Head-to-head comparison
Jasion RetroVolt 330 vs TST Fat Retro
Spec-verified head-to-head
The Jasion RetroVolt 330 beats the TST Fat Retro for most riders, adding a passenger bench and a published 330 lb payload; the TST's edge is a phone app. Amazon's top two Electric Fat Bikes (September 2026) both pair about 720 Wh with a 2000 W peak motor, and neither publishes a rated wattage, so neither can be shown to be a street-legal e-bike. At our last check the RetroVolt cost $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) and the TST $579.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change).
Who wins each category
- CargoJasion RetroVolt 330
- MotorTie
- RangeTie
- ValueJasion RetroVolt 330
- BatteryTie
- ComfortTie
Pick Jasion RetroVolt 330 if
Pick the Jasion RetroVolt 330 if you want Amazon's best-selling fat-tire moped-style bike (#1 in Electric Fat Bikes, September 2026) with a bench marketed for short passenger trips, a published 330 lb payload and a stated 48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh) battery, for $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Jasion's store lists it at 30 mph, which fits no US e-bike class, so buy it for private land or set a 20 mph limit if the display allows, and plan on 30-35 miles, not 70.
Pick TST Fat Retro if
Pick the TST Fat Retro if you want the same retro fat-tire format with a smartphone app alongside the LCD, a claimed 90 Nm of torque and dual suspension, for $579.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). It states no rated wattage, no top speed and no battery voltage, so its legal class cannot be determined from the listing, and its warranty is 180 days. Confirm the speed limit and the motor's rating plate when it arrives.
Quick answer: Jasion RetroVolt 330 or TST Fat Retro?
- Buy the Jasion RetroVolt 330 if you want to carry a passenger. Its bench is marketed for short passenger trips and it publishes a 330 lb payload. The TST publishes no payload at all.
- Buy the RetroVolt 330 if you want the spec sheet that says more. Its listing states the battery voltage (48 V 15 Ah) and a rider height range; the TST gives "15AH" with no voltage.
- Buy the TST Fat Retro if a smartphone app matters to you. It pairs an LCD with an app, which is unusual at this price.
- Buy neither if you need a documented street-legal e-bike. Neither publishes a rated wattage, and the only top speed on record is the 30 mph Jasion lists for the RetroVolt, above Class 3.
Side-by-side specs
Every figure is the seller's or maker's own claim, as recorded in our two reviews. We have not ridden either bike.
| Spec | Jasion RetroVolt 330 | TST Fat Retro |
|---|---|---|
| Price (Amazon US) | $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) | $579.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) |
| Amazon rank (September 2026) | #1 in Electric Fat Bikes | #2 in Electric Fat Bikes |
| Motor, rated | Not published | Not published |
| Motor, peak | 2000 W (listing) | 2000 W (listing); another listing of the same frame says 1500 W |
| Torque | 99 Nm (listing); 90 Nm in Jasion's spec table | 90 Nm (listing) |
| Battery | 720 Wh, 48 V 15 Ah (listing); Jasion's store lists 18 Ah | About 720 Wh: 15 Ah stated, voltage not stated, 48 V assumed |
| Stated top speed | None on the listing; 30 mph on Jasion's store | None stated |
| Legal class | None as described (30 mph is above Class 3) | Cannot be determined from the listing |
| Range claim / our planning figure | Up to 70 mi / 30-35 mi | 65 mi / 30-35 mi |
| Suspension | Front fork plus a coil rear shock visible in Jasion's photos | "Dual suspension" (listing claim); rear design not documented |
| Weight | Not published | Not published |
| Payload | 330 lb | Not published |
| Passenger | Bench marketed for short passenger trips | No passenger claim |
| Warranty | Not documented in our review | 180 days |
| Certifications | "UL-certified battery safety protection" claimed; no standard, lab or certificate named | No UL 2271 or UL 2849 named |
| Controls and extras | Headlight with horn, rear brake light, five riding modes, 7-speed, 85% pre-assembled | LCD plus smartphone app, five assist levels, 7-speed, removable battery |
Which is faster, the RetroVolt 330 or the TST Fat Retro?
Neither can be called faster from the documents, because Jasion's store lists the RetroVolt 330 at 30 mph and TST publishes no top speed for the Fat Retro. Neither Amazon listing states a top speed. Both claim a 2000 W peak motor, and a 2000 W peak motor on 20x4 tires is built to go well past 20 mph. If either display lets you set a limit, 20 mph keeps the bike inside the Class 1 and Class 2 speed rule. That fixes speed only; it does not supply the missing rated wattage.
Which is street legal?
Neither the Jasion RetroVolt 330 nor the TST Fat Retro can be shown to be a street-legal e-bike from its own documents. The US three-class system caps Class 1 and Class 2 at 20 mph and Class 3 at 28 mph with pedal assist only, and the federal consumer-product definition in 15 U.S.C. §2085 is written around 750 W rated output. A peak figure is not a rated figure.
- Jasion RetroVolt 330: the Amazon listing gives a 2000 W peak and no rated wattage. Jasion's own store lists 30 mph, which is faster than Class 3 allows, so as its manufacturer describes it the bike fits no US e-bike class.
- TST Fat Retro: the listing gives a 2000 W peak, no rated wattage and no top speed, so its class cannot be determined from the listing. If it arrives limited to 20 mph with a legal rated plate on the motor, it would ride as Class 2.
New Jersey and Hawaii also require e-bike registration. If a documented class matters more than the moped look, both brands sell a bike that publishes a rated motor: TST's Fat 20 prints 750 W rated, and Jasion's EB5 MAX publishes 750 W rated with a 28 mph Class 3 speed. Check your state on the street-legal-by-state guide.
Which goes further on a charge?
Neither goes meaningfully further: both carry about 720 Wh, and our planning figure for each is 30-35 miles. Realistic e-bike consumption is 15-30 Wh per mile, and a heavy fat-tire bike on a 2000 W peak motor sits toward the top of that range.
- RetroVolt 330: "up to 70 miles" from 720 Wh needs 10.3 Wh per mile. The 70-mile claim fails the arithmetic.
- TST Fat Retro: 65 miles from about 720 Wh needs about 11 Wh per mile, and a 4-inch tire with an upright rider draws closer to 20.
The one real difference is certainty. Jasion's listing states 48 V 15 Ah, so 720 Wh is its own figure. TST's listing says only "15AH"; the 720 Wh is our arithmetic on an assumed 48 V. Jasion's store sells the RetroVolt 330 with an 18 Ah (864 Wh) pack, but the Amazon listing sells the 15 Ah version, so expect 720 Wh.
Which is better for two riders?
The Jasion RetroVolt 330 is the better choice for two riders, because it is the only one of the pair marketed for a passenger and the only one with a published payload. The listing markets the rear seat pad for short passenger trips and gives 330 lb, which has to cover both riders plus anything you carry, and two average adults can exceed it. The TST Fat Retro publishes no payload and makes no passenger claim. Many states restrict carrying a passenger on a bicycle not designed and equipped for it, so check local rules first.
Which is more comfortable?
They are close, and the RetroVolt 330's rear suspension is the better documented. Jasion's product photos show a coil shock under the seat frame as well as the front fork, which rules out the sprung-seatpost shortcut some "dual suspension" listings use. The TST listing claims dual suspension on 20x4 tires, and our review does not document the rear design. Neither publishes suspension travel. The RetroVolt's minimum saddle height of about 34 inches is tall for riders at the 5'4" end of its stated 5'4" to 6'3" range.
Verdict
For most riders the Jasion RetroVolt 330 is the better buy. It was Amazon's #1 Electric Fat Bike in September 2026, it states its battery voltage, it publishes a 330 lb payload with a bench meant for a passenger, and it cost $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) against $579.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) for the TST at our last check. The TST Fat Retro earns its place if the smartphone app matters to you; its stated warranty is 180 days, half the usual year.
Neither is the bike to buy for bike lanes and paths. Neither publishes a rated wattage, both range claims fail the arithmetic, and neither names a UL standard. Treat both as comfortable moped-style bikes for private land and for places that do not enforce the class system, and set a 20 mph limit if the display allows it.
Read the full Jasion RetroVolt 330 review and the full TST Fat Retro review. For the #3 bike in the same chart, see DEEPOWER QS7 vs Jasion RetroVolt 330. For fat-tire bikes whose class can be placed, see the best fat tire electric bikes under $1,000.
Frequently asked questions
Jasion RetroVolt 330 or TST Fat Retro: which should I buy?
Buy the Jasion RetroVolt 330 unless you specifically want a phone app. The RetroVolt publishes a 330 lb payload, markets its bench for short passenger trips and states its battery as 48 V 15 Ah, while the TST publishes no payload and no battery voltage. At our last check it cost $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) against $579.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) for the TST. Both claim a 2000 W peak motor and about 720 Wh, and neither publishes a rated wattage, so neither can be shown to be street legal.
Is the Jasion RetroVolt a good bike?
The Jasion RetroVolt 330 is a lot of bike for the money on paper, with gaps in the paperwork. For $539.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) its listing states a 2000 W peak motor, 99 Nm, a 720 Wh removable battery, front and rear suspension and a passenger bench, and it was #1 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes in September 2026. It gives no rated wattage, Jasion's store lists 30 mph (above Class 3), the 70-mile range claim fails the arithmetic, and its UL claim names no standard. We have not ridden it.
How fast does the Jasion RetroVolt go?
Jasion's own store lists the RetroVolt 330 at 30 mph; the Amazon listing states no top speed. That figure comes from a 2000 W peak motor with a claimed 99 Nm. At 30 mph it is above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, so as described it fits no US e-bike class. If the display lets you set a limit, 20 mph keeps it inside the Class 2 speed rule, although the missing rated wattage remains. The RetroVolt, RetroVolt Pro and RetroVolt Max are different bikes, so check which one a speed claim refers to.
How fast does the TST Fat Retro go?
The TST Fat Retro has no published top speed: its Amazon listing does not state one. It claims a 2000 W peak motor on 20x4 tires, which is built to go well past 20 mph, where Class 2 stops. Check the speed limit in the display settings when it arrives. Set to 20 mph, it stays inside the Class 2 speed rule, although without a published rated wattage its class is still open.
Are TST bikes good?
TST's documentation depends on the model, and the TST Fat Retro is one of its thinner listings. It was #2 in Amazon's Electric Fat Bikes in September 2026 and claims dual suspension, 90 Nm and an app, but it states no rated wattage, no top speed and no battery voltage, and its warranty is 180 days. TST shows it can publish more: its Fat 20 and City Commuter both print a 750 W rated motor. We have not ridden a TST bike, so we judge the documents, not the build.
Are Jasion bikes good quality?
We cannot rate Jasion's build quality because we have not ridden a Jasion bike. Its documentation varies by model. The RetroVolt 330 listing and Jasion's own store disagree on the battery (15 Ah against 18 Ah) and torque (99 Nm against 90 Nm), and its UL claim names no standard. Other Jasion models publish more: the EB5 MAX states a 750 W rated motor and a 28 mph Class 3 speed, and the Roamer ST names UL 2849 in its listing title.
Which has the bigger battery, the RetroVolt 330 or the TST Fat Retro?
Neither: the Jasion RetroVolt 330 and the TST Fat Retro both come out at about 720 Wh. The RetroVolt's listing states 48 V 15 Ah, so that is Jasion's own figure. TST's listing says only "15AH" with no voltage, so its 720 Wh is our arithmetic on the 48 V that bikes in this bracket use. Jasion's store sells an 18 Ah (864 Wh) RetroVolt 330, but the Amazon listing sells 15 Ah. Plan on 30-35 miles from either.
Is either bike UL certified?
Neither the Jasion RetroVolt 330 nor the TST Fat Retro documents a named UL standard. The RetroVolt listing claims "UL-certified battery safety protection" without naming UL 2271 (the battery pack) or UL 2849 (the complete electrical system), and Jasion's product page shows a UL logo with no standard or certificate number. The TST listing names neither standard. If your building requires UL 2849 for indoor charging, ask the seller for the certificate before you buy.
Reviewed by

