Ebike Oracle

Spec-verified head-to-head

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Ebike Oracle may also earn a commission on purchases made through links to other retailers, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure.
Quick answer

Who wins each category

  • Build qualityLELEKUAI T5
  • CargoLELEKUAI T5
  • MotorHLOIE Folding 14
  • RangeHLOIE Folding 14
  • ValueHLOIE Folding 14
  • BatteryHLOIE Folding 14
  • PortabilityTie
SpecLELEKUAI T5HLOIE Folding 14
Battery480 Wh576 Wh
Range22 mi25 mi
Top speed24 mph20 mph

Highlighted cells mark the stronger spec. Our overall pick: HLOIE Folding 14.

Pick LELEKUAI T5 if

Pick the LELEKUAI T5 if you need a published maximum load (330 lb, from LELEKUAI's own T5 page), want a folded size you can measure before delivery (about 27 by 26 inches), or prefer a brand with a working website. It is Amazon's #1 folding e-bike (September 2026) at $159.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), with a 480 Wh pack and a front suspension fork. Confirm a 20 mph limit with the seller first: its title and maker say 24 mph, which fits no US class.

Pick HLOIE Folding 14 if

Pick the HLOIE Folding 14 if you ride on public streets and paths and want the most battery for the money: 576 Wh, a 20 mph cap and a throttle, which is Class 2 as currently listed, for $150 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change). Accept the trade-offs before you buy: a 180-day warranty, a UL 2849 claim with no lab named, no working brand website and a listing title that once said 23 mph.

See HLOIE Folding 14 price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

See LELEKUAI T5 price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Quick answer: LELEKUAI T5 or HLOIE Folding 14?

  • Buy the HLOIE Folding 14 if you will ride on streets, bike lanes or paths. Its listing states 20 mph with a throttle, which is Class 2, and it carries a 48 V x 12 Ah (576 Wh) pack.
  • Buy the HLOIE Folding 14 if range per dollar is the deciding number: 576 Wh for $150 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change).
  • Buy the LELEKUAI T5 if you are a heavier rider or carry loads, because LELEKUAI publishes a 330 lb maximum load and HLOIE publishes none.
  • Buy the LELEKUAI T5 if you want a brand you can check: lelekuai.com has a T5 product page, while HLOIE has no working website.
  • Buy neither if your building needs a certificate before indoor charging. Both claim UL 2849 without naming a lab, and neither claims UL 2271.

LELEKUAI T5 vs HLOIE Folding 14 specs

Spec LELEKUAI T5 HLOIE Folding 14
Price (Amazon US, last check) $159.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) $150 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change)
Amazon rank (September 2026) #1 in Electric Folding Bikes #4 in Electric Folding Bikes
Motor, rated Not published Not published
Motor, peak 560 W (LELEKUAI's own infographic labels it peak) 750 W
Battery 48 V x 10 Ah = 480 Wh, removable 48 V x 12 Ah = 576 Wh, removable
Stated top speed 24 mph (title and maker), 20 mph (listing bullets) 20 mph (this title once said 23)
Legal class None as described Class 2 as currently listed
Claimed range Up to 32 mi (maker), none on Amazon 21-35 mi throttle, 35+ mi pedal assist
Our planning range About 22 mi About 25 mi
Wheels 14 in 14 in
Folds Yes, about 27 in long x 26 in tall (maker) Yes, folded size not published
Weight 60.6 lb (maker) 62 lb (listing)
Max load 330 lb (maker) Not stated
Suspension Front suspension fork, rear cushion Unspecified "shock absorption system"
Brakes Dual disc Disc
Certification UL 2849 in one title, no lab named, no UL 2271 UL 2849 and a GCC, no lab named, no UL 2271
Warranty Not stated in our review 180 days

Which is street legal?

The HLOIE Folding 14 is street legal as currently listed, and the LELEKUAI T5 is not clearly legal. Under the US three-class system, Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle at the same 20 mph, and Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, usually with no throttle. The federal consumer-product definition in 15 U.S.C. 2085 caps the motor at 750 W rated.

The HLOIE listing states 20 mph with a throttle and a motor sold as 750 W peak. HLOIE publishes no rated figure, but a motor that peaks at 750 W cannot be rated above 750 W, so it sits inside Class 2 on paper. One caution: search snapshots show this same listing once advertised 23 mph, and other HLOIE listings still do. Read the display on your first ride.

The LELEKUAI T5 contradicts itself. Its Amazon bullets say 20 mph, but its title and LELEKUAI's own T5 page both say 24 mph. A throttle bike that reaches 24 mph fits no class, so it can be treated as an unregistered motor vehicle on public roads. Ask the seller in writing whether the controller is limited to 20 mph. New Jersey and Hawaii also require e-bike registration whichever bike you buy, and our state-by-state guide covers the rest.

Which goes further on a charge?

The HLOIE Folding 14 goes further, because its 576 Wh battery is 96 Wh (20%) bigger than the LELEKUAI T5's 480 Wh. HLOIE claims 21-35 miles on the throttle; the top of that works out to 576 / 35 = 16.5 Wh per mile, which is optimistic for a 62 lb bike with nobody pedaling. We plan on about 25 miles.

LELEKUAI's site claims up to 32 miles, or 480 / 32 = 15 Wh per mile, which only a light rider in low assist on flat ground will see. At a more typical 20-24 Wh per mile the T5 manages 20-24 miles, so we plan on about 22. One standby LELEKUAI listing describes both a 36 V and a 48 V battery in the same bullet; the maker states 48 V, and so do the other listings.

Which is lighter and easier to carry?

The LELEKUAI T5 is lighter, but only by 1.4 lb: 60.6 lb on LELEKUAI's own product page against 62 lb on the HLOIE listing. Neither is light. Both are heavy to carry up stairs for a 14-inch mini, and Amazon does not list a weight for the T5 at all. LELEKUAI also publishes a folded size of about 27 inches long and 26 inches tall, while HLOIE gives no folded dimensions, so only the T5 can be measured against a car trunk before it arrives.

Which is safer to charge indoors?

Neither the LELEKUAI T5 nor the HLOIE Folding 14 gives you a certificate you can check. Both claim UL 2849, the standard for the complete e-bike electrical system, without naming the laboratory that tested it. Neither claims UL 2271 for the battery pack on its own. HLOIE adds a GCC (the General Certificate of Conformity a US importer issues), and LELEKUAI's own website does not mention UL at all.

If your landlord or building asks for proof, request the UL 2849 certificate from the seller before ordering. The RPINT Mini 14, $199 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change), is the 14-inch mini that names SGS for both UL 2271 and UL 2849. Our battery fire safety guide explains what each standard tests.

Which has the better support?

The LELEKUAI T5 is easier to check up on, and the HLOIE Folding 14 is the bigger risk after the sale. HLOIE offers a 180-day warranty, half the 12 months common at this price, and its hloiebike.com store is password-protected while hloie.com is a parked domain. That leaves Amazon messaging and Amazon's return window as your real protection. LELEKUAI runs a live store with a T5 product page, which is where the 24 mph figure, the 330 lb load and the 60.6 lb weight come from.

Verdict

For most buyers the HLOIE Folding 14 is the better choice. It is Class 2 as listed, it has the bigger battery, and the two sit close on price ($150 as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change against $159.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change)). Inspect it closely on arrival and read the speed on the display, because its warranty is short and its speed history is not clean. Choose the LELEKUAI T5 if you need a published 330 lb load rating or a maker whose product page you can read, and only after the seller confirms a 20 mph limit.

Read more

See HLOIE Folding 14 price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

See LELEKUAI T5 price at Amazon

Free 30-day returns via Amazon

Frequently asked questions

Is the LELEKUAI T5 or the HLOIE Folding 14 better?

The HLOIE Folding 14 is the better buy for most riders. Its listing states 20 mph with a throttle and a 750 W peak motor, so it is Class 2 as currently listed, and its 576 Wh battery is 20% bigger than the LELEKUAI T5's 480 Wh. The T5 answers back with a published 330 lb maximum load, a slightly lower weight and a manufacturer website. Its title and LELEKUAI's own page say 24 mph, though, which fits no US e-bike class. Neither names a lab for its UL 2849 claim.

Is the LELEKUAI T5 street legal?

The LELEKUAI T5 is not clearly street legal, because its own specs disagree. The Amazon bullets say 20 mph, which with a throttle would be Class 2. The listing title and LELEKUAI's T5 product page both say 24 mph, and a throttle bike that fast fits no US class. The motor is sold as 560 W, which LELEKUAI's infographic labels a peak figure, so wattage is not the issue. Ask the seller to confirm a 20 mph limit in writing before riding on public roads, and check your state's rules.

Is the HLOIE Folding 14 street legal?

The HLOIE Folding 14 is street legal as currently listed: 20 mph with a throttle is Class 2. HLOIE quotes only a 750 W peak motor, with no rated figure, but a motor that peaks at 750 W cannot be rated above the 750 W federal limit. Search snapshots show this listing once said 23 mph, and other HLOIE listings still do. If the display shows more than 20 mph, the bike is outside every class whatever the listing says, so check it on your first ride.

Which weighs less, the LELEKUAI T5 or the HLOIE Folding 14?

The LELEKUAI T5 weighs less, at 60.6 lb on LELEKUAI's own product page against 62 lb on the HLOIE Folding 14 listing. A 1.4 lb gap will not change how either bike feels on a staircase: both are heavy for a 14-inch folder. The T5 also has a published folded size of about 27 inches long and 26 inches tall. HLOIE publishes no folded size, so measure your trunk or closet generously if you choose the HLOIE.

How far do the LELEKUAI T5 and HLOIE Folding 14 go on a charge?

The HLOIE Folding 14 goes further: plan on about 25 miles from its 576 Wh pack, against about 22 miles from the LELEKUAI T5's 480 Wh. HLOIE claims 21-35 miles on the throttle, and the top of that needs 16.5 Wh per mile, which is optimistic for a 62 lb bike. LELEKUAI claims up to 32 miles, or 15 Wh per mile, which only a light rider in low assist will see. Hills, cold weather and heavy throttle use cut both figures.

Are the LELEKUAI T5 and HLOIE Folding 14 UL certified?

The LELEKUAI T5 and the HLOIE Folding 14 both claim UL 2849, and neither names the laboratory that tested it. UL 2849 covers the complete e-bike electrical system. Neither claims UL 2271, the separate standard for the battery pack. The T5's claim appears in one listing title and not on LELEKUAI's website; the HLOIE adds a GCC. If you need proof for indoor charging, ask the seller for the certificate, or look at the RPINT Mini 14, which names SGS for both standards.

What do the LELEKUAI T5 and HLOIE Folding 14 cost?

The HLOIE Folding 14 was $150 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) and the LELEKUAI T5 was $159.99 (as of Sep 16, 3:16 PM EDT, subject to change) on Amazon US, so the two sit close together and the order can flip with any day's price move. The T5 is sold in several bundles, with a basket, a phone holder or a lock, and the plain version usually costs a little less. The HLOIE is sold in one configuration. Check that a T5 listing's title names the 14-inch folder, not LELEKUAI's separate Heavy-Duty fat-tire model.

Reviewed by

John Weeks
Founder and editor