the battery pack and UL 2849 tests the complete electrical system. The Askmy Mini 14 and RPINT Mini 14 name SGS for both, and the TRIWHEEL 14 names TÜV Rheinland for both. The HLOIE Folding 14 claims UL 2849 with no lab named, and the Jasion EB5 and HQYEX Mini 14 state no UL certification. If you charge indoors, pick a named-lab bike and ask the seller for the certificate. New York City requires UL 2849 or an equivalent for e-bikes sold there. Our battery fire safety guide explains what each test covers.

Our pick

Askmy Mini 14

The bottom line

Our #1 pick: Askmy Mini 14

Best overall under $200. It passes all four of this page's checks: UL 2271 and UL 2849 validated by SGS…

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor